Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

The Otherside

THE Gay coffeeshop on THE Gay street. Small coffeeshop, lots of men, and great Space Cake to be found here! Very small place, often crowded.


More Info:

Address: Reguliersdwarsstraat 6
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone: 020-421-1014
Fax:
Added: July 5th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 11685
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
30 entries
Smoke:
7.2
Service:
7.6
Ambiance:
6.8
Value:
7.3
Overall:
7.1
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Charles on 2011-07-18 15:00:00
My Score:
really, really bad place. that dirty italian bartender is simply the worst i ever seen.


Posted by lucas on 2011-04-28 21:27:11
My Score:
you gotta be kidding

Posted by Thomas on 2011-04-28 21:25:14
My Score:
wost servce ever, that Italian guy must be the crazy soon of the owner or the manager bitch. dirty place, dirty bartender. Weed ....NEVER AGAIN...
What happen here? I just trip on my wasted money.

Posted by NorCal on 2011-04-26 16:03:40
My Score:
Best chill smoke in Amsterdam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-27 08:11:23
My Score:
Best space cake ever .. Some job!! See ya in may ha ha!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-30 21:15:44
My Score:
love the tunes. love having a thai J, waiting for it to kick in and just floating away with the cool tunes they play in there! good location. seems a popular choice... peeps coming n going all the time.

Posted by mile on 2006-03-10 19:45:40
My Score:
firs c-shop i went to with my girlfriend,didnt knew it s gay spot.but nevermind that.very pleasant place,airy and friendly.ok for straight people as well.enjoy it

Posted by jack on 2006-02-06 17:45:43
My Score:
it does not look like a gay bar...nice staff and weed.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-02 22:34:52
My Score:
Very Nice

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-14 19:18:28
My Score:
best gay-shop

Posted by Bingotits on 2005-04-20 01:40:52
My Score:
My first visit to Amsterdam led us to this place, we didnt know that this was a gay coffeeshop, not that it was important. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even took time to answer our questions and give advice on the weed. We had a great time then it was spoiled by a French bloke trying to chat us up, so we made a very quick exit outta there !

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-14 04:03:28
My Score:
No comment.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-26 19:53:26
My Score:
been there on me birthday and it was an unforgettable experience, it was really great. the atmosphere was wonderful, nice cheerful people, good music and a great service.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-14 00:40:49
My Score:
was there in march had a nice time there great music

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-07 23:32:39
My Score:
Fun Coffee shop!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-17 01:33:12
My Score:
Music there is always rockin. The locals and staff are very friendly, even to Americans. Definately, a place to start your night out.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-03 11:54:09
My Score:
I really enjoyed my visit @ the otherside. Even though im straight, i thought the vibe was quite good.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-09 18:07:59
My Score:
Me and my best buddy Bozo got completely White-Widowed out of our tinies in this in this exceptionally good little ole Coffeeshop. Thank goodness for the 2 rocking chairs thoughtfully placed outside, where we remained transfixed for 2 very happy hours. Great music, great coffee and that Widow still calls to me on these long winter evenings - A MUST, KIDS!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-28 19:13:25
My Score:
if you like the suasage this is the pace for you, like the other guy said lubed to the max!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 21:29:20
My Score:
if youre cuming here go lubed up to the max its less sore that way

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-03 06:42:24
My Score:
This is place is trippy if you dont know it is a gay bar before you go in. Please make sure you want to go in there first. we went in and didnt realise that it was gay. until we saw a gay magazine sitting on the table. me and my friends then started to look around the shop and all we could see was gay posters and the bar man flirting with my mate. so we just cained the spliffs that we had going and got the hell out of there. (When we look back on it we rewalise how funny it was)

Posted by piercemn on 2003-10-04 11:35:59
My Score:
This is an outstanding coffeeshop. The people are quite friendly and the service is excellent. I had a cup of really good tea and my friend loved getting stoned there. One of the best coffeeshops in Amsterdam!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-17 22:48:20
My Score:
bad experience here dude! didn't realize it was all fags. was stoned out of my mind when some gay englisman asked me to go to his room. i freaked and cursed him out loudly with a hint of very potential violence. was told to get out or cops will be called. i threw my mediocre weed that they sold me on the counter and screamed that i don't want to be the first guy to get aids from smoking weed handled by homosexuals. spent the rest of nite ducking street corners thinking cops are looking for me.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-14 14:29:04
My Score:

Posted by Lagerisgood on 2003-04-02 11:30:34
My Score:
First coffeeshop we went in. Didin't realise it was a gay hangout but after a few smokes it suddenly all came crashing into place. Small place and the choice of weed is limited and not the cheapest we saw but was chilled.

Posted by Trent Mills on 2003-04-02 04:29:13
My Score:
didn't even know it was a gay shop. This was the first shop I visited at 10 in the morning. Met some cool guy from australia, got stoned out of my mind, and went to van Gogh. I guess I should have figured I was on a gay street........look at the painting on the wall on the opposite side of a street. If you see a guy shoving a metal post up his ass, you're there! Good place to start out, try jack herer or white russianTigermills12@cs.com

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-28 17:32:14
My Score:
Nice and cozy and the people are really great. One place that does suck as far as service goes is the Grasshopper...the people were rude and curt and really really unfriendly.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-20 22:24:16
My Score:

Posted by Meghan Howes on 2003-01-17 04:16:15
My Score:
Walked into this place at 1:00, ordered a coffee, rolled a blunt with weed bought at the Grey Area (Grey Mist) and proceeded to jam out to Moby, people watch, and enjoy the company of two wonderful Austrians. The Otherside is a lovely place to hang out, and it's always got a colorful mix of people--straight, queer and in between. Little pretension. Club music vibe, and from what I hear, decent buds.

Posted by eyp on 2002-11-11 04:49:47
My Score:
I was there 2 weeks ago. The staff were kind with us, and pay us 2 drinks (my girlfriend and me :)) We taste Cristal bud, and it was very nice experience. Night staff was more kind than morning...

Posted by alex on 2002-10-22 12:40:16
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-14 10:01:46
My Score:
I went here the first night I was in Amsterdam. I didn't know at the time it was a gay place, but it matters little. The seating area has a very relaxing light and airy feel to it, the staff are polite and efficient and the grass is very good. The counter staff seemed friendly and knowledgable, not only about the grass, but about other places to stay or visit. The only slight grumble I have about this coffeeshop is that it is too small. Recommended for gay or straight people.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-07-03 06:38:33
My Score:
Good quality grass but the staff are quite rude & unfriendly. The prices are outrageously high also & the clientele seems to be quite posey. Good if you are in the clique but the last place on earth to go as a tourist

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-01 10:29:03
My Score:
I went here once to buy some hash and read a good book for a couple of hours. I had no idea it was a gay place and it never occurred to me all the time I was there. It's a really friendly place and I recommend it to anyone - gay or straight.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds