Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Barney's

Ex-pat paradise with coffeeshop, breakfast and the papers. Vegan/veggie or non. Open daily from 8 am 'til 8 pm. Cheerful and friendly place with good music.


More Info:

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 102
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1013
Phone: 020-625-9761
Fax: 020-423-1012
Added: July 5th 2001
Reviewer: Martin
Score:
Hits: 47333
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
187 entries
Smoke:
8.7
Service:
7.9
Ambiance:
7.3
Value:
7.7
Overall:
8.2
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Phillips on 2011-01-24 16:58:29
My Score:
Second only to the mighty Grey Area...

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-27 12:11:18
My Score:

Posted by UncleBill44 on 2009-01-26 03:44:36
My Score:

Posted by The Quicksand on 2009-01-18 06:55:25
My Score:
   If you want to get stone, try the "crimeablue" indica !
You will understand what does gravity mean ! No worries like sativas ! I love indicas !

Posted by zman on 2008-09-24 09:20:04
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02 06:50:18
My Score:
this place is not to be missed if ur in amsterdam get some cheese or some g13 sit back with a valcano and thats all ye need whoever disagrees.... shut it!

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-26 09:09:11
My Score:

Posted by THC-Fee on 2008-07-20 11:06:57
My Score:

Posted by forrest on 2008-07-13 17:57:04
My Score:
rude staff and too small. the dutch are great, but their breakfasts leave a lot to desire. go to abraxas.

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-03 07:53:29
My Score:
barneys has got some of the best green in amsterdam.
g 13 haze was serious and some others.and there breakfasts really hit the spot. very expensive but a great place and the greenhouse a few doors down is proper.see you soon barney


Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-29 07:59:18
My Score:

Posted by Lost customer on 2007-02-19 00:53:20
My Score:
Moody, too busy and rude. workers dont know what theyre chattin about. not good

Posted by stephen on 2006-03-28 18:25:04
My Score:
got there 10.00 place was packed got some nice carmello cream and willie nelson service was good dealer willing to chat about stuff even though it was busy.barny rubble on menu 40euros a gram it looked nice

Posted by stephen on 2006-03-28 18:25:04
My Score:
got there 10.00 place was packed got some nice carmello cream and willie nelson service was good dealer willing to chat about stuff even though it was busy.barny rubble on menu 40euros a gram it looked nice

Posted by bros on 2006-03-27 13:46:54
My Score:
Went to Barneys Saturday around noon. Great hash and breakfast and sat with two beautiful women from the UK who were also sisters. One looked like Nicole Kidman! Loved the place!!

Posted by bros on 2006-03-27 13:46:54
My Score:
Went to Barneys Saturday around noon. Great hash and breakfast and sat with two beautiful women from the UK who were also sisters. One looked like Nicole Kidman! Loved the place!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-07 10:31:49
My Score:
commesso un po carognetta che non ci cagava o ci grisava. ma essendoci andati 5volte si puo pure f.....e perchè quando ci torno gli sgobbo l'impossibile

Posted by Masta Pasi on 2006-03-05 19:45:36
My Score:
Try Laughing Buddha!!!

Posted by sensi bear on 2006-03-03 01:16:55
My Score:
we loved it and will be back in three weeks.

Posted by Canotta on 2006-02-22 17:06:49
My Score:
El mejo cofishop de Amsterdam! Ke ganje veci!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-21 06:33:46
My Score:
had sex while having a coffee, staff didnt even know ! nice local girl she was ......... def going back there

Posted by melissa on 2006-01-18 18:53:44
My Score:
they were o.k. waitress snobby

Posted by FATTONE ITALIANO on 2006-01-10 18:36:31
My Score:
siete tutti dei bucaioli,fate gli sconti che si spende troppo!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-21 17:01:38
My Score:
Even better the second time around. I was lucky enough to try the "Willie Nelson" the first day it was being offered. It was by far the best smoke while at my stay in Amsterdam. The staff is knowledgable and friendly, just a little overworked for the amount of people there on the Saturday before the Cannibus Cup.

Posted by Hafen T. glass Anonymou on 2005-11-08 01:01:56
My Score:
This is one of the few places in Amsterdam that you can get breakfest before nine a.m. My late october sampling was prettygood if not a tad greasy. I purchased the NYC Diesiel,which was a bit dissapointing, but the sweet tooth was a little more of what I expected from Barneys.

Posted by russ wigan on 2005-11-04 13:56:02
My Score:
back end of november,,cant wait,,,the best

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-03 10:26:33
My Score:
It was good init!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-30 04:19:25
My Score:
dam barneys got the bomb weed and hash! some of that Barney rubble at 35 euros a gram, DAM!!!! but some of the best weed u can imagine, blaze. and pancakes all day!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-30 02:21:57
My Score:
This place is definitely worth a visit. They aren't kidding about the great breakfasts!!! The service was good - once you get rid of the American need for quick service... the dutch take their time :) Try the bacon!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-28 06:27:42
My Score:
I was here in October and the place was great. The weed was great and the prices too. Waitress with the dreds was real friendly. I recommend this to anyone.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-20 12:09:47
My Score:
small cofeeshop, not friendly, don't go if u won't waste time !!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-15 15:00:17
My Score:
Tourist trap

Posted by on 2005-10-13 15:01:15
My Score:
The barney coffeshop has very strong veed smel and taste is good it blow you head rally WHITE SHARK AND SWEET TOOTH give the power to fly best coffeshop in amsterdam what y know

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-21 14:25:32
My Score:
+Great weed. +Friendly & helpful staff. -Usually crowded.

Posted by slo on 2005-09-14 06:08:41
My Score:
This is the coffeeshop to go to in Amsterdam. The bud is so good it justifies flying around the world. I like the Italian girl working behind the counter too. And the bongs were clean as a whistle. Would recommend the Laughing Buddha.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-25 18:53:01
My Score:
TOP OF THE RANGE !!!!!!!! BEWARE ! THE BARNY RUBBLE WILL BLOW YOUR ROCKS OFF!!!! HA HA

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-10 15:15:46
My Score:
very good!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-06 19:10:02
My Score:
Visited Barneys Nov of 04 am going back in Sept. will be the first place I head after getting into the Dam, Fantastic weed, Derri is a great guy, and the staff is very friendly. would recommend this coffeeshop to all, enjoy.

Posted by Cheeses on 2005-08-05 16:18:44
My Score:
Usually the best way to start the day until one morning drum & bass "music" came on so loud (and early in the day) that I almost hurled the pancakes that had I just finished. Otherwise Barney's would have gotten a 10 from me.

Posted by Choppie on 2005-07-06 18:31:56
My Score:
Hello People!!! Just Smoke it! Weed....... Naturally born in Amsterdam I've visited lots of Shops, Barneys Shop is one of the Quality shops, so try it out!!! You will enjoy it, the only thing is that you have to love people sitting around and talking too you, but thats alright, isn't it?You get Quality weed in return and in Amsterdam it is possible to smoke your joints on the street, so you can leave any time it gets to much for you. Love from the scumbags Kisss.......... *Choppie*

Posted by Jay on 2005-07-01 21:04:07
My Score:
We loved this place. Visiting from the states for the first time. Seven of us walked hear every morning for the irish breakfast. Love the tables outside and the waitress was fantastic. WE loved smoking after our meal.. I bought many t-shirts for my friends. Great place A MUST SEE/TASTE in Amsterdam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-29 01:28:49
My Score:
Try laughing buddha!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-27 04:19:34
My Score:
nice! by far the most expensive coffeeshop yet, a half gram of hash for 35 euros! but, it was the best hash ive probably ever smoked (Barneys Rubble) the place was too packed, too many people, the place is kinda small, the employees are cool overall, and when my freinds and i were there in february, 6 dudes next to us were takin shrooms!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-16 19:08:52
My Score:
By far and away the best coffee shop I visited in amsterdam. The service was exellent. i highly recommend the the barney rubble hash which is 32 euros a gram but one of the nicest smokes ive ever had. Adam, London.

Posted by NJ_Jimbo on 2005-06-07 17:25:36
My Score:
I absolutely loved this place. A great breakfast menu until 4PM. Some of the greatest smoke around. SweetTooth, Amnesiac Haze are both good choices. Music selection was perfect. The atmosphere was better in the restuarant area then the coffeeshop mainly due to the outside seating, but the coffeeshop was still nice.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-31 09:01:34
My Score:
crowded with american, british young rookies - I am from Norcal, and one budtender was oblivious, and rather cruel, about that we know our weed. The other knew the area I was from to be of significant value to the movement. Hooked us up. Amnesia Haze was the best in AMS, once I got used to 100% sativa. Brekkie was great..!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-21 01:32:57
My Score:
Paranoid owner , strange man with an unhuman side! Go to a friendly place, not barneys!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-10 22:53:27
My Score:
indeed, not the cheapest, but very good quality

Posted by faz on 2005-05-09 23:01:04
My Score:
this was my first of many and found out the weeds a bit pricey and so is the food BUT BUT the weed was very good quality as was the breakfast and coffee, i left well fed watered and stoned out of my head on mornin glory. bit of a walk but lots of other great places near by!!!!! (try rasta baby and pink floyd)

Posted by hemp indoors on 2005-04-20 12:45:51
My Score:
Fui 9 dias a Amsterdam y los 9 dias fui a fumar al barneys, me gusto mucho.Si algun dia vais a Mallorca teneis que visitar HEMP INDOORS TU TIENDA DE CULTIVO EN: c/trobada nº 26 palma. buenos humos verdes.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:43:26
My Score:
muy bena hierba! excelente Hachis!, precios por las nubes, pero el que quiere jamon de jabugo5j, tiene que pagarlo.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:42:19
My Score:
where is the rest

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:41:03
My Score:
STILL SPINNING

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:40:07
My Score:
Amnesia Haze. Caramella Cream. Barney Rubble our irish hero

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:38:24
My Score:
the only place in amsterdam that has what i went there for in the first place. you want to get away from dodgy drug dealers for a weekend and have a smoke. dont go to amsterdam, they rip you off for what you are, ´innocent and gullable´ At Barneys we found a paradise island

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:15:15
My Score:
we love the Barneys The girls from Galway

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:14:03
My Score:
They parties weekend in the dam was full of great crazy parties, coffeeshops in general was rip off the best was Barneys. top weed and hash in the world

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-12 07:04:38
My Score:
It's a little more expensive but the smoke is fresh, clean and in a variety of personalities. The hot apple pie and ice cream was awesome.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-04 17:36:24
My Score:
The thing about this place is not the weed, not the food menu, not the drinks...For all such things there are much better shops to go to. No, dear smokers...the thing about Barney´s is that it opens at 7 in the morning! The best place to start an amazing stay in Amsterdam!

Posted by DEEJ on 2005-04-02 23:07:07
My Score:
Barney's is the shit. The dankest bud one can find in the Dam. The volcano is awesome. The guy bar tender was cool, but the woman one was a bit pushy. I highly recommend this place!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-01 17:21:34
My Score:
EXCELLENT!

Posted by WOODY ASHTON on 2005-03-31 15:10:53
My Score:
Barneys is the ideal place to start the day... (especially if your flight is the early one !) small but accomadating, good food and the most perfect buds next door in the barneys coffee shop. The buds are mainley "early in the day " smokes like sweet tooth(hydro) and morning glory(hydro) but we shouldn't forget the most perfect amenesia haze (best bud and kick) and barney rubble (hash) see ya soon as i can.... nuff said

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-30 20:09:51
My Score:
the weeds really good but most of the staff are ignorant esspecially James but except the irish bloke.

Posted by ashton stag do... on 2005-03-30 10:32:43
My Score:
12 lads on stag do.the best place in the dam, big thanks to the staff,for making space for us all,the breakfast was second to none,and the weed was the best ive smoked for that hour of the morning,sweet tooth ,,,,and morning glory.also got a gram of barny rubble, BANG that hit the spot. for a great nights sleep.(in bed for elevern oclock)buzzin.

Posted by russ,,,wigan on 2005-03-28 16:04:11
My Score:
what a away 2 start the day,loved the lot.thanks

Posted by Ali G on 2005-03-17 09:36:20
My Score:
Best place in the whole of the Dam!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-16 10:30:31
My Score:
Barneys has always been by favourite coffeeshop, it gets better and better, now has the most outstanding menu in amsterdam. well done,

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-14 18:42:54
My Score:
the best menu in amsterdam,

Posted by Chrisy & Kerry on 2005-03-07 12:59:02
My Score:
Me and my girl went in there for a full irish breakfast with xtra bacon 2 Strawberry milshakes , thaen some fuckin lovely pancakes with maple syrup which went down a treat with some funky chillout vibes in the background , we just sat there and chilled after it and smoked some weed , Sweet

Posted by saggiobaggio on 2005-03-07 01:41:32
My Score:
one of the best place in amsterdam to have the brakfast time and the first smoking of the day...sure the price is quite high but I love barney breakfast...

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-01 11:02:02
My Score:
Good food, Which you can Make at home .Over Priced !!!! I won't GO again.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-02-13 13:41:21
My Score:
muy bena hierba! excelente Hachis!, precios por las nubes, pero el que quiere jamon de jabugo5j, tiene que pagarlo. El servicio bastante bueno y para mi mas ya que hablaban español. El local es muy pequeño para la afluencia de gente que tiene! un gran lugar en el mundo.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-02-02 16:19:21
My Score:
IL PIU BEL CAPODANNO AD AMSTERDAM GRAZIE A VOI !!!!!!!!!!!!CIAO CIAO

Posted by denzil on 2005-01-18 18:22:41
My Score:
barneys is now too comercial, very expensive breakie and small portions too. weed v good but again overpriced.paid 17euros for only 2 grams! this was always worth a visit on my many a trip to the dam but will prob avoid from now on.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-17 23:40:32
My Score:
very bad sreves

Posted by jenny on 2005-01-05 00:11:54
My Score:
i love this spot, went for a big brekkie here on my 21st after 3 months of starving so that we could have money for weed! great times, going back in 2 months to smoke my brains out. whats this about being able to score acid in barneys? would love that, but am always a little too afraid to ask cause they can be weird in coffeeshops about harddrugs! any advice?

Posted by dreadz on 2004-10-26 20:55:01
My Score:
our london crew got to the amsterdam at 8.am , within 15 minutes we were all enjoying a nice breakfast and smoking some wicked ny diesel and ak47 the guy behind the counter was brilliant with his help on weed ,great be back soon for the cup

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-22 00:27:32
My Score:
simply the best coffeeshop in DAM . WHAT MORE CAN I SAY !!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-04 00:30:32
My Score:
These guys did have the best breakfast! Way to live up to your name!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-26 18:08:49
My Score:
shit! worst place i went to

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-28 21:53:29
My Score:
When I was in Barney's my mind was blown away. Your weed kicks asses guys. Now I am back home in Germany and I can't reach my dealer. At the moment I am feeling a little bit empty because my lungs and my brain needs more support.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-11 23:33:15
My Score:
cool & good weed & hash I think american people shoud kwow the difference beetwen hydroponic weed & bio weed! Because me & a friend met young american's guys who have bought some strong haze & half an hour later they had smoked 3 gr with the vaporisator. BARBARIAN'S!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-10 22:54:00
My Score:
We visited in July 2004, The best dealer in amsterdam, Great weed, When we left I was so fucked up form the morning glory that I walked into the bike lane and got hit by a bike. No one was hurt just felt like a dumbass. Don't miss a trip to Barney's the vaporizer will kick your ass. The food is superb and the service is also. Simply the best!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-21 23:59:06
My Score:
They wouldn't allow me to stay when I didn't have my passport on me (No ID). I was 18

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 05:28:17
My Score:
Visited in December of 2003 -- we went there early in the morning for breakfast and it was dead -- the waitress was very nice and talked with us for quite a while before we got our meal. Speaking of the meal, I got the vegetarian breakfast, which was AWESOME -- went great with the coffee and some bubbler (compliments of the house) hits of Laughing Buddha. The Laughing Buddha was a fruity stinky (Mekong Haze x Shiva) delight that was one of my top 3 of the trip. We came back another day and got some Morning Glory -- GREAT smoke as well, my Dad was trippin after a few hits -- I loved every minute of it. Highly reccomended -- I am going back this January to try some Helter Skelter bubble hash..

Posted by redeyedbandit on 2004-06-16 14:06:33
My Score:
Good place to start your day with a tasty breakfast and a smoke to put you in the mood. Bought some Purple Haze here, as I didn't want anything too strong first thing in the morning. It was good value (5euro/gram). Worth a visit.

Posted by Goods on 2004-05-26 19:25:51
My Score:
Great place for an American style breakfast. However, I don't ever recall buying any weed or hash there. We definitely smoked in there though. With that being said, I would assume that it's safe to smoke other shop's product in there as long as you are going to eat in there. Good for some cheap eats.

Posted by Steve on 2004-05-09 23:32:10
My Score:
Barney's feels a lot like a smokey diner because it is s smokey diner but food is awsome and so is the smoke. Nothing like a big Irish breakfast with a nice mug of tea and a fat sweet tooth to wash it all down. This place is a must visit to get the day started right.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-23 05:28:59
My Score:
We tried to find this shop our entire trip! When we finally did, it was worth it for the Sweet Tooth that was on sale at the time. The interior was not that impressive, in fact it kind of reminded me of a fast food joint or something. GOOD smoke though, which makes the trip worthwhile. Barney's had pretty good prices too. What can I say? We enjoyed almost every coffeeshop we went into

Posted by F-Dawg on 2004-04-13 19:57:59
My Score:
If you are going to the 'dam, and you want to go somewhere that sells some of the best weed out there, then this is one of the places to go. Sweetooth is the bomb! If you are also looking for a place that also has a great atmosphere, helpful staff, and goot eats to boot, then this is THE place to visit. I ate here every day on my 5 day visit, and I couldn't recommend another place that has good eats AND good weed at the same time. Sweetooth: it really grabs you by the tail and lets you know that you are baked...

Posted by Big B on 2004-04-12 15:19:28
My Score:
Go for the Barney Rubble, stay for the volcano. Breakfast was great especially since we were all so high.

Posted by Xrosstheworld on 2004-04-05 07:48:37
My Score:
This Place is Gold baby. The smoke is simply dazzling. It will kick your ass and it's close to Centraal Station

Posted by d sanchez on 2004-03-17 21:26:32
My Score:
awesome breakfast, underground hip hop, the OG place for sweet tooth, what more can you ask for? nothing like sparking up the cannibus cup winner sweet tooth while waiting for your breakfast to start your bud binge. man, sweet tooth is a force to be reckoned, extremely powerful very spacey feeling. the place is a bit small and can get crowded rather quickly. the breakfast is really good, i believe i got the american breakfast, lots of food to satisfy any palate, smoke it down with another blunt and you just got the basic elements of a balanced nutritional meal. one of the first places that ive visited and will remain one of the best.

Posted by ste on 2004-02-29 19:26:58
My Score:
amazing weed like laughing buddha or morning glory, good hash and if you are hungry you can take something to eat.it doesn't seem like a coffeeshop

Posted by chillipops on 2004-02-27 13:07:13
My Score:
just came back from Dam First trip got robbed left right and center but not here good food nice coffee decent Irish lad friendly type doing the cooking had a bit of a sweat on as he was busy

Posted by rodzilla on 2004-02-23 23:12:48
My Score:
some of the best buds, like laughing buddha and sweet tooth. definately a good place to stock up

Posted by jaco on 2004-02-22 18:30:57
My Score:
découvert a 8h00 du matin dès l'ouverture c'est tranquille et le double zero de bonne qualité l'acceuil sympathique et le décor avec ses tables très originales a voir

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-19 16:54:23
My Score:
Fantastic place. Very nice large portion food and resonably priced. They have bongs & vapourisers to use but do not leave your seat or you may loose it. The owner is a very friendly guy and they now have a bar next door. They dont sell smoke but then again it's only next door.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-19 16:54:23
My Score:
Fantastic place. Very nice large portion food and resonably priced. They have bongs & vapourisers to use but do not leave your seat or you may loose it. The owner is a very friendly guy and they now have a bar next door. They dont sell smoke but then again it's only next door.

Posted by Scoobeedoo on 2004-02-09 14:35:46
My Score:
Best menu i have seen in amsterdam, the Laughing buddha, Morning glory, Sweet tooth, Stella blue, Silver blue are the best weeds in town, and the breakfast is the best, I love this place and reccomend it to everyone.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-30 20:29:57
My Score:
Barneys is the best coffeeshop in the dam for morning toking, definetely the best place for some breakfast and a nice spliff of Morning Glory, we went back on more than one occasion - Pancakes and Maple syrup with after somequality hash rocks! It can be a bit cramped though!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-30 11:22:51
My Score:
it's so great that the place is open that early. very nice if you have to get up (to catch the train home for example) and you can have a decent brekkie and smoke before you go. very nice place and quite good food!

Posted by Disturbia_Kiss on 2004-01-29 11:47:42
My Score:
I am talking about Barneys Breakfast Bar next door to the coffee shop. Went there for breakfast every morning, ordered some food, smoked a joint, ate the food, left. Fantastic value, service and music. Although they do not sell the grass in this part of the establishment. God I loved this place, wanted to take it back to Edinburgh with me!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-22 03:26:23
My Score:
Smoke was great, but was extremely crowded. Only had one waitress. Took forever to get in order and our check when we were ready to leave. Great atmosphere/decor.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-12 21:45:10
My Score:
Yummy food.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-08 11:37:24
My Score:
good place to sore some cheap LSD, which this guide says is illegal. the weed/hash is expensive. the food could be better considering the price but we were all too wasted to care. strange bush photos everywhere

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-29 20:36:12
My Score:
visited barneys for a bit of sweettooth, honey oils, helter skelter and the little eatable paper squares worth every cent

Posted by Boner on 2003-11-28 18:51:19
My Score:
Always visit barneys for a bit of sweettooth going back to the dam in jan 2004 cant wait shall pop in and say hi to james!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-28 18:30:20
My Score:
went for the cup and saw a poor disabled guy who was forced to smoke outside in the rain alone in his wheelchair because they said he was a fire hazard? good smoke though

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-28 18:16:41
My Score:
loved the whole USA vote bush vibe they laid down, good to smoke while seeing images of the great man, sweetooth rules. respect to the owner for respecting the man. make the right vote

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-28 17:29:29
My Score:
there sweet hash oil rules

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 21:08:30
My Score:
quality greasy food. smoked the helter skelter which was good but way too pricey took some of the sunburst acid, fucked me up for like 10 hours sweeeet! can wait for the cup special

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 17:35:58
My Score:
Barneys, Barneys, Barneys all i can say is try the sweetooth! I go to the dam 2-3 times a year and always pay a visit to Barneys just for the smoke!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-20 20:20:26
My Score:
scored some of the infamous barneydinosaur print it rock man!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-11 17:29:17
My Score:
We bought some white widow, not the greatest but not dissappointing (besides, it's ok to bring your own, we did). The atmosphere of Barney's is by far the best in Amsterdam, a really laid back, cool place. It was the greatest being able to sit on the terrace, eat breakfast, then smoke as you watch a variety of people walking by. Really good food to boot!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-10 14:09:21
My Score:
forget the weed if you can get the special barneydinosaur print LSD from them youll be laughing for hours, add sweetooth and youre set.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-09 17:59:32
My Score:
really expensive, don't know what the breakfast is like didn't get good vibes of the management so brought some smoke and left to enjoy it in friendlier surrounds

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-09 12:14:26
My Score:
RUDE UNFRIENDLY, OWNER DEMANDS ID EVEN FROM LOCALS WHO ARE 25+ CANNABIS CUP IS FIXED, BEST COFFESHOP MY ARSE

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-02 18:10:39
My Score:
THe food here was bangin'. They always have award winning bud and for anyone whos been and didnt like the cramped space they just renovated an upper floor and they are still serving some of the best ganj' in the Dam. If you miss this place you totally suck.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-01 03:20:16
My Score:
We start every trip to the Dam with breakfast at Barneys!!!!

Posted by BAINNJ on 2003-10-30 18:43:11
My Score:
Only place to start a trip to the Dam. Get a good breakfast under your belt and some of the best weed and hash in town, can you think of a better way to start the day??????? I can't

Posted by Tom Foolery on 2003-10-30 07:47:31
My Score:
Awesome place to start any 'Dam day!!!! Had the club sandwhich on Panini....makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Staff very helpful in my pot buying needs and a Morning Glory joint before we got our food made evrything better!!!! See Ya in March!!!

Posted by Jerry on 2003-10-23 01:09:33
My Score:
SUPERB!!! Excellent weed. Yummy foods. Surreal decor. A MUST.

Posted by pooptoad on 2003-10-18 14:55:46
My Score:
Absolutely abominable service by a woman who was certainly the rudest person I've ever come across working in any kind of shop or restaurant. The weed is good I think, but not that cheap. I wont return.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-18 12:41:19
My Score:
first stop off the plane at about 7am dutch time. nice omelettes and fine smoke, the waitress thought we were really anoying americans, but was kinda nice.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-15 08:43:49
My Score:
It doesn't get much better than Barney's. It was great waking up and going for a glass of fresh OJ and a bowl of fresh buds. Great place to relax.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-30 11:17:35
My Score:
Crap service, Pricey Weed!been here a couple of years ago so thought i'd go back this time. All 4 of us got asked for ID and because only three of us had it(the 4th person wasn't even buying bud) they said we needed to get his passport too. Asked how long for a table and got the Answer "how long is a peice of string"(very helpful) Left there and went to a place up the road called Pink Floyd. 10 times better.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-18 11:06:29
My Score:
It was a great place to hang out, alittle loud though.Other than that we had a geat time.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-17 03:25:43
My Score:
best smoke in town. but the owner is tripping on acid or something. lots of young american grungy college crowd. place smells like a hamper. they should sell hemp shampoo for it's customers. prices expensive but u get what u pay for. owner gave me the creeps so i told him to smile for me or i'll leave........i left! my advice, buy your shit and leave quickly

Posted by Tripitaka on 2003-09-10 20:14:48
My Score:
Mostly I skored it 8's, but hey, there is a LOT worse and tackier!! Great smoke, food was pricy, but just the ticket and service great. Its nice to meet staff that will actually speak to you! Let alone have great knowledge about what they are selling. It gets my vote...just wish they would do mail order!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-08 02:50:43
My Score:
Nice breakfast, bad smoke.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-06 03:08:22
My Score:
paranoid owner

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-03 09:32:58
My Score:
Not so good as we tought

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-23 03:27:24
My Score:
tangereen dream, great haze flavor and high. no indica hangover for lunch. wake and bake.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-13 02:02:25
My Score:
Correction (read below): It wasn't bubblegum, it was SweetTooth...killer bud!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-13 01:58:49
My Score:
This place is GREAT!! Get great grub while getting stoned first thing in your day. Breakfast was superb, a little pricey, but well worth it...veggie options. I believe it was the "Bubblegum" I was smoking...previous Cannibus Cup winner. Worth a visit...either at beginning or end of your trip, as its only a couple mins. walk from Centraal Station.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-11 10:01:33
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-06 17:10:50
My Score:
Morning glory rocks. & try the laughing buddha its the purest sativa i've encountered. A really busy place but the staff are friendly and the dealers knowledgeable and helpful. And you can get all this with the best breakfast in amsterdam. Shaun & Brenda

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-06 16:43:00
My Score:
Simply the best

Posted by SDJamesHall on 2003-07-28 16:11:15
My Score:
This place is a must see in Amsterdam! Their weed is so strong, try the laughing buddha!! Also, the people that work there let you know exactly whats up with all of their buds. Like they graduated from weed college or something.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-27 06:03:08
My Score:
The perfect place to start off the day. Decent breakfast and excellent weed. It's more like an American diner with attentive service and larger tables. This can be good or bad depending on your goal. It's nice to have real table service but also makes the experience feel a little more hurried then the typical very casual service in Amsterdam. I tried a couple different varieties of their weed and they were among the better I had in Amsterdam. The dealer was helpful and, overall, the place is friendly to tourists without ripping us off.

Posted by Zames on 2003-07-19 08:04:49
My Score:
Breakfast was eatable, and you know what? it's true! no one makes tea like the English and their tea don't even come close. But their strawberry shakes kicks ass! Morning Glory a very fine weed indeed, nice awake high, lovely taste and aroma, one of the few coffe shops that sell quality bud any more. If you arrive early in the morning make this your first call.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-17 06:34:04
My Score:
Chillumsucker - I would like to meet you and show you around Amsterdam. Maybe you will change your idea

Posted by Hello on 2003-07-12 21:35:52
My Score:
Yeh one time but after that it just wasnt the same.......I mean it was and all but was just a misty shadow!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-07 06:47:43
My Score:
Go there and see for yourself! I am not a tourist guide!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-03 05:23:15
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-27 10:25:39
My Score:
This coffeeshop was one of my favorites. When i was there I enjoyed the NYC diesel which won the cannibus cup this year. The food was good and the orange juice was the best i ever had. Overall an amazing experience, the complimentary piece per table was truly amazing.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-27 10:06:17
My Score:
One of if not the best coffeeshop I visited. I love the fact that they have a menu for the Marijuana on the table and you select that before you even think about what you are going to drink or eat. The food is very good and Barney's has the best orange juice in the world. Overall great value, great atmosphere, amazing experience.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-27 05:51:39
My Score:
The only two things were. the food was a euro or two too much and the music was a little loud, but my favorite coffie shop all together

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-18 20:58:47
My Score:
einfach GEIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-15 09:55:09
My Score:
nice smoke

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-10 17:07:25
My Score:
Laughing Buddha!!! Say no more...

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-08 17:07:20
My Score:
Very nice experience. Good smoke and tasty fruit shakes at the lounge next door

Posted by Joe on 2003-06-08 09:18:15
My Score:
Barneys, anyone who goes there knows but for those dat dont go there derrys a fantastic host the staff are friendly as with everywhere the puff changes but is always of excellent quality when it is good it almost cannot be beat keep your eye on the window sometimes she can surprise you

Posted by dkh on 2003-05-29 14:59:52
My Score:
Great Place for the start to the day...But i agree with earlier comments....bit pricey....but then again...I keep going back so they must be doing somehting right!!!!

Posted by chillumsucker on 2003-05-27 08:24:27
My Score:
stay away from the miserable oik wi da ponytail I think he's the owner. Avoid. Asshole. The blonde girl is safe & seems to be able to deal wi most of whats goin on. Avoid food if you have tastebuds, its overpriced and grim. However, certain weeds are sayin it, Sweettooth espc. So in all buy a coffee, score and chip off. Too many Yanks, whats the matter with them?? you'd think they'd nevr seen a spliff.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-12 08:56:27
My Score:
Ok people !! TANGERINE HAZE & MORNING GLORY ONE WORD .....Good NITE !!!!!!!!

Posted by Stevie Rea on 2003-05-11 13:30:56
My Score:
If your after a proper Irish breakfast, a massive mug of tea, and the best bubble-hash you can smoke. Then this is the place you will call home, gets a bit crowded at the W/end, but much better now the extension has been added. Thumbs up from me.

Posted by Cotabato87 on 2003-05-07 00:19:48
My Score:
Thank god for this website! I have very fond memories of Barney's while I visited A'dam in '95 & '96. This really reminded me of a typical postage stamped sized "greasy spoon" diner in the US, only they sold very high quality weed & hash! The weed at Barney's was better than some over hyped "coffeeshops" like the Bluebird & the chow was good & cheap. After eating fast food garbage or bread with peanut butter, Barney's hit the spot. Service was prompt, unlike most stuck up Dutch establishments, and the staff was very nice & understanding of the stoned tourist. I remember prices to be more than fair....this guy next to me bought the largest take out chunk of hash I'd ever seen to that point..DON'T PASS THIS RESTURANT BY OR THIS SMOKE SHOP BY!!

Posted by MellowD on 2003-05-04 23:51:35
My Score:
AK47 was as dreamed about. Friendly, welcoming staff, tasty bud. Great combination.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-01 19:38:28
My Score:
Execellent weed, great place next door also Barney's

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-01 17:44:16
My Score:
the best

Posted by richwes on 2003-04-25 16:24:35
My Score:
First visit to Amsterdam for this 57 year young man.All I can say is woww.Think it will become yearly pilgramage

Posted by wisconsin on 2003-04-22 10:08:04
My Score:
the only place thats open early. good smoke, but a little high priced. Small and crowded

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-22 05:02:40
My Score:
Good smoke is perhaps the only redeeming quality of this establishment. The music is always too damn loud, the place is always overcrowded, the food is overpriced, and the service(food) was horrible! The cannabis dealers however tend to be friendly, and their smoke is always pleasant!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-20 06:15:46
My Score:
I loved Barneys for the following reasons; Quality of weed/hash the best Amsterdam has to offer! The place is comfortable and the staff is helpful. The breakfasts are ok but not fantastic. A great place to catch a buzz...........

Posted by AmsterDan on 2003-04-07 19:27:04
My Score:
A great place to start your day ecspecialy if your an earlier riser, Barney's opens at 0700. Decent food, friendly staff, but can get crowded quickly. The Blue Stella had a wonderful smell and taste, and the Morning Glory made you want to say goodnight! All in all it was a great day starter.

Posted by ianmc on 2003-04-07 07:59:02
My Score:
Me and the lads keybo and pauly...barneys everymorning..breakfast,,SMOKE** >:) we will be there on the 8-11 may 2003..look for 3 stoners keybo is the ginger 1..lol

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-03 14:35:43
My Score:
I tried the sweet tooth which was nice but the one for me was the tangerine haze, really nice buzz. Cappichino was the bollocks and the musics really cool too.

Posted by Carl on 2003-03-10 11:08:20
My Score:
The quality and selection of the breakfast here are outstanding. However, i felt the pancakes were sub-standard and the juice was over-priced. Although if you start your day in amsterdam here, you'll be set up for a day of quality smoking. Myself and my friends had breakfast here 2 days in a row. After our meal on the 2nd day, we payed our first visit to their coffeeshop. I didn't much care for the interior, but had heard good things about their weed. Before we were even greeted, we were all asked for id. We're all 20 or over and look it. I couldn't help feeling a little insulted, but then these people have a job to do. I produced my ISIC (internationally accepted student card - well, in europe anyway), but she insisted on passport id only. I didn't have my passport with me, and wanted to have a quick glance at their menu, so if i wanted anything i could go get my passport and come back. She wouldn't even hear me out, and shooed us out of the coffeeshop. We never went back.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-03 11:10:04
My Score:
The best place to start your day. Phenominal breakfasts with some of the most kick ass weed in the city. Sweet Tooth rocks! Derry, the owner, is the nicest guy. The only problem is that it's very popular and a lot of times you can't get a seat at all. If you look in and see any empty seats, take advantage of them while you can!!! You may never see an opening again. It would be great if they were able to expand a little. Other than that, a must see.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-21 13:28:17
My Score:
We loved this place. They have opened up another space next door where you can take your weed if the main room is full.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-20 22:27:52
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-17 11:45:25
My Score:
top shop as i said, please get in touch KILLER your UK buddy shillycarp@aol.com

Posted by SHILLY on 2003-02-17 11:43:05
My Score:
The best coffieshop of its kind in the dam, derry was very freindly indeed& the guy behind the weed counter "top man" forgot his name . the weed is the bizzzznessss espesh the morning glory which me and my USA mate hammered with jelly hash woo anyway real freindly place all top staff. yes i,ll be back

Posted by dreadnasty on 2002-12-03 10:31:43
My Score:
I just got back from Amsterdam and while I was there the Morning Glory won the Cannabis Cup and Barneys won the best coffeeshop award. This place was better than the storys I had heard. The hot apple pie and cream is the shit!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-12 21:13:20
My Score:
Outstanding!! I love this place. I spent mornings or early afternoons here only...good music, great decor, and the food is fabulous. Try the SWEETTOOTH...you won't be disappointed!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-10 11:17:11
My Score:
this shop is the shit flyingin from NY i get into town at 6 30 am so i head right to Barneys for some orange bud a great meal great bacon and at the end a killer shake emm well ill be there in 2 weeks

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-24 00:54:05
My Score:

Posted by Honey on 2002-10-18 22:51:11
My Score:
My friend Beverly and I were here in May, 02 and had the best time of our lives. Thanks for a great experience.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-08 21:04:53
My Score:
Next month is my 11th visit to Amsterdam. And ever since I discovered this coffee shop I have to visit this coffeeshop for breakfast and a smoke :) The breakfasts are lovely, you have to have a cooked one :D Ang

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-09-23 17:31:41
My Score:
Hei!! The Spanish waiter is a very close friend of mine!! So, Kisses for Jose from Elvira.

Posted by Sarge on 2002-08-13 13:45:06
My Score:
I go to Amsterdam every year, and Barneys is always on the agenda.....you cant beat them for a good brekkie and mug of tea (Even Fishfinger sandwiches/Apple pie and custard)..along with some of the best White Widow...A must for any traveller to the Dam.....Long may it remain!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-06 23:52:36
My Score:
Went there last Feb. Just hopped off an 8hr flight. Too early to check into the hotel. Decided to hit Barney's. Had a kick ass omelette, good cup of coffee, all served with a smile. Took 4 hits of Northern Lights, and I was in a coma for about 6 hrs. Barney's will be my first stop on my next trip! Cheers!

Posted by Doc Spliffy on 2002-07-28 14:24:28
My Score:
1st place to go.top notch smoke food is clean staff friendly going 31st july 2002 (again)..scored xxx skunk when i was there last. Walked out of barneys nearly was taken out by cars,trams and bikes the xxx was wicked.see you all soon docspliffy@hotmail.com

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-07-24 20:47:20
My Score:
nice for the ex-pat who likes to hang with others :) good stuff and friendly staff....hard to get to the counter sometimes and the food takes time but all in all very nice place...all ages feel welcome there :)

Posted by on 2002-06-23 20:41:16
My Score:
Just arrived to Amsterdam early in the morning and was not able to check into my hotel for 3 hrs. So, I went to Barney's for breakfast and some smoke. Had an excellent omelette, strong cup of coffee and washed it all down with some Northern Lights. First of all, I am NOT an expert on weed, so I asked the staff for a recommendation of something that "will not put me into a coma". The offered the Northern Lights and I was knocked on my ass for the next 3 hrs! I could not leave my table, I was so high!! Staff was friendly, music was great Trip Hop and the cool thing was that there were three old ladies (approx 60s) smoking at the next table over from me. Reminded me of my mom! It was a site to see. All in All, Barney's rocks! That will be my first stop when I go back over in August. Peace!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-04-29 17:44:30
My Score:
Was in Amsterdam the 14th-21st of March, 2002, and Barney's was THE place to get stoned. The breakfast was specatular and afterwards, enjoying a bong full of Cannabis Cup 2002 winner Sweet Tooth. You must go here!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-20 14:48:26
My Score:
WAKE AND BAKE!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-16 00:58:40
My Score:
Love This Place. It is the perfect size with an Indian decor with pillows all over the padded wooden Benches. Very divers but mostly mellow music. They are so nice behind the bar, as they showed me all their herbs and lent me a beautiful bong to smoke out of. The Glass pipes are so amazing!! Talk about art. If that isn't enough, they have a sedated cat named Rambo who sleeps 24-7 all over the shop. GO here for a nice break away from the hectic Red Light District. Peace.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-11 17:23:36
My Score:
Scored some nice organic 'sunburst' but waited AGES to be served.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-12 18:28:52
My Score:
Go early & get the breakfast, nothing to beat a hash hangover over there other than a Barney's Fry Up a mug of proper Tea and a spliff to soak it all up with. Going back for the 4th time in April, cant wait to get up on Friday for a Barney's excursion Conspiracy23

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-06 11:31:50
My Score:
if your planning a trip to amsterdam and your looking for good skunk and good food this is the place to be and it opens at 7 in the morning. thats good thing if u like a smoke befor breakfast cos all the other coffee shops dont open til 10

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-01-28 15:43:59
My Score:
i just got back an hour ago, i didn't want to go home infact i'm going to move there for the summer. Barney's not only is the best place to go for a slap up breakfast in the morning the food is really good and it has the added bonus of being a coffeeshop aswell, with a fine selection of hasish, i recommend tibetian polm, so you can sit and chill with a few spliffs before your breakfast. How much better can it be. A big thumbs up from Libby in scotland

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-12-07 07:09:40
My Score:
Love the place. One of my fondest memories of Amsterdam came on the final morning, trying to plough through heaps of bud over the compulsory full English brekkie before the flight home. What really stands out in this happy haze of a memory is the fantastic staff and their willingness to converse with the most battered of punters. The compelling interiors, food and friendliness make this my essential 'Last stop on the way home'.

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-10-17 17:18:36
My Score:
This is THE only place in Dam to have a proper slap up brekkie, the foods like ours (BRITISH) cafes all greasey spoon stuff (but we like that foriegners :)), anyways me mate dropped his wallet containing £300 right next to the counter and they gave it back 15 mins after we left (we came back for it) , so the staff are pukka, anyways the smokes good but take heed that the smoke is not ALWAYS what it says it is, i bought sweet tooth and next day went in for more and it was a totally different plant, but on a scale of 1-10 for food.........8 and for smoke 7, if ya want pukka smoke, DE Dampkring or The Grey Area, im going in 31 n half hours.....so wish me luck.......AGAIN :)

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-10-17 14:43:21
My Score:
My fiancee and I went to Amsterdam Nov.2000. We visited many coffeeshops, and Barney's was one of our favorites. We ordered dutch pancakes with dutch syrup, and they were awesome! I loved the food, the pot and the atmosphere. I definetly recommend this coffeeshop to everyone!!!! I also suggest going to the grasshopper (also one of our favorites)

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-07-22 13:51:17
My Score:
Great food, but you´re not allowed to sit at the tables unless you eat. I couldn´t see any signs stating that and therefore felt conned into ordering a meal I didn´t quite feel like having at the time I was in that part of the city. It costs too much to be there, hence the character. Make an outside sign to deserve a higher score. You know , YOU GOT TO EAT TO HAVE A SEAT!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.18 Seconds