Hip Guide to France > Reviews > Paris Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Le Timbre

Chef Christopher Wright greets the guests with a glass of wine, and offers superb gourmet cuisine for around 30 euros per person. The tiny eatery is convivial and packed with diners. A must in Paris.


More Info: Closed Saturdays for lunch, and on Sundays.

Address: 3 rue Sainte Beuve
City: Paris
Postcode:
Phone: 01-45-49-10-40
Fax:
Added: March 15th 2003
Reviewer: Martin Trip

Hits: 8962
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
20 entries.
Food:
9.4
Service:
8.9
Ambiance:
8.9
Value:
9.1
Overall:
9.0
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anna on 2006-03-07 18:11:00
My Score:
We went on a Saturday lunch time and it wasnt crowded at all. I guess in the evenings its busier though. You can watch the chef cook your meal - its nice to be able to see how clean the kitchen is (I've heard bad stories about that sort of thing in Europe). The food was great, quite french but not too scary, the wine was great, will make sure I go there next time Im in town.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-03-07 18:03:31
My Score:
This place is just wonderful - the chef and waitress are so friendly and welcoming (bilingual service is always useful!), the food is superior to any I have had in Paris, the wine choice is small but always fantastic. Both the wine and food menus change all the time so there is always something new to try. I was there last month and try and go everytime I'm in Paris. The place is small so it can be a bit cramped, but thats part of the fun! A great find.

Posted by Elizabeth & Ken on 2006-02-22 12:26:35
My Score:
The best value food discovered in several visits to Paris. Traditional but not stuffy cuisine and the choice of wine is excellent. Will return!

Posted by Ken on 2006-02-09 16:11:21
My Score:
Been once, for lunch. Equal to anything tried in 4 trips to Paris. Food, and particularly wine, superb. Bit cramped, but with food this good who cares? Will go back as often as possible.

Posted by Curnonsky on 2006-02-07 17:43:59
My Score:
What we all hope for in Paris and rarely find - a tiny restaurant with a small thoughtful menu based on what is fresh that day, creatively but simply prepared, served to customers who can afford to eat somewhere flashier but prefer not to. The chef and waitress (singular) are both charming and worked half to death when the evening gets under way. Added to this are well chosen wines and a wonderfully convivial atmosphere.

Posted by Foxfire Grille Epping NH on 2006-02-01 01:40:22
My Score:
My chef and I attended the International Food Convention in Paris. Shows are boring and this restaurant was exactly what we were looking for in Paris. The owner was great, invited us downstairs for wine and prepared us a great meal. Thank you Le Timbre. Rob and Jimmy

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-10-07 17:51:38
My Score:
One of the advantages of dining in France is being able to inspect the menu before you even step into the place. Therefore, you can decide whether it suits you and if you don't want a place with only a prix fixe menu, you go somewhere else. It's not like this restaurant is the only one in the city that doesn't have an à la carte menu, either.

Posted by Shirley on 2005-09-26 13:27:18
My Score:
I don't think much of this place: the owner is really rude and forces you to have a three course meal even if you didn't ask for it. I really don't recommend it

Posted by AngloInParis on 2005-09-25 11:58:27
My Score:
Imposing a 33 euro menu whilst serving you with a grimace is not my idea of a pleasant night out. Don't want a starter or dessert? Tough. You're paying for it anyway. Yes, this is a classic English restaurant: over-priced and over-rated. If you find yourself in Paris give this one a wide berth!

Posted by Nita Metz on 2005-08-20 22:20:06
My Score:
Excellent experience and delightful meal.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-03 20:12:13
My Score:
great place to eat, very clean, good service and fantastic dinning.

Posted by Anonymous on 2005-02-08 14:48:37
My Score:
Absolutely charming in every way. The chef Christopher Wright is worth seeing in action - it's like you are invited to his elaborate, precisely-timed dinner party. I go every time I go to Paris.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-12-15 22:26:21
My Score:
cool

Posted by BGodunov on 2004-06-16 21:55:07
My Score:
I love this place, which I go back to every time I'm in Paris. Food is superb at the price, but has been a bit uneven. The cramped atmosphere adds to this eatery's unique charm, and watching the chef at work is fun, especially when his waitress is not there and he has to do everything himself: he recommends, takes the orders, cooks the food, serves it, answers phonecalls and cleans the kitchen. And I've never seen him make a single mistake. Fabulous!

Posted by Dave&Noni on 2004-05-27 11:19:00
My Score:
My wife and I visited this restaurant in July 2002. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere great. We had a delicious meal, better than any elsewhere that week in Paris and enjoyed the company of native Parisiens and occassional tourists in this somewhat cramped space.

Posted by roo on 2004-05-25 01:45:07
My Score:
Amazing price. My wife and I had two starters (both excellent though small) two mains, shared a Napoleon and a bottle of 2000 St. Emilion... all for 68 Euros. The surroundings are somewhat cramped but the food was excellent.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-10 00:20:36
My Score:
I was recently in Paris and I must say that of all the restaurants I visted, Le Timbre was my favorite.Charming and chic, Chef Christopher Wright and staff were lovely and more than accomodating. The food was exceptional and I highly recommend the veal - a succulent choice. The Apple Tart is also not to be missed!

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-02-01 02:59:09
My Score:
Wonderful food, wonderful eervice, wonderful people all at a wonderful price. Not to be missed.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-10 11:27:12
My Score:
Fabulous restaurant! One of my favorites in Paris. Will go back again and again!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-02 14:37:43
My Score:
This is a wonderful restaurant! The foie gras was the best I have ever had. The atmosphere is wonderful - and packed with locals (the sign of great place)!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Museums
· Restaurants

     Recent Articles
· Visit the Market in Beaune
· France Map
· France Public Holidays
· Lille, France Walking Tour
· Paris' Moulin Rouge Show
· Ten Things You Need to Know About Paris
· Sole Dieppoise
· Baguettes or French Bread
· Quiche Lorraine
· Blue Cheese Onion Pie

     Recent Reviews
· Maison Zen
· La Castafiore
· Conciergerie and Sainte-Chapelle
· La Zabelle in Ebreuil
· La Grande Rue
· Le Timbre
· Hotel Tim Montmartre
· Parson's Paris School of Design
· Tour d'Argent
· L'Acces'soir Cafe





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds