Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Markets
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Waterlooplein Market

This big outdoor flea market is really a trip! Lots of clothes, crafts, art, electronics and miscellaneous junk. Some vendors are just cleaning out their attic, so there are bargains to be found.


More Info: Open Monday to Saturday from 10am to 5pm.

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: June 29th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 17156
Language:

  


Posted by haha on 2006-01-05 18:39:21
My Score:
i like boobies

Posted by Nur Mohd on 2005-01-27 12:04:17
My Score:
Its all in the perception really. Just like the saying, "One man's meat is another man's poison." I think that the Waterlooplein market is an interesting find and is worth checking out even if you leave empty handed. There are some pretty cool and affordable second hand clothes, if you search hard enough, that can be re-designed and re-worn. A process that is still considered the in-thing. Book worms can bury their nose in the rows of old literature that is offered and those whose interest lies in antiques can browse through the many items displayed at certain stands and, with some luck, find another piece of history to add to their collection. Whatever you are buying, at the end of the day, just check the quality first before departing with your euros. As a bonus, there are also rows of cafes nearby where you can sit outside (when its ideal) and sip a warm cup of hot chocolate met slagroom while you scribble a postcard to someone back home.

Posted by Woeei on 2005-01-02 18:05:25
My Score:
The Waterlooplein market is a very nice one. It is a misery that the market has been changed. 3 years ago second hand clothes and other cool junk laid in big boxes. Brand clothing only cost 2 euro' s. Now that clothing hangs nicely in clothing racks. The price has been tripled or even more... But at the Noordermarkt ( also in Amsterdam, on the monday mornings..) you can find that cheap clothes again. So I'm happy. Jeeej

Posted by Woeei on 2005-01-02 18:04:32
My Score:
The Waterlooplein market is a very nice one. It is a misery that the market has been changed. 3 years ago second hand clothes and other cool junk laid in big boxes. Brand clothing only cost 2 euro' s. Now that clothing hangs nicely in clothing racks. The price has been tripled or even more... But at the Noordermarkt ( also in Amsterdam, on the monday mornings..) you can find that cheap clothes again. So I'm happy. Jeeej

Posted by Nur Mohd on 2004-04-20 10:21:44
My Score:
An interesting find and is worth checking out even if you leave empty handed. There are some pretty cool and affordable second hand clothes, if you search hard enough, that can be re-designed and re-worn. A process that is still considered the in-thing. Book worms can bury their nose in the rows of old literature that is offered and those whose interest lies in antiques can browse through the many items displayed at certain stands and, with some luck, find another piece of history to add to their collection. Whatever you are buying, at the end of the day, just check the quality first before departing with your euros.

Posted by Helle on 2004-03-23 10:00:29
My Score:
What a load of junk

Posted by lisa henderson on 2004-02-21 21:03:09
My Score:
this was the best day out ever

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds