Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Balou

Coffeeshop on Halve Maansteeg


More Info:

Address: Halve Maansteeg 5
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1017 CR
Phone: 020 627 5653
Fax:
Added: December 26th 2001
Reviewer: Martin Trip

Hits: 11786
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
19 entries
Smoke:
8.3
Service:
8.6
Ambiance:
8.4
Value:
8.1
Overall:
8.4
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-08 22:25:40
My Score:
brilliant!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:29:33
My Score:
nice quiet coffeeshop menu looked nice but had no weed in waiting for a delivery hash not bad dealer ok bit chatty atmosphere ok

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:29:33
My Score:
nice quiet coffeeshop menu looked nice but had no weed in waiting for a delivery hash not bad dealer ok bit chatty atmosphere ok

Posted by zeebra on 2006-01-14 19:37:48
My Score:
It was my first visit to a coffee shop, most have too kinky atmosphere for me. This shop has the ambiance of a average café. Staff is friendly and easygoing. Lots of info for not so experienced smokers and good stuff. I'll come back...

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-13 17:49:49
My Score:
mylast trip is from 1994

Posted by master on 2005-07-07 07:54:40
My Score:
a realy nice place

Posted by ouig on 2005-06-13 23:49:02
My Score:
This place was ace, brilliant music and atmosphere. The guy that worked there the few times I went in was gorgeous and they sell the best white widow there which gave me immense giggles!! Only thing that let it down were steep stairs!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-19 11:26:09
My Score:
pour moi les coffee sont tous super c vraiment l'eclate la hollande est un pays surprenant que j'aime

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-08 01:07:29
My Score:
This place felt real. Worrying at first, but the rasta guy in the corner chilled everybody out with his singing. By the time I'd dropped my lighter & banged my head on the table picking it up, we all had a good time & realised that we were all there for the smoking experience & we were just 2 lucky tourists who had happened upon a good local comfortable coffee shop. Cheers guys & hope to see you in December 04!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-04 23:52:49
My Score:
great vibe well recommended - budgod

Posted by roland on 2004-01-24 17:00:32
My Score:
having never been in a coffee shop before being given a menu ment nothing to me,i could have been buying anything. my face must have given the guy behind the counter an idea that when it came to buying weed i needed help. this he did and i have to say the stuff that he sold me sent me to places i've never been before. 6.50euro for 2grm was im told a good price.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-17 07:07:10
My Score:
good coffee - very good weed

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-07 12:20:40
My Score:
sorry, but I would not be going back here

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-23 13:54:43
My Score:
Der absolute Hammer

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-07 10:38:45
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-27 13:42:39
My Score:
Balou was one of our favorites and I would strongly encourage anyone visiting Amsterdam to at least stop in to say hello to the very friendly, easy going, welcoming folks who work at Balou. This coffeeshop has good smoke and a very relaxing atmosphere.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-18 11:06:37
My Score:
One word - WOW! This place has the perfect atmosphere. My friends and I definitely rank this as the top coffee shop in Amsterdam. Unlike the commercial sites, this place is sure to give you a warm, nice feeling. Words can't describe it...

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-20 00:53:43
My Score:
Not a big selection, but the best we smoked in our week in Amsterdam was the "Edelweis" - a real smooth, energetic, non-dopey high with a very nice flavor. The bartender was very friendly and the quiet little room upstairs was perfect for a game of cards or dominos. I hope it's still there when we make it back to Amsterdam again!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-21 20:10:18
My Score:
we loved it so much we named our dog after it.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-01 06:30:06
My Score:
small, comfortable and delightful

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-04-08 05:28:49
My Score:
I've been in amsterdam for an 8 day trip.While i was there i happened 2 visit all kinds of coffeshops and i gotta tell ya-i've never encountered such a small coffeshop with such great quality and ood tatse! its not just the weed,its da style! da ppl ! da atmosphere! I vote this as amsterdam's finest! Make sure u check out the HAZE. Its da best!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-27 09:39:03
My Score:
Good place to go and relax. Nicely decorated with trippy pictures on the walls. Free internet acces upstairs and usually quite peaceful because its more excluded.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds