Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

The Rookies

I had a chance to pop in here during the Cannabis Cup. Usually when I spot a pool table in a coffeeshop, I turn around and head elsewhere, but at The Rookies, it's more of an after thought, rather than the primary focus of activity.

I think The Rookies works because it's got a more open feel than most narrow, cramped coffeeshops. You can sit most anywhere in the room and observe everything going on. I chose to sit by the pool table, which turned out to be unwise as I was getting a lot of ass in my face when they weren't taking aim at it with the backend of a pool cue. Fortunately this was noticed by one of the staff who rushed over and moved around a few tables to create more room for those shooting pool.

I enjoyed the tunes playing on their superior sound system. A little Van Morrison and other upbeat music give the place a lot of character, and set the happy tone here. While it's not exactly my cup of tea, lots of young people like this cheery place.


More Info:

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 145-147
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: November 30th 2002
Score:
Hits: 15068
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
49 entries
Smoke:
8.0
Service:
8.3
Ambiance:
7.6
Value:
8.3
Overall:
8.6
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-10 16:51:04
My Score:
Awesome

Posted by feck2004 on 2011-01-30 02:34:51
My Score:
we loved this place

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-10-25 16:18:07
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-14 06:24:07
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-26 22:40:59
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-04 12:52:28
My Score:
I quite like it here though i'm not really sure why. Its a bar that happens to sell weed and having a pool table does attract people that you would probably not choose to be around whilst in the midst of a purple haze, or even sober for that matter. But having said that, its bright and welcoming and if you can get a corner table, is as good a place to fade away as any around this area.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:33:26
My Score:
spent hours in here menu not up to much all prepacked but atmosphere good dealer ok and nobody hassling you good place for chilling

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:33:26
My Score:
spent hours in here menu not up to much all prepacked but atmosphere good dealer ok and nobody hassling you good place for chilling

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-13 02:36:08
My Score:
nice low key place !

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-07 04:37:54
My Score:
Love the Weed Stoned all day Earl Grey Tea is the best we will be back again real soon

Posted by OlderPOV on 2006-01-23 11:44:06
My Score:
The volcano vaporizer is used here. Although not uncommon, it is somewhat rare. However, I don't like buying pre-packaged herbs. If I don't see it weighed, I don't know how much I'm getting. Besides that, they didn't have the herb I wanted, so I went to another shop and bought my choice. I returned to Rookies and used their Volcano with my recently purchased herb. Where else can you go that will allow you to bring in the competitor's product just so you can use their apparatus?

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-12-23 23:27:01
My Score:
Lovely laid back atmosphere - what a good English pub would be like with dope. (and my fiancee says I have to say it has good toilets). Our favourite place in Amsterdam - and where we feel most comfortable (even when it gets a bit loud late at weekends) :-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-11-27 16:53:46
My Score:
A very average place to smoke, not the bigget selection and quite uncomfortable, the tea was very poor. all in all i think that rookies is over rated....chris collins CoE

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-30 02:23:49
My Score:
Good bar atmosphere if you are into that sort of thing. Good people. We found it to be one of the only places to stop by the Rijksmuseum.. and we asked around. Friendly nice people and good beer selection!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-30 19:52:22
My Score:
First I was afraid afraid,,,,,,I was TERRYFIED!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-23 13:59:22
My Score:
one of the best coffeeshops in the damski- nice service, nice atmosphere, its not dark and dingy like other coffeeshops but bright and airy and when my pal nearly fainted because he overdone the mushrooms in the afternoon the barman rushed over and helped him up, what a top bloke!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-14 17:58:27
My Score:
mark is a great owner. the apartments upstairs is a great way to experience da dam

Posted by Another JC from USA on 2005-09-08 18:25:57
My Score:
This is the most solid, comfortable and fun shop in the Leidesplein area. I like trying other shops, but The Rookies makes a great base. When you take advantage of the coffeeshop, small hotel upstairs, and the souveneir shop across the street, you're really experiencing a cannabis resort all in one nice block. Also, perhaps most importantly, all the guys that work here are friendly. Some might complain about a 2 g minimum but it didn't bother me; the Northern Lights will knock yours out! Chris, sorry you couldn't make it - damn that Katrina.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-06 14:14:19
My Score:
This is a different type of coffeeshop to most. To me, it's really a pub where they happen to sell weed and let you smoke your own. For us Brits with our pub culture it is ideal. You can sit and drink all night, have a game of pool and get stoned. Ideal. The hash is quite expensive and no doubt the weed isn't the absolute best blah blah but overall it's a nice place to hang out if you like to drink.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 20:37:39
My Score:
Nice place, nice manali, must be visited.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-08 17:18:27
My Score:
The Delta was FANTASTIC!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-08 01:31:05
My Score:
try the delta ....very white and strong

Posted by belen on 2004-09-01 11:16:50
My Score:
helloooooooo, I love your bar, the best coffeshop in Amsterdam, de best barman Milton, I remember you veeeeery muuuuuch. Kiss

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-28 14:23:11
My Score:
Rookies skunk here was crap (5/10) weak and tasted a bit like skunk of old, service was crap only thing going for them is they sell beer but so do several other places ..B..

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-13 20:02:03
My Score:
I stumbled in here after wandering around the 'dam for about 3 hours. Great atmosphere, and you can get beer in addition to your weed and hash. There was a Japanese couple sitting next to my group, and they were asking me about which weed they should try. Imagine their surprise when a 'gaijin' was able to answer them in Japanese. I should have been kinder to them though. The prerolled Northern Lights that I recommended converted them from an energetic couple into a couple staring at the same spot on the wall for an hour.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-28 16:04:28
My Score:
popped in while wandrering the streets as you do in DAM had loverly time with friendly staff good smoke and good cappo's met a lass in there who told me about old canel boat ride ( turn right out of rookies and head to liedesplein the comedy club opposite side too bulldog there is where you want to be for it) where you take your drink and smoke along and enjoy sites from differant view its a donation based trip you pay what you feel it was worth. as for rookies the space in there made it great for me you see i'm wheel chair bound and with a clever setup on the front covered over ninty mile in my week there visiting lots of coffeeshops along the way what a week !!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-16 10:34:50
My Score:
is very very very very very very good coffeeshop

Posted by Dave on 2004-03-14 21:46:58
My Score:
I love the Rookies and have had many a good time there. Rookies is the place were everyone can feel welcome and just relax visit with friends or make new ones. I am always impressed by the friendly staff and good times. Rookies is the Cheers of Leidsplein. A must see!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-04 22:22:06
My Score:
music good, not cheesey, first coffee shop came across loved it, would of liked a food choice but happy to pop out for munchies and come back!

Posted by Corry on 2004-01-05 03:35:10
My Score:
The best

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-11 08:33:58
My Score:
After myself and my chumshad purchased and digested some of the worlds greatest psylocybin from the good fellow a couple of doors down, we decided to smoke a joint and play a game of pool before things got stupendous, we were made to feel most welcome and thw smoke was fit for the King of Spain. Thank you, lovely people!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-22 11:44:14
My Score:
the best

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-10 03:18:09
My Score:
Stopped in here to smoke up before going to stare at Rembrandts for hours. Very relaxed, and worth stopping in if you're in the neighborhood. Nice... Not thrilling, but nice.

Posted by piercemn on 2003-10-04 11:42:54
My Score:
This is the best coffeeshop in Amsterdam! I was there two years ago on Christmas Day, and had just visited the Riikmuseum. I was jetlagged and shared a joint with a friend of mine. It was a great way to get over jetlag. I had a great time walking around A-dam after getting stoned here, and had a lovely time at the Thermos Day Spa with a charming older man from Utrecht who told me I was a great kisser. One thing about this pot: I was stoned for two days. I went to Scotland the next day, and was still stoned when we went to St. Andrew's on the North Sea (which was fucking cold!!) I took my friend from Scotland to A-dam for a holiday and she loved Rookie's too. My only trouble was I sat near the door and was reading the British publications, and of course,the wind kept blowing the newspaper shut. Ah well, it was nice to get some fresh air! I always recommend Rookie's as the FIRST coffeeshop to visit in A-dam.

Posted by tomaschonnie on 2003-08-16 18:21:51
My Score:
this was the first coffeeshop i went into and i wasnt dissapointed. nice quiet and relaxed atmosphere :)

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-16 18:20:26
My Score:
this was the first coffeeshop i went into and i wasnt dissapointed. nice quiet and relaxed atmosphere :)

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-03 13:11:56
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-19 17:09:55
My Score:
I came off the train at central station and started heading toward my hostel which was down around vondelpark. Dropped my luggage off and headed right for the Rookies. This was my first coffeeshop visit in Amsterdam so of course im gonna like it a lot. I purchases the sativa blend and had a few bailey's on ice. The smoke was good and drinks were good. Sit and chatted with an older couple who were regulars i think as i saw them in there a couple more tiems throughout the week. Needless to say i walked out with a nice buzz and was ready for more. The atmostphere is like a sports bar with a coffeeshop thrown in the mix. Worth a visit.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-12 16:51:02
My Score:
Decent bar, bad dealers. Wanted to take a look at the weed(s) as you should "I'm not getting them all out!" was the response when I asked to see the another (the second). Needless to say I smoked what I had in my pocket instead!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-09 16:30:04
My Score:
Me and my wife and her two sisters stopped in to smoke our own during the afternoon. We didn't buy any weed, but bought the usual drinks to 'buy' our seats. The coffeeshop is a large and open room with a bar and a pool table. It had the feel of a cheap American bar. Nothing special. The music was fine and at a reasonable volume. Overall, I felt that The Rookies was bland compared to other coffeeshops in the area.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-11 03:07:40
My Score:
A great place to hang out, smoke a joint, and drink a beer.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-23 03:04:41
My Score:
Great place to have a beer and play a game of pool. Also a great place to smoke a blunt and play some chess.

Posted by Michael Reed on 2003-04-02 04:32:16
My Score:
This was our first and last stop in Amsterdam during our lost weekend. We liked the atmosphere, the tunes, and the ability to hide behind these posts in the bar. We were a little nervous just starting out. The laminated menus gave clear pricing with grams and a brief description of each choice. You know exactly what your getting. Pool table & a nice mix of music made it seem like a regular US or British bar, just that they served pot and hash. The staff was friendly, helpful, efficient and gave us a pipe to use. A great location just off the Leidseplein and much less comercial than the Bulldog or other shops right on the plein. No bouncer and our one <18 year old got served with no problem. Strongly recommend the place for all the right reasons. Tons 'o fun.

Posted by Phil on 2003-02-18 07:09:57
My Score:
7 is a fair rating for this shop.......we were in there on 10th feb 2003, And 3 of us were shortchanged. I dont think this was an accident..just because the name is Rookies doesn't mean all the clients are Rookies. Apart from that the dronks were great, the pool was good, and so was were the smoke and the sound....just watch your change!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-02-10 14:14:08
My Score:
thought it was a great place to start out - my first shop and by the end of the trip, made it my last shop stop. see 'em

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-27 17:56:27
My Score:
nice relaxing place,good all round atmosphere

Posted by excitableone on 2003-01-23 16:28:43
My Score:
this was one of my favorite shops to chill out at, the size of the shop is a plus!! the rookies skunk i purchased was some of the nicest smoke i had in amsterdam..they also have great hot chocolate!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-06 12:45:06
My Score:
If you're in Amsterdam with folks who drink but don't smoke (weed), this is the place to go...full bar and decent smoke. I liked the music, too--good for a little groovin' on a rainy afternoon. One bad thing--the guys behind the bar were . They needed attitude adjustments, or to smoke a joint and lighten up. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay there, and prefer it over the Bulldog 100%.

Posted by MATT THE MOD on 2002-12-29 10:17:37
My Score:
yeah....i stumbled across this place on my 5th or 6th visit to the dam.Seriously recommend it to anyone looking for a really chilled,comfortable,mixed persons place! as this was my first time staying outside of the red light ditrict i was really pleased to find such a place(couldnt find much else in the way of chilled smoking places in leidesplein) FIND IT ! INCASE I NEVER DO AGAIN!!

Posted by Lu on 2002-12-18 09:24:39
My Score:
Yes, a good coffe shop. I recommend the b&b upstairs - by far it gave the most enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. The coffee shop has a poot table (different) but certainly didn't have a pub atmosphere. I prefer other coffee shops but no doubt a lot of people favour this place.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds