Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Old Nickel Hotel Café and Restaurant

Perfect for the backpacking traveler who wants a little style and comfort while being right in the heart of all the fun in Amsterdam. The Old Nickel is just two minutes walk from Centraal Station, behind the imposing St. Nicklaas Cathedral, at

The style is unique, and the bar/lounge area is resplendent with ornate wood-carvings and paneling from the captain’s quarters of the 17th century sailing ship of Admiral Michiel de Ruyter. It was here that we chose to have a quiet beer one evening, after hammering our eardrums with a Grateful Dead cover band down an alley nearby. The smiling Dutch lady behind the counter served us beers quite cheerfully and bubbled with all sorts of advice. We retreated to a corner table and relaxed over a long conversation, and really enjoyed the place.

The guests arriving and departing seemed happy, and from pictures the rooms look a bit small, but offer a table and chairs in addition to beds. The room price includes a ham and eggs breakfast. The staff speak many languages, and seem to enjoy offering lots of help finding your way about town.

If you are interested in visiting Amsterdam soon, be sure to check out our all new HIP GUIDE TO AMSTERDAM HOTELS where you can search and book Amsterdam Hotels right here online!

Thanks to our association with Bookings® you can choose from hundreds of hotels in the Netherlands, and thousands more in Europe and around the world! We can also offer you special deals not found elsewhere!


More Info:

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012
Phone: 020 624-1912
Fax: 020 620-7683
Added: October 5th 2001
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 9269
Language:

  


Posted by van hyfte freddy on 2005-07-25 09:24:51
My Score:
De ligging kan niet beter zijn, uitgaansgelegenheden in overvloed.kamers zijn SUPERKLEIN , wel proper en vriendelijk personeel.leuke bar,leuk bruin cafe.goed ontbijt. Prijs is voor kamer ietwat veel maar zoals ik de rest omschreef kan ik daar wel mee leven ( prijs is niet enkel voor kamer ).goed voor verblijf voor een paar dagen.

Posted by AdventureErik.com on 2004-12-09 07:42:46
My Score:
We stayed here and LOVED it! Great location, great price and the food was awesome! I loved the mashed potatoes with veggies! The location was right in the middle of everything and yet still quite for some good sleep! I really advise this hotel! Adventureerik.com

Posted by Tom Myers on 2004-01-01 08:33:40
My Score:
Gotta give the Old Nickel Hotel the highest rating. I stayed in Amsterdam at The Old Nickel for a couple months and it became my home away from home. The owner, and staff were very, very friendly and the experience was one of the highlights of my European trip. The food was great, the atmosphere was perfect, and I even won some money while there in the two machines they had by the bar. It was a fantastic experience and I even got to stay in room number 5 overnight which was suppose to be haunted. I don't know if it was the Guiness, Scotch or Space Cake that I had eaten at a local coffee house, but strange things did occur while in that room. For a friendly and memorable time while in Amsterdam I suggest the Old Nickel Hotel. You Won't be sorry.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-28 06:40:42
My Score:
I've stayed here 3x and love it. Relatively cheap, the rooms are clean, and I too had to stay in the attic room for 2 days when we got there until the found us a nicer room (walking up the stairs was a bitch but it was clean and so was the hallway bathroom). The two ladies who run the place couldn't be nicer and the bar is styled like an English local pub. You're also in the red-light but in a (relatively) quiet side street (which comes in handy when you don't want to be in the midst of beggars/junkies, pushers, or crowds of drunken Brits.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-16 03:51:10
My Score:
Having just spent two night staying there, this comes highly recommended. I'm not sure about the problems with small rooms other seem to have had, but ours was plenty big enough for four, modern and highly secure. We were in the annexe building down the road. ... and besides, you're not in Amsterdam to sit in your hotel room anyway!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-11 17:07:41
My Score:
Stayed here last year for the third time. Room was a small single, with shower/toilet next door. The stairs are steep, but it IS Amsterdam, after all! The room was cleaned daily, inc. bedlinen. Not exactly roomy, but I didn't come here to vegetate in a hotel room when there are plenty of bars & coffeshops to do that in! Reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff-why go to a hostel? Answers on a postcard please............. Eddie

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-21 17:01:42
My Score:
Everytime my friends and I go to Amsterdam we always try and stay at the Old Nickel. The staff is always very friendly, they have a bar inside that stays open until 4am and the rooms are small but clean, and it's close to the train station. Who wants to spend a lot of time inside the hotel room anyways when they're in Amsterdam? I would recommend the Old Nickel if you want to be where the action is.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-08 20:39:15
My Score:
Please, do not stay at this hotel, unless everything else within your budget is full!!! My friend and I arrived in Amsterdam on Easter weekend, after getting there on a coach from London. It was chucking it down with rain and we went for the first place we could find that had rooms available. Unfortunately for us we ended up at the Old Nickel (why, oh wht did we not turn right out of Centraal Station?!?) We ended up with the attic room. Now the fact that we had to get up several sets of verry narrow typical dutch stairs is fair enough, thats to be expected in Amsterdam, but the actuall room. Tiny. It had in it two less than single camp style beds and a sink, which was filthy. And a cupboard in the wall, which was dusty and totally full of graffiti. There was no room for anything else. The beds were placed end to end, so that gives you an idea of how small the room was. The bed clothes and pillows were dirty and smelled damp. It also took us about 10 minutes to convince the very rude woman in the bar that we required a twin room, and that we weren't a couple just because I was female and my friend was male. Although I do wonder if the double room would have been nicer. The toilet and bathroom is shared and again the clenliness is very questionable. You would be far better off staying in a hostel than this.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds