Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Bird Snackbar & Thai Restaurant

Fancy Thai place with a "snackbar" across the street. The "snackbar" is one of the most popular places on the Zeedijk, with patrons lining up and ordering in advance while waiting for one of the small tables on the sidewalk. The service was fast and friendly, and food arrived quickly. Tom Yam Koeng soup was delightful, spicy-hot with lots of lemon grass and galanga, and featured a couple of great big shrimps. The Pad Thai (my benchmark for good Thai cooking) was okay, and only mildly spiced. You need to ask for the hot chili peppers in this place! My friend's dish of Sweet & Sour Chicken was unfortunately flavoured with tomato ketchup. A nice place for a quick meal, reasonably priced.


More Info:

Address: Zeedijk 74
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012
Phone: 020-620-1442
Fax:
Added: July 6th 2001
Reviewer: Martin
Score:
Hits: 6125
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
12 entries.
Food:
8.1
Service:
8.3
Ambiance:
8.3
Value:
8.3
Overall:
8.0
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-23 13:18:38
My Score:
Authentic

Posted by Da Q! on 2005-09-23 13:18:11
My Score:
Best Thai food in Amsterdam!

Posted by Kuhn Eddie on 2005-09-23 13:17:37
My Score:
GREAT!

Posted by sgcollins on 2005-07-16 01:56:56
My Score:
seems to me the prices have gone up at the bird snackbar in the last few months, but the food is still quite good so i don't mind. love s g collins

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-15 10:50:19
My Score:
Very good food. Take away style. A few small tables, mostly crowed. Friendly stuff. Defenatly a good place to have a tasty meal.

Posted by Sammy on 2005-07-14 17:23:56
My Score:
Reasonable food,price/quality is ok,but nothing special,friendly service but long waitingtimes,maybe due to understaffing in the very crowded restaurant. It's clear they have no time anymore for proper cleaning or painting,every year it looks a bit more worn-out.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-19 16:34:38
My Score:
don't understand all the compliments of some visitors the worst cup of thea I had

Posted by Adolf on 2005-01-24 11:26:52
My Score:
Nicht gut. Sieg heil!!

Posted by Elle_Amsterdam on 2004-09-07 15:20:37
My Score:
This restaurant is my all-time favorite in Amsterdam. The food is delicious and the staff is very friendly. Since I discovered it a few years ago I bring my friends here and visitors from all over the world and all have to agree with me that it's the best Thai-restaurant outside Thailand. I only have one negative comment: In the restaurant they bring the different dishes (starter, main, desert) so fast after eachother that you feel like they're trying to get rid of you a.s.a.p. so they can fill your table ones more. But it's probably just the difference in culture.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-12 09:51:40
My Score:
best thai in town...tastes like in thailand... even people from the Hague and other cities are coming here to the restaurant which has very friendly staff and excellent food plus...the snackbar is the tiniest non-microwave yummy food offering one seen thumbs up...you get quality and quantity for a reasonable price!!!!! kop khun kha

Posted by StrYker on 2003-10-14 06:47:38
My Score:
Good food, the 'Thai way'. Sawasdee.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-22 16:47:15
My Score:
This Thai restuarant is the best in Amsterdam. It's cheap, clean, and fast. Moreover, it located by Red-light district.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds