Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Tibet Restaurant

We discovered this relaxing refuge from the hectic pace of the Red Light District, after showing a friend around the area. We were pretty burned out as we'd been walking all over town for many hours, and our last hour in the Red Light Light district was spent dodging tourists and listening to pounding house music in coffeeshops.

The Tibet restaurant welcomed us and restored us with it's wonderfully exotic ambiance while the soothing Tibetan music put us in the proper calm mood to enjoy the tasty delights of this popular dining spot. The Tibetan artworks on the walls including eyecatching tankas and colorful woven tapestries that transported our city-tortured souls to distant Himalayan villages were the inward journey is as awe-inspiring as the lofty peaks.

We ordered from a menu filled with Chinese delights, including the spicy flavors of Shechuan. I ordered a delicious Kung Pao Chicken, and my friend had a delightful shrimp and fried noodle dish (bird's nest style, photo above). The food was perfect, the service good, and we left feeling refreshed and centered. So if you're in the mood for a transcendental treat, the Tibet Restaurant is just the ticket.


More Info:

Address: Lange Niesel 24
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012 GT
Phone: 020-624-1137
Fax:
Added: October 31st 2001
Score:
Hits: 4430
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
24 entries.
Food:
9.0
Service:
8.7
Ambiance:
8.4
Value:
9.2
Overall:
9.1
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-14 23:30:26
My Score:
Great food. nice service,eccellent price.

Posted by Kesang&TseyangAnonymous on 2006-12-19 08:00:20
My Score:
A home away from home.Excellent food.Very Friendly staff. Owner very helpful and kind. From Nepal- Kesang & Tseyang. Boudhanath. Kathmandu NEPAL.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-25 18:08:17
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-09 23:04:41
My Score:
the best tibetan restaurant

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-04 16:44:50
My Score:
been to Amsterdam quite a few times, love the place, found this place last time I was there and have been looking forward to going back there ever since - booked my flight today and this is the place to meet the friends and eat.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-04 16:44:50
My Score:
been to Amsterdam quite a few times, love the place, found this place last time I was there and have been looking forward to going back there ever since - booked my flight today and this is the place to meet the friends and eat.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-26 13:49:26
My Score:
Taste the culture..feel the love and light entering your innerself

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-30 01:23:56
My Score:
Best food I had in Amsterdam.

Posted by Aro Khampa on 2006-01-05 22:37:12
My Score:
Very very good food and good services. Nice owner and beautiful owner. Compliment!

Posted by Tibet fan on 2005-12-03 22:57:31
My Score:
Since first trying this reastaurant (several years ago while my husband was working in Amsterdam) we must have been back a hundred times - sometimes we just go to Amsterdam especially so we can eat at the Tibet - every night! Certainly worth a try for everyone.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-09 20:15:11
My Score:
everything was beyond expectations, one of the best dining experiences, and meals, i have ever had.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-07 22:28:55
My Score:
Excellent food and nice interrior.

Posted by Cuso on 2005-08-29 23:17:39
My Score:
For me this is one of the best places for food in Amsterdam

Posted by Business Traveller on 2005-08-05 16:15:21
My Score:
I really enjoy this place - especially the great food and very good service. I've only had the Tibetan dishes and found them to be very flavorful at a great price. It's a laid-back atmosphere in the middle of a 'coffee house' area and not really in the true Red Light District. (Close to the district, but between the Red Light District and the central train station.) Highly recommended if you are into unique, good quality food served in an unpretentious atmosphere!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-12 21:27:38
My Score:
greaat !

Posted by Afendigo on 2005-02-16 12:10:00
My Score:
One of the best curries I have had in a long time and I always make a point of coming along to the restaurant when in Amsterdam. Fantastic!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-03 23:30:46
My Score:
A great place for a relaxing tasty meal.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-27 01:59:20
My Score:
Superb. Fine food. Excellent value.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-05 20:21:25
My Score:
This is my favourite place in Amsterdam - easy to get to, simple, tasty and cheap... Try sizzling duck and Tibetian tea...

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 02:12:30
My Score:
felt like it was fake

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-14 08:00:16
My Score:
This restaurant is one of my favorites in Amsterdam. There's lots of choice on the menu,from beef to duck to a large variety of vegetarian food. The style of the kitchen is Shezuan; try a sissling dish, they're excellent!Being located in the vivid red light district, this is a peacefull haven for foodlovers.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-21 06:20:35
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-20 17:12:38
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-20 17:12:03
My Score:

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds