Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Siberie

Located on the banks of a quiet canal, shaded by big leafy trees in summer, the Siberie is a great place to visit during your exploration of the Jordaan. Attractively decorated with comfy chairs and delightful artworks on the wall, the Siberie exudes a little class, unlike most coffeeshops in Amsterdam.

We enjoyed our visit there, to get out of a downpour one afternoon while poking around town. I was pleasantly surprised by the service, selection and coziness of the place. With huge double doors opening onto the sidewalk, the air inside is fresh and the music relaxing.

The dealer recommended some Siberian Tiger grass, which turned out to be a great suggestion. The grass was very aromatic, and dry enough to roll a pure joint, American style. I proceeded to get wasted and enjoyed the wait until the rain stopped, and then I was back on my way around town. In a very pleasant mood indeed.

I recommend the Siberie as a wonderful place for a quick visit - grab a drink and a smoke, relax to some nice music, perhaps make a new friend or two and have fun.


More Info:

Address: Brouwersgracht 11
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone: 020
Fax:
Added: September 11th 2001
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 14447
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
37 entries
Smoke:
8.2
Service:
8.4
Ambiance:
8.2
Value:
8.8
Overall:
7.8
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-09 06:39:28
My Score:
geweldige sfeer,leuke mensen,echt amsterdams gevoel       kortom voor mij geen andere shop meer

thnx gr steef


Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-13 13:36:24
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-06-25 07:24:56
My Score:
Nice relaxed shop, great spot on the bouwersgracht.

Posted by crusader on 2006-03-04 19:13:33
My Score:
Cool place. You can read the papers and then go out for some fresh fish just up the road.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-18 22:50:05
My Score:
Great shop even better staff!!

Posted by SlyCrayon on 2005-09-04 15:29:40
My Score:
love it

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-26 17:51:45
My Score:
great place nice service easy going, i tryed the purple great outdoor weed and the bio great weed

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-13 19:10:17
My Score:
Great people here. I had some weed from another place; so I didn't sample theirs, but the atmosphere was nice.

Posted by Oxo on 2005-05-03 23:20:03
My Score:
I've only ever had my own smoke in here but it's a brilliant place to sit and chill and and have a coffee/smoke early in the morning. Highly recommended straight after breakfrast.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-20 03:45:17
My Score:
re previous comment: I never noticed they don't like tourist...

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-19 10:35:09
My Score:
It's a nice place where you can play cards and other games. Siberian tiger is a really psykédélik experience!!! But, be carefull they don't like tourists...

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-13 06:16:01
My Score:
Found this coffeshop while exploring on foot and have come again and again over the years and am never dissapointed. Bags are fat and the girls at the counter are down-to-Earth, friendly, and the ambiance is nicely chilled. Good place to score as well as hang out a bit to enjoy the smoke. In all, one of the nicest coffeeshops I've seen in all of the Netherlands (and I've visited most major cities and towns). Two joints up!!

Posted by Miss Yellow on 2004-10-04 00:41:44
My Score:
Good hash!

Posted by ZeN on 2004-09-29 15:27:11
My Score:
A really good experience eachtime. Good weed... Interesting place.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-28 14:19:51
My Score:
Apple Jack was ok (7/10) Siberian Tiger vey nice(9/10) but the service sucked.. You can sit and watch the world go by on the canal right outside which was very nice..B..

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-28 00:54:25
My Score:
Good shop, quiet location, good selection, but a little "over-rated." All in all, worth the trip. I did get sick of the fat american drug tourists vying for a seat in front of the web cam, but a good shop none the less.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-24 22:19:00
My Score:
This would be a regular hangout if I lived in the Centrum. An all around wonderful shop. The black female bartender was one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen and stuned me with insightful conversation.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-09 15:53:37
My Score:
top

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-18 22:34:20
My Score:
great place ,a must to visit , 20 years of coffeeshopculture,great girls behind the bar

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-11 19:07:58
My Score:
the weed staff and place are all good. but weirdos do frequent here and the staff are too nice get rid of them. good cheapish selection

Posted by Jerry on 2003-10-23 01:19:24
My Score:
Very hip place to hang and chill. Excellent smoke and variety of people. A MUST.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-28 12:58:57
My Score:
bad experience

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-19 08:53:26
My Score:
Great place

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-18 15:43:34
My Score:
2

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-18 15:42:33
My Score:
nice place

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-18 15:41:39
My Score:
The place is tight.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-16 01:12:52
My Score:
Great music, ambiance and location. They have the best tea in A-dam!!! Went there multiple times, keeps getting better.

Posted by JACKIE TREEHORN on 2003-07-06 07:34:05
My Score:
SMOKED SOME SUPERB THAI HERE AND HAD TO MOVE TABLE BECAUSE NEXT DOORS BACKGAMMON GAME WAS TYRING ME OUT-THIS PLACE IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS...

Posted by chillumsucker on 2003-05-27 08:41:14
My Score:
The more I come here the better this place gets. its a lovely place to spend a few hours on a sunday, so peaceful here, the smokers here a little more educated and dare I say older. Chess, great live DJ tunes, internet nice staff always my last port of call before headin home to Centraal. The owners are a credit to the business.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-20 06:40:12
My Score:
I found this place on the net before visiting Amsterdam. I got talking to one of the staff via email. He informed me of things to do and things to see in Amsterdam other than sitting in coffeeshops for the duration of our stay. I had read a few reviews on the quality of their smoke. Being a failry well educated smoker I was looking for something extra special to blow me away. Needless to say I found it here. If you are an experienced smoker and can handle a huge hit then ask about their scuff that is on offer. Unlike weed or hash the scuff is 100%THC compared to even the strongest weed which is normally around 25%THC. Need I say more? Be warned, its not for the faint hearted and will bring even the most hardened smoker to their knees, just what the doctor ordered!! Enjoy.

Posted by devdry on 2003-05-04 09:52:28
My Score:
Stumbled upon this coffeehouse on first day in Amsterdam. Great weed at a good price and really nice location on canal. First place I ever bought legal weed.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-04 05:44:21
My Score:

Posted by Meghan Howes on 2003-01-17 04:18:04
My Score:
My partner and I stumbled upon Siberie because we couldn't find our B & B and needed to hop online to view the B & B site again...we rolled in looking like tourists in the worst way, replete with a suitcase on wheels and lost looks on our faces. No matter--the woman behind the counter was very nice, and we ended up using the internet AND buying some grass. I was a wee bit disappointed in the quality--we bought "Red bud" and it smelled odd--what I found later, however, upon overhearing a conversation between the counter woman and a Dutchman, was that there were items "off menu" (i.e. not in the display case) that were available too. Being a native has it's perks. But all in all this is a nice place for a spot of tea and a spliff...roomy and in a lovely area of Amsterdam.

Posted by on 2002-11-22 13:47:18
My Score:
They have a great website with fun info & a live CAM at http://www.siberie.net/ Check it out.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-12 21:21:16
My Score:
Classy place...very clean...very bright...lots of ventilation! Great smoke...I sat here one night for hours with two classmates and two people I had just met...we were wasted indeed!! I was impressed, but if I wouldn't have stayed as long if it weren't for my classmates, as the music was driving me crazy.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-11 20:20:54
My Score:

Posted by alex on 2002-10-22 12:36:04
My Score:

Posted by JoeHorse on 2002-09-12 11:51:34
My Score:
I have been going there for years now, and have always loved it. It's laid back, the staff are cool and informative, and I think the weed is some of the very best I've ever smoked. That is my meeting place for me and friends when we arrive in town.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-15 16:05:01
My Score:
One of the top three in the world!!! Great people, great place, great experience...

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-06 12:36:34
My Score:
Very quiet, perfect to relax and smoke a joint. Games available. Fresh grass. 331

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds