Hip Guide to France > Reviews > Paris Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

La Basilic

Rustic and charming, La Basilic isn't pretentious - it's the real thing on Rue Lapic in Paris. Across the street from Vincent van Gogh's Paris residence, and probably where he drank too much absinthe, this place is cozy and an affordable place to have some great French country cooking.

The interior is totally amazing, with the original crooked beams wandering all over the ceiling above you, and bric-a-brac everywhere your eyes look. Tables of happy patrons chatter away while you get oriented with the menu, which offered us Smoked Salmon and Leek tarts, Pumpkin Soup, Goat Cheese Raviolis in a Basil Sauce, a Roasted Free-Range Chicken with herbs, mashed potatoes and crunchy squares made with mashed chick peas and parmesan cheese. Yummy was the word here, and the wine washed it all down superbly.

Table service was excellent, and the English lass who took care of us brought us an Apple-Cinnamon crumble for dessert. It was served with a scoop of the most intense almond ice cream I've ever had...

Bill came to around 50 euros. I really enjoyed my evening at La Basilic, the decor and ambience were great, the food basic and good.


More Info: From Rue de Clichy, walk up Rue Lapic towards Montmartre, turn left at the first bend and there you will see the ivy-covered entrance.

Address: 33 Rue Lepic
City: Paris
Postcode: 75018
Phone: 01 46 06 78 43
Fax: 01 46 06 39 26
Added: March 22nd 2002
Reviewer: Martin Trip
Score:
Hits: 6744
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
10 entries.
Food:
9.1
Service:
8.7
Ambiance:
9.9
Value:
9.2
Overall:
9.5
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-21 10:08:27
My Score:

Posted by leclochardfou79 on 2005-01-20 00:50:15
My Score:
perhaps the best restaurant where I have ever eaten in..a romantic place and a romantic table in front of the fireplace..all around us the walls adorned by ancien kitchen tools that I wanted bring whit me at home.. Food..wonderful..shocking courses.. Smoked Saumon Whit Spices and Warm Baguettes Filet Mignon With Carrots & Potatoes Pear & Chocolat A bottle of Bordeaux.. And I payed only 55 € at all.. You should try it.. Andre

Posted by Raffael on 2004-11-08 15:18:46
My Score:
The table (for two people) on the left side just after the door, seems to be a very romantic place to eat. Its small and tiny but very nice there. Hmm, may even the staff forget about you :-)

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-28 11:04:10
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-12 18:52:40
My Score:
It's a very cozy place, but you could do much better when it comes to the food, especially in paris. I think it was run by an English woman anyway...might explain the bland pseudo-french cooking. Of course, this place is all about location, dark corners, and ivy, so if you're looking for romance over gastronomic pleasures, this is your place.

Posted by KS on 2004-03-10 15:55:24
My Score:
I went to this restaurant with my partner on valentines day. We booked, which was essential as they must have turned away 20 couples. Food was fab, the atmosphere was fab - so good that I felt quite overwhelmed with the romance of the situation. Will return!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-12 12:30:18
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-08 16:54:35
My Score:
I loved this restraunt.

Posted by From Leeds on 2003-07-14 05:35:02
My Score:
Easy, relaxed, tasty and delightful. A definite must if you are looking for good food in Paris. I hope we visit again. A gem! x

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-07 00:56:48
My Score:
Great food at an amazing price! Found this place by accident but we intend on going there again when we visit Paris next month!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-01-30 06:07:19
My Score:
We tried this restaurant on our trip to Paris last weekend 24 January. Was really good. Had the 'Menu' which was very reasonable at 20€ each. Began with a gorgeous cream of cauliflower soup which had a hint of smokey bacon and profiteroles filled with smoked salmon mouse. Main courses were steak which was cooked to perfection and for desert you must try the chololate mousse - it's to die for!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Museums
· Restaurants

     Recent Articles
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· France Map
· France Public Holidays
· Lille, France Walking Tour
· Paris' Moulin Rouge Show
· Ten Things You Need to Know About Paris
· Sole Dieppoise
· Baguettes or French Bread
· Quiche Lorraine
· Blue Cheese Onion Pie

     Recent Reviews
· Maison Zen
· La Castafiore
· Conciergerie and Sainte-Chapelle
· La Zabelle in Ebreuil
· La Grande Rue
· Le Timbre
· Hotel Tim Montmartre
· Parson's Paris School of Design
· Tour d'Argent
· L'Acces'soir Cafe





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds