Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

New Season

The New Season Chinese Oriental Restaurant on the Warmoesstraat at #39 offers a good meal for a good price. Spicy food is the offering here, with many Malaysian meals that are quite spicy indeed. The functional and clean interior offers tables at the window with a great view of the busy passers-by out on the street.

For a starter I had a bowl of Tom Yam Kai soup, which had a rich dark broth (beef?) and the required few lumps of chicken, sliced fresh mushrooms and chopped fresh herbs making this a delightful treat for only 2.80 euros. My friend had the Chicken Satay, which featured four skewers loaded with chicken chunks and lots of spicy peanut sauce. This was 3.50 euros.

The main courses were also spicy and delicious. Ling Hsiang Ha was a prawn dish with sweet chili sauce and oriental vegetables that was stir-fried to perfection and served with a bowl of steamed rice. Fried Noodle Chicken was our other choice, with fresh noodles stir-fried in a rich and spicy conglomeration of vegeatables and chicken chunks. The portions were nicely sized, filling us completely. The chattering waiter was very polite and quite nice, insisting that we would return many times after sampling their fine food.

All-in-all this place is a great bargain, quiet and cozy. A nice place for a relaxing meal while downtown in Amsterdam. The Warmoesstraat can be reached from the Dam Square or Central Station very easily, and is in the heart of the Red Light District of Amsterdam.


More Info:

Address: Warmoesstraat 39
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012 HV
Phone: 020 625 6125
Fax:
Added: March 31st 2003
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 3098
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
7 entries.
Food:
10.0
Service:
10.0
Ambiance:
10.0
Value:
10.0
Overall:
10.0
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Alan (Scotland) on 2006-03-08 19:55:39
My Score:
Found this place by chance. What a find. Food was superb. Staff could'nt have been anymore helpful.I'll be going back for sure next time i'm in the dam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-20 13:54:41
My Score:
this place is very very good,the owner richard is the sweetest person and the service is outstanding

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-07 17:50:07
My Score:
Try the Teppen beef next time your there. We've been coming to this restaurant for years and it still keeps us coming back for more of all they have to offer.

Posted by Jo and Stu (scotland) on 2005-04-13 19:05:24
My Score:
Love this restaurant! We have been to Amsterdam three times and always have at least one meal at the New Season. The food is fantastic and very reasonably priced. The service is excellent and waiters are always chatty and pleasant. The owner has bags of personality which adds to the experience. Ladies (and sometimes men!) are always given a beautiful rose after their meal. Brilliant!

Posted by isabella on 2004-11-22 00:45:48
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-04 19:50:20
My Score:
Richard is the best waiter ever!!

Posted by Venturi on 2003-09-17 08:32:08
My Score:
i really can't fault this place, been there everytime weve been to A'dam, its a small restaurant but the food makes up for the lack of space theres so much to choose from on the menu, usually quite busy but always seems to get you a seat from sumwhere the owners a funny guy "he bats for the other side" but cant fault service plus a bonus of its not all that expensive for a good meal.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds