Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Dutch Flowers

Venerable coffeeshop on the Singel at #387. Recently redone, much nicer now. Best if you can get an outside seat.


More Info:

Address: Singel 387
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012 WN
Phone: 020 624 7624
Fax:
Added: December 28th 2001
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 21820
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
83 entries
Smoke:
8.2
Service:
7.0
Ambiance:
7.4
Value:
7.7
Overall:
7.7
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Coches on 2008-12-27 12:46:21
My Score:
Although I didn´t get well with the silly waiter, I won´t miss this place next time

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-10-23 04:30:24
My Score:
A rael jerk, tall witha bald head works here, beware!!

Posted by ninjacult on 2008-07-22 10:26:39
My Score:
I went there with my gf at the time in may 2007, The place is very simple but clean and wooden, it wasnt particularilly busy at the time. The view outside is nice there is a canal and a bridge nearby you can watch the bikes and people roll by. This place was by far my favourite coffe shop in amsterdam , the staff were okay just seemed like normal dutch people who didnt put a huge effort into being friendlly they were just themselves I kinda liked how when my girlfriend went to the bar to be served the women at the bar ddnt serve her until she had finnished her conversation with her mate who was standing there. There skunk pre rolled was very nice (remember to share it though as if you have by yourself you will be paralysed) and I had some jack herer that I enjoyed as well. I liked the place but may not like it if it was full as it is very small

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-03 12:59:11
My Score:
Great location...The best looking staff in Amsterdam....Worth a visit

Posted by Willy on 2006-06-15 23:10:55
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-06-13 14:21:01
My Score:
Great little shop nice view

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-31 02:16:13
My Score:

Posted by KUKEN on 2006-05-16 18:53:06
My Score:
It was a small place but it was okej. They have good shit.

Posted by MoMo on 2006-05-02 00:54:24
My Score:
We go there every year (last 4), with friendly staff, top coffeshop. Shiva Silver Pearl is the smoke we smoke, which also now in the All Star 5 a side team. The No.1 Coffeeshop in the Dam, well as far as I,m concerned. I can't believe all the bad comments on a number of sites. They must be sorryass fools. We will be back this year in the summer and we will be spending some time in the Dutch Flowers.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-25 12:48:33
My Score:
nice little shop

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-18 14:47:23
My Score:
This is the Real-Shit......

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-11 18:54:25
My Score:
whats with the black dude who looks like chuck berry?

Posted by tom on 2006-01-11 18:53:05
My Score:
henny is a prick..will kick his ass when i go back

Posted by Simon on 2006-01-10 06:16:47
My Score:
To the dude with the bald head, I will be seeing you again my friend. I know how you like your steak cooked ya. Hope you got home safely. E-mail me soon. The aussie.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-25 19:44:00
My Score:
Nice place - average smoke - good service

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-14 06:09:47
My Score:
This is the quintessential Amsterdam Coffeeshop. Liberal, comfortable, personable, and with outgoing clientele. I sat down with a patron and talked politics with him. Watch out though. The "Skunk Special" I bought seemed to have some nitrogen in it. It made me sick. Nice coffeeshop though.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-07 09:56:51
My Score:
David coppes was one sexy hasj dealer!! Greetings from gert from goa, india

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-02 14:34:12
My Score:
Nice herb and hashish, try the Double...!!! Nice vieuw...

Posted by tom on 2005-08-08 19:19:12
My Score:
great place..would love to lick the waitresses from head to toe

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-26 18:54:29
My Score:
excellent smoke . piece off ass waitress.

Posted by FrankZappa on 2005-07-19 12:35:02
My Score:
There are better places in AMS to go. Not very comfortable reminds me a little bit to a fast food Doener Kebap store.

Posted by jim on 2005-07-16 22:58:43
My Score:
visited from ny. staff was great, had a blast. excellent location. beer and coffee were excellent as well.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-27 04:20:52
My Score:
this place was so whatever and way too small for a fat american like myself

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-05 19:52:08
My Score:
Love the wonky horizontals. As stoned before you start as after!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-09 17:32:30
My Score:
real nice shop

Posted by Hanoman on 2005-04-08 16:48:19
My Score:
nice view and good stuff

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-08 16:47:03
My Score:
And yes the serv beer nice people

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-07 20:52:43
My Score:
Do they still serve beer. Don't get the Beatrix named after the queen that stuff will make you retarded. Golden gum (blonde) was good. Especially mixed with bubble gum.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-05 11:09:33
My Score:
I like the smoke ,the silver pearl is great,STAFF was friendly didn't had any problem ad all

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-05 11:04:49
My Score:
Good smoke and a nice spot

Posted by Human Traffic on 2005-01-11 15:56:19
My Score:
Good place to drink your morning coffee and watch people walking by. No problem with the owner, he was friendly to me don't understand why so many people has said that he's a f#¤*ing bastard.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-07 22:47:13
My Score:
Great location, right by the canal.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-15 12:48:37
My Score:
As this place was near the hotel I went in here a couple of times over a weekend and thought it was quite a good place. The staff in there were ok and the girls serving were friendly. Bought some scuff which hit the spot.

Posted by Miss Yellow on 2004-10-04 00:34:30
My Score:
Twizla Hash was off the heazy for sheazy!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-15 11:43:24
My Score:
ere me now origanal nut cases u want a b boy smoke up bad man cafes all over da gattoe thank u alot amsterdam i love u and i sneaked bak a bust lod of punk

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-23 04:13:07
My Score:
Good smoke, cool decor. Never went after 4pm, but looks like they had a projection TV and screen setup. The guy running the place was gruff to some people, but whenever I travel abroad I make a point to use 'please' and 'thank you' alot to avoid being branded as an "Ugly American" as I've seen some of my countrymen act. I can't recall a name but he was tall and asked me if I enjoyed my purchase as we sat dazed staring at the singel. Maybe he was being sarcastic and I missed it? The main draw was that it was on the same block as our hotel. Lots of touristy foot traffic goes by, some may not like that.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-22 00:02:02
My Score:
Nice local dutch cafe feeling, seemed like there were only a few tourists, seemed like mostly nice locals. Nice decor

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-16 14:57:09
My Score:
Good weed and nice view. Sat outside and toked up in the sun. Perfect for a cruisy afternoon session.

Posted by Bottz U.S.A. on 2004-05-26 17:17:14
My Score:
Your Store is one of the best i bin to in all my years at the cannabis cup.to bad you are no longer involed with it. your staff like marshall,eric and the rest. i will never forget pim,&mark and the best table at the melkweg.i made freinds for life.Eric tell pim&mark that i E-mailed 3 times.

Posted by Paulo Escob. on 2004-05-17 21:07:01
My Score:
I had great time and hash in this place during the 2002 Cannabis Cup. Really coll place and smoke!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-29 01:01:17
My Score:
nice,very nice

Posted by Felix the cat on 2004-04-21 11:08:15
My Score:
During my six month in Amsterdam my favorite coffe shop! Have one very nice and cute person behind the bar!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-15 10:36:07
My Score:
If you can get the window seat overlooking the Singel, you will not want to leave!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-13 19:35:31
My Score:
Nice little place this one. Fantastic view of the crazy people in the streets outside. Equally fantasic view of the barmaid inside who is beauty incarnate. Well worth visiting just to catch a glimpse of her. Spent about half an hour laughing at a pigeon feeding itself with a piece of bread hung around its neck. Must have been a nice smoke!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-13 19:04:45
My Score:
Went here to toke my good before the trip home. ended up buying more. he he he. Good tunes, fit lady behind the bar worth the visit alone and a nice view from the front window and seats to toke outside too. One thing to rember is the toilets are downstairs with some scary stairs to get passed for beofre reaching them. Anyone with a few pints and isolator or 2 better take extra care on the decent.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-02 17:21:02
My Score:
comment

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-01 15:01:59
My Score:
I am in internet city amsterdam and was in Dutch flowers last night nice place ,anne your a babe.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-24 22:13:16
My Score:
The staff was friendly despite our being silly stoned tourists that kept bumping into tables and people. The buds were more than worth any trouble encountered but there was none. It might be one of the best window seat views in all of Amsterdam.

Posted by Kim on 2004-03-20 16:49:35
My Score:
Loved the location on the Singel. There weren't as many "loose cannons" getting stoned there.

Posted by Tygurr on 2004-01-22 13:06:34
My Score:
Besides the kidnapping of a confused looking tourist from outside the greenhouse, there is very little to write about. The haze of car fumes left a grimy stain on the lips no matter what the buds were like. The coffee was ok. The manager was efficient if not uninterested, as is the cafe.

Posted by Tygurr on 2004-01-22 12:55:55
My Score:
Worth going for the pot alone, I mean alone. Testy neighbourhood but the smoke was packed and dripping. Narcotics will never be the same.

Posted by fister on 2004-01-15 16:14:03
My Score:
good place, shame the owner was acting like a cunt with his mates making it uncomfortble for us. What a fucking twat

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-02 01:25:17
My Score:
The guy that runs/owns the place is a jerk. Straight up! He can be extremely rude. They do not like foreigners. I only go there to buy SILVER PEARL. I don't sit down there any more. So if you want to purchase some good weed or hash it's a good place otherwise don't spend your money on this jerk.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-01 13:01:48
My Score:
very cool

Posted by J on 2003-11-21 10:47:56
My Score:
Cliff -- don't bother trying again next year. I just went back, last week, to give it another shot after 3 years. My first experience was pretty bad, and this one was worse. I got a lecture on my shitty American manners because I forgot to say please when I was clarifying the order (never mind that I had already said it twice). Besides, the smoke was dry. So many other great ones to choose from, so why bother?

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-19 06:58:29
My Score:
it's the best coffee shop in hole amsterdam

Posted by Cliff on 2003-11-17 16:38:58
My Score:
The weed and location of this coffee shop is very good. However, the owner or should I refer to him as the asshole who manages this joint is beyond reproach. Five of us were there last weekend and were thrown out because we didn't say "please" when requesting another five beers. He seemed to have a chorus of customers enjoying the way he treated us. I suppose he just didn't want to see us there for another round. We all plan to return next year and see if we can deter our being expelled by being the friendliest blokes imaginable.

Posted by ephemeraction on 2003-11-13 14:23:57
My Score:
i had just returned from a job in Linz and had taken in the medieval flute concert at the concertgebouw so i was in a lazy, dreamy mood. stumbling into Dutch flowers was a good turn. the barman was very mellow and gave me some fine weed and fresh squeezed O.J. best of all he was gracious enough to let me plug in to the electricity so i could log the video footage of my assignment in Linz. I worked there for a few hours, smoking a very energetic strain and sipping coffee and O.J. just perfect!

Posted by Karen on 2003-11-11 06:07:09
My Score:
By far the most chilled place we went, the staff were great, coffee was good, views from inside were lovely, and Nora Jones playing quietly in the background. Can't ask for a more relaxing cosy place to sit and people watch. Well worth a visit!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-06 16:27:37
My Score:
nice,safe and chilled

Posted by Dougi on 2003-11-04 05:44:26
My Score:
this place is the business. the quality of hashes left no doubt in my mind that this is the place to buy your solids. smashin

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-22 17:31:21
My Score:
teefolk don't you now that the coffeeshops close at 2 and the rules are strickt !!!!!!!!!!!so mabey it's better that you stay away!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-22 17:25:38
My Score:
nice place

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-22 17:24:44
My Score:
cool

Posted by Wee Sid on 2003-10-14 08:54:40
My Score:
Typical Dutch bast@#$...fek&*^ know it alls...two things i hate in this life are people from Holland and the Dutch....oh and i hope Scotland kick yer ass in the next round...wankers...

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-06 18:23:09
My Score:
staff were assholes as to say look at the stupid americans im not stupid just the first coffeeshop ive been in very intimidating dealer dont go here

Posted by Treefolk on 2003-09-22 14:43:15
My Score:
this was a really bad place, the worst I was in! at about 2 a.m., the dealer (owner?) was drunk and started yelling at me & girl because I wasn't drinking my beer fast enough (????) and he wanted to go home, so he took my beer and pushed us outside!! Really BAD place, I will never come there again, nor will anyone I know.

Posted by pwz on 2003-09-20 11:42:40
My Score:
this place was buzzin great atmos and groovy people the one thats stuck in my mind after it had blown it. chris d n wales uk

Posted by DoctorPissoff on 2003-09-18 08:45:43
My Score:
Friendly, patient, Great products.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-09 19:15:31
My Score:
Nice greenery, but the dealer is a douche if you don't know what you want.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-13 02:08:19
My Score:
Good spot, but the few times I stopped, I couldn't get a seat. Service was OK, not friendly, but the bud was above average. Very dark inside.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-11 10:05:52
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-06 07:42:19
My Score:
i really liked this coffeeshop nice sounds helpfull staff and good weed go check it out

Posted by MellowD on 2003-05-04 23:22:51
My Score:
This place is on a corner across from a canal and a bakery with a lovely view. The reefer and hash are great, too. It is usually busy, but worth it.

Posted by wisconsin on 2003-04-22 10:12:45
My Score:
small and crowded, The best prices, some of the cheapest smoke around. cheap beer prices also!! One of my fav.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-22 05:20:47
My Score:
The hash I got here was outstanding! Very smooth, and mellow. I wish I got to try more of their menu.

Posted by John_NY on 2003-04-18 16:52:15
My Score:
Great People, worth the stop!

Posted by John USA on 2003-04-12 03:11:37
My Score:
rude bastards, avoid at all costs!

Posted by charlie on 2003-04-12 03:02:27
My Score:
Top quality smoke sold to you buy typical arrogant, money hungry, Dutch wankers who actually dispise all foreign tourists but use their so called tolerance to put up with us lot, purely for the sake of profit! Trust me I lived in Amsterdam for 4 years, I know what I'm talking about. The Dutch will tolerate anything that makes money!

Posted by AmsterDan on 2003-04-07 20:20:12
My Score:
We didn't stay and smoke here since it was crowded, but picked up some SilverPearl and Hawiian Haze both very nice weeds. the Pearl was tiny little crystal covered mostly orange buds and the Haze so very, very smooth. It only said 1 gram on the scale but seemed bigger than most grams we bought elsewhere. If its crowded at least stop and get some smoke here, you won't be dissappointed!

Posted by Huck on 2003-03-21 13:01:36
My Score:
Very rude staff.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-10 03:43:58
My Score:
One of my favorites. Outside tables have a pleasant canal view, but breezes make it near impossible to roll a doobie there. I'm in and out just about daily over 6 weeks every summer, and the house dealers greet me by name year after year, always cooperative as I work my way down the "menu" like a wine-tasting. I've been known to stay for an hour to read the Tribune, never get hassled about taking up space. Often they have no ice for the orange juice, but apparently nobody but me ever wants any.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-26 17:42:37
My Score:
lights out strong like mike tyson

Posted by ted-usa on 2003-01-07 03:19:03
My Score:
the worst coffeehouse i was ever in. locals and staff were very rude.(very undutch like) grass was not very good. maybe it is that they serve hard drugs like alcohol that made the people and place so unfriendly.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-06 10:07:04
My Score:
this was the only one I remember!!!

Posted by alex on 2002-10-22 12:42:03
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-10-12 01:01:47
My Score:
The coolest place AND the best weed!

Posted by Jerry on 2002-08-15 16:13:55
My Score:
Excellent staff, including Bob and Sheeluh.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-07-19 13:34:41
My Score:
fantastic place, maybe my favourite. It's laid back and there's no pressure to buy any weed, in fact i had to wait quite a while at the hash bar but that doesnt really matter, the weed is excellent and very reasonably priced, try the super shiva...borders on hallucinogenic. small but perfectly formed, definately worth a visit.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-03-11 17:30:46
My Score:
We were recommended this place by the Canabis College for some nice organic weed but the chap was really off hand and intimadating. Super bag of "Keirweit" though.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-02-22 14:40:30
My Score:
Visited this place for the first time last august(5th visit) and will be one of the first stops on the way from Central to hotel next month. small with only a few tables and chairs but cool atmosphere and top weed. the silver pearl was awesome. great nederhash too. cheers guys from Marty in Glasgow. See you soon.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds