Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Eat Mode Asian Fusion Kitchen

New in Amsterdam, and first in Chinatown the owners claim, is the Eat Mode Asian Fusion Kitchen.


The workers have to restock constantly
to keep the customers satisfied here on the Zeedijk.

Glad I discovered this little eatery on the Zeedijk in Amsterdam, right off the Nieuwmarkt. Fine food, cheap prices and nice ambience all combine to make this place a new favorite of mine in the Mokum. The menu consists of a variety of Asian specialities culled from Japanese, Chinese and Thai cuisine. A separate sushi menu is also available.

I ordered the chicken curry lo mein soup bowl, which was filled to the brim with a rich brown broth, chunks of chicken, potatoes, and chinese veggies. Thanks to such large portions, I was also completely filled to the brim when I finished eating it. My friend ordered the Udon soup with vegetables tempura, and it was also delicious. The crispy fried veggies contrasted well with the savory broth of the soup.

Chinese tea is free with your order. English and other types of tea as well as soft drinks are available. Nothing is expensive at this delightful place, with meals averaging around 6 Euros, topping out around 11 Euros for a prawn dish.

The ambience is nice, the soothing lounge music, quietly chatting diners, contrast with the view of the crowds scurrying by on the Zeedijk. Simple wood block tables and comfortable benches make for an enjoyable, relaxing experience. Please note there is no table service here. You must order at the counter and wait for your number to appear on the display.


More Info: Open daily from 11 am until midnight. The entire menu is available for take-out as well as eat-in.

Address: Zeedijk 105-107
City: Amsterdam
Postcode: 1012 AV
Phone: 020 330 0806
Fax: 020 330 0792
Added: March 3rd 2003
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 6216
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
14 entries.
Food:
8.6
Service:
8.6
Ambiance:
8.6
Value:
8.9
Overall:
8.9
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-04 20:46:47
My Score:
yeah im loving Eat Mode, great food!

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-04 20:45:23
My Score:
i love eatmode ^__^

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-11 13:16:14
My Score:
Exelent! I will go there again.

Posted by pineapple on 2004-10-16 18:26:27
My Score:
really tasty and not too expensive

Posted by Tatum on 2004-09-13 17:07:03
My Score:
Food was very tasy. Very well prepared and the prices are very reasonable. I was put off when I received a plastic (Chinese) spoon to eat my Woton soup. No plastic cuttlery/dishes should be served in any restaurant! The wooden benches are not very comfortable. It's a place where you just eat and go.

Posted by Sweeper on 2004-03-09 14:16:38
My Score:
Food was very good..... Went twice in a row whilst in Amsetrdam. Bring one to London or St Albans!!!!!

Posted by Butter on 2004-03-09 13:05:00
My Score:
The group of friends i went with all agreed that the quality of the food and service was very impressive.

Posted by 33333 on 2004-02-12 15:26:26
My Score:
it's a okay resturant .

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-07 10:28:27
My Score:
very good

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-27 17:04:49
My Score:
Basic Asian stle canteen diner, that is excellent value for money, serving very good quality food. Would defnitely revisit!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-27 15:42:23
My Score:
Very well done guys. Compliments on the food and the ambiance. Nice place to eat. Very clean too!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-09 06:17:01
My Score:
The food value is amazing...Not only is a cool concept, but the food was tasty, prompt and with the low prices, it allowed us to sample a wide variety without breaking the bank!! I will definitely go back!!

Posted by Jeff on 2003-05-04 21:25:14
My Score:
I tried the rice with beef and crab. Not a lot of beef, but the menu and price was good for China Town in Amsterdam. The service is decent and it was one of the few Japanese restaurants I saw in Amsterdam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-16 18:54:50
My Score:
Very good!!!!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds