Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Eureka Springs, Arkansas

A haven for people of all kinds especially the counterculture, artists, gay people and anyone else you can think of. In the heart of the Ozark Mts, it makes it living off of the tourists that come to see the Victorian houses and shop in historical downtown. Not your typical Arkansas community. Fresh air and water. Eureka is known for it "healing springs". There are 90 or so in the city limits. Pop. aprox. 2000


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: August 31st 2002

Hits: 3578
Language:

  


Posted by young love on 2007-02-28 13:36:23
My Score:
hey, all you hippies out there, old, young, mabye not even born yet. this message might still be around by the time your old enogh to read. peace is the way, start today. I sayed that before but it never hurts to say again. keep every thing groovy. live life with meaning. I'm not telling you what to do. cause lord knows i don't like to be told what to do. I just got some good advice. many of you already live the life i'm speaking of. keep it up. they call the state i live in the "Natural State". But, the naturalness is wearing away. werever you live keep it as clean as you can. I know we can't get every thing all at once, but we'll get there. remenber, but don't get tired of it, peace is the way if nature didn't go threw millions of years of creation by Mother Earth, your house, that some hide in, wouldn't have any thing to stand on. That last part goes out to all the pissed off punks.

Posted by young love on 2007-02-28 13:06:49
My Score:
I live in Rogers man. I'm only 16 but i've seen enough to know things are changing. can't spell very good so don't let it bother you. buildings are going up every were in Arkansas man. I hope we can just sit around in the grass in some distant feild next to a stream an just chill man. stop worring about every thing and just live, and love man. lets live free like people used too. I see trash every where now. if you see it, pick it up and throw it away man. I do. whatever you do to help really counts man, don't forget that. Remember this to, PEACE IS THE WAY, START TODAY over come your anger and every thing will be alright.

Posted by Luckylily on 2007-02-03 19:17:14
My Score:
Dear Hippies Young and Old, Hi!! I have lived in Northwest Arkansas since 1976. I am originally from South Arkansas, East Texas area. My families are all from Arkansas but we have all lived many other places. Eureka Springs is a neat place. I love it, but everything, almost, in our country is undergoing changes. I live in Fayetteville(about an hour/1/2 away and I have always loved it here. We are fighting the battle of urbanization etc. Some of the changes are cool and some questionable. But if you talked to some folks from the next to last century I am sure they would think everything was nuts. We have to accept that there will be change and embrace what is good and lovely. Fayetteville is home to the University of Arkansas and the Hogs and Tyson, Wal-Mart etc. But, there is good and bad about all these things. It sometimes depends on your personal taste. We live in a world that is composed of good/bad. We are here to learn lessons. We could not learn them without these things. Let us not bitch about the world. That is too easy. Let us find love and give love and refrain from finding fault with what we disagree with. I am a Democrat and I don't like war but I pray for the President that he will be inspired to see things from a different perspective. If you focus on what you don't like you will get more and more of it. There are a lot of young souls on this planet. Old souls must be patient with them. We were there once. And the whole thing about being a Hippie was supposed to be LOVE. So let's spread that around kido's. Come to Fayetteville. We need more old Hippies to balance things out again. But please come with love and not anger in your hearts. Let us work together to make the world a better place and the universe. This is not all there is. Come to Fayetteville with flowers in your hair. You're gonna find some gentle people here. Peace and Love, Luckylily

Posted by on 2005-09-04 15:46:34
My Score:
Oh and by the way there is NO walmart in eureka ....

Posted by lovemyreka on 2005-09-04 15:44:14
My Score:
Okay...I have checked out a number of reviews on the different towns listed here.. and so many of the posts are negative.... i mean maybe everybody is just getting wrapped up in their own personal ideas of hippy utopia and unfairly placing their anger on these towns....just because the site is deeming them "hippie havens" does not mean they are perfect manifestations of heaven on earth....ALL towns have problems black white yin yang...but come on people think of your favorite shit hole down yonder with the big chemical and nuke plant aroma waifting through the walmart parking lot and give these towns a break

Posted by Stella Blue on 2005-08-05 00:30:20
My Score:
I have only heard peaceful and pleasant thing of this town. I am going threw the hardest thing in my life. My boyfriend of a few years just figured he wanted something new. Well, I have cats and dogs in this(our kids). And we live together. I need yoour help finding somewhere to live. To live with like myself. I do not eat meat!! I love our Mother Earth. I'm so heart broken!! We are just alike. Please help me!

Posted by NWAGONECO on 2005-05-24 21:14:28
My Score:
Angie: I too, grew up in Northwest Arkansas. Eureka Springs was only 25 miles from my home. I love it!!!! However, I somewhat agree with you in that it just doesn't have the same aura. I still call it home and it is easy for me to forget some of the commercialization only becasue I am a realist and understand that progresss will be made. It is still beautiful and still has much comfort to lend. I now live in Colorado and have been in and out of the mountains since my senior year in HS. Arkansas gets plenty of bad wrap so I will continue to support and speak highly of my roots and heritage. I will be damned if I EVER become a Wal-Martian and will in NOW WAY allow them or ANY corp skewer my opinion on the Ozarks. Eureka Springs proper may not be what it once was but I can say that none of the Corps you mentioned has done the most harm to that community. Once, years ago the town got involved with the Blues Fest. HUGE mistake. I was there for the last good one and was also there for the one that will keep me from going back. A RIOT of punk kids on skateboards wielding bottles at cops. So it was the local government and communtiy that has driven it to it's own demise. Reach beyond the E S proper, there is plenty to love!!!

Posted by Frisbeedawg on 2005-03-07 20:18:52
My Score:
Eureka is cashing in like every-other once small town in Arkansas. There are housing developments EVERYWHERE now and a Wal-Mart on every decent spot of commercial zoned land they can buy up! What happens to the wildlife who made there homes in these gracious fields? Where are the quail, rabbits, foxes and other creatures? What happens to the birds of prey that hunted there? I was born in northwest Arkansas and I am so ashamed of what it is turning in to! One big paved parking lot! Thanks to Wal-Mart, Tyson foods, JB Hunt and the other greedy, money hungry corporations here...they have managed to turn this bit of Gods country into another littered-polluted-higher crime rate, worthless, suburban sprawl ! Maybe if we're lucky, the rodents that were kept in check by the birds of prey will take over and chase the influx of greedy, money-hungry, littering, non-Arkansawyer, vermin away. On my way to buy mice and rats now.... Hugs to all who love this state and want to keep it as it should be kept...CLEAN! Angie

Posted by last chancesoul on 2004-01-19 16:19:17
My Score:
i left there the magic is gone. the banks are buying up every thing. it is not what it use to be. i wish it was.

Posted by The Scout on 2003-09-04 14:12:50
My Score:
This town personifies just how commercialized hippydom has become.

Posted by GypsyQueen2352 on 2002-09-02 17:45:35
My Score:
Sorry I forgot to score.

Posted by GypsyQueen2352 on 2002-09-02 17:41:29
My Score:
Eureka Springs it my very favorite vacation spot. It has spas, artist colanies and great hippie shopping. I got some great Beatle stuff there and some Lennon glasses and a great flower power dress. The Ozarks veiw is beutiful and there is something very magical in the air up there. The Cresent Hotel is groovy too.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds