Banking in Spain

Banking in Spain for Tourists and Long-Term Ex-Pats

Visiting your local bank in Spain has become painless indeed since Franco died. Now in the year 2005, there is at least one English-speaking ‘bank officer’ on hand in just about any branch in southern Spain. They like showing off their mastery languages as they open ‘tourist’ accounts with glee.

An added bonus for us technology worshipping ex-pats is that most of their websites are also in several languages for ease of use.

Here is an almost complete list of banks in Spain, including the website addresses for each:

Bancaja http://www.bancaja.es
Banco Atlántico http://www.batlantico.es
Banco Gallego http://www.bancogallego.es
Banco Guipuzcoano http://www.bancogui.es
Banco Herrero http://www.bancoherrero.com
Banco Pastor http://www.bancopastor.es
Banco Popular http://www.bancopopular.es
Banco Sabadell http://www.bancsabadell.es
Banco Urquijo http://www.bancourquijo.es
Banco Zaragozano http://www.bancozaragozano.es
Banesto http://www.banesto.es
Bankinter http://www.bankinter.es
Barclays Bank http://www.barclays.es
BBK (Bilbao Bizkaia Kutxa) http://www.bbk.es
BBVA http://www.bbva.es
Caixa Catalunya http://www.caixacat.es
Caixa Galicia http://www.caixagalicia.es
Caja Duero http://www.cajaduero.es
Caja España http://www.cajaespana.es
Caja Madrid http://www.cajamadrid.es
CAM (Caja de Ahorros de Mediterráneo) http://www.cam.es
Citibank http://www.citibank.es
Deutsche Bank http://www.deutsche-bank.es
Ibercaja http://www.ibercaja.es
ING Direct http://www.ingdirect.es
Kutxa http://www.kutxa.es
La Caixa http://www.lacaixa.es
Santander Central Hispano http://www.gruposantander.es
Unicaja http://www.unicaja.es

In Spain, a personal relationship with someone at a bank is imperative if you need to get anything of extreme importance done, or taken care of promptly. Be sure to cultivate your contacts and try to get introduced to someone with power in a bank, especially if you want to buy a home with a mortgage.

But for the usual ex-pats, here for six months then gone, you can bank online exclusively in Spain, using Bankinter (www.bankinter.es) or Patagon (www.patagon.es) where you can actually open an account and do all your banking transactions online.

Opening a bank account

You can choose two different types of ‘tourist accounts’ here in Spain. Either a savings or regular checking accounts are quickly opened by the banking staff requiring only your passport, telephone number (a mobile number will do), and a local address for mailing. The forms are always filled in by the staff, and within a week or so you get a debit card, checkbook (if you asked for one) and all the secret passwords you’ll need to navigate yourself onto their online banking system. Unlike the USA, you don’t get a shotgun or toaster oven just for opening an account. But now you can pay your bills, and make bank transactions online internationally without having to deal with a local branch office, and their short working hours.

Friendly Bank People

Banking in Spain is relaxed, or as they say ‘tranquilo.’ When one considers the laid-back hours they work, it should be relaxed. They open at 9 am and close at 2 pm. If you’re lucky, they may also open on Saturdays from 9am to 1 pm, but watch out for those holidays! They take every single one of them off.

Checkbooks

If you do get a checkbook, hide it. It’s useless. Do everything online and save yourself a big hassle.

Direct Debits

Direct Debits are the way to make your payments in Spain. Telefonica, electricity, water, all require direct debit accounts for you to exist here in Spain. So the tourist bank account is the way to go, just make sure there is another account somewhere else replenishing your Spanish account, and keep track of it online.

That’s assuming you can get online here in sunny Spain!




Banking in Spain
0 comments below
The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· US Government Travel Warnings
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· Diving in St Thomas
· HowTo: Taste Red Wine
· Wine Pressing in Napa Valley, Farella Vineyard
· Showcase Seattle
· Winter in Colorado - Lonely Planet Travel Video
· Peter Lik captures Glacier National Park
· Zion National Park Tour

     Recent Reviews
· The Courhouse Hotel, London
· Cafe Stof
· Maison Zen
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Rajasthan Tour
· Kasbah Omar





Page Generation: 0.04 Seconds