Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Old Church

Nice outside seating opposite from the entrance to the Oude Kerk. A great place to hang in the shade and watch the tourists and "johns" on their way to the red-lit cabins in the narrow alleys that surround the old church. Keep your eye out for the especially gorgeous babes on their way to "work" in the afternoons and evenings.

If you're lucky you'll get serenaded by the Church bells during your visit!


More Info:

Address: Oudezijdes Voorburgwaal 47
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012
Phone: 020-624-2723
Fax:
Added: July 5th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 18218
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
56 entries
Smoke:
7.8
Service:
8.3
Ambiance:
8.6
Value:
8.0
Overall:
8.4
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-19 12:57:29
My Score:

Posted by The Baron on 2006-04-02 09:18:54
My Score:
Without a doubt, my favourite coffee shop. The Royal Creme Hash is tasty and provides a near-perfect high. I was last in A'dam over the winter holidays, and made my way to the Old Church every day. In spite of there being an estimated 30,000 revellers in town for New Year's Eve, the staff always had a seat for me. My love to everyone at the Old Church.

Posted by Calif Boy on 2006-02-26 07:08:14
My Score:
the best smoke, nice people who work there, good people to trip with and shoot the breeze - just an awesome place.. When I retire I want to buy a trailer and park it between the church and the coffeshop.. I LOVE THIS PLACE.. If you know American TV, I dream about being the Old Church's Norm!!!

Posted by SICKBOYGB on 2005-08-05 20:30:01
My Score:
If your in the red light district then this is a must, the staff are happy to help, even if your a little worse for wear, and no other coffee shop is as hot on vagrant's causing a nuasance which helps chill everyone out (although the staff are friendly they "will not take any rubbish from punters" by order of the managment! nor should they). The space hot chocolate is truly superb, i've alway's been sceptical about the amount off herb put into 'space' products in amsterdam, but the waitress (sure she would rather be addressed differently) showed me how much was put in and i was very impressed, a good hit is a certainty!!!! I could go on about this place indefinatly but surfice to say after a 20hr session over new year (who needs a hotel when in a 24hr city) this is where i headed. spot on

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-31 15:29:14
My Score:
in my opinion the best Coffee Shop in Amsterdam. Just sit yourself in the upstairs windows and watch the world go by. Also watch as all the Hookers try their best to woo all the punters drinking at the pub across the yard

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-16 17:55:34
My Score:
i thought this was the best coffee shop in the dam because everything about it was perfect. when i walked in i was greeted with a smile, but thats no suprise, but seriously the service was excelent. as soon as i was in there the lady said 'sit down be merry get stoned. i was really impressed and will go back anytime

Posted by Amelia on 2005-06-01 15:38:32
My Score:
Due to lack of time, our visits to each coffee shop were short. We did have time to visit here twice, however, for coffee and a bifta. The exterior certainly is an attraction and the location is perfect to remain within the centre of everything. Inside is small but this is an advantage, giving the coffeeshop and atmosphere that all should have - a chilled one! If you want loud music and people, go to a pub! Each visit was just for a break between the stomping about. The seats are a bit uncomfy, however there is a big corner sofa (if you're bothered by a numb bum! On our first visit, we had weed from elsewhere - we were just there for a coffeebreak - the lattes are nice, served with a biscuit/wafer thing which according to my boyfriend, is nice too. On our second visit we were given a weed menu to look at - we purchased a Bubblegum pre-rolled, as we had been looking for this weed our whole stay - got me nicely battered, however was a bit tickely on the throat so make sure you have a drink with this (what anyone would be doing in a COFFEEshop without a drink I don't know though!) Overall, the place was nice and clean - everything being very pleasant.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-30 12:24:02
My Score:
The best shop when you're on a trip with the company.....

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-09 23:17:31
My Score:
nice place for a quiet smoke at the right time of day, friendly and clean and not to far from my hotel

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 20:30:58
My Score:
Some good hash. Weed nothing special. Not really friendly, bad service. try another one...

Posted by RobbyT on 2005-04-03 23:43:15
My Score:
Nice place to chill and watch the nightlife. Upstairs is small but try a window seat. Beware toilet doors! HaHa

Posted by damo on 2005-04-03 21:32:34
My Score:
out and out the best somke..... :o)

Posted by iamdm on 2005-03-26 01:01:27
My Score:
bogus joint

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-26 01:00:15
My Score:
bogus joint

Posted by jenny on 2005-01-05 00:28:45
My Score:
when my bf and i first arrived in amsterdam, we had no idea how to approach coffee shops we were so nervous and this was our first one. Anita was an absolute sweety and we returned many days after, but towards the end of our 3 month stay, the ambiance changed and we realised it was kinda expensive and we stopped going as much, but we still popped back to say bye to anita!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-22 21:43:27
My Score:
Das Klubhaus Backgammon Tour - November 2004. Four English guys playing a weekend tournament [on two boards] were touring some coffee shops to check their welcome. OLD CHURCH - Recommended. The layout suited us well - upstairs on the big table - and the service, sounds and stock are good. The coffee with the special 'grass sprinkled' cream is worth the vist. The location easy and the views are good. A regular daily stop.

Posted by missmacy on 2004-11-14 01:51:38
My Score:
My favourite place for a hot chocolate with mj and fresh cream!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-08 04:06:07
My Score:
Friendly staff

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-04 17:46:34
My Score:
ok

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-07 14:46:57
My Score:
ytyjgujkl:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-23 17:46:51
My Score:
This was a huge favourate of mine because of friendly staff and chilled out ambiance for first timers. Smoke was good and I give the "Royal Cream" hash my highest rating it was amazing a definate must have of your Amsterdam trip!!! ;-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 03:31:56
My Score:
just spent a week in amsterdam and found us spending alot of time at the old chuch, its in a convienent location if you need a meeting place for the guys after enjoying the ladies. found the staff and the smoke to be descent, plus lunchroom 52 is right next door for supplies and food. we all enjoyed that small area right by the oiudekerke.

Posted by Alvaro on 2004-06-25 12:57:58
My Score:
Fantastic time looking through the windows upstairs

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-23 06:06:36
My Score:
The location and overall service is excellent a great place to chill out. The only thing that i found a bit hard to cope with was the state of the gents toilets. I challange anyone to find toilets in a worse condition than these in amsterdam!!! i have some photos to compare

Posted by tonigemini on 2004-05-28 15:07:43
My Score:
i loved the place, been to Amsterdam twice and i always pop in... service its good and products are very smooth... perfect to chill-out...but i always remember the place cause i met one the girls from around the corner that i fell for...

Posted by Willis on 2004-03-26 14:59:57
My Score:
The "Skuff" must be tried. It is one of the smoothest tokes you will ever have!

Posted by Jayman on 2004-03-20 10:21:13
My Score:
WENT THERE JAN 03, GOING BACK MAY 04.. CAN'T WAIT ! SAT UPSTAIRS FOR MOST OF THE DAY AND CHILLED WITH MY MISSES.. GREAT PLACE

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-16 19:53:22
My Score:
Wicked staff, and wicked weed. Check out the old church skunk

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-11 15:26:50
My Score:
wondeful!!!!it's a more friendly coffeshop in amsterdam...!!!!!!

Posted by Tygurr on 2004-01-22 12:51:06
My Score:
A tidy way to spend a lazy afternoon in Amsterdam. Made the old coffee shop the place of sanctuary while hell broke out everywhere else. Top stuff bro!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-18 12:04:32
My Score:
every time i visit the dam, always score my first weed from here, nice to chill up or downstairs, pop in for a peep between smokes

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-08 13:50:37
My Score:
me and a cuple of friends spent around 42 hours at the old church over 6days, its by far my favorite coffee shop, and ill deffinatly go back. try the isolator! on a saturday night thers usually different staff working, and its not as good, tuesdays are the best night to go. ask anita for anouk

Posted by avid fan on 2003-11-29 10:35:15
My Score:
A great place for first timers, the staff is helpfull and very attractive (at least the bartender). No doubt I'll go back!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-23 15:06:12
My Score:
THIS PLACE IS O.K. NOT THE BEST PLACE BUT NOT THE WORKS. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE WEED TEA IT SUCKS.

Posted by Jerry on 2003-10-23 01:31:58
My Score:
Excellent stuff, location, staff. A MUST VISIT.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-22 10:56:07
My Score:
We have to go back, no boubt about it.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-31 06:34:56
My Score:
Very good, one of the best

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-27 20:13:11
My Score:
fuck the comment

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-27 06:17:47
My Score:
The Bio Crystal was real nice. Unfortunately, they have a 12 Euro minimum so I never bought any other weed from here. One of the guys working the counter was friendly but another time we came there was a different guy who was an ass and obviously didn't like American tourists. But what makes this place special are the outside tables. It's the best spot I found to watch the bizarre world of Amsterdam pass by in front of you. In the early evening the area is full of activity (and hot women) as everyone prepares for the night. Then at 7 the church bells go off and all the women head off with their rolling suitcases to their windows. It's quite a site.

Posted by johnnyp on 2003-07-08 18:11:27
My Score:
don`t bother with getting any gear from here, great for sitting outside and watchin` the world go by!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-24 19:15:06
My Score:
it was a relief to have the bartender tell us a bit about amsterdam. Good friendly service!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-24 15:11:19
My Score:
Had two trips to the mother land so far & the old church had to be a must,works well for all ages i think,some cool juices & wicked mushroom tea !!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-08 12:41:58
My Score:
Well, came from France witn a friend of mine one saturday night, & arrived early in the morning on sunday: we looked for a nice coffeeshop with a terrace in the sunshine... & found it here! the music was a bit too loud & of no interest inside, but smoking (good) weed beneath the trees, with a little cool air blowin', in front of the Old Church with some people passing by (and not a single car: it's a pedestrian zone!) is somethin' really, really cool!! P.S.: she also loved the juice made from fresh oranges!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-11 21:14:29
My Score:

Posted by MellowD on 2003-05-04 23:40:57
My Score:
Did not try the weed/hasj since I already had too much by the time I got here. But I stopped in to have a drink and puff and really enjoyed the ambiance. Nice place to people watch.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-20 06:08:08
My Score:
This is my type of coffeshop, its not too busy or loud and the hash selections are fantastic! The upstairs is cool because you can see down on the street which gives you a "wallflower" view of the street. This is the one place you can actually get a Hot Chocolate served hot! I loved this place!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-03 15:31:22
My Score:
went to the old church on the second day we were there in the location is not bad in the red light district good 2 watch the day go by! the person working was a little moody poofer who was not helpfull at all we bought some royal crean it was prepacked witch i thought was a bit funny dope smelled off would not by there but go for a space choco shake but dont plan on walking anywhere after it

Posted by psvholland on 2003-03-30 10:43:15
My Score:
This coffeeshop stuck in my memory because it is the only one where you can really relax. The music is not too loud! (i mean who says you have to have loud music when smoking??!!), the atmosphere is very mellow, and the stuff is polite. I got a cappuccino and went upstairs to smoke. The view is fantastic. As far as the drugs they sell i wasn't too impressed, but then again who is after 3 days of staying. I will be back.

Posted by Bellybutton on 2003-03-03 11:29:55
My Score:
I love this place! It's the perfect place to hang out early in the day and late at night. If you go early, get some coffee and relax either outside, just inside at the counter, or upstairs overlooking the Oude Kerk. You may even hear the Chuch bells go off. Go up the tight, spiral staircase and get a window seat at night and watch as the streets are lit up, the red lights are on, and people are everywhere. It's a postcard scene. There are cool murals on the walls. The Jack Herer made my eyes slit faster than any weed I ever had. Thank God my room was literally right around the corner.

Posted by RO & JO on 2003-02-23 12:16:56
My Score:
This was truly the "way to heaven" for us. Laid back, and easy to enjoy...this was our favorite place to stop..we returned many times.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-29 07:54:51
My Score:
i liked this shop! i stayed with a couple of friends, we bought the ice skunk, and after a few bong hits everyone was passed out! nice weed. next time ill get there ill test the royal cream, the hash cc winner!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-23 16:40:04
My Score:
only stopped here for a quick smoke and to relax but soon discovered i was in the worst coffeeshop in amsterdam!!!!! the staff weren't to happy to help and quite rude! and the final straw was my way short 2 gram bag, how do you short 2 grams?? well they did! will never buy from there again, but i did like the shop it's self.

Posted by luca on 2003-01-07 19:19:23
My Score:
ciao i am luca i registred in your site becauce i loveyour coffe.it s the best in the world.i thingh will go amsterdam for ten april.i was stay in ams for the last day of the year and every day stay in your coffe .i look a girl work in the coffe and she is very nice .smoke in your is the paradaise.by luca

Posted by Bright_Spark on 2003-01-03 14:47:14
My Score:
Visited a couple of times,just before Christmas. Something about the place just made me love it.Especially at night sitting upstairs,chilling out,looking out of the window.Oh man i was stoned and the view of the old church,cobbled streets and red lights,just made me smile...PARADISE!!!!.lol

Posted by matt the mod on 2002-12-29 11:14:19
My Score:
oh the many many days we spent in this place!! all i have of the old church is good(slightly fuzzy) memories!!like the other postings,i agree,mellow place,mellow people,good weed,lovely fresh orange juice,great views!!especially from upstairs(look out for the dirty guys visiting the big dirty girls,always funny!!!...and...i even met one of the ladies who worked there on the net/webcam one time!!good fun!! is that guy with the pixie features still there? let me know urbansmoker@hotmail.com

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-05 06:47:00
My Score:
friendly staff. Calm place in the heart of Amsterdam, in Red light district. Good place to relax

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-01 09:38:08
My Score:
Not very helpfull. selection poor quality dubious

Posted by Jerry on 2002-08-15 16:07:15
My Score:
Consider yourself in a place that is topshelf

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-09-29 10:49:58
My Score:
chilled atmosphere, comfy. good gear. nice staff . good view and passing punters to while away the hours.bring your own backgammon board though as they dont have any to borow. (pity).definately a place to return to.

Posted by Stinky on 2001-08-04 15:55:39
My Score:
Not a particularly lively place, but very nice and mellow. Played backgammon here and smoked one of their ready rolled and all was pleasant. On our last visit here they also had an internet machine - handy for teasing your mates back home with e-mails on how great the Skunk is!!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds