Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Pink Floyd

This used to be one of my favorite places to visit when I came to this side of town.

I recently went by to check out the reptile room. The snake was gone already, with only one lonely turtle stuck in a glass topped table. But I was able to hang out in a room by myself (a rarity anymore), while a long Bob Marley set played through some great Bose speakers.

I was curious about their menu since they showed "Ice" hash on it. I tried to ask the dealer about it, whether it was Ice-O-Lator, but he didn't have a clue what I was talking about! So I had to explain to him how it was made. He showed me a box that had many different types and colors of Ice-O-Lator, and it smelled really rank (moldy). It is a BIG no-no to mix various hashes especially when somethings gone off. So I'm revising the rating on this place (down) because they could at least get in someone who knows what they're selling, and store it properly!

I still think this is an interesting place to hang out in on this side of town, but I'd think twice about buying any smoke here...


More Info:

Address: Harlemmerstraat 44
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: July 5th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 26982
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
64 entries
Smoke:
8.4
Service:
8.1
Ambiance:
7.5
Value:
8.0
Overall:
8.3
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-20 16:23:06
My Score:

Posted by tdw121270 on 2008-04-14 10:07:11
My Score:
The Floyd has now been taken over by Dampkring, so the menu has changed, but thankfully they are still selling Ummagumma. Apart from that nothing has really changed, same dealer and counter staff and great atmosphere. This will be my first stop when I go back for 2 weeks at the end of May.


Posted by nyaligrah on 2008-02-01 13:35:11
My Score:
by far the best shop in the city, the aligrah is to die for and the ummagumma hash was the best i toked while in town!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-05 15:03:51
My Score:
Pink Floyd was bang opposite our hotel. it was our 1st and last stop everyday. lovely tea and coffee. W will be staying at the hotel again and therefor going to the pink flowd....again!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-14 16:30:46
My Score:
I went on Friday, because Ummagumma means "Friday" in Arabic. Youm el Gumma. The Brit bud tender had no clue and could only vaguely refer to the Pink Floyd album. Very mellow stuff - good for a lazy Friday afternoon.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-29 18:12:21
My Score:
ill be back.

Posted by FATTONE ITALIANO on 2006-01-10 18:32:36
My Score:
NEW YORK DIESEL e potete stare tranquilli.... w il duce

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-20 16:50:02
My Score:
great music great service great hash................try the umma gumma it lives up to the name

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-01 07:38:20
My Score:
Cool rock music vibe

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-28 17:28:41
My Score:
sound

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-03 02:21:23
My Score:
Nothing special

Posted by rolandMcdonald on 2005-07-02 19:34:02
My Score:
nice coffeshop. good weed. good hash. good music. rock n roll !!!

Posted by EasilyBeazeley on 2005-06-06 14:59:21
My Score:
I popped in here on the way to the herbaliser coffeeshop - I cant remember the name, and I picked up some of the best skunk I have ever had - expensive but worth it. If anyone out there finds it again I would HIGHly recommend it - 'NY Diesel' I only saw it in Pink Floyd.

Posted by Oxo on 2005-05-03 23:14:07
My Score:
Bring you own stuff and smoke it here and it's great - not a great selection to buy. Then buy some space cake when you leave and have it later in the day...

Posted by SLIM NIGGA on 2005-04-28 14:14:31
My Score:
this niggas weed is tha shizznitt. I got so torn and my eyes were so red i thought they were gonna bleed. You shouda seen me cuzz. I met this one chick in the shop with some small titties but as soon as i hit that weed they grew right before my eyes. My penis grew a bit too. I also went into that bathroom with a flashlight and turned the UV lights off and got my syringe out and did my thang. Thanks for the facilities.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 20:39:30
My Score:
Good Weed, Hash and Breakfast

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 18:43:34
My Score:
Was here last summer and it was the best cafe i was in..sad to here they got rid of some of the art work as it was fantastic..would advise checking this place out at least once

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 13:12:20
My Score:
GREAT AND VERY FRIENDLY COFFEE SHOP!!!!!!! Good people ,goood weed and friendly ....what more can you ask for!!!!!! Good first thing in the morning fro Weed and Breakfast

Posted by RobbyT on 2005-04-03 23:46:27
My Score:
Guy behind counter is cool and helpful. Chilled atmos good smoke too!perfect wake up call

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-26 13:36:08
My Score:
was a pleasure.

Posted by broette on 2005-01-10 18:43:31
My Score:
I really like Pink Floyd. My husband and I stay at that end of town and this is usually our second stop when we get about. First stop is a smart shop of course. We always find the folks to be good people, Hell they say hi to us when they see us on the street. Yes we get there often. They remodeled the place and most of the cool artwork is gone but I still like this out of the way shop. Never too crowded.

Posted by jenny on 2005-01-05 00:33:34
My Score:
i just want to reply to the absoluteley adorable comment made by the guy below me! that the uv lighting in the toilet was one of their cool features? most toilets in amsterdam and in most cities have uv lights in the loo so that you cant see your veins properly and wont be able to shoot up. how cute!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-04 19:17:14
My Score:
First time i went to pink floyd (3 years ago), it was a cool trippy place with alot of stimulus to make your mind wonder. My favorite room back then was the top one. The best feature was a live skunk plant in a window in the staircase, and the toilets had UV lighting in it. I returned there a couple of months ago and it had changed. Its still ok though! If you go there, try the lychee and mango juices, amazing complement to a spliff : )

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-27 09:45:58
My Score:
the place was different to when we last went,not quite as good as last time 3 years ago,(the decor and ambieance was better),but still one of the better ones.excellent smoke,food,music.my wifes joint favourite with c/s 36.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-04 21:33:04
My Score:
get new decor

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-26 00:38:40
My Score:
got shitfaced luved the people luved the atmosphere had a great almost magical,but i suspect the acid alterd my perception i suggest that everyone must find out for yourselves cause i don't know wat to belive any more ha haa'it's a wonderfull place wher we all must pass through sooner rather than later good luck . dangerousbaz!!

Posted by Jack the Bulldog on 2004-10-15 23:11:38
My Score:
The place was great, and on our way to and from between town and our hotel. The service was perfect and the espresso was delightful.(that's saying alot from a non-coffee drinker). Mother's Finest and Umma Gumma were the recommended, and with good reason! All in all, a wonderful experience. We look forward to our first Anniversary so we can have a second go at it!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-17 12:34:37
My Score:
Bought some wkd Jamacian last year but this time it was (I cant think of a polite word!) needless to say we left.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-28 14:17:44
My Score:
Had the Mothers finest which is one of my fav's (10/10) and the umma gumma hash which I found to be only ok (6/10) ..B..

Posted by Dr.hashish on 2004-06-04 04:46:36
My Score:
this ass kicking pot spot got my girl so stoned that she went home with her underware on her head,and another man on her arm,i was pretty fuckin pissed,but i contimued to blaze away and hit the ol' red light distrist and slapped the sausage on em.

Posted by POTUSA on 2004-05-14 23:01:37
My Score:
my ratings mean nothing, but i want to say... I wonder how many rival coffee shops gave bad reviews on this forum thingy. There seem to be alot of conflicting reviews which doesn't neccessarily mean anything, but I know of the rivalry that can exist between places of business (or pleasure)

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-24 14:25:04
My Score:
Umma gumma is the best hashish in the city. You only find it in the pink floyd.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-21 19:31:56
My Score:
The Pink Floyd is fantastic place of you smoke your joint in total relax. I wish to thank for Goldie, the beatiful group of Drum&Bass. See you soon Pink Floyd. Bye from Trony from Turin (Italy)

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-30 20:21:02
My Score:
one of the best coffeeshops in thats area, very good space cake, friendly service, good space tea. alround a v.good coffeeshop

Posted by me on 2004-03-28 22:21:06
My Score:
cool cafe and the only one with comfey chairs..

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-16 23:06:23
My Score:
Lame! A few poor pictures, just not what i was expecting...and hard chairs.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-05 18:12:00
My Score:
i whant to visit your coffee shop

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-27 12:40:00
My Score:
Great smoke good ambiance great service

Posted by Boner on 2004-02-22 01:22:22
My Score:
The Mothers Finest was one of fav's and the bubble was shit hot...Boner the cant!!!... oh and try the toilet after you've got stoned its a blast

Posted by Erik on 2004-02-16 02:23:43
My Score:
Place was empty when I was there and the guy wokring tried teaching me how to roll a cone.

Posted by Disturbia_Kiss on 2004-01-29 11:52:59
My Score:
This place was great, went back a couple of times. The dealer was really friendly, the first english the second dutch, both really helpful. Service was excellent, music was great, food was good too. Only criticism was that the seats were not really comfortable.

Posted by Andrea on 2004-01-16 23:25:56
My Score:
It´s one year since I moved from Amsterdam, but I can still remember the fine weed Mother´s Finest from Pink Floyd. The munchies and the urge for sex, pretty great;-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-09 19:58:14
My Score:
NICE TO BE ABLE TO LISTEN TO SOME GOOD ROCK AND ROLL WHILE GETTING STONDED.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-17 08:08:28
My Score:
A good place to get mashed off your face!!!!!

Posted by Vera Lynn on 2003-10-16 16:12:41
My Score:
Went to Amsterdam twice and both times my first stop was the Pink Floyd Coffeeshop! Got stoned out of my mind and felt like a cartoon when I finally walked out. I felt Comfortably Numb for all intensive purposes. Love the place. Wish we were all here. See you all on the Dark Side.

Posted by Hollie on 2003-10-13 16:53:23
My Score:
Well I maybe completely biased but i love PINK FLOYD. Hope all is well, much love to everyone that works there. big kisses xxxxxxx

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-09 14:03:59
My Score:
yup...nice place to hang. go upstairs to smoke your shit. u will be floating.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-21 08:31:26
My Score:
grandma´s finest is quite possibly some of the best pot i have ever smoked in my life, definatly worth a try, the pot had more crystals on it than any pot i had ever seen in my life. not very pricy either, for what you get.

Posted by ELS CATALANS AL PODER on 2003-09-08 14:23:35
My Score:
this coffeshop is very quiet and there is a very good ambiance inside. OVERCOAT: YOU MUST GO TO THE TOILET OF THIS COFFE. GREAT!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-26 10:47:56
My Score:
i spend some beautiful hours there. it is just lovely on the gallery when the mild afternoon sun is breaking thru. we say yeah, yeah, yeah, oooh ...

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-21 06:34:34
My Score:
Went in to try out a space cake as it was my frst visit to the dam and I had never had a space cake before. Where better to try "Pink Floyd" the trip masters themselves. There ckaes will be good. How wrong I was.€4 for a piece of cake that had completely no affect at all. As for the service. The girl who was working there she could just about be bothered to get me out of her chair to serve us. I WILL NOT BE VISITING THERER AGAIN

Posted by JohnnyTyler on 2003-08-03 18:16:17
My Score:
They have the best prepackaged joints (not based on quality of the weed, mind you) that read "wish you were here" after you remove the joint. i mailed the package back home to a friend of mine because i am the best buddy ever. is that blonde english babe still working the counter?

Posted by Hopp on 2003-07-24 08:25:56
My Score:
very small but good Weed and the dealer is friendly!

Posted by colin on 2003-07-23 10:22:18
My Score:
being a floyd fan,i wanted to see this one.and i wasnt dissapointed either.i had mothers finest,really good weed,and he sold me pure grass cone white widow and k2,that was so cool to smoke.good service,and very friendly.and good tunes check it out

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-23 05:32:15
My Score:
Great isolator hash, even nicer skunk. reasonably priced and friendly

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-27 10:20:38
My Score:
Very nice coffeeshop with a classic name. Overall very nice and priced well.

Posted by JAN on 2003-06-08 06:39:42
My Score:
Found this place about an hour before we were due to leave Amsterdam,am definately planning another visit when we go again in 2weeks time.Can,t remember much about the smoke we had while we were there ,was a bit upset because we were having to go home.Bought a packet of 3 ready rolled joints in a Pink Floyd packet which we didnt smoke until a few weeks later ,nearly blew our heads off , and there was us thinking they were just a souvenir ! Anyone had a similar experience ? Any idea what they put in them ? can't wait to try them again

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-07 15:05:08
My Score:
not the most cofortable to sit a bit longer in but for a sudden visit it was nice and friendly and relaxed.the smoke was ok.good snacks!

Posted by Strangler on 2003-05-18 09:03:47
My Score:
Visited the Floyd cafe on the way home to scotland from Cairo.The murals are amazing!I can't comment on the locals as me and my better half were the only two customers(well the shop had just opened!) which was actually very cool.Had lots of time to checkout the artwork and smoke 'Mothers Finest' and some 'Northern Lights'.I was well blootered.My girlfriend tells me the upstairs was cool,however,unfortunately I was too ripped to make it up the stair.If you're a Floyd fan of any description,just go and you'll love it!

Posted by DRzaREKTA on 2003-04-17 07:35:52
My Score:
not the best in the world to be honest , hired out bikes and parked up , went in for a water , a bit expensive to say the least , cool can though!! had some cake, thought i was eatin a bag! strong stuff, with icin aswell , not ver comfy, heard one pink floyd song and the rest was some pish band i never want to hear again , cake was quite strong i think, cause i managed to get my wheel caught in tramline and took a flyer in the middle of the main street on a busy afternoon, tried to get up and get on with it but my wheel was bucked , had to pick it up and carry it! totally embarrasin to be honest, funny though!! if i had seen someone doin the same thing i would have been in stiches...so anyway, i blame the cake!! peace..

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-27 23:53:33
My Score:
it sucked

Posted by slim adie on 2003-03-24 08:39:20
My Score:
A bit over rated but the music is cool. Did not stay too long as we could not get settled. The seats were so uncomfortable.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-11 14:46:21
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-06 06:35:39
My Score:
This has to be the best coffee shop i have ever been to when visiting Amsterdam!! WE ALL LOVE PINK FLOYD AND TO BE ABLE TO GET STONED TO CONFORTABLY NUMB IS BRILL!!!! The staff were really friendly! Thanx!

Posted by pooptoad on 2002-12-29 17:33:56
My Score:
Intersesting art and design, but wasn't convinced about this Mother's Finest I keep hearing about. The ice hash wasn't as potent as I'd thought either. As a place though it stands out enough to pay a brief visit.

Posted by NYerInAmsterdam on 2002-12-06 05:23:22
My Score:
This is a great place to sit and have a smoke and socialize. Every time i go there I get the Mother's Finest bud, it looks great and it does the job. Also, every time i went in there I ended up in someone elses session. Social people. nice place, definitely check it out

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-28 04:59:11
My Score:

Posted by Zaphod on 2002-07-26 17:54:17
My Score:
Mothers finest is the best stuff

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-06-22 08:47:03
My Score:
IT WAS COOL, I WAS TOLD BY A FRIEND ABOUT THIS PLACE AND THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER FIND IT BUT I DID AND HAVE BEEN BACK SINCE THE SMOKE I GOT WAS GOOD STUFF AND MY FRIENDS AND I THINK IT IS THE BEST COFFEE SHOP TO VISIT AND WE WILL BE BACK SOON.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-06-06 11:06:51
My Score:
The music was all too intense, like someone was determined to completely mess you up - with head-spanners. Didn't find the staff very friendly. The hash cake was okay. The best thing about the place is the fact they have loads of board games to play

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-04-29 03:09:55
My Score:
WE VISITED THE PINK FLOYD CAFE APRIL 2001 ITS A MUST FOR ANY DIE HARD PINK FLOYD FAN. SUCH AS US. WE SAMPLED SOME GREEN BUDS THEY CALLED MOTHERS LITTLE HELPER IT WAS INTENSE DID NOT FIND ANYTHING LIKE IT IN OTHER COFFEE SHOPS. IT WAS SAD THAT THERE T-SHIRTS SUCKED SO BAD. WILL BE BACK. BAD DOG U.S.A.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-06 11:47:24
My Score:
DO NOT GO HERE,when i walked in here there was hard house on full volume at 9.30 in the morning,the space cake was crap and the skunk wasnt much better whats with the computers in cafes like this???

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-10-30 13:24:30
My Score:
Yeah, I kinda of agree with most of what you said but I wind up there every time I go to Amsterdam. I love Pink Floyd music and just chilling there, smoking some good herb is the best.Up the stairs in the back is a great table to kinda just look down on everything. I asked the them to play "Wish you were here" and they did.

Posted by Stinky on 2001-08-04 15:59:32
My Score:
If your into Pink Floyd then this will be your idea of heaven! Huge murials of them everywhere accompanied by the Floyd blaring out of loads of speakers! My other half loves it and I must admit their space cake was really scrummie and equally as heavy! My first smokes were to the sounds of Pink Floyd so this place probably seems better than it actually is.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.09 Seconds