Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Stix

Two coffeeshops located at:
Utrechtstraat 21
This place has a different feel than most coffeeshops. Wood tables and benches are well designed and comfortable. Vibe is good, lots of locals popping in. Worth checking out!

Also at: Korte Koningsstraat 2


More Info:

Address:
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: November 3rd 2002
Score:
Hits: 16414
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
45 entries
Smoke:
8.9
Service:
9.2
Ambiance:
8.3
Value:
8.6
Overall:
8.9
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-01 00:19:46
My Score:
Best coffee shop in Amsterdam. Royal STIX is best one. I wanna go again with wife.

Posted by Parkz on 2011-01-12 21:16:48
My Score:
This was the first shop we stopped at. its called solo now though had a great smoke there and the women at counter gave me 1.3g for 12euro (was ment to be 1.0g but my birthday was 10 days before and she gae me extra) of cheese haze very nice 10/10

Posted by Greg n Ruth on 2006-05-19 12:33:59
My Score:
What a friendly place to enjoy your smoke. I liked watching locals drop in to purchase some evening's entertainment. Its a pity that we can't smoke cannabis in Australia. After a couple of weeks it was nice becoming familiar with some of those who stayed in for a while each evening. We tended to roll smokey joints - which amused the resident smokers - and it got so cold when they turned up the exhaust fan. We'll surely be basing ourselves at STIX after breakfast at The Blue Bird when we go back next year.

Posted by Prof_Woland on 2006-03-28 23:32:31
My Score:
I lived in amsterdam 1997/98 and I thought Stix was the best. There wasn't any of the 'front' that the more brash possibly better known ones seemed to have. The owner introduced me to Skuff - That was a revelation. I'm glad to see that it's still there and still so well thought of.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-18 09:42:20
My Score:
I think the 2 Stix-coffeeshops must be the best of Amsterdam! I tried almost all of them

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-07 14:37:30
My Score:
Yeah

Posted by Ant on 2005-10-19 13:47:24
My Score:
ive lived almost next door to Stix ( the one in the photo ) for 3 years, but somehow it doesnt do it for me; not quite sure why, but i usually find myself scoring elsewhere. But i agree, the light airy atmosphere & decor does make a pleasant change from many other venues.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-20 16:42:38
My Score:
the g13 is a must for any serious skunk head

Posted by ukbaz on 2005-09-14 12:15:27
My Score:
I found stix a couple of years ago whilst in the dam i have since returned on many occassions and i allways make sure that stix gets paid a visit as the place is so relaxing.Returned this time and the new house special is california haze nice A must for all old schoolers

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-02 15:25:46
My Score:
Best of the best; once you try it, you can't live without it !
White Widow x Afghaan Rules !!

Posted by nestor on 2005-07-28 19:55:15
My Score:
Really good, we found it in our first day at the dam and never found it again. I'm coming back in two weeks and I'm determined to smoke that tasty bublegum again

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-26 23:49:53
My Score:
Perfect.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-18 12:51:20
My Score:
Hard to find a coffeshop with best quality for cheap prices (same quality than the most famous coffe shops but really cheaper). Also kewl and piecefull ambiance with good old music (jazz , fusion, ..).

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-24 13:25:37
My Score:
The first coffeshop I ever visited way back in 2000. Until now whenever i return to Amsterdam this is always a MUST VISIT. Relaxed, friendly, and more impostantly good weed. But prices are a little high.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-13 15:56:27
My Score:
Really chill modern, different coffeeshop if I would live in Amsterdam and not in the South of Holland that would be the coffeeshop to always go to. sort of a laounge atmosphere. . Very good

Posted by BIG L on 2004-11-25 05:48:39
My Score:
Just came back from amsterdam the other day (11/04) Stix cannibus cup entry, NLX, the most ridiculous Northern Lights I have ever smoked....a must try

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-25 00:47:15
My Score:
The absolute best.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-16 22:47:53
My Score:
gezellig.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-30 23:00:20
My Score:
I LOVE THEIR WEED...MAD CHEAP MAD GOOD...MAD HIGH

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 00:25:48
My Score:
it is the best coffee shop in amsterdam(also try greenhouse it is cool)

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-15 20:11:29
My Score:
The staff were really nice. I remember there was a real cute guy there and we had a really pleasant chat over the finest Jack Herrer . The tunes were so chilled out . It was located close to the Falcon Plaza hotel where we stayed. The first one we visited on this trip and made for an exellent warm up or warm down spot enroute to/from town :) :) Cheers Stix!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-07 19:55:24
My Score:
yeah. this place was mint. good music, good service, nice menu, i had some white widow, a little bit more expensive than other coffee shops, but it was fresh and really nice. quite a classy little chill out.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-28 14:21:19
My Score:
First time here had the Bublegum (8/10) but the Gunpowder (10/10) WOW kicks the crystals at Grey Area into touch..B..

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-28 00:47:16
My Score:
One of the cleanest, more "low-key" shops. Nice lounge upstairs too. I like this place and would take the tram to it again, just for the laid back ambiance. There should be more shops like Stix in the 'Dam and less small, dark, cramped, "dens of iniquity." I recommend it.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-20 21:46:41
My Score:
Nice and friendly people, ready to give some good advice on how best to use your weed.
Also check out their "gunpowder". It mixes well with milk.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-21 11:54:31
My Score:
I am half dutch/welsh and have visited the Netherlands on numerous occassions, including Amsterdam and I have been to nearly all the coffeeshops in the Dam and The Stix stands out above all the rest. Smoke, service, chilled atmosphere all top rate. If your looking for a chilled friendly smoke before heading out to Vondelpark/Museums this is the place. REMEMBER the DUTCH are a quiet bunch and don't like to be invaded by loud, egotistic brits/americans. So keep it quiet and chilled and you'll earn there respect.

Posted by JayMarks on 2004-02-19 16:41:18
My Score:
I was staying in Fredrieksplein and the nearest coffeeshop was Stix. Oh how glad I was that I found this place. The smoke was really nice and I recommend the Gunpowder hash it's will blow you away.

Posted by SparkerLeft on 2004-02-05 13:35:48
My Score:
This is a great little coffeeshop with a clean environment, people who know what they are talking about, and, as SparkerLeft stated, it serves as a great home base (1st, 2nd, or 3rd) for those too blown out to remember what direction up is. Word to the wise, get a map or figure out your Broadway before lighting up. Have fun and check out the 7.50 buffet for one hour only of all you can eat.

Posted by SparkerRight on 2004-02-04 09:13:52
My Score:
This great little place served as home base for my friends and I when we were too stoned to find our way back to our hotel (tourists we were!). The weed is good, the price is average and the service, at least in my experience was very good. The employee we encountered was very knowledgable, helping us with our menu selection and with directions. A nice little place to spend an hour talking with friends and a home away from home (hotel) for me and my F&N brothers.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-04 09:08:23
My Score:
This great little place served as home base for my friends and I when we were two stoned to find our way back to our hotel (tourists we were!). The weed is good, the price is average and the service, at least in my experience was very good. A nice little place to spend an hour talking with friends and a home away from home for me and my F&N brothers.

Posted by F-Dawg on 2004-01-06 01:08:15
My Score:
Dude, I was there in March of 2003, and I have to say that the Silver Haze blew my mind. This was really the only place that my friends and I bought some 'for the road.' Now, I'm not a chronic pothead, but I have smoked my share. I was so stoned after the Silver Haze, that I had to walk around A-dam for about 3 hours to come down. We missed our dinner reservations that night to boot! I would recommend this place to anyone. This and Grey Area have the best weed in the DAM!

Posted by pb on 2003-12-04 23:53:22
My Score:
Great service, nice clean shop and very friendly staff. A really good place to stop at.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-12 10:44:55
My Score:
They were very nice and I enjoyed the atmoshere. Of course i got real high

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-21 08:16:52
My Score:
Very nice ambiance where the feeling of time gets lost!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-19 14:52:52
My Score:
Not a dark and dirty looking place, Stix offers a large variety of cannabis-related products along with some advice and a friendly chat. The latter two are for free ;-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-21 15:00:23
My Score:
The best smoke I have had in amsterdam and their homemade gunpowder is amazing but expensive

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-22 05:09:59
My Score:
Have been to Amsterdan 3 times and always end up at STIX. Best prices on weed because the locals are in and out all day. Nice people run it too. Very comfortable place.

Posted by MellowD on 2003-05-04 23:30:56
My Score:
After 14 days of steady smoking (about 16 grams of a variety of weed and hasj from a variety of coffeeshops) and the day before I was going home I found Stix and their gunpowder! I will be making a beeline from Centraal Station to Stix my next visit to A'dam! On one of the previous vacation days I had breakfasted on a pot muffin and two coffees, had a brownie for lunch, hash cocoa for a snack and some Ice-o-lator for dinner. On that day I don't think I ate much either and I was not as happily stoned as I was after smoking a wee bit of Stix great gunpowder. Oh, and a local couple called my order for tea to the dealer and then passed it to me when it was ready. Open, sunny, warm, welcoming ambiance and gunpowder. Definitely my favorite.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-26 22:51:38
My Score:
Somewhat better than average. Staff was friendly, cannabis was decent, but not outstanding. Sitting upstairs, and getting stoned was plesant.

Posted by Doris on 2003-03-05 14:48:32
My Score:
Stix is Definitely one of the best coffeeshops in the dam. Friendly and helpful staff. great coffee and hot chocolate and probably the best weed available. Highly Recommended!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-27 09:12:09
My Score:
Great place check out the gunpowder its about 13 euros a gram and is like a loose kif. Really potent and tasty.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-07 11:04:36
My Score:
aggouri

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-04 19:56:05
My Score:
this was not the same stix that i visted but im sure it was as phat as this one good monk and pure class

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-05 06:42:21
My Score:
music was kinda loud, but very cool instead

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-11-26 09:39:06
My Score:
Stix says more about Amsterdam than any other coffee shop. This is not a place for teenage hippes from England and America on soul-searching drugfests. Mature businessmen in camel coats pop in and chat with the barkeeper about his stock as though they are buying expensive wine. Great music and an intimate atmosphere.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds