Hip Guide to Spain > Reviews > Barcelona Restaurants
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

CHO Japanfood

CHO Japanfood is a trendy spot for sushi right off Placa Catalunya in Barcelona. Nicely designed, with an oval-shaped bar, and decorative Japanese comic book graphics mounted on large curving panels for walls. You can sit outside on the sidewalk in the cafe area, at the sushi bar, or in a more intimate dining room behind the bar.

Floating around the bar in a ring are the traditional wooden boats, with platters of sushi. My friend had seven plates of sushi, saying the yellowtail and the tuna were passable. I ordered a grilled platter of fresh veggies and stir-fried rice which were good, with the veggies very fresh and cooked perfectly. We both had the miso soup, which was rather uninspired I must say. If it hadn't been for the wasabi paste and soy sauce I would have had the blandest meal on earth. Luckily the bored sushi chef finally saw us waving madly with both arms for almost ten minutes, and brought us more wasabi. It seemed to be his only task, giving the diners a blob of wasabi on a plate and then ignoring you completely, as the sushi is floating around right in front of your face on pre-made plates.


More Info: Anyway, inspite of my opinion, you can visit CHO Japfood and sit inside and be trendy, or sit outside on the sidewalk and see Barcelona bustle by. From here you can see El Corte Engles and Placa Catalunya across the street.

Located at number 4 Passeig de Gracia, which runs north from the Placa Catalunya.

Address: 4 Passeig de Gracia
City: Barcelona
Postcode: 08007
Phone: 933 186 580
Fax:
Added: October 9th 2003
Reviewer: Martin Trip

Hits: 3371
Language:

  
Visitor Ratings
8 entries.
Food:
8.6
Service:
8.0
Ambiance:
8.5
Value:
8.4
Overall:
8.5
Rate This Restaurant


Posted by Anonymous on 2006-02-20 16:01:15
My Score:
El Restaurante CHO de comida Japonesa cerró sus puertas hace algo más de 1 año. Ahora es un vasco-navarro llamado Navarra. El teléfono es 93 318 58 95 y el e-mail grupo@grupoamt.es

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-11-07 05:45:09
My Score:
I am japanese. I stay in bal for honeymoon. food tastes are fresh and dericious.

Posted by Tomas, Copenhagen on 2004-10-31 11:52:31
My Score:
I don't god to Barcelona to eat sushi - but anyway i most visit CHO every time. If You love sushi this is a fantastic experience. One of the best places in Europe.

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-05 17:11:49
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-04-22 17:34:33
My Score:
The Food Is Not Good

Posted by azar on 2004-03-23 19:33:14
My Score:
La comida y el servicio fueron muy buenos, el local es muy bonito y divertido. Me gustó mucho el salón del fondo y la barra de sushi. He ido muchas veces y siempre he salido satisfecha. Mi cumpleaños lo celebré en CHO, hay un teléfono de atención al cliente y reservas de grupos en el que te preparan menús especiales que valen mucho la pena. no recuerdo el teléfono pero el mail es cristina@grupo-mt.com

Posted by Anonymous on 2004-01-03 18:06:09
My Score:

Posted by Anonymous on 2003-12-07 13:52:41
My Score:
If you do not understand and appreciate Japaneses cuisne, especially Sushi, you should not write evaluations. The next time I am in Barcelona I will send you a true evaluation of this restasurant. I have been seraching for Sushi in Spain and I believe that it is something that is missing and there should be more of it in the larger communities.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Art Galleries
· Cafes
· Cuisine
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Museums
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Map of Spain
· Spain Hotels
· Hip Guide to Spain
· La Sagrada Familia Barcelona
· Street Entertainers Las Ramblas Barcelona
· Barcelona's Sagrada Familia Dedication by Pope
· Underground Living on Lanzarote
· Spain Public Holidays
· Gandia Winery
· Paella con Pollo y Verduras

     Recent Reviews
· San Pedro, Almeria, Spain
· Alpujarra, Granada, Spain
· La Semilla, Tarifa, Spain
· Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
· Galicia, Spain
· Ibiza, Spain
· Spain
· la gauche divine
· La Marina Restauarant
· Gandia Wines





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds