Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

The Grey Area

Small shop on a small street near the Spui. Good smoke.


More Info:

Address: Oude Leliestraat 2
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: May 15th 2003
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 44763
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
172 entries
Smoke:
9.3
Service:
8.3
Ambiance:
6.7
Value:
8.7
Overall:
8.8
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Anonymous on 2015-06-25 09:53:17
My Score:
Best coffeeshop I have been to in Amsterdam, and I have been going there at least once a year for the past 10 years. I am going to a music festival in Utrecht tomorrow, and I will stop in Amsterdam to hit the Grey Area to get my stuff first.

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-27 13:43:09
My Score:
best coffe shop im dam

Posted by Tony37x on 2010-12-02 03:51:29
My Score:
Grey Area is a tiny shop with great Weed and Hash! Tried the Silver Bubble 13 Euro per gram and Grey Crystal Hash 18 Euro which put us into a whole new world! There is only room for like 6 people to sit so we just hit the to-go menu :) Bartenders were real cool and happy to show off their stuff during Cannabis Cup 2010.


Posted by sr on 2009-04-02 00:30:28
My Score:

Posted by Al Capone on 2008-11-18 20:11:58
My Score:
This bud was amazing!  We got the "cheeze" and the chocolope.  Dealer was american guy from same city in the US as me.  Small shop but excellent quality.  Im looking forward to going back. 

Posted by Matthew Bennett on 2008-10-23 11:36:05
My Score:
This small shop was just what we had read about. Small and cramped with killer weed. It was pretty much one in and one out for the weed line and people were talking about just getting off the plane and going staight there for the best stuff.; When I got to the counter the dealer was a very cool American guy and he let me smell the goods and suggested the good stuff. We got Big buddah Cheese that was the nicest looking weed and had creamy thick smoke that tasted wonderfully like cheese!? We were surprised and loved it. We also got some Grey Haze and it was knock out stuff too. Very worth the trip for the good stuff.

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-10-23 04:31:33
My Score:
Nice weed cool dealer and popular and small.  Find this shop and go there!

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-24 15:31:39
My Score:
nice sour diesel buddhas mothers finesh she was drooo

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-23 04:17:19
My Score:
Excellent weed-got chocolope and yellow cab-both were excellent.All of my friends and I agreed that this was some of the best weed we had in Amsterdam.Only popped in to buy some product as there were too many of us to stay!

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-04 23:42:36
My Score:
please tell me how can a person taking a day trip over by train from France, take a few grams back on the train to France.

thank you.


Posted by COckle on 2008-03-27 04:34:02
My Score:
Good, but tiny

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-12 16:34:01
My Score:

Posted by Bozo on 2008-01-18 19:07:52
My Score:
Nice weed but too small a place to enjoy the buzz

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-26 09:54:19
My Score:
These guys have figured out how to pull the wool over the tourist eyes. This is a tourist shop of the highest magnitude. If you want WAY overpriced average weed, then this is the place for you. They cater to American tourists with american style 1/8ths. Geeeezzzzzz!!!!!!!

Posted by LoFreq on 2007-01-25 14:09:38
My Score:
Nice little shop to stop off for some quality weed. Helpful staff weigh the weed in front of you and don't underfill the baggies. Does get very full up in peak season though and the weed can get quite pricey - up to €13.50/g...

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-29 19:12:13
My Score:
The Grey Area caters to the professional bud smoker. Clearly the best quality. I like the small place because it's what helps make the place unique.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:43:11
My Score:
place was packed dealer very freindly and chatty menu excellent grey mist trichomes and golden soles lovely first stop in dam next time hopefully can sit and have a smoke go there for the quality

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-28 18:43:11
My Score:
place was packed dealer very freindly and chatty menu excellent grey mist trichomes and golden soles lovely first stop in dam next time hopefully can sit and have a smoke go there for the quality

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-03 17:24:53
My Score:
Nic Here, Grey Area Rocks My Socks. Love The Smoke, Music And Vibes. Great Place To Chill On A Vacation. I Give This Place An Overall 10!!! "Keep It Mr. Grey... I'll Buy Your Weed... Anyday :) PEACE LOVE & FREEDOM

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-07 04:34:39
My Score:
Great Place good people

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-31 22:42:06
My Score:
This place is what it is, as far as the setup goes. It isnt ever gonna be bigger or less crowded feeling. But this is the best place to get smoke in a'dam. bar none. top to bottom. If you arent going for the smoke, dont go. If you are going for the smoke, you will be ultimately satisfied.

Posted by Nickyparry on 2006-01-25 12:26:54
My Score:
the smoke is fresh and fruity. you get fresh big buds rather than little sh**y buds. not a good place to chill but def worth getting bud from

Posted by acidandy on 2006-01-20 01:17:06
My Score:
buy your weed here smoke one and fall out the door,find another place to sit,wicked.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-05 10:42:02
My Score:
I agree with the dude about the van gogh shit. all these people need to quit their bitch'n get a gram or two and get out.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-12-14 21:55:15
My Score:
finally found this coffeeshop, and it was closed. went back the next day, weed is brilliant there most of the menu is worth a good smoke, service is ok but the opening houurs suck, late starts and early finish, also is very much americas bumhole in amsterdam

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-30 04:21:43
My Score:
good weed, but i need beer damit! what is this, am i supposed to smoke hash and drink water with no gas? fuck that, start serving beer. yet, that new york diesel was berry berry good!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-12 14:11:24
My Score:
Have visited this place many times, firstly in 2002 and keep going back to this very day. I'll be there this coming weekend so The Grey Area will be a must stop! It reminds me of an American High School Sitcom in there which to me is inviting! The Double Bubble Gum / Grey Mist and Yellow Taxi is supurb gear and deffinately worth a toke or two. Not the most comfortable of coffee shops with very few chairs and tables, but friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere (as long as too many people don't crowd in). A highly recommended and enjoyable smoke. JD

Posted by Dixie on 2005-10-07 01:05:30
My Score:
Excellent hash and buds at great prices and an American expat touchstone.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-20 16:52:19
My Score:
this was by far the best coffeeshop i visited on a recent visit to dam. great smoke service and for the size the best chillout spot in town

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-19 17:35:17
My Score:
after the gray area i was already thinking,(i could live here).i have been back three time all three was the best try gray mist. live it,love it<<<<<<

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-15 22:12:26
My Score:
sick bud sick services in other words nice ethan from rochford

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-15 21:35:09
My Score:
good weed

Posted by slo on 2005-09-14 06:18:09
My Score:
What's the big deal? The weed was shakey and the dealer fucked up on my orders a few times, underweighing grams, and the scale wasn't even in plain sight. I tried to only go here because John's from my town, but I didn't think the bud was all that it's jacked up to be. Plus all the local custys were really aggrevating.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-17 23:00:41
My Score:
Obviously the people who gave the Grey Area a bad service rating didn't do their homework before comming to the Netherlands. For people who do understand a different culture, the service was on par for Amsterdam. Yeah it was slow, but who cares? All service in Amsterdam is slow, that's the point. I found the place great, when there weren't loud mouth Brits and Americans in the place. During the off hours it is a prime place to chill. My advice, get a gram of the very fine greyberry, a cola, sit down, roll a fatty, and watch the world go by. Plus, there is a great choclatier across the street. However, be warned in advance. English speakers feel more comfortable here. This means that non-cultured idiots are the norm. Over many days of hanging out I noticed that the Grey Area has a high local clientel. However, the locals buy and leave. Ultimately that would be my advice. Get a couple grams, go for a nice walk and look at the amazing art at the Van Gogh museum.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-03 02:19:51
My Score:
Friendly dealer, great bud thanks

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-27 02:44:04
My Score:
Dont visit this coffee shop, you idiot tourists bug me too much. This place has the best weed in amsterdam, but ive never smoked johns hash as ive never seen him smoke it ;). But. at 7.50 a gram, this place is awsome, and everyone always bitchs about service and shit, dude just get a fucking soda, john is always fucking so nice to me, cause i dont go in their and act like an idiot and scream and shit like msot americans do (im allowed to say this, im an american orginally). When im so stoned off my ass i cant manage, wich i always am after a fucking third gram of this guys weed shared amongst many folks, he always helps me out and shit Oh and if you stand at the bar for 10 minutes, ull get a table, just relax and set your bong on a stool and get high, this aint coke brotha, no need to be so whiney! BEST COFFEE SHOP EVER! I only buy grass here.

Posted by BESTA420 on 2005-06-30 16:36:46
My Score:
THIS IS THE BEST COFFEE SHOP IN DAM. A GREAT PLACE 2 CHILL OUT SMOKE WEED AND GOT SOME GOOD BONGS ...

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-29 01:30:44
My Score:
in my opinion the best coffeeshop!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-01 07:42:19
My Score:
Grey Area is a fantastic place to chill. The fossil has left the building! FOSSILIZE with us at the Grey Area.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-24 15:44:11
My Score:
WITH A HIGH REPUTATION TO UPSOLD I FOUND THIS COFFEESHOP O BE JUST AS EXPECTED...ONLY SMALLER. BUT THATS THE BEEYOOTY OF THE DAMS COFFEESHOPS. IT WOULD BE BORING IF THEY WERE ALL THE SAME LIKE A MCDONALDS OR SMETHING RIGHT? THIS IS JUST MINS AWAY FROM DAM SQ. A LOT EASIER TO FIND THAN I THOUGHT. NICE PEEPS IN THERE SERVING. CHAIRS A BIT UNCOMFY THOUGH.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-06 14:22:57
My Score:
Hmm what can I say...in short: Great weed. Crap service. Small and cramped. Me and a friend went in the day and it was quiet. But this didn't stop the bald guy behind the counter taking about 15 mins to serve us - he was talking to a local and just pretended we were not there. He then took about 20 mins to get us a simple bottle orange and got the order wrong. He was pretty offish and rude really. Kind of felt like punching him a bit! To be honest I thing the staff in coffeeshops can often be quite rude - maybe they are too stoned or have it too easy but it is inexcusable. The shop is small and not very comfy. I couldn't see myself spending much time there since I like to lounge a bit when stoned - not sit in chairs out of a school canteen. Music was a mixed bag. The Dutch seem to like way too much rock for me. I like something mellow and dance oriented but this is hard to find in the Dam. The weed however was superb. The Double Bubbglegum thru one of their excellent bongs had us flying to the ceiling and grinning insanely. Maybe a place to buy and go. I won't go back purely because I believe in punishing rudeness.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-27 21:46:11
My Score:
Grey Haze is some quality smoke!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 22:47:41
My Score:
???

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 20:34:39
My Score:
Definitely one of the best!!! Great Crystal , great weed! Take and away but great quality!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-17 13:19:23
My Score:
Small Coffeee Shop but one of the best places to buy weed.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-12 07:13:30
My Score:
small place, they seem indifferent to the customers, always have quality smoke.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-11 00:54:53
My Score:
Good weed and they provide sweet glass bongs.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-10 18:18:35
My Score:
Go to this place and get yourself some Kif to top of your pipes with. Played the best music out of all the shops that I went to.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-20 16:04:48
My Score:
Top weed man. Me spar, lee and I checked out some top kif

Posted by smiley420 on 2005-03-14 07:46:02
My Score:
the "grey haze" was great kinda over-priced a little but it was worth it... i was a little disapointed with the "nederhash" i got from there.nice bongs there.

Posted by spoony on 2005-03-09 19:43:33
My Score:
i love this place but... theres shit service and there's shit service but this was ridiculous..I asked for 3 cups of tea when arrived in there waited about 45 mins, no joke, so went asked the pothead behind the counter what was up..he said they were coming.. so he eventually produced 2 not 3 cups of coffee not tea, so i had to wait another how long for my cup. 2o mins later it still didnt arrive so asked him in it wasnt easier if i didnt have a bottle of juice or something instead of a tea to which he happily obliged, popped a top for me and finally i sat down with my juice. worse service was maybe the grey area then..rest was colourful <333

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-07 01:49:48
My Score:
WOBBLER WOBBLER WOBBLER the best weed I ever smoke in my life

Posted by DonkeyBong on 2005-02-18 21:42:45
My Score:
The only Coffee shop where I found Kif. Yum. The dealer was very shady though and weighed my purchase just out of sight so I could not tell for sure if it was an honest weight. Nice fat bongs that where hardly sterile but packed a punch and the place has not been cleaned since Willie Nelson dropped in. Buy your weed here and smoke it anywhere but here.

Posted by Tam+tish (jersey) on 2005-01-31 13:40:50
My Score:
the best smoke eva !!!!!!!! smoke weed every day .T@M T@M / TISH TOSH

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-31 13:32:31
My Score:
i think it was wiked

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-20 20:56:11
My Score:
quality

Posted by RICH on 2005-01-20 20:41:12
My Score:
Good smoke, but the dealer kept sneezing on the buds he was weighing out for other folks. Very small place, had heard alot about, but was kind of dissapointed.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-04 19:10:24
My Score:
Greyberry! An amazing smoke combining the grey haze and the blueberry strains, a must smoke. The owner on my top best people in the world and the atmosphere is chilled if you go there on a less busy day.

Posted by Chris.selkirk on 2004-12-27 05:27:00
My Score:
Tri-chromes are a must!!!! very helpful staff!!! the only thing lacking in this place is SEATS!!!!!!

Posted by ATLballers on 2004-11-28 03:40:21
My Score:
The Grey Mist Crystals here were mind blowing along with all the smoke. Wish they would have had more room is we never got to sit and smoke there. Staff was super friendly though! Everyone should try this place out.

Posted by spanish on 2004-11-09 06:32:52
My Score:
Grey Haze is a must get. The sevice was excellent. By far my favorite shop in Amsterdam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-09 06:16:45
My Score:
The place wasn't very big. There were lot's of people, but there is good reason for the people. The smoke here is great.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-09 07:30:21
My Score:
This is a cool place to go, but very hard to find in my opinion! But I found it and I'm so glad I did! My boyfriend and I had planned on going there before we even left the States! Kind of small, has bar with a couple of chairs and maybe 3-4 tables! People were lined out the door at one point! The sales person carried a gallon size bag of keef (may be spelled wrong) down from upstairs! WOW! AK47 was awesome. My favorite coffee shop even though it was hard to find and small. If you go to Amsterdam do not leave until you have gone to The Grey Area and the Van Gogh museum as well!

Posted by Miss Yellow on 2004-10-04 00:38:37
My Score:
Grey Mist Crystal Hash was my favorite for the whole trip.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-02 03:39:10
My Score:
thanks grey area you got some great smoke!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-27 16:33:48
My Score:
who's the dickead with all the rave/festival wrist bands? Last time I went in there he tried to overcharge me - bad attitude, good smoke

Posted by kieran robinson on 2004-09-27 11:31:34
My Score:
fucking pukka shit

Posted by stephen robinson on 2004-09-27 11:28:47
My Score:
nice weed

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-27 11:27:37
My Score:
nice weed

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-27 01:44:33
My Score:
i am the green-keeper

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-27 01:43:17
My Score:
na it was really shit

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-15 22:45:06
My Score:
(4 ANYBODY LOOKING BEST WEED)I HAVENT ACTUALLY BEEN TO THIS COFFEESHOP,BUT NO MATTER WHERE I LOOK FOR COFFEESHOP/WEED RATINGS...."THE GREY AREA" CLEARLY STANDS OUT AS NUMBER 1!!!!!!.I WILL BE TRAVELLING TO 'DAM AT THE WEEKEND,& MY FIRST STOP WILL DEF B HERE TO TRY SOME "GREY MIST CRYSTALS......GREY BERRY......AK47......DOUBLE BUBBLE GUM & GREY HAZE!(hopefully all in stock!!).i will let u know the outcome,4 now its da bullshit soapbar....peaaacccceeeeee!!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-13 09:13:21
My Score:
This coffeeshop is a great place to go and pick up your smoke. It's a little on the small side, but a great jumping off point for a drug adventure.

Posted by William on 2004-09-10 00:09:59
My Score:
Bad hash!,and all the grass I tried there was terrible. Service was very poor,the smoke is top draw!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-31 16:24:36
My Score:
The Grey Area coffeeshop is small and usually crowded, however they've got the best smoke in Amsterdam and probably the best service. Grey Mist Crystals and Greyberry were amazing.

Posted by greyhazeye on 2004-08-27 18:59:47
My Score:
went with the guy 2 below, spent enuff time ere 2 no u cn get fukt in ere n people jus love u even more by bein more friendly, or was that jus the drugs? 2.8 ounce of weed smoked in 8 n a bit days hehe nice 1 grey area! free it, u no wot i mean.

Posted by THE usEd on 2004-08-27 18:57:09
My Score:
stay here, if u can find it, i got a picture of the anne frank museum and just didnt bother going in n found the grey area!

Posted by deathznow on 2004-08-27 18:55:12
My Score:
AHH SHIT ITS 4.20! had to ask about what all of that was about, find out if u aint american. well i got bk 2day after a 9 day coffee shop tour at 17 and the GREY AREA has some of the best smoke (greyhaze greyberry, the berrys so sweet mmm!) it was raining which made us stay in there even longer and was high as a kite after a bong of bulldog polm with the greyhaze, and a pint of the polm in there, where u use a pin n put the resin on n put it it a glass upsidedown, and there are always some real characters in there! well worth spending the last of your days chatting with the folk in there! SIDEWAYSBIKE.COM WEEEEEEEEED

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-18 20:36:43
My Score:
Awesome smoke and great service. By far the best shop in town. Also be sure to use one of the many glass bongs they have for anyone to use.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-10 22:47:31
My Score:
Grey Area Is the Shiznit. The best in A'dam John is very cool and will let you touch and smell. No problem with taking pictures. We visited in July 2004. The only bad thing is the hours of operation noon to 8pm, So get your gear and see the sights. They have the best buds in town at a good value.

Posted by catchild24 on 2004-07-30 02:30:52
My Score:
very good smoke, and staff was informed and nice. my only complaint to this place was the small size.. 10+ppl and this place becomes smoked out and a lil unbearable

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-22 00:00:14
My Score:
Let me film the shop with my video camera

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 05:37:41
My Score:
This place is an utter hole in the wall (had trouble finding it), but the weed makes it VERY worth it. Went in December 2003 and tried the Double Bubblegum -- it was in my top 3 of the trip with Barney's Laughing Buddha and Morning Glory. They have a big selection of bongs, which was cool -- we got Steve (bald guy), who, contrary to most reports I've heard, was pretty friendly. He brought down big tupperwares full of weed for us to look at and made some recomendations. I sat in willie Nelson's favorite chair, according to Steve. The 'ambiance' wasn't the best, but all the cool celeb. pics and the constant 4:20 clock made up for it. Definately returning when I go back in January 2005.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-20 03:44:43
My Score:
man i gotta tell you, ive been smoking for twenty years now and i can honestly say these guys grow the finest buds ive smoked.just a delight to roll or use in your favorite peice. yes its really small and kinda hard to find the first time, but it is well worth the adventure, best weed in the city

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-07-01 19:16:04
My Score:
AWESOME! This place is awesome. GREAT weed, and reeeeally cool huge glass bongs. Just ask the guys at the counter if you can use one of the glass bongs. Out of all the coffeeshops in Amsterdam, this one might have the best weed. Definetly has the coolest bongs (did i say that already..heh). GO TO THE GREY AREA if your in Amsterdam. Haha when me and my friends were there we were sitting out on the ledge of the window (all the seats were taken...i'm tellin you, this place is the best, everyone comes here) and we were smoking weed in the huge glass bong and a family of tourists walked by and this little 6 year old boy just stopped and stared at us in awe. lol it was quite strange.

Posted by Killa B on 2004-06-10 00:16:00
My Score:
Good, feel at home atmosphere (for Americans anyway). Good-ass smoke! Their KIF is awesome! Thought it was a little too crowded...... The smoke is well worth it though, HIGHly recomended.

Posted by Goods on 2004-05-26 19:18:14
My Score:
I am an American and I found that Grey Area made me feel most at home. Maybe that's because it's basically run by Americans. The owner was very happy when we twisted up a huge Phillie Titan blunt! Althought they don't sell blunts there, the owner did offer us a trade if we were able to score him a box of Phillies. Great slection of high quality buds and a nice collection of house bongs to smoke them out of! A very small shop, but definitely one of the best in Amsterdam!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-26 13:34:58
My Score:
The double bubble is by far the best weed in all of Amsterdam. The American is really nice but I was turned away during normal hours by the other guy. I will not even bother visitiing another shop when I return next year.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-15 21:42:46
My Score:
grey area kick ass best bud in amsterdam

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-13 05:33:13
My Score:
good smokes

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-08 18:15:48
My Score:
Cool Staff, wicked tunes. Good place to get off your feet for a bit. Grey haze is killer, and the Grey mist unpressed rocks the set. Favorite place next to Barneys.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-25 03:03:15
My Score:
Favorite Coffeeshop in Amsterdam

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-23 22:42:17
My Score:
buy bud here! quality smoke, say no more.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-23 00:49:49
My Score:
Thank you for playing The Grateful Dead it truly set the ambiance!!

Posted by F-Dawg on 2004-04-13 19:53:16
My Score:
Grey Haze rocks the party!

Posted by Big B on 2004-04-12 15:23:18
My Score:
We knowingly went in there to pick up 5 of 5 previous cannibus cup winners and were loving all of them, especially the kef. It was only about 15 euro, which is 25 euro cheaper than Barney's rubble which are basically the same thing. Service was great and got a table right away. Funny thing was that a friend of ours ended up stopping here with no previous purchasing experience and ended up with a cannibus cup winner as a purchase too....nice...

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-12 01:27:40
My Score:
absolute best stuff anywhere, try polm

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-29 18:53:43
My Score:
Smoke white spider its the mothera fucking best!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-29 18:50:19
My Score:
Hey, Hey smoke weed every day

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-24 23:51:25
My Score:
After five visits to Amsterdam over six years I have come to appreciate this shop more not less. It's small but gets crowded for a reason when it's crowded there is almost a party atmosphere. No other place has gear that is consistently this good.

Posted by MHP on 2004-03-21 23:02:22
My Score:
Loved the weed!!!! They had the best AK there and the niceset yellow cab!! Some of the best weed!! IMPORTANT u must try the big glass bong, the weed gets so much better!! And the guy was safe!!! U gotta check this place out!! Da iawn diolch!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-18 04:47:19
My Score:
First time I went there the guy behind the counter was very aggressive and looked at my like I was a narc or something. But the gear was superb but it's too small to hang around in. This is a place to buy and move on but it should not be missed. On many other visits they were helpful and the hashes and grasses had exciting names esp the morrocan shoes and some white gell hash or ice was good. Excellent rolled joints here and good selection of pipes. You could easily walk past this place without realising it.

Posted by elcitrap on 2004-03-16 08:27:36
My Score:
Visited this shop a couple of times after visiting many others. Yeah, it's small inside and not the most chill or comfortable place to smoke, but the buds are fantastic and the service was some of the best that I encountered in the Dam. As an American, I found it strangely heartwarming to order an eighth of bud in the land of grams. The Grey Mist, Bubblegum, Grey Haze, and Yellowcab were all excellent... especially the Grey Mist!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-15 02:49:22
My Score:
Best Smoke I found on my journey to Amsterdam

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-13 19:49:35
My Score:
go with the grey haze

Posted by Daddabis on 2004-03-08 15:12:15
My Score:
Nice place,great weed at resonable prices...unfortunately the dealer wasn't very friendly with me when I've been there...anyway dont miss it ,the stuff worth a visit believe me!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-06 22:35:54
My Score:
Where is that multi-lingual genius inventor Fossil guy? I heard he's the one inventing all the fucked up shit and changing things for the better. Has he moved to the Greenhouse?

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-05 19:46:24
My Score:
great place to sit back relax a toke a joint

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-18 14:02:21
My Score:
We went to the Dam last year, it took us fucking ages to find GREY AREA(Probably because we were too fucked to know where we were!) Anyway we got in there and bought some Yellow Cab Skunk-after 2 smokes of the shit we could of done with a Yellow cab to get us out of there!!! Quality decor and loads of pics of famous hip-hop stars & actors who've been there sampling their ridiculous selections. GO THERE, IT'S GOOD-remember to take the name down of your hotel cos you'll forget by the time you get out of there! Peace Y'all and will see ya next week (27/2/04) Can't Wait

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-16 01:04:38
My Score:
Good advice, good weed

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-12 13:57:54
My Score:
i think this is a really good coffee shop and i fucking love amsterdam skunk is better than weed it gets you more fucked.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-12 13:54:15
My Score:
smoke weed everyday (i do)

Posted by ra-ra on 2004-02-10 13:36:35
My Score:
i read these reviews and i thought 'surely that poor bald guy has been unfairly dissed'. then i met him. he sure is rude. very. superb double bubble tho'.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-09 20:20:29
My Score:
i have to go here when i go down and learn how to roll them dutchs

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-04 23:23:00
My Score:
On embarking on half a dozen trips to the dam this is by far the best coffeshop. The weed is the best and the grey mist cristales kick ass. If you are in the dam you must call in and experience the quality.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-02 07:22:39
My Score:
a top shop thank you

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-30 21:30:00
My Score:
If John and Steve put in some time and dedication to expanding their ALL AREAS headquarters, all the American rappers and MTV affiliates would skip the Greenhouse and head over to the Americans. I also heard that there was some talk of an Ivy League architect to design the place. The Grey Area will definately be rockin. This is the coffeeshop of the future.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-29 11:56:17
My Score:
Hmmm... difficult this one. Smoke was great, really good value. However The bald guy didn't give good service and the place was empty. I walked in, bought and left, honestly the place was the size of a garden shed! Not the kind of place I would want to spend time in. Take my advice, head further up to Paradox, the best service and music. Nice little local place.

Posted by CHris on 2004-01-27 22:58:09
My Score:
I went to this place over this winter. It was really, really cool. The guy working there was super nice. Great music was played, Decorated nicely, and cool people.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-25 20:35:12
My Score:
best bubble gum ever...

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-20 10:11:00
My Score:
The place every American must come to. Went there 3 times, saw John (The guy with glasses) each time. He was very friendly and willing to give ya a hand picking what you wish. Personally bought the Gray Mist Crystal each time I went in. Very Good stuff. Place is actually a hole in the wall with 2 or 3 tables, and 2 counters. This place is Always filled so dont plan on hanging out unless your lucky. Place opens late and closes early, like 10:30 to 8 or something like that. I believe its also closed sundays and mondays, might be wrong with the sunday part though.

Posted by budninjah on 2004-01-16 21:40:40
My Score:
the bald guy is a complete moron but the guy with glasses is pretty cool. best bud in the city, only shop i found that will lend you a fatty ass jerome baker for free. kinda small shop

Posted by DISCOTRAV on 2004-01-06 18:30:10
My Score:
STEVE AND JOHN ARE THE COOLEST DEALERS IN THE 'DAM

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-11 16:00:09
My Score:
The bald guy is about half the full ticket. Too many freaks, not enough circuses....

Posted by pb on 2003-12-04 23:55:23
My Score:
Good place. Good dope. The small size of the shop means you are likely to smoke your things elsewhere.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-04 11:21:45
My Score:
The bald guy is a complete bafoon, the last time I was in there he was more concerned with talking to his mate and showing him pictures of his house rather than serving customers. John (the guy with glasses) is a cool guy and offers a good service, always happy to talk you through the menu and offer suggestions. Steve (the bald guy) is an utter twat who doesn't deserve to have a stake in such a quality coffeeshop. His utter rudeness and failure to grasp such basic concepts of customer service and general friendliness make him, for me, one of the worst dealers I've had to deal with.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-29 18:19:59
My Score:
i loved the bald guy hes so awesome. great pot too

Posted by Boner on 2003-11-28 19:01:59
My Score:
ok i know what your saying american run coffeeshop and american run website but take it from a true "home grow"n brit that the double bubblegum is the bomb and the grey mist crystal is quality so just go there like i shall in jan 2004 i always visit grey area every time i visit the dam even though the wife (hi adele!!!) hates the small size of the shop

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-25 09:13:09
My Score:
Amazing Tunes, Like the Great Dead show we got to Buzz out too. The smoke was tasty, Bubblegum was the doggie bag of choice

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-21 17:41:03
My Score:
the grey area is extremley small but the quality of the double bubblegum ROCKS and the pure unpressed tricromes also ROCK!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-14 20:57:31
My Score:
Pure and simply killer smoke! Great job,

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-13 21:32:47
My Score:
Hey John --great shop your running- Im coming to town again dec 4 - 13 --hope ya got something killa again -- best smokeshop in the DAM -take it from this dude who's been to amsterdam over a dozen times!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-11 17:35:42
My Score:
We bought a gram of the killa thrilla kief; gives me a head rush just thinking about it. Easy to find, staff was competant, but oh so small. I had heard the grey area was a hole in the wall, but it really is tiny. We had wanted to stay and sample some kind along with the kief, but with 5 other people in the shop-there was nowhere to sit. Definatly give it a try for carry out!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-09 12:21:20
My Score:
THE GUY WITH THE GLASSES AND HAIR IS NICE AND FRIENDLY. THE OTHER BALD GUY WHO WORKS THERE IS AN ASSHOLE, HE'S A RUDE SPEEDFREAK IF YOU SEE HIM TURN AROUND AND LEAVE. ITS A REAL SHAME BECAUSE THE WEED IS NORMALLY GREAT, BUT THAT BALD GUY WHAT A WANKER!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-09 00:35:22
My Score:
Top Notch gear, and John is the bom.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-04 08:08:04
My Score:
a little cramped but quality of scuff makes up for this along with friendly staff and music good be better.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-03 10:57:20
My Score:
best coffeeshop in Dam. best weed. great guys running it

Posted by Millz on 2003-11-03 06:11:21
My Score:
What can i say. it was absolutely amazing. it definately sells the best weed. (Although the dampkring was close to claiming that one). This shop may be small but if you are patient, you will end up with one of the tables and then you will love every minute of it. The dealer i saw was a very nice guy who wore blak thick glasses, he was really cool. He advised us on the best smoke and tolled us what sort os high we would experiance. There are some cool things to look at in there aswell. All over the walls are quality stickers which will kepp you amused for ages. then there is the clock that always shows 4:20 as the time. thats trippy. if i was going to amsterdam then i would definetaly reccomend this coffeshop.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-30 04:23:16
My Score:
For American tourists, you just die when you spot a full collection of Jerome Baker bongs. The herb is the best in town. It isn't the most comfortable setting for a smokeshop, but you gotta support these guys.

Posted by Allie on 2003-10-29 06:58:54
My Score:
I'm American but have been living in Amsterdam for a while now, therefore I've cheeked out ALL the coffeeshops and have tried all the different varieties of weed there are. This little American coffeeshop has the BEST weed I have ever smoked. In particular, AK-47 and Grey Haze, (not on the menu but ask for it), are amazing. They you give the perfect high without any drowsy side effects. The shop itself is very small. There are about 3 tables with 4 chairs each and a small bar with a few stool. The walls are covered with all sort of really cool stickers that will keep you occupied for a good hour. The guys that work there are REALLY friendly. They are totally up for sitting and chatting, giving you tips on Amsterdam, showing you how to roll a proper Dutch joint and giving advice on "other" not so legal activities. They have a great selection of water pipes that you are free to use. Most of them even have sliders instead of carbs, (which is a rarety in Europe). Go! You won't regret it. Another perk: tight next door there is a cafe called "Foodism" which has the best bagels. pastas, and Panini EVER!!!!!

Posted by Jerry on 2003-10-23 01:06:29
My Score:
RUDENESS and ARROGANCE. I have nothing nice to say. Sure they have decent weed, but so what? The bullshit attitude goes a long way to obscure the product and the product is easily found elsewhere. Not worth the visit. Not worth the time. Give their cannibis license to someone who is worthy...

Posted by Alphabet Soup on 2003-10-20 13:41:10
My Score:
Awesome weed, probaly the best I have had in amsteredam. Although the place is very small, the service was great, and the owner is cool.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-15 03:28:32
My Score:
Excellent Weed and excellent service! John is cool as hell, and the place, although small, exhuded an ambiance that makes it ideal for a drop-in, chill smoke! Prices and quality are very good, and the selection of bongs is the best in the 'Dam!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-09 14:09:30
My Score:
yes this place had the freshest weed in the dam! it's a notch above barney's. the dealer even let me stick my big nose in the weed cannisters....is that how u spell it? yummy! this is quality plain and simple.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-01 05:12:13
My Score:
i was visiting dam in sep 03. the coffeshop is very small but weed is EXELLENT!!!! althoug i'm regular weed smoka i get so high, it was just amazing. i have smoked white widow, real fine taste and the high ..boooahhh!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-28 04:38:10
My Score:
Had the best tasting bud I tried in all of Amsterdam

Posted by Richard Smith on 2003-09-18 20:59:09
My Score:
Its too small, it has uncomfortable chairs, the music is nothing special, there is no fancy food, 5 people and its full, and its the one coffeeshop I head for every time I visit the Dam!, the bud is EXCELLENT (DoubleBubblegum = :-)) they have a great website http://www.greyarea.nl and John is well friendly! despite the accents they are both American, please do visit! you will not regret!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-18 20:54:16
My Score:
Have been going for years only because of the quality of the bud and John can produce the best little pure spliffs in the Dam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-17 22:29:30
My Score:
yes the smoke is as good as you will find. but only 5 or 6 people can sit inside at a time. the people sitting inside think they hit the jackpot...acting over conscious about having the table. this place don't shake it's weed.....just virgin pure herb. place was hard to find....kept passing it or something. didn't like the american dealer inside....think i was jealous of him. lots of photos on walls of celebrities who scored here.(willie nelson,snoop dog,etc) yup, get the weed or hash and go back to your hotel room and spark up.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-09 19:11:37
My Score:
All I have to say is Double Bubble and Yellow Cab. Kief and Hash.

Posted by KOOP-N.I.C.E. on 2003-09-08 19:45:09
My Score:
THE DANK IS OUT OF HAND. I SMOKED THE WHOLE MENU HAD TO COME BACK FOR MORE. THE GREY MIST WRECKS FOOLS , IT WAS NICE BEING ABLE TO USE A JBD BONG , YOU GET A LIL TIRED OF TWISTING SO MANY BLUNTS. THE ONLY DRAW BACKS ARE THE SIZE AND THIS ONE GUY THAT WORKS THERE THAT THINKS HE'S SUPER DOPE. NOTICE THE OVERWHELMING AMOUNTS OF WRISTBANDS FROM ALL OF HIS CANDY RAVING AND CLUBBING. TREAT HIM LIKE THE SOUP NAZI , BY YOUR DANK AND GET OUTSKI.

Posted by Helly on 2003-09-04 05:19:52
My Score:
The Bubblegum was definatley in my top 2 only just surpassed by Utopias WhiteWidow.My 1st vist I was served by quite a surly guy who confidently said his Bubblegum was the best( he didnt lie)2nd time a much friendlier guy serving but not such a good deal but still TOP weed. Wish a postal sevice was avaliable!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-03 17:39:34
My Score:
The WOBBLER was awesome.And THE BUBBLEGUM was the best in the dam.The service is a bit crap but worth the wait for this kind of quality.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-02 20:03:47
My Score:
It was way too crowded to hang out here, but the Bubblegum and Grey Mist Crystals were great.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-28 12:57:09
My Score:
Depressive atmospher

Posted by KeithRichardsNeighbor on 2003-08-27 11:37:20
My Score:
Remarkable, high quality shop, away from the crowded and seedy part of town. Great vibe and friendly, warm service that seems to be the reason for their success.
I was only in A'dam for a few days and one of the chiefs lent us out a pipe for our use!
This place is the "real deal." Avoid the others and get yourself to The Grey Area!

Posted by VoodooShamen on 2003-08-27 10:22:32
My Score:
Very much the best place on the street in AMS to get a good seed and enjoy some bud

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-21 18:47:13
My Score:
This is my favorite coffeeshop in Amsterdam! It doesn't seem like much when you first walk in, but something about it made me coming back day after day when I spent 10 days there while backpacking a few years ago. Perhaps it was the good weed...or perhaps it was John behind the counter smokin a J...what a cutie! :)

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-16 01:16:13
My Score:
Every time I visit I always stop to pick up the bubblegum (truly amazing nuggets). Usually play chill music, the dead, reggea. This last time they were playing heavy metal not what I wanted to relax to. Overall, a place not to miss

Posted by sagegod420 on 2003-08-01 20:26:57
My Score:
place was cool, liked the double buble gum

Posted by The Nugget on 2003-08-01 11:35:02
My Score:
This is the fairly-clued-up-tourist's dream,excellent weed,excellent prices and a million miles away from all the Hydro/power plant pushing profiteers on the main drag.Oh yeah,whilst your in there look out for Superdude-he rocks in your head man

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-28 16:09:04
My Score:
This place is the shit.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-28 16:03:26
My Score:
The best coffeeshop in Amsterdam! Try the Yellow Cab and the Bubble Gum, they are very strong highs, both the bomb. All their other weeds are worth trying too.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-27 06:23:27
My Score:
Killer weed and nice staff. Not much of a place to chill but definitely worth picking up some to go.

Posted by white widow on 2003-07-23 10:16:42
My Score:
me and my friend went here,well worth trying to find.cool smoke. try grey mist,it blew my head

Posted by Kimcina on 2003-07-22 11:49:42
My Score:
I come to Amsterdam every couple of months and always pay a visit to the Grey Area. Aside from having the best weed hands down, you can smoke out of good ol American blown-glass bongs which is a nice change after the 600 million joints you've been smoking everywhere else. If you can find the Grey Area (it's strategicly located outside the normal tourist's stomping grounds) I highly recommend it...

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-22 01:42:55
My Score:
Awesome cofeeshop, this should be on anyone's itenerary in Amsterdam.

Posted by Zames from the U.K on 2003-07-19 08:40:37
My Score:
Good quality shit here folks, I brought some Yellow Cab, excellent taste, very good high. The shop it's self is quite small so I only use this place for take out. Geezer behind the counter was friendly. Again excellent smoke.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-17 05:37:57
My Score:
a very nice coffeeshop

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-16 12:45:18
My Score:

Posted by Bah phr on 2003-07-10 16:53:34
My Score:
Nice shop, excellent selection and quality, and a fine selection of tools to use (free of charge) so you are not stuck with simply a joint.

Posted by johnnyp on 2003-07-08 18:13:57
My Score:
this is the place for the best weed in the dam, try it all, no really! don`t ever expect to get a seat though

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-08 11:00:55
My Score:
the stuff i smoke you don't want to know. so when i come to visit your coffeshop i expect REAL GOOD SWEET HITTING SHIT.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-03 06:10:28
My Score:
Just all good....... KILLER weed KILLER keef (u gotta try) KILLER hash KILLER tunes no attitude..... Nothing but to say CHIEFS... S-H

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-06-26 10:29:17
My Score:
This place has some of the best shit in town. The GREYBERRY is my favorite strain in all of holland.

Posted by uncle leroy on 2003-05-28 16:23:41
My Score:
Great little hole-in-the-wall shop.People were very friendly.Felt bad for the girl that had her bike swiped. Good prices for an excellent quality. Double-bubble blew me away

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-22 05:04:02
My Score:
Tiny place with the best weed in town. The Keef is incredible and a great value. Buy your weed here and save time and money. The people who run it are the nicest.

Posted by niceguy on 2003-05-20 12:40:15
My Score:
great place, known for quality and value...run by americans who were sweet and helpful towards this weary tourist. offer u.s. style 1/8's and joints with no nasty tobacco added .small space, limited hours, but worth the wait!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.16 Seconds