Hip Guide to Spain > Reviews > Barcelona Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Can Culleretes

Reputed to be Barcelona's oldest restaurant, the place is decorated with photos of the rich and famous (and also not so famous) people who have dined here. Reasonable prices, friendly and good Catalan food.


More Info: Metro stop: Liceu

Open Tuesday thru Sunday for Lunch, 1:30 to 4 pm. Dinner Tuesdays thru Saturday from 9 pm until 11 pm. Reservations suggested for Sunday lunch.

Address: Calle d'en Quintana
City: Barcelona
Postcode:
Phone: 933 17 30 22
Fax:
Added: December 18th 2002

Hits: 3921
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
7 entries.
Food:
8.4
Service:
9.1
Ambiance:
9.1
Value:
8.6
Overall:
8.9
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Caitlin Kerrigan on 2006-02-11 19:35:41
My Score:
After living in Barcelona for many years, I finally went to Can Culleretes, and I'm afraid I was quite disappointed. The 'menu del dia' at 12 euros was very mediocre: A basic fish soup for the first dish, and for the second dish of fried fish, it was only a serving of the most basic 'calamares a la romana' and a bit of fried white fish - no veg, garnish, nothing. Dessert was the usual fare, nothing special there either. These days there are many good restaurants in the Barrio Gótíco, with lower prices for the 'menu del dia' and food of much better quality.

Posted by Caitlin Kerrigan on 2006-02-11 19:34:19
My Score:
After living in Barcelona for many years, I finally went to Can Culleretes, and I'm afraid I was quite disappointed. The 'menu del dia' at 12 euros was very mediocre: A basic fish soup for the first dish, and for the second dish of fried fish, it was only a serving of the most basic 'calamares a la romana' and a bit of fried white fish - no veg, garnish, nothing. Dessert was the usual fare, nothing special there either. These days there are many good restaurants in the Barrio Gótíco, with lower prices for the 'menu del dia' and food of much better quality.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-08-24 12:50:19
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-18 22:12:44
My Score:
A heavenly retreat away from the buzz of the city. I loved everything about it.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-16 11:06:28
My Score:
Fabulous, traditional Catalan cuisine and excellent service in this family-run restaurant. Very popular with both locals and tourists, you will need to book ahead, but it's well worth the effort!

Posted by slmcg on 2004-04-14 22:56:52
My Score:
We loved this restaurant. Fell upon it by chance ambling in the streets off La Rambla. The 'front' room is definitely the best place to be seated---best for atmosphere and decoration, but beware the smokers! All the other rooms are well appointed, and the service is just as good. Good food, friendly staff, great atmosphere and really good value.

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-03-13 11:44:18
My Score:

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Cuisine
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Museums
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Map of Spain
· Spain Hotels
· Hip Guide to Spain
· La Sagrada Familia Barcelona
· Street Entertainers Las Ramblas Barcelona
· Barcelona's Sagrada Familia Dedication by Pope
· Underground Living on Lanzarote
· Spain Public Holidays
· Gandia Winery
· Paella con Pollo y Verduras

     Recent Reviews
· San Pedro, Almeria, Spain
· Alpujarra, Granada, Spain
· La Semilla, Tarifa, Spain
· Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
· Galicia, Spain
· Ibiza, Spain
· Spain
· la gauche divine
· La Marina Restauarant
· Gandia Wines





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds