Hip Guide to Spain > Reviews > Barcelona Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Cafe de l'Academia

Catalan food with high prices, but fabulous surroundings make this a place a special dining experience. There are cafe tables on the Placa Sant Just, and dining rooms for larger parties upstairs. Serves three meals a day... every day.


More Info: Metro stop Jaume 1.

Breakfast from 9

Address: Calle Lledo
City: Barcelona
Postcode:
Phone: 933 19 82 53
Fax:
Added: December 18th 2002

Hits: 11190
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
9 entries.
Food:
5.0
Service:
4.9
Ambiance:
5.4
Value:
5.1
Overall:
5.0
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-23 23:28:12
My Score:
No no no no no no. a thousand times no. You would be better off travelling to the most depressed part of Moscow, asking for the worst place to eat and then ordering the cheapest thing on the menu. The only difference would be the price.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-30 09:39:07
My Score:
Never got to eat there because of the unbelievably poor attitude of the waiters or bus boys lounging around smoking fags and reading newspapers rather than being civil to people. I'd rather eat my own fingernails than visit this unpleasant little place again.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-10-30 09:34:27
My Score:
Rude, surly and unpleasant

Posted by duChesne on 2004-03-08 20:06:01
My Score:
Actually, this is one of my secret favorites when in BCN. It is rather popular as well with members of the Spanish royal family. The waiters are really very friendly and helpful even when your Spanish isn't up to standards. At lunchtime they offer a superb fixed menu at the bar for a really very low price. CdC.

Posted by VanPopta on 2004-03-08 18:39:17
My Score:
A good restaurant in a medieval building on a beautiful little square. The food is delicious. Good to know: if you normally order your steak 'rare' you may want to consider 'medium' here. The duck is served rather pinkish. May look like steak to some. Taste it, they never mess with the tastes of their good ingredients.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-11 19:35:54
My Score:
Nice place and good food - pity about the service and the attitude. Ordered duck breast and was served beef medallions. Both waiters insisted it was duck which it was not. Since when has duck been served with a steak knife!! They should have just admitted that they had run out of duck breast. Probably just a one off but be wary. Jan 2004

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-03 06:36:40
My Score:
NO ROBBERS. SOLUTION: NO VISIT BARCELONA TOURIST GO HOME! CAFE DE L´ACADEMIA IS A QUIET AND FANTASTIC RESTAURANT IN BARCELONA GOTIC CENTRE. PLESE, POSH WASP GO HOME!!!! CATALONIA=NATTION CATALONIA NO DISNEYLAND

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-11-24 10:20:59
My Score:
Very well!!

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-13 14:22:00
My Score:
Watch out for sneaky thieves who (amazingly) operate just as the restaurant staff are coincidently inside allowing the robbers to steal things from your table when you are eating. DO NOT SIT OUTSIDE. In fact don't even go here!!! if you do have anything stolen the staff will give you a very Spanish shrug of the shoulders and protest that you should be more careful. YOU HONESTLY DON'T EXPECT YOUR VALUABLES TO BE STOLEN FROM YOUR TABLE WHILE U R SITTING DOWN EATING, DO YOU???!!!!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Cuisine
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Museums
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Map of Spain
· Spain Hotels
· Hip Guide to Spain
· La Sagrada Familia Barcelona
· Street Entertainers Las Ramblas Barcelona
· Barcelona's Sagrada Familia Dedication by Pope
· Underground Living on Lanzarote
· Spain Public Holidays
· Gandia Winery
· Paella con Pollo y Verduras

     Recent Reviews
· San Pedro, Almeria, Spain
· Alpujarra, Granada, Spain
· La Semilla, Tarifa, Spain
· Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
· Galicia, Spain
· Ibiza, Spain
· Spain
· la gauche divine
· La Marina Restauarant
· Gandia Wines





Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds