Hip Guide to France > Reviews > Paris Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Tour d'Argent

Tony restaurant on the Seine with fab views of the Notre Dame cathedral. Reservations are a must, and it is very expensive.


More Info:

Address: 15-17, quai de la Tournelle 75005-Paris
City: Paris
Postcode: 75005
Phone: 01 43 54 23 31
Fax: 01 44 07 12 04
Added: January 22nd 2003
Reviewer: Martin Trip

Related Link: Restaurant Tour d'Argent
Hits: 12209
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
8 entries.
Food:
9.9
Service:
9.8
Ambiance:
10.0
Value:
8.8
Overall:
9.8
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2005-04-03 23:39:37
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-03-18 22:52:10
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-26 18:46:37
My Score:
view was spetacular and food was great

Posted by MD German Epikureer on 2003-10-02 19:58:22
My Score:
At last The Tour d´Argent...I know many of the finest restaurants in the world, but before i had an evening dinner in this culinary temple i never knew how delicious a simple bird like a duck can be... Having a menue there is a outstanding experience. Menue is not served there its celebrated. The bill of wines has the size of an medival bible and some of the offered raritys have prices as well. But who cares? Its just money! My Menue: Fois gras aux trois Empereurs...Quenelles a la mode de Claude Terrail...Le caneton de Tour d`Argent (the famous pressed duck)...La poire vie parisienne...Plat de Frommage.... My wines: Champagne Taittinger Comte de Champagne...Montrachet Champs Canets 1989... Charmes Chambertin 1976...Au de vie framboise sauvage My rating? Well take the best, most traditionel, most elegant restaurant you have ever visited and give him your private personal rate...and than add 10 points! Ultimate! Unique! Thats LA TOUR D`ARGENT

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-09-27 13:43:32
My Score:
CERTAINLY OVERVALUED. BUT MENU IS OUTSTANDING. SOME RESTAURANTS IN LAS VEGAS, LA OR NYC CHARGES SIMILAR OR HIGHER PRICES AND ARE NO MATCH TO THIS FOOD AND THIS VIEW THE WINE CELLAR IS UNIQUE (PROBABLY THE BEST IN THE WORLD), THEY KNOW THAT AND PRICES ARE ACCORDINGLY THIS NOT A PLACE FOR EVERYDAY´S LUNCH. IT IS ONLY FOR VERY VERY SPECIAL OCASIONS.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-05-12 15:49:53
My Score:
We ate here in April 2003 to celebrate a special occasion and special we were made to feel. We were treated like royalty from the moment we entered the building. We had been told that if your french was not up to scatch and you were not earning a salary with at least 7 figures you are not worthy to eat here and that the waiters will make you feel out of place but we felt the absolute opposite. We were not made to feel inferior for one minute. Quite the opposite in fact. We found all the waiters very professional but very friendly. The food was out of this world, washed down by a perfectly chilled Chablis recomended to us by the Sommelier, all of which was enjoyed with a breathtaking view at our feet. This is an absolute must for anyone brave enough to part with @500 euro's but we would do it all over again without any hesitations. Quite simply the best meal we have ever had in the best surroundings!!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-09 04:09:20
My Score:
Good for the once in a lifetime experience.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-07 08:05:49
My Score:
Before you groan about the price and the rich tourists: I know, I know.... Everybody who goes to Paris tries to get a reservation at Tour d'Argent for dinner. I know it's a gourmand-tourist institution. Wanna' know why? Because it's still one of the better/best "splurge" dinners in Paris and the view across the Seine of Notre Dame is unforgettable. I KNOW it's horribly expensive. I treat places like Tour d'Argent with a reverent finality: chances are, even though I will do anything possible to return to Paris often, this may be the only time I ever eat here. You only go around once in life: You owe yourself one trip to Tour d'Argent. You can do much worse in Paris with your splurge dinner. I loved it. See the Quicktime panorama view of Notre Dame from the Tour d'Argent dining room here: ( you need Quicktime viewer) http://www.tourdargent.com/uk/salle/panoramique.html BON APPÉTIT ! Favorite Dish: Canard de l'Orange. Get the duck, foie gras, champaigne, etc. Beware of the wine cellars: the vintages are some of the best in Europe, but the prices are for oil sheiks. Dress is "business-formal." Put on your best togs for this place. Most Important: Bring a credit card and your sense of humor. I can't imagine 2 people escaping with a bill under $300 if you treat yourself in the style you would like to become accustomed. You only go around once. You deserve it. Reserve at least a month in advance, although it is sometimes possible to walk in for late dejeuner or early (17:00) dinner.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Museums
· Restaurants

     Recent Articles
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· France Map
· France Public Holidays
· Lille, France Walking Tour
· Paris' Moulin Rouge Show
· Ten Things You Need to Know About Paris
· Sole Dieppoise
· Baguettes or French Bread
· Quiche Lorraine
· Blue Cheese Onion Pie

     Recent Reviews
· Maison Zen
· La Castafiore
· Conciergerie and Sainte-Chapelle
· La Zabelle in Ebreuil
· La Grande Rue
· Le Timbre
· Hotel Tim Montmartre
· Parson's Paris School of Design
· Tour d'Argent
· L'Acces'soir Cafe





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds