Hip Guide to France > Reviews > Paris Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Le Trumilou

Looking for "coq au grandmere?" This is the place. Grandmother is probably in the kitchen putting together a duck stuffed with prunes as we write this... Complete with a collection of wooden clogs and old-style crockery, this is a bit of provincial France, in downtown Paris.

Le Trumilou features hearty country fare and little else, so don't go expecting haute cuisine and waiters in tuxedoes. Instead you will find creative and satisfying dishes featuring wild mushrooms, the aforementioned "grandmother's chicken" and items like quail stuffed with raisins. The huge servings of food from this family run eatery will satisfy you after stomping around Paris all day in search of fashion or fun. Complete meals range from 20 to 30 euros per person.

Added bonus - the view of the Seine is to die for. Many diners have said this is the most romantic place they've ever eaten.


More Info: Metro: Hotel-De-Ville

Address: 84 Quai de Hotel-De-Ville
City: Paris
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 1st 2002
Reviewer: Martin Trip

Hits: 5451
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
17 entries.
Food:
9.4
Service:
9.1
Ambiance:
9.0
Value:
9.5
Overall:
9.4
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Van Garrett on 2006-05-18 00:08:55
My Score:
Three times in three years, I was always satisfied. If friends of mine travel to Paris I recommend this nice place. A jewel of Paris, thank you Le Trumilou, Van Garrett (Author&Musician)

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-02 18:25:55
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-09-22 21:25:43
My Score:
Fanatistic lunch on a quiet Saturday. Wine was superb. The gentleman very kindly spoke English since our French was not very good, and he had a great sense of humor. I regret not asking him his name. This will be our only restaurant stop when we visit Paris. With excellent food and wine at a very reasonable price, why look anywhere else?

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-06-13 16:59:01
My Score:
Have been visiting this restaurant for nearly 20 years now! Menu has not changed and I (sadly) have the canard aux pruneux every time and it never fails to disappoint. My latest visit in June 05 showed no let up in standards and we were the only non-French there. The saucisson lyonnais was a good starter. Water is placed on your table free of charge. Good to eat here and not feel ripped off.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-30 12:25:22
My Score:
Old-fashioned bistro. I have been visiting for nearly 20 years and the decor and menu has not changed - thankfully! Duck with prunes is a must.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-10 16:26:31
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-13 14:41:31
My Score:
excellent simple food and attentive service.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-21 15:44:25
My Score:
very good food and wine

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-14 15:23:38
My Score:
Good value definitely romantic definitely not.Cigarette ash is more romantic and there is lots of it about.View what view? Unless there is another dining room higher up all to be seen is cars hurtling by.Still the food is excellent and plentuful.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-13 14:09:52
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-19 03:51:06
My Score:
Very nice restaurant!

Posted by Michael, Stockholm, Swede on 2004-01-19 03:49:42
My Score:
I love this place. Their duck is to die for. Great location and nice relaxed ambiance. Absolutely worth a visit!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-10 16:42:26
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-17 13:24:38
My Score:
You musn't loose it

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-04 08:30:27
My Score:
excellent, innovative 3 course menu for 17 euros, reasonably priced wine too and what a setting! Highly recommended. Love the decor.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-03 20:05:31
My Score:
A very nice and not too expensive restaurant. The duck is fabulous!

Posted by Ambled on 2003-05-21 15:50:44
My Score:
Le Troumilou.....a delightful experience. Visited more than once on holiday from Ireland. A "find" !

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Museums
· Restaurants

     Recent Articles
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· France Map
· France Public Holidays
· Lille, France Walking Tour
· Paris' Moulin Rouge Show
· Ten Things You Need to Know About Paris
· Sole Dieppoise
· Baguettes or French Bread
· Quiche Lorraine
· Blue Cheese Onion Pie

     Recent Reviews
· Maison Zen
· La Castafiore
· Conciergerie and Sainte-Chapelle
· La Zabelle in Ebreuil
· La Grande Rue
· Le Timbre
· Hotel Tim Montmartre
· Parson's Paris School of Design
· Tour d'Argent
· L'Acces'soir Cafe





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds