Hip Guide to Amsterdam > Reviews > Amsterdam Coffeeshops
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Hill Street Blues

Hill Street Blues opened a new coffeeshop on the Nieuwmarkt recently and I've checked it a number of times already. Besides having a great location to watch the endless parade of Amsterdammers, tourists and other Red Light District lifeforms sliding by, this coffeeshop has another big draw: wonderful blender drinks!

Since they don't have a liquor license, they've compenstated with delicious fruit smoothies made with yogurt and your choice of fresh fruit. You can also choose a milkshake with ice cream and fruit or chocolate. The shakes are 3 Euros, the smoothies are 3.50 and extra fruit another 50 cents.

And since it's a coffeeshop, you can also indulge in your other passion, cannabis, there. Believe me, nothing quenches the munchies or a hot throat from smoking better than shakes and smoothies. You can also try their various cannabis treats including space cake and space drinks for a far out time.

Obviously the best place to people watch is outside on the terrace, but inside the Hill Street is nice too with surprisingly good, firm bean bag stools, and cushioned benches. The staff is friendly and attentive, delivering drinks to you outside. It sure is nice to have table service!

The last time I was there, the music selection was superb, with many people commenting favorably about it. It was a kind of jazzy lounge music, hip, in-the-groove, and not loud. Just perfect to segue into and out of conversations.

I haven't tried their dope yet, so I can't report on that, but you can make your own comments below.


More Info: Located in the Nieuwmarkt (metro Nieuwmarkt), near the Albert Hein supermarket.

Address:
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: April 17th 2003
Score:
Hits: 24743
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
86 entries
Smoke:
8.4
Service:
8.8
Ambiance:
7.9
Value:
8.7
Overall:
8.9
Rate This Coffeeshop


Posted by Boris1978 on 2011-08-02 15:06:50
My Score:

Posted by dick on 2008-11-03 16:40:58
My Score:
The smoke was not great but the staff was helpful and sent me to the other store for quality stuff. The price was reasonable and the cakes were good. Polite competent. They were patient with me being a newcomer to the shop. I do appreicaite that.

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-10-23 04:23:53
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-11 02:54:26
My Score:
Best place I think to hang out in amsterdam, however I found the bubblegum I bought there slightly harsh.Their chocolate milkshakes alone are worth a visit!

Posted by Scouser1977 on 2008-08-09 08:14:40
My Score:
great coffeeshop, been visiting HSB for years.my first time back in 1998 an sadly not been since 05! Need to get back over there..great weed, great atmosphere, an great service,does that bar maid still work there? The fit one from essex,soz carnt remember her name.

Posted by properg on 2008-05-07 15:19:53
My Score:
hill street blues was phat as you like the herb in there is heavy, i love the "hill street special" and the space cakes are gangster as, the staff in there in chilled and the tunes are all ways bangin, when ever i go to dam i all ways go there first. you got to

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-26 10:50:06
My Score:

Posted by blondy on 2008-02-18 12:28:42
My Score:
amsterdam is  to relaxed to chill out  good coffeeshop

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-17 15:38:10
My Score:
fuckin deadly

Posted by AmyBEE on 2007-04-21 12:21:33
My Score:
Great place! Friendly weedtender and waitress. PHENOMENAL chocolate milkshakes! Cozy indoor lounge. Great people watching outside. We had a nice smoke. Very lovely.

Posted by candy on 2006-06-27 11:40:38
My Score:
nice gay bar man

Posted by sharky on 2006-03-03 21:05:20
My Score:
ive jz come bk from a wicked trip,and i hope ur ready cus im coming bk in 2 months wit more mates. soz cant say more still HIGH from the boomtin weed lol

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-27 16:59:02
My Score:
the smoke was ok...ive had better but for the most part is had a alright atmosphere

Posted by Yohan, UK on 2006-02-21 12:39:57
My Score:
I loved this place. It was reasonably priced to smoke, but the drinks were even better priced and was pretty cheap. The graffiti on the walls and ceilings were cool, and the music was constantly good. No rubbish tunes. The staff were freindly too and very helpful with any questions we had about smoking. When I go back to amsterdam I will definitely go back there. Yohan, London, UK

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-18 14:49:18
My Score:
This is the Real-Shit.......

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-01-06 14:30:05
My Score:
HAD A LOTTA TIME IN THE HILL STREET BLUES SMOKIN AN EATIN SPACE CAKES THE SERVICE WAS GREAT AN THAT JAZZY SHIT THEY PLAY WINDS U RIGHT DOWN.I ALWAYS MAKE A POINT OF GOING THERE,SO THEY MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-12-17 01:39:40
My Score:
The Greenhouse Effect rent out an apartment above.

Posted by Ant on 2005-10-19 13:50:45
My Score:
ive lived close by for 3 years and this place is my venue of choice in the Nieuwmarkt area. Cant put a finger on why, i just like the way its been done out and the smoke works for me :-)

Posted by barokich on 2005-09-22 05:58:40
My Score:
guys were kind,music was so good.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-17 03:07:00
My Score:
Hello to Pete the Irishman. from erica

Posted by uk baz on 2005-09-14 12:21:37
My Score:
not as good as the H.S.B on the main drag but different.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-07 15:56:09
My Score:
Love both of the HSB's actually. One is trendy and nice to hang out and meet good people. The other is so super relaxed! Both have beautiful interior and great athmosphere! Service in both is great as is everything!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-31 14:26:58
My Score:
I just lost a couple of days in Amsterdam courtesy of HSB. I ate 1/2 a piece of Banana cake (my girlfriend had the other) and within an hour was monged. Absolute quality - highly recommended place with nice friendly staff who don't make you feel like a nob for not being a marijuana smart arse.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-21 23:38:10
My Score:
HAAAAHHAAAAA

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-08-10 15:18:47
My Score:
Good!

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-26 12:03:04
My Score:
would the idiots writing the comments about the "kiddie fiddler" please note it IS NOT THIS "HILL STREET BLUES" . As usual Hill st special was excellent, and I was equally impressed by the Ice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the music suits. thank you

Posted by FrankZappa on 2005-07-19 12:33:21
My Score:
a nice place to sit outside and enjoy a joint on a nice day (unfortunatley there are not that many nice days in AMS. I really liked this place and the waitress was very friendly.

Posted by JayBee on 2005-07-13 15:06:40
My Score:
we had such a good stay, everything was fantastic. we enjoyed everything so much! had the best shakes, the best service, best laughs, best location, met nice people and best stuff - ask for the special, and check out the pre-rolled (always fresh)! nice fresh orange juice , too. if u r not sure what is right for u - ask the kind stuff ;) we'll surely come back next stay. c ya there

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-09 14:30:43
My Score:
Great place to go for a smoke and a coffee. Good milkshakes also.

Posted by rolandMcdonald on 2005-07-02 19:38:01
My Score:
two vodka and a joint please. no, no. one vodka and two joints ! yeah !!! hill street blues is the best coffeeshop in amsterdam ! there you find weed and alcohol... ;-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-13 17:18:55
My Score:
i got fuckin wrecked in this place a few times! Dead on!

Posted by faz on 2005-05-09 23:14:41
My Score:
this is a big place so nearly always a seat and somethin to read on the wall, its all posters and graffiti. dark smokey and loud just what you need to get your night going. stay away from the thai weed, yuk

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-07 11:34:07
My Score:
this will always be our base camp-HSBS is a great way to start your trip,the staff are in the main friendly and helpful, the shakes are excellent and the Banana Hash cake means you can fly home without the plane. keep it up

Posted by lil paulie on 2005-05-01 03:13:40
My Score:
nice people nice place nice smoke what more could u want

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-29 03:10:05
My Score:
Only place that I'll actually buy weed in Asterdam. Music always seems to suit my mood and at 2:80 euro a pint and 2:10 euro during happy hour!!! What more could U possibly want??? ;-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-01 11:49:30
My Score:
Very chilled out and freindly bar staff one of my favourites as it sells alcahol as well as smoke into the early hours of the morning..

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-09 19:35:37
My Score:
lovin' this place's stylz!! good to see graf covering an entire bar walls ceilings and all, so good if u like ure graffiti and pool which i do. didnt buy weed there so cant comment on it but the rest was the best baby ..so going back

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-07 14:08:46
My Score:
got some quality Northern lights in there and was happy to find that the gauy serving in there was from Dungannon. Had a cup of tea and a few rockets , Anice chilled out place to smoke and I wish i had tried there selection of space cake sthey looked great.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-01-28 16:48:25
My Score:
Best place in the dam by far!

Posted by Bluebird on 2005-01-12 16:53:02
My Score:
Even I think that BABA is the best in town.

Posted by baba on 2005-01-12 16:50:01
My Score:
BABA

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-08 23:50:18
My Score:
I love there hot chocolate with a nice cookie!!! and of course a nice big spliff!!! Then when im stoned looking at the big indian type sketch on the back wall! Brilliant chill out spot! Jay Dubs 2004

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-04 01:51:45
My Score:
great place to chill, going again very soon and cant wait.

Posted by JAYTHEDON on 2004-11-15 10:44:46
My Score:
GOOD SSHIT

Posted by geezatoke on 2004-11-02 14:41:46
My Score:
i started off here for three mornings in a row, very chilled cool place great staff and the hill street special is a good smoke. very cool music and smoothies. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE. the other hill street is good for cheap beer and you can draw on the walls,

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-02 14:34:56
My Score:
very cool for early morning coffee, i recommend the hot chocolate, good for a morning start.

Posted by Shiv on 2004-10-17 18:23:06
My Score:
I loved the hill Street blues been there twice already and will be back in Nov. the smoke is great hill street special was lovely so was the northern light. Best smokin place in the dam. geart stoner atmoshere. a word of advice dont look the toilet door when your mad stoned and get stuck in there for 20 mins like I did.

Posted by BITCH_19742003 on 2004-09-06 23:51:00
My Score:
A regarding my coments below HILL STREET BLUES is the place to be and please please try out the ash cake it is like no other . PEACE

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-06 23:48:37
My Score:
If your going to AMSTERDAM then HILL STREET BLUES is the place to go for the most chiled and relaxed atmosphere anywhere in AMSTERDAM. This is a definate, with an excellent service and a great deal on weed.DONT JUST PASS IT BY GO IN AND TAKE A LOOK YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.

Posted by deatHznoW on 2004-08-27 18:43:06
My Score:
this place is great, met a lot of people frm the UK in there also and they all agreed the weed is greaT (get their special at 7.80 a gram) there is also a good pool rule that u play winner stays on, cool and unusual. the guy in 'the dope corner' each time i went is was sorted n nu his stuff, my 3rd best behind grey area and one near the vondlepark called phasonikka or something! cheers for a good 9 days!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-17 12:22:52
My Score:
this is the coolest coffee shop. cool tunes, comfy seats, wkd smoke-try Hill St. special and the bannanna cake was the best. staff brilliant even giving us a joint of the finest Morrocan I have ever tried! We shall return

Posted by Shiddy Visitor on 2004-07-11 15:19:13
My Score:
Visited the hills street on warmoestraat with my brother in april and left in a stupor... Bought a bag of Hills Street Special and it blew my mind... luckily for us we were staying in one of the greenhouse effects rooms which are RIGHT NEXT DOOR.. excellent smoke....excellent location.. and also you can leave your own mark on the place with all the grafitti on the walls ,tables and anywhere else you can find a little space too. WE SHALL RETURN next april

Posted by shaun on 2004-06-25 17:45:07
My Score:
its a good lil place like the look of all the names on the walls makes it look good got some nice skunk there aswell and good space cookies

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-08 14:36:12
My Score:
this place is awesome i got the best smoke here the best service of any bar serving beer the music was just awesome sometimes a strange change from one track to another but its all good overall its the only mellow bar i went in to everywhere else that sold beer was to hectic for this pot head i just balanced my time between hill street blues and baba's coffee shop.

Posted by Ju on 2004-05-27 01:32:23
My Score:
Excellent place, I loved it here, probably my favourite out of the many coffeeshops I went to. The australian guy behind the counter ( I believe he's the owner/manager) was very friendly and helped us get to our hostel, he even drew a map for us. The pre-rolled Joints are very nice as is their stuff obviously. The milkshakes here are incredible, wish I tried the smoothies and the cakes.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-13 04:29:33
My Score:
Went in here on my last day to get a space-cake to eat before going through customs in Toronto. Just carried it on with me no prob, and as we were landing I wolfed it down. Got through customs, and about an hour later, I was enjoying my last taste of the dam at home. Long story short, the space cakes here are goooood.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-20 17:29:41
My Score:
chinese eyed to fuck, need i say more

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-07 13:59:18
My Score:
going down...

Posted by Dawniet on 2004-04-06 11:45:49
My Score:
What a find.....excellent little smoking den, chilled out decor and music....brilliant sound system for such a small shop.Smoke was good...had me giggling for ages.....Try their smoothies....they hit the spot....Good coffee as well.Lovely lady behind the counter....worth staying for another spliff!

Posted by jimmy the worm on 2004-03-28 06:06:11
My Score:
I always find myself anythime travelling the continant that i'm suddenly playing a few games of pool surounded by other people high as one can only experience in Amsterdam thinking i'm hungry. Its a great place ...try in out ......Seamus O'Brien ,Cork Ireland

Posted by dave o'brien (bray) on 2004-03-24 12:35:24
My Score:
not enough big strong boys

Posted by Tokemosis on 2004-03-13 18:13:33
My Score:
A groovy kinda place.

Posted by shane on 2004-03-08 19:58:50
My Score:
great cafe, best place to get stoned in amsterdam. comfortable and reasonably priced too. service was excellent, i wanted to smoke my bong, not a problem there. i was even offered one of the bongs behind the counter, mine was bigger, needless too say i stuck with my own! Shane - Eire

Posted by testy on 2004-02-22 13:21:05
My Score:
very nice bean bags

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-13 22:53:44
My Score:
worth visting

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-09 12:49:42
My Score:
GREAT!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-26 22:02:45
My Score:
ulsterman has visit the first "hill" this page is about the new one @the nieuwmarket (other site of redlight distr.)the reason for the back is closed TEMPORARY;firedept.told them to do so,and now they are building new fire exits and so....from next week you can sit in the back ,at the waterside,and whenever there is a fire ;you d'ont have to jump in to the canal,just take the new fire-exit,wheter you're a vip ore not!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by expat in the Dam on 2004-01-24 12:27:17
My Score:
I have been a regular visitor to Hill Street Blues for years - checked out their new shop this year - great design, quality and service. Unlike Ulster Man I did not take the VIP joke seriously - back area is actually closed for renovations. On my most recent visit Jan 2004 I was promised that back would be oopen again buy middle of Feb - I will be back to confirm this.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-22 11:59:33
My Score:
FIRST VISIT TO dAM AND THIS WAS THE BEST. WKD GEAR, COOL MUSIC, GREAT,FRIENDLY SERVICE. TRY N.L. OR HILL ST SPECIAL. SPACE CAKE WKD. SEE U SOON.

Posted by Paul the Gooner on 2004-01-06 12:59:00
My Score:
Went to Dam for New Year. Very cool place ( I usually stay over the other part of town). Man behind the bar (Aussie i think) was helpful and friendly, telling us best places to celebrate the new year and other bits and bobs about amsterdam and its coffeeshops. If you visit here, buy some Hill Street Blues Special............... veeeerrryyy Nice. really well dried out and cheap too. What more could you want? Just sat inside the door as it was f**king freezing outside, atmosphere seemed ok with a couple of groups of fellow smokers. Have fun & Toke it easy.

Posted by UlsterMan on 2004-01-05 00:24:57
My Score:
I have been to Amsterdam 8 times and to Hill Street Blues on each of those occasions. It used to be my favourite coffeeshop. However, I have recently been worn down by the ever worsening levels of service, including the bar staff continually over charging me and my friends. And to cap it all off, the comfortable end of the bar overlooking the water has now been designated a V.I.P. area. Now i buy my week there, and smoke it somewhere else!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-26 15:54:41
My Score:
since a few days the have a television/dvd in the "livingroom"-part of the shop!and since it's getting colder,the heaters on the terace are really nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by frogicide on 2003-09-16 10:29:00
My Score:
On Warmoesstraat most of the time and spent most of it in here. Weed was scrumpcious

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-10 17:42:02
My Score:
good shit

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-05 12:45:30
My Score:
Probably the best coffeeshop in amsterdam.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-28 12:56:07
My Score:
bad smoke

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-08-17 11:20:37
My Score:
A very nice coffeeshop on a very nice spot, go check it out. ;)

Posted by stonebridge on 2003-08-13 14:06:20
My Score:
ok! when it's 35 degrees celsius outside i don't need the heated terrace, but i'll come back during the winter so...great! the thai next door is good when you get the munchies..tasty! by the way; you all think it's true that rembrandt van rijn smoked his pot around here? heard it from a tourist guide....

Posted by elbow on 2003-08-04 18:48:53
My Score:
2 hours of sanctury on a hot july night. Excellent service,groovy music,nice hash,Smoooothies!

Posted by Stadtbewohner.de on 2003-07-26 20:15:16
My Score:
The finest Coffeeshop in Amsterdam!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-18 17:14:53
My Score:

Posted by Boombassa on 2003-07-16 02:28:29
My Score:
A great little coffeeshop! the whole atmosphere is relax and "clean". it doesn't give me that typical "buy my stuff and get outta here" feeling that I have with some shops. you take your date to this place!! :-) service is good, the tunes are excellent, smoke/smoothies perfect. the chairs on the terrace are the only thing not so perfect about this place, but what the hell, that's the only thing I can come up with so.... check it out.

Posted by mir on 2003-07-15 16:02:43
My Score:
Never before did i encouter a coffeeshop in amsterdam, where the people and service are as good as in this one....the smoke was very good.and the terras is perfect even when its not so warm ..(holland). sow next time i, amin amsterdam..... I'LL BE BACK !!! bye bye greetz to hill blue

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-07-15 10:30:41
My Score:
I have been here a lot already. It is a beautiful and loungy coffeeshop. Just the perfect place to hangout after a hard day work or shopping. And don't forget to try their ice-coffee!! Okay, just let me warn you with saying that drink is addictive! Have fun!!

Posted by lenny on 2003-07-15 10:29:58
My Score:
loved the Hill street special! nice music also, i stayed all night. next time around in amsterdam this will be my hangout!

Posted by Joel on 2003-07-15 10:20:36
My Score:
nice shop, kind people, good shakes and spacestuff.

Posted by Wendy on 2003-07-14 14:15:55
My Score:
I am Suzy's friend and just totally agree; this is our new hang-out! Sorry the rates are so high..but they really deserve it; we buy loads of grass for little money in a very friendly envoirnment. And yes...we like the staff!

Posted by SuzyQute on 2003-07-14 14:10:33
My Score:
Usually I really don't like smoking my grass at a coffeeshop, but here I will. The inside (and outside for that matter)looks are really trendy! The music is very nice indead! Me and my (girl)friends will be here quite often before going out... talking, smoking and enjoying the great shakes and my fav icecoffee!! If you wanna get really stoned: get the Hill Street Special...lift off (almost 2 grams for 10 euro !!! Enjoy!! Besides : the staff is cooool!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Antiques
· Bookstores
· Clubs
· Coffeeshops
· Electronics
· Fast Food
· Galleries
· Gay
· Grow Shops
· Headshops
· Hotels
· Internet Cafes
· Markets
· Museums
· Music Stores
· Pubs
· Restaurants
· Sex
· Smart Shops
· Specialty Shops
· Tours
· Travel Agencies
· Venues

     Recent Articles
· Five great reasons to visit Amsterdam this season
· First Trip to Amsterdam (1969)
· Map of Amsterdam's East Side
· Map of the Jordaan District
· Map of Amsterdam's Red Light District
· Map of Amsterdam Center
· Map of Amsterdam
· Canal Boat Tour of Amsterdam
· Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam
· Amsterdam's Westerkerk

     Recent Reviews
· Cafe Stof
· Randy Roy's Redlight Tours
· Wild Under Ground Tours (Amsterdam)
· Crystal Escort
· JetLounge
· The Green Place
· Amsterdam, Holland
· Akhnaton
· Sugar Factory
· Art and Culture in the Jordaan





Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds