Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > New York Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Nyack, NY

A popular hippie town. Near the Tappanzee Bridge right on the Hudson. Much tie-dye clothing, organic health stores, yoga, antique and used book stores. Much art. Reputed as the home of Rose O'Donald.


More Info:

Address:
City: New York
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: August 12th 2004

Hits: 1466
Language: english

  


Posted by beigekhakis on 2006-05-14 06:56:39
My Score:
Nyack NY is beautiful > Disregard anything negative people say.

Posted by rth595@yahoo.com on 2005-06-23 02:04:11
My Score:
Trying to contact people in Nyack commune or other near New York City...looking for information and to join....Please contact me at rth595@yahoo.com asap....Thanks! Looking forward to hearing from you :)

Posted by one more comment on 2005-06-20 20:28:30
My Score:
I grew up and still live relatively near the "ghetto " section youre referring to - since 1946 its been that way - the issue is NOT the people - its the drug corner there on franklyn and depew -- they sell right out in front of the head start - as many times as the police try to intervene they get flack -- some things never change

Posted by Irish Dot on 2005-06-20 20:26:24
My Score:
Ive lived in nyack since 1946- weve had our ups and downs especially in the 60s for those of us who knew it when it was a little village it is a major pain to have to thread your way through those spandexed bikers down at the runcible spoon - and dont get me started on the street fairs that tie things up - having said that nyack is my home - i went to st anns school - lived for a brief time in nyc -- by the way rosie o donnell DOES live there and everything elmo said about her is true -

Posted by GraffitiSoul on 2005-04-27 01:56:18
My Score:
and by the way, i find the more "privileged" population of Nyack to be more disrespectful and poorly behaived, anyone from Nyack can support that claim, the preppie and psuedo-psychedelic crowd tends to be extremely elitist and headstrong.

Posted by GraffitiSoul on 2005-04-27 01:47:33
My Score:
I honestly live 10 mins from Nyack, Im from Teaneck NJ, Nyacks an awesome place to experience, but i also have many friends from nyack, and from what i hear living there might get alittle boring, theres not that much to do compared to, say, Manhattan right across the river...and if there was any reason to move to Nyack, it would be because Bjork lives in Nyack

Posted by elmo on 2005-03-07 04:00:11
My Score:
Rosie was here, left, came back. While originally here, her paranoia caused her to ruin one of the more beautiful homes in town, Pretty Penny, which was the lifelong residence of actress Helen Hayes. She ran her fat mouth on national television about how much she loved Nyack, and then got annoyed when her idiot fans started flocking to town to try and find her. So she left, then snuck back into town 2 years later. This time she had a nice little riverside park at the end of her street removed, on the premise that it would affect her privacy and the security of her "family". She's earned a reputation amongst the local waitpersons and bartenders as a real pain in the ass and a lousy tipper. Most residents can't wait for her to leave again. On the other hand, director Jonathan Demme, Bill Murray, Bill Irwin, Ellen Burstyn, U2's Larry Mullen, Margot Kidder and a host of other celebrities live here or nearby, in relative anonymity, and don't annoy anybody. Nyack's a great town. Come visit. But if you see that fat bitch in town, cross the street.

Posted by mary ann on 2005-02-28 00:59:30
My Score:
I grew up in Nyack in the 60's and 70's and ran ran ran to get out. It is impossible for me to believe that Nyack is hip in any way. Back in the 60's it was the place not to be from. Seeing it now it is a beautiful town and quite different than the place it was.

Posted by chinchilla on 2005-01-22 06:38:05
My Score:
Does Rosie O'Donnell, the lesbian entertainer, live in Nyack? If so, I want to move there!

Posted by kevin on 2005-01-04 23:11:43
My Score:
i use to live in nyack and it is digusting what has happened to it

Posted by walking man on 2004-12-28 23:00:23
My Score:
I agree with Maggie those comments are offensive. Wise1 you should change your name. I'm not saying everyone needs to be PC all the time, but the writer's background puts them in a place where they feel it's important to let everyone know that the less fortunate are not to be feared in Nyack. As a rule of thumb if you're writing something then turn it around as if you're reading those same word about yourself or your surroundings and it bothers you, you should rewrite it, because it will bother some one else.

Posted by Wise1 on 2004-12-16 22:39:52
My Score:
IN RE: to Maggie's offfense---I believe that the person that posted that ghetto coment was reffering to children. I've lived in Nyack and have gone to school in NYack with these kids and agree with that statement. To take offense so easily speaks volumes about a person. Relax there are much bigger battles in life to step too.

Posted by Maggie on 2004-12-11 05:08:19
My Score:
I found the recent comment about the inhabitants of the "ghetto section" of Nyack being "well-behaved and respectful for the most part" to be EXTREMELY offensive. As someone who was raised in Nyack, it is upsetting to me that a fellow Nyacker would refer to the minority populations in such a blatantly disrespectful and belittleing manner. Think about the implications of what you are saying, "well-behaved" is a phrase used to describe children. I am so incensed that I don't know what else to say politely, so, in order to be well-behaved and respectful, I will leave it at that.

Posted by on 2004-11-18 23:26:49
My Score:
Nyack is awesome. I live here and it is the ideal town. Only 20 miles from downtown manhattan and on the foothills of the catskill mountains. It is right on the hudson river with nothing but open-minded chill people. pot is plentiful in nyack and for a larger town, the police do not bother you. There is a fairly ghetto section of nyack but the people there are very well behaved and respectful for the most part

Posted by on 2004-11-17 03:44:06
My Score:
Rosie..has been seen in and around the town

Posted by HIP YIPPIE on 2004-10-27 09:27:30
My Score:
SHE'S BACK! ROSEY LIVES WITH KELLY AND FAMILY IN VILLIAGE OF NYACK. SHE LIKES THE WEEKLY FARM MARKET (IN SEASON) ON MAIN STREET.

Posted by Harlock on 2004-10-14 09:06:34
My Score:
I heard Rosie moved out a few years back.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds