Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Oriental City



This very attractive multi-storied Chinese restaurant serves up some great Chinese and Indonesian food at reasonable prices. Good views over the Oudezides Voorburgwaal. Highly recommended is the Indonesian Rijstafel (Ricetable) with about a dozen dishes like curried beef, gado gado, chicken satay, fruit salad and a fabulous banana fritter for dessert. We've been coming here for years and the food is always consistent. Located only one block from the Dam Square.


More Info:

Address:
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: June 30th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 8073
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
9 entries.
Food:
8.0
Service:
7.7
Ambiance:
9.1
Value:
8.1
Overall:
8.2
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-06 13:55:45
My Score:
Don't go there for the service. Don't go there for long dinners. Don't go there for their normal menu's. But do go there for their great dim sum food.. not expensive.. but be prepared for a wait and to leave as you're finished.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-08 20:00:44
My Score:
Don't think i'll be going back here. I had the feeling they wanted rid of you as quickly as possible to get someone else on your seat.Poor value for money. Take a walk round the corner to the New Season, better food and better service at about half the price.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-13 17:29:31
My Score:
hiii

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-26 21:16:53
My Score:
Been there many times on 3 diffrent trips from 1999 thur 2002 everytime everything was great!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-07 16:31:54
My Score:
I have never had such terrible chinese food in my entire life. I have had spring rolls in so many places, but never with a brown sauce that was a miserable gravy. I must not understand the dutch interpretation of chinese food as America's translation.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-07 16:39:01
My Score:
Excellent value...Sunday dim sum is superb!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-28 14:08:40
My Score:
Went to this restaurant with a group of friends in July 2004 and the food was gorgeous!! Especially the sesame prawn toasts! Not the cheapest meal but definitely worth it as the food and the atmosphere was really good. Would definitely visit this restaraunt if I was in Amsterdam again.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-27 14:09:25
My Score:
My husband and I have been going to this restaurant for dim sum for years. It was recommended to us by a clerk in a Chinese grocery store around the corner. We love it! My four-year-old son thinks that the only reason you go to Amsterdam is to have dim sum at Oriental City. A definite must visit!

Posted by Dieter on 2004-01-23 12:06:33
My Score:
A good Chinese restaurant is traditionally one that is packed with Chinese. This one is. After living years in Hong Kong, I was anxious to find a decent Dim Sum restaurant in Holland and Belgium. This is more than decent. I'd say most of the Dim Sum are absolutely as good as those served in a HK Dim Sum restaurant: they're fresh, taste alike, and are served in the same way (the Dim Sum "vessel" - oh yes, the eye needs its reference points as well). Oriental City offers one of the best Dim Sum in the whole of Amsterdam. It's an excellent place to treat your hosts: you can offer them a whole range of different foods, but don't feel it in your purse. Excellent food, excellent price ! Highly recommended.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-14 21:49:27
My Score:
I've eaten here and I've eaten at the Golden Chopsticks downstairs (in picture at street level with yellow signage). I find the food better and the service better (though not as plush a setting) downstairs at GS.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds