Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

d Vijff Vlieghen

This famous Dutch restaurant on the Spui, certainly oozes Old World charm. The chef, René Cramer, has created a new Dutch cuisine based on organic vegetables and does offer a five-course vegetarian meal that sounds superb. The rest of the menu offers standard Dutch fare with a nouvelle twist, from suckling pig to trout to lamb and beef. This is one of Amsterdam's pricier places, be prepared to spend a bundle enjoying yourself, hopefully on expense account...


More Info: Open every day from 5:30 pm. Across the street from the Amsterdam Historical Museum. Reservations probably a good idea.

Address: Spuistraat 294 - 302
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone: (31) - 20 - 5 30 40 60
Fax:
Added: October 11th 2002
Score:
Hits: 8393
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
10 entries.
Food:
8.0
Service:
7.9
Ambiance:
8.5
Value:
7.8
Overall:
8.0
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-04 19:02:57
My Score:
Tried this restaurant in June 2005 - we did not have a reservation but were seated straight away and choose the seasonal menu. The food was very busy (alot of different flavours on one plate) and was very rich. Every course had a flavoured mousse with it. Would not go back.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-04 14:37:11
My Score:
We visited this restaurant in 2003 and it quickly became one of our all time favourites. We had the 5-course 'surprise' menu which was fabulous. The dining areas are divided into small rooms so you can have a cosy romantic meal. Staff are very attentive and professional. We plan to visit again next month for our anniversary - it was the first restaurant to come to mind for a special treat!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-07 20:28:45
My Score:
Muy buen Restaurante, lo aconsejo a todo aquel que quiera conocer el Restaurante mas viejo de Europa. Cocina tipicamente neerlandesa. Un poco caro, pero vale la pena. Ein sehr gutes Restaurant, sehr tipisches und "cool", Ich empfehle es zu allen die nach Amsterdam reisen. Ein Bischen teuer meine meinung nach, aber eine Sehenswuerdigkeit.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-03 17:58:20
My Score:
we went on a Thursday night, booking via email 4 days in advance. We were seated in a small room upstairs which did not have any atmosphere. The stairs to access it were very steep. Food was okay, my husbands lamb was very good, but the rest was average. Service was very poor and felt like we had been forgotten about. We waited over 45 minutes for our main courses and we had chosen from their seasonal menu. Had we not been seated in tourist class then we would not have minded so much. The best seats were obviously kept for their regular clients and tourist class is hidden away. Disappointed.

Posted by jo on 2004-02-25 09:41:04
My Score:
Over priced compared to restaurant next door

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-04 07:27:56
My Score:
Very enjoyable experience.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-23 09:53:37
My Score:
jaja

Posted by Christopher on 2002-12-14 06:52:36
My Score:
Top restaurant!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-13 18:38:03
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-06 15:21:47
My Score:

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds