Amsterdam's finest museum of the antiquities, and especially noted for it's Egyptian displays (including a complete mummie), as well as a fine library, auditorium and research facilities. The museum has lived in several locations since it's inception during the 1920's. Originally on the Weesperzijde, then on Sarphtistraat, and is now in the former headquarters of the Nederlandsche Bank. This rather opulent building, located on the Rokin, is just past the Dam Square, on the left side of the canal when walking from Central Station. There are a number of trams that stop directly in front of the museum (4, 9, 16, 24 and 25).
Admission is quite reasonable, adults pay 4.30 euros for entrance. Children and seniors are less.
Closed Mondays and on Holidays, the museum is open generally from 10 am to 5 pm.
There is no parking in the area, except for a handicapped spot right in front of the door.
Address: Oude Turfmarkt 127 City: Amsterdam Postcode: 1012 CG Phone: 020 525 2556 Fax: Added: December 29th 2001 Reviewer: Martin Trip