Hip Guide to France > Reviews > Paris Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Restaurant Helene Darroze

Reservations required at this Paris classic restaurant noted for "haute cuisine a la francais" from Chef Helene Darroze.

Please comment on your experience, and rate this restaurant by clicking on the link below.

The Hip Guide to Paris is a great place to let others know what YOU think about anything in Paris!


More Info: The Rue D'Assas interesects the Boulevard Raspail not far from this restaurant, just west of the Jardin du Luxembourg.

Address: 4 Rue d'Assas
City: Paris
Postcode: 75006
Phone: 01 42 22 00 11
Fax:
Added: October 19th 2002

Hits: 7102
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
14 entries.
Food:
6.8
Service:
5.9
Ambiance:
6.6
Value:
5.4
Overall:
6.4
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-09 23:56:50
My Score:
Being two americans with little french expertise, we chose the Prix Fix w/ Vins. The meal and wines were excellent and the service was very friendly except for the person removing the wine glasses. They responded to our honesty and friendlieness which usually helps when traveling as most demanding americans could learn.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-07-11 18:03:39
My Score:
To anonymous above. Try learning the language : "amateur" in French refers to someone who has a real interest in something. The waiter was complimenting you and you were tooo stupid and provincial to get it. You probably got all bent out of shape for the rest of the evening !

Posted by Gerry on 2005-06-18 21:18:31
My Score:
4 of us dined in the salon on 4 June, two spoke French and two Americans did not. It was a great experience. The food exquisite and the service really warm and friendly. They spoke to the Americans in English and to my wife and I in French. I have a hard time understanding the complaints against the service. I chose the salon because it is non-fumeur, and they told me that the restaurant will also go this way in September 05. Of course, we don't go to restuarnats like this every weekend like some oif the rest of the clientele (apparently), but for us it was a memorable evening. Felicitation!

Posted by Bunny on 2005-01-04 12:31:44
My Score:
I went to the restaurant on New Year's day 2005 and found the restaurant spacious, simply decorated and unpretentious . The service efficient but not overwhelming. The food was excellent - amazing and subtle blend of flavours ( although my lobster was disappointing - a tiny blob for 85 Euros ! ). The coffee ( with the divine petit fours and sweets ) was a perfect end to the evening, so I do not understand the other reviewers' comments about the bad service and rude comments from waiters ? Do Anglophones realise that "amateur" in French means, "lover of ..." ? I should mention that we did speak and understand quite a bit of French at our table , so maybe that could have made a difference ...? Bunny

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-02 20:15:09
My Score:
Snobby and overpriced. Not worth the trip, especially if you look young and American...you will be ignored even if you can foot the bill.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-11 18:20:21
My Score:
So deevoon.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-13 23:02:56
My Score:
The staff was insulting and their behavior was completely unacceptable. Believing we did not understand French, they called us names and referred to us as "amateurs." The group I was dining with has been travelling throughout Europe and the world for the past 15 years - collectively we speak five languages, we've lived in major metropolitan cities, inlcluding New York and London and we've all either owned or worked in exclusive restaurants. We may not be "professionals" but we certainly know how to appreciate haute-cuisine. This restaurant grossly fails to meet the level of service expected of Michelin rated establishment.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-13 19:57:02
My Score:
Hi there... my husband and I just got back from a weekend in Paris (we live in London and were there to meet up some friends from NY). We had dinner at Helene Darroze (2 michelin stars) in St. Germain and wanted to warn everyone about the service... it was terrible! It began with the sommelier referring to us as amateurs to one of his colleagues in french b/c the bottle of wine we ordered was 'only' €75, we ordered foie gras as an appetizer and waited 20 minutes for the bread, they never cleared our appetizer plates so when the entree arrived they didn't know what to do, there were several occasions when all of our wine glasses were empty and we had to ask for our bottle, and to top it off...when we ordered coffee we waited 25 minutes for the sugar! The waiters were completely inattentive to our table, yet they were hovering around the other tables as they were filled with locals. At this point, we finally complained to the maitre'd and all he did was offer us a glass of champagne! Our evening had been ruined (and three of us were celebrating our 30th birthday), so we asked for the bill and left. We have eaten at many michelin star restaurants in NY, Paris, Rome & London...and this was by far THE WORST service we have ever received. It is a shame because the food is very, very good, but at €200+ per person, Helene Darroze should be embarrassed at the service she offers.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-02 22:41:10
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-05 01:22:28
My Score:
Great service and food but as an Australian could not get used to people smoking around us. The AUD$ also made it expensive but worth it as a once off.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-01 22:37:46
My Score:
Too often on TV, not enough in her kitchen.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-31 11:52:48
My Score:
Expensive, but great experience: the combinations of savours are often unexpected and quite striking, the quality of ingredients is outstanding and the preparation is remarkably under control. The choice of wines to go with the "Inspiration" menu couldn't have been better.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-08 12:58:41
My Score:
At the recommendation of friends who said we "just absolutely had to eat there," my wife and went for dinner in late August while on our honeymoon. We thought the service was the most memorable aspect of the evening and was deplorable-- with servers standing gossiping en masse while ignoring the patrons for long periods. At $200 US, our meal for two would have unremarkable at a fourth of the price, but was "culinary robbery" at that level. I can't think of anything I liked especially well, although it was all edible. The decor was interesting. Reading other opinions, it appears that it derives its reputation from when the head chef is on duty-- but she was obviously away on her August vacation when we came.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-29 20:31:56
My Score:
Way overpriced, poor service, arrogance and lots of smoke in the air to match the "smoke and mirrors" of the vastly overrated reputation. What a disappointment. We were gouged.

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-12-14 07:37:04
My Score:
fantastic food service and atmosphere. The chocolate dessert to die for. expensive but worth it

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Museums
· Restaurants

     Recent Articles
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· France Map
· France Public Holidays
· Lille, France Walking Tour
· Paris' Moulin Rouge Show
· Ten Things You Need to Know About Paris
· Sole Dieppoise
· Baguettes or French Bread
· Quiche Lorraine
· Blue Cheese Onion Pie

     Recent Reviews
· Maison Zen
· La Castafiore
· Conciergerie and Sainte-Chapelle
· La Zabelle in Ebreuil
· La Grande Rue
· Le Timbre
· Hotel Tim Montmartre
· Parson's Paris School of Design
· Tour d'Argent
· L'Acces'soir Cafe





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds