Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Alabama Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Alabama

"We've got lots of forests in North Alabama and sometimes a group called the Rainbow People come to Mount Cheaha and harmonize with nature. There are a great number of hippies living in the Calhoun County area; mainly in Anniston, Oxford and Jacksonville, Alabama. If any hippies need somewhere to move to, come on to Alabama. We have plenty of room and the people of our land don't care what you look like."


More Info:

Address:
City: Alabama
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 15513
Language: english

  


Posted by laurababy on 2006-12-31 06:41:27
My Score:
Hello. I live in Fort Payne Alabama, with my husband and daughter. He is a drummer, I am a housewife. It is hard to find open minded people in this state, see..I am almost 14 years older than my husband, so we get alot of looks and people whisper behind our backs. I have black hair, he has long hair, and facial piercings, people do not seem to understand us at all. Just looking for someone to talk to, that does not judge. Peace and Love to all Laura www.myspace.com/laurababy0105 laurababy0105@yahoo.com

Posted by bud green on 2006-12-10 01:31:18
My Score:
I'm new here,in north ALA. from FLA. looking for a safe place for alternative gardening im a pro at what i do,i'm looking for anyone, anywhere in ALA. who is like minded and looking for a friend with HIGH QUALITY SKILLS please leave comment with email address I will check daily,hope to hear from you soon!

Posted by Sharp Shooter on 2006-11-04 09:34:58
My Score:
Cum to India !!!!! Its Heaven full of Herbs ! try out the stuff and i am sure u will never think of leaving this place...! catch u here !!

Posted by dpolly on 2006-09-17 16:12:32
My Score:
Well, Alabama really is a beautiful state, esp. the north. The Tennessee River is what keeps me here. Have been here all my life (dying to try somewhere else for awhile) but I know I will end up back here! I am a Girl Scout leader and mentor trying to open up a whole world of ideas, nature, and fun to our next generation! Whatever your ideals; PASS IT ON! We live near Florence, anyone around give us a buzz. Regarding the FLorence area, due to the university there are lots of 20-somethings and quite a few good folks and decent bars with music most weekends. Cops are NOT COOL WHATSOEVER. Guard your shit with your life.

Posted by ~*~Queenbee~*~ on 2006-09-11 21:06:15
My Score:
hey yall i was born and raised an alabama im looking for a place for my poppa and i to live and work any assistence will do please were so ver despereate thanks yall

Posted by ~*~Queenbee~*~ on 2006-09-11 00:42:43
My Score:
my poppa and i are looking for a place thats hippy friendly....were stuck in some real bad luck are car was stolen and wreked....we have a way to get where ever but no place to go ........anyone that can help would be in my prayers thank you hippy folk for reading this many wishes and hugs and kisses blessed be ~*~Queenbee~*~

Posted by Paul on 2006-05-20 17:36:38
My Score:
Hey I'm from Weaver, AL(close to Anniston) and I would like to know when the Rainbow People come to Cheaha. I'm a devoted Deadhead and hippy, I feel like the only one around but I know it can't be true. My e-mail is pallmallking@yahoo.com

Posted by sunnycynic on 2006-03-26 20:17:07
My Score:
to all you people who say you left alabama or advised people to leave or are planning to leave because it is so awful....i live inthat same kind of place, a town of 400 in south mississippi, but you know what, if all the hippies in middle america in the 60's had left for a "better" place, where would women, minorities, gays and the environment be today? a true hippie sticks their neck out for what they believe in, no matter what the people around them say, think , or do. so stay where you are, love everyone, and teach through example, you know, pick up trash on the side of the road, smile at everyone, help out any way you can, and never judge. just ride it out doing what you believe in, and eventually, maybe in your children's or grandchildren's time, conditions and attitudes will be better. love eternal, SARA

Posted by Oashi on 2006-01-18 05:18:19
My Score:
Hello everyone just dropping my first line on these threads. I am wondering if there are any festivales coming up in this year. Me and some of my friends out of Moody Al, would like to come to one of these to maybe play some drums and guitar with everyone and have a good time. Send me an email at Pgramer3@aol.com if anyone knows of any Thanks Tyler C.

Posted by Paxton McDermott on 2006-01-11 15:29:36
My Score:
Clayton, GA on the Alabama state line. I am very interested in coming. I heard about the gathering in Clayton last year and I was going but my truck overheated on the way. I was on I-85 out of Montgomery and got stuck. Please post details!

Posted by Alabamagetaway on 2006-01-05 17:54:36
My Score:
I can't vouch for other parts of Alabama, but Gadsden is alright. We have a cool scene here, once you're in. We have some people who's work is making patchwork clothes and stuff. My wife and I just bought a house a few months ago and I had to clear the land around the house a bit and now I have a huge pile of wood that I'm now glad I didn't burn. We are now recycling this wood into nice stuff, coasters, walking sticks, clocks, chairs, lamps, etc. The spirit is alive here, you just have to look. Of course you do have the redneck type folks, bible thumpers, and so on, but I haven't been anywhere where everyone love you (:except maybe in a lot at a show :) You just learn to accept them and see what they can teach you. Sometimes nothing it seems, but that's okay too. My wife went from a barefoot, sundress wearing, flowers in your hair, love people and nature type to a HARDCORE bible type person. Dyed hair, office job, the whole nine. If your'e not careful the opposites will attract down here. I was into it too for awhile, but talk about feeling lost and hypocritical! Now I'm back, but she's not. If you fall off the wagon down here, they'll always help you back on. One of our friends that make the patchwork clothes just got busted the other day and needs money to get their car back, if anyone has any old clothes or fabric to use or just want to check out their work drop me a line! They could use the help right now. alabamagetaway26@yahoo.com PS: If anyone likes to jam around Gadsden give me a shout. We get some grooves going from time to time. You can bring a drum, guitar, bass, flute, whatever, it's all good!

Posted by chronos913 on 2005-12-16 03:40:51
My Score:
hey everybody. i just moved back here to montgomery after leaving the military because i couldnt live peacefully with the idea that the people i worked for and with were directly responsible for the impending doom of humanity.(if you want to talk about the issues, feel free to IM me at chronos913 on yahoo or write and email to the same address.) anyway, i couldnt smoke for the two years i was in the air force, and now i'm looking to break the celibacy with some kind bud--glistening THC crystals irradiating my eyes with their glory, that wonderful pungent aroma filling my nostrils, that heavenly, awe inspiring anesthetic filling my lungs taking me on a voyage through space and time--i miss it. if anyone can get me in touch with some quality bud, i'd be really appreciative. the stuff i'm looking for is usually priced in the range of 50-65 bucks an 1/8th. i'm headed to pensacola this weekend to grab a bong and or spoon, so if you're on the way and can help me...write me. FREE THE MIND! UNITE THE PEOPLE! LOVE THIS PLACE FOR ALL IT'S WORTH AND MORE!

Posted by Jonathan on 2005-11-29 19:09:40
My Score:
Hey Everybody, What's Happenin'? I live in a really small town called Grant. It's about 30 miles east of Huntsville. It's in Marshall County. I feel all alone. Please send some fellow hippies this way!!!! You dig? Keep on keepin' on, Jonathan

Posted by lumis on 2005-11-19 05:48:04
My Score:
Steve Griffis is my hero! go Fairhope go!

Posted by on 2005-10-21 00:04:51
My Score:
yes, of course there is school. anyone can smoke pot. if you smoke herb then you know how it feels to not have any...it stinks. someone poin us in teh right direction. it seems as though most of the kids and possibly adults smoke low quality males with no red hairs, which is completely depressing.

Posted by themovement on 2005-10-20 22:49:52
My Score:
Do ya'll have school in Alabama?

Posted by on 2005-10-16 06:24:06
My Score:
yeah im lookin for some dank bud in montomgery too and i cant seem to find any. are there any growers here?

Posted by Zach on 2005-10-13 19:50:54
My Score:
I am getting fucking pissed that all you people that just moved to Alabama are being a bunch of pussy about it. Yall are no hippys if you all act like that. I in fact know alot of real hippy here in AL.ALABAMA is a great state I have lived here all my life. I have gone hunting and fishing and if you say hunting is bad for the enviriment it's not if we did not have hunters in AL the deer would die because we have so many because along time ago we hunted up all the wild Mt loins in this region of america yes that is bad to kill the loins but ther is nothing that I know that we can do adout it dammit. All we can do is hunt them and have fun doing it and enjoy the nature around us. PS I would reconmen that yall start grow yall's own pot if you live next to some woods.

Posted by on 2005-10-11 21:48:31
My Score:
where would i get this one hit wonder weed.what part oof auburn. i wanna get liek an ounce and bring it back to montgomery instead of having to keep buying little ammounts

Posted by your mom on 2005-10-10 05:44:19
My Score:
you should just drive 45 min. to Auburn and get that one hit wonder weed

Posted by on 2005-10-06 04:05:23
My Score:
does anyone know where i can get some high quality herb in montgomery? all i can find is mexican shwag. ive recently moved here and it seems like a boring non smoking town. help anyone?

Posted by CourtneyAlexis on 2005-09-22 19:15:38
My Score:
My roommate and I want to find the hippies. We're from Mobile, Alabama. Where they at??

Posted by Daniel on 2005-09-07 06:23:00
My Score:
Oh, sorry... My email is daniel@tannerite.com or kabanger@hotmail.com Hope to hear from some locals.

Posted by Daniel on 2005-09-07 06:21:54
My Score:
Hi all.. I think I can access this site w'/out being a member. I'm moving here from Oregon and am kinda lost. Don't know anyone, and would like to meet some decent people. I manufacture bio-degradable fireworks that are environmentally friendly. I'm not a eco-freak, but I consider it common sense to use earth-friendly chemicals in beautiful pyrotechny. I'm not a hippy, but grew up neighbors with Ken Kesey (author of One flew over the Ku-ku's nest and a few others) I've even painted fireworks on the ORIGINAL bus (Further) Lived there for 20 years and none of the hippies ever pushed dope on me. I'm into nature, wildlife, fun, fast cars ( I drive a red 'vette convertible), and traveling, lived in the capital of the Bahamas but grew tired of island life. I may stay here, or may not, depending on the property I locate for sale. The land needs to be away from any homes, but not too far from a city (for supplies). Thanks for any information... and please email me if you have a chance, Daniel

Posted by Alexa on 2005-09-07 03:45:08
My Score:
i live in lansing kansas.im 12 years old,i have blonde hair but now its black,blue eyes,7th grade.if ne1 wants to talk w/me my aim and msn screen name is colesprouseluva9.feel free to im me or whatever.im on all the time.except for when im at school at 6:45 to 3:45.pleaz don't be shy to contact me.

Posted by tashunka on 2005-08-25 13:18:10
My Score:
Our land are free and wonderful. my goodfather was a sioux leader. I am his nephew and i love the hippy style of life. I go in Romania for the 2 months in every summer. in Vama Veche. there are so many hippies. you must come. Peace!

Posted by *sniffle* on 2005-08-24 01:33:54
My Score:
Hey there! Wierd thread here guyses. Im from Alabama (Montgomery), im 15 and a bit of a 60's throwback. Anyone wanna talk IM me HipposRPurple4 Always. Dev.

Posted by Rose on 2005-08-17 05:15:41
My Score:
For all you people who badmouth the state of my birth, where my family has lived and died for 200 years, Get out! You're not welcome here unless you learn some manners. We are not all a bunch of idiots here. We're God-loving hunting rednecks and damn sure proud of it. P.S. My family doesn't use the N word even if I did have ancestors who fought in the Civil War. They didn't own any slaves. My ancestors were poor white farmers who just wanted peace and the American dream. I grew up with black children in the 60's. We didn't know what the Civil Rights movement was. We all got along and still do so stop your troublemaking down here.

Posted by Zach on 2005-08-04 21:47:44
My Score:
I live over next to 280 I go to Oak Mt. High it is next to B,ham I was just hopen there was some hippies out I like to listen to jamming bands I also like to do mind twisting drug like cow shit mushrooms and herb just that kind of stuff I wood like to add something I have lived in AL all my life and Al has been good to me we have alot of good people you just have to open up don't just think we are all hicks we got also alot of good places to grow herb to ita pretty cool state but not the best it's ok.

Posted by Mark MOrgan on 2005-07-22 16:28:17
My Score:
notice to all who like to slow ride,have a cold brew and a bit of fume`. The forest roads and the road to Cheaha are now crawling with feds looking for meth etc etc.Road blocks can be found smack bad in the middle of the forest.Seems as though the Rabbit town to points south have become a main route for traffickers. Cost me 725 american dollars last winter.So I know 1st hand. Be quick and be cool............

Posted by Nobs on 2005-07-16 04:16:41
My Score:
Hey selah...i live in the florence area...i dunno how the cops are and the scene's not that big, if there is one. cops suck, basic stereotype crap. im not a hippie myself but im interested in the culture of it. there are some ppl if you look for em...

Posted by Selah on 2005-07-14 11:41:08
My Score:
i am moving to florence al in late august, i have lived in cali most of my life and am used to real kind people - should i be scared? are there many hippies in florence? how are the cops there bout herb? aahhhh im getting more and more scared the closer it gets to moving time....

Posted by GhostwindowdrummerDEGA on 2005-07-02 23:08:24
My Score:
Everyone in the anniston Gadsden area needs to do what ENVIROGROOVER said and come hang out with us at Brothers bar up in J'ville. It's a comfortably numb experience for all. TUESDAY NIGHTS are OUR NIGHTS with jon and jud and GHOST WINDOW.

Posted by hey Trader on 2005-06-08 01:55:44
My Score:
If Ray and Trader read this with the Rainbow "clan" this is Cathy and Will from PC we Love you guys

Posted by EnviroGroover on 2005-05-22 07:03:55
My Score:
Wow, I think most people know that hippy has become a "hip" word and doesn't really describe what most youngsters are these days. I feel that it shouldn't be used for the gen x'ers. But what is our label? We know we are different, while media and business is trying so hard to mainstream the mysteriousness. If consumers like it, maybe they will go for our ideas as well: peace, love, music, nuclear disarmament, and sustainability. I agree that we should still stand up for what is right, I've been very involved politically and environmentally, and its pulling teeth to get my age group motivated. Oh, and a question, what is mr. nelson doing here to spread hate, yet posing the question :what have you done for the earth lately? He must have some interest in our ideals.

Posted by Old Man Nelson on 2005-04-30 10:16:36
My Score:
For sll you longhaired,Whack Tobaccy,Flower Lovin,Fairies and Queers Wake up shit for brains,hippies no longer excist you"all are just a dim shadow of what a real hippy used to be,just because you like the old music and free love and weed you think your a hippy,Let me tell you i lived through them old days and seen what a real hippy was,they stunk there teeth were rotten and i used to have to chase them of my farm from having one of those orgy parties all the time,those dipshits were always out of there mind on drugs and never had jobs,look at what they all become now,worthless pieces of shit.They stood for freedom and peace and they practiced what they preached,You want a be hippy's now days aint done shit to help anybody out but yourselfs,what have you done for mother earth later?,you cant even stand up for your beliefs,you only do what the others do,an what is the new fad,I dont see any of you new hippies living off the land nowdays cause you cant your a fake,Now im not sticking up for hippy's i hated the son a bitches then and i hate them son of a bitches now,always trying to free those ignorant negro's,damit we needed those niggers for work,farm life was hard we needed a extra hand.And tellen me i cant fuck my cuision,if she wants it i got a right to give it to her,The real hippy's sttod for self freedom and human rights and no goverment making you do things you dont want too.What are you fake hippy's doing about that stuff today?NOTHING you'all would rather smoke your weed,be lazy and just say your a hippy cuase it must be cool again,you take the easy way out you little assholes,you done shit to be called a hippy.If that is how it works today im gonna call myself the President,because i live in a white house. and you new hippy's dont be messin around my farm trying to grow weed and having sexual vd parties.ill do you like i did the old hippy's when i catch you either shoot you with my scatter gun or put my pecker in your butt,

Posted by Graffitisoul on 2005-04-27 03:50:19
My Score:
hippies in alabama???hahahahahah i made the mistake of visiting alabama once...worst vacation ever

Posted by EnviroGroover on 2005-04-13 05:43:33
My Score:
Ok, Alabama is different. For nature, it really has it all, "from the deepest canyon to the highest mountain" there is something to do here. Just dig a little, and you will find all kinds of naturalistic and outdoor things to do. Jacksonville State has a great field school program. Little River Canyon is absolutely beautiful and it is one of the newest national parks! Go get out and see our beautiful places, Alabama has a huge amount of biodiversity!!! If you really love the music, check out Foggy Hollow off 431 between Anniston and Gadsden. There is a wonderful family of friends in J'ville and my guys run the bar on Tues. night. Go check out Brothers Bar if you get the chance. Bigger names come on the weekends, but it's not limited to groovy music. Panic, Dire Straits, even the Allman Brothers played at Brothers Bar in their early days. Anyway, like they say Stop bitching, Start a revolution! In other words, stop the rhetoric, get off your lazy ass and have a great day! If you show our politicians how much support the environmentalists have, there will be just that much more pressure, and there is a tipping point! See you at Uphonia!

Posted by shekkownzYOU on 2005-04-12 21:18:11
My Score:
YOH MY HOMIES, alabama is the shizzle fo rizzle.. i smoke the best pizzle in the whole stizzle. if you wanna hang out in ttown and eat some chocolates, maybe goto the lake hit me up. PZ

Posted by Chachi420 on 2005-04-10 16:31:27
My Score:
I'm not a hippy per se, but I enjoy jam band music (along with several other generes) and concert going.Hit me up if your going to John Scofield in ATL tonight... etree.org/Chachi420

Posted by Evan on 2005-04-06 05:47:29
My Score:
So Im currently at UAB and looking for some hippies to hang out with... anything that doesnt involve consumerism and TV pop culture ... thrifting, chilling at parks, beading, writing, harmonizing, relaxing... it will be excellent. People who are not two faced and backstabbing would also be great. My AIM screen name is ecl1085, drop me a line and tell me you saw my post. peace, love, and bush out of office... Evan

Posted by jan on 2005-04-06 02:32:07
My Score:
hi, will be living in marshall county, near guntersville, in the near future...any kind folks would be a welcome change....36/f...jan

Posted by shane on 2005-04-02 05:52:34
My Score:
Stay as far away from this state as possible. I have to come here every so often for work and it is torture. I travel a lot and Alabama is definetely the worst state in the country.

Posted by ILoveMyHouser on 2005-04-01 12:13:39
My Score:
Hey mommas, names kris, i go to school in mobile when im not on the road. i went out west for a while a few months ago, ended up snowboarding in utah for a week. im in birmingham now, fixing to head to athens, GA tomorow for 3 nights with STS9, just got back from the florida keys for 2 nights with Cheese and Langerado Music Fest. ill be at Wanee, Jazzfest, Trey at the Fox, few choice panic shows. looking for some kind folks to pass the days with, I collect live music, have over 300 hours of panic, some cheese, 200+ hrs of phish... drop me a line sometime, ILoveMyHouser@aol.com Good Vibes, Kris

Posted by Jeff on 2005-02-27 01:48:35
My Score:
Hey guys, listen up!! --- for all you that have posted and are trying to sound like thugz... just stop... this state is eat up with thug wannabes who are nothing more than little boys... i am against the whole "thug" scene that has overcame this state. I've lived in Montgomery,Alabama for 21+ years and this state has its downfalls, but Alabama is a really beautiful place to live and harmonize with nature if you can find the right places.. unfortunately, this state is trying to grow ... grow too much... and as someone else stated earlier in the posts, wal-mart is taking over everything.. i have seen some beautiful land tore apart to build a wal-mart. I am a true hippy at heart, but sometimes this state calls for you to act cold-hearted on the outside to survive even though on the inside your thinking... "PEACE, POT, & Microdots!!" hehe..!! The downfall of this state is the REDNECK, DRUNK ABUSIVE ASSHHOLES, the RACIST ASSHOLES, the RELIGIOUS FREAKS, and the OLD people who have lived here forever, GOD BLESS EM, but they are so stuck in their ways and blinded as to what is really going on in there on city, or even right across the street from where they live. Well everone I am off for now, if there is anyone in the montgomery area that would like to talk, I always love meeting new people with strong feelings and beliefs as I have.. e-mail me at jeff420@charter.net. -- PEACE, POT, & MICRODOTS!! Jeff ; )

Posted by Tara Star on 2005-02-25 22:12:55
My Score:
I've lived in Burmingham for five years and there is no hippy scene here, but, I've learned that the scene is were you take it. There is a group I saw in Atlanta that reminded me of the music drove your spirit in the 60's. I will encourage everyone to check these guys out. Jazzmatic is the name of the group and they are only a group of two, with a sound of five. Their site is Jazzmatic.com I talked to them and invited them to play at my loft if they can't find a venue here. Check them out, let's bring them to Alabama.

Posted by SativaStarr on 2005-02-14 00:33:48
My Score:
I'm born and raised a Wisconsinite but I love the road and have been to southern Alabama several times. I have an old friend from junior high who moved to a small town in Covington County called Andalusia.. I've driven throughout the state and in all of my travels have not come across one person who I would call a hippie.. although I was met with numerous stares and a number of rather ignorant questions.. you see I have dreadlocks and most of my clothes are handmade. I cant count how many people commented on my hair and clothes and said they've never seen anyone quite like me... Having lived in Madison, WI for the past 4 years, I'd forgotten how odd I look to so many sheltered folks..

Posted by Justin on 2005-01-18 03:07:48
My Score:
I live in north alabama, I really dont know any hippies at all. It sucks because I would really like to have some to hang out with.

Posted by Justin on 2005-01-18 03:06:58
My Score:
Hi

Posted by Calvin on 2005-01-04 21:32:40
My Score:
I live in a small south alabama town, it is definately not a hippy haven, we have strict ass cops, zero tolerance laws, (you can go to jail for 1 seed), and no hippy culture, but Tuscaloosa is a hippy college town, and Auburn has a small semi-hippy pop.

Posted by Leigh on 2004-12-29 07:47:13
My Score:
My AIM screen name is AnnaL0011 if anyone has AOL Instant Messenger, please send me a message

Posted by Leigh on 2004-12-29 07:41:50
My Score:
Yeah born and raised in Alabama. A small town called Troy. Everyone here is at least one of the following...1 a god freak 2 hunter 3 redneck 4 racist 5 homophobic 6 sexist 7 conservative republican. I HATE it. I'm totally oppostie of all of that. I recently became vegetarian and as soon as someone finds out, "That's stupid, animals are here to eat." The only good thing is the nature, which is rapidly being ruined. The animals are dieing and Wal-Mart is buying everying. Yeah as soon as I hit 18 I'm getting out of this fuck hole. BUt until then... anyone wanna talk... Anna_Leigh@juno.com

Posted by kidfrommobile on 2004-12-10 03:19:42
My Score:
hey. i just moved to mobile from the atlanta area where i had grown up around friends with hippie parents, so when we moved here i felt the deep south stereo types about my hair, but it's not that bad. i mean you can go to fairhope and be around some pretty cool people.

Posted by Alabama wildman on 2004-12-08 06:01:30
My Score:
My name is really josh and i was born in denver colorado but ive lived most of my life in oregon. i dont know why they call me alabama wildman, maybe i look like an alabaman. anyway im kind of afraid of alabama cause some of my relatives are from the south and most of em use the word "nigger" (not niggah but nigger) Well to make a long story short I have been thinking about visiting alabama since i got my beloved nickname but it sure seems like a place thats still stuck in the pre-civil war era. Do you guys have real live alabama woodsmen or does everyone live in cities and plantations??

Posted by Sunshine on 2004-12-01 06:25:01
My Score:
I was born and raised in Birmingham, Alabama. I have only met a few people who could even be close to being hippies. It's really discouraging, but not discouraging enough. I used to want to leave but now as I am beginning to realize who I am and who I want to be and what I can do it's liek I've found home all over again. The only thing lacking are the neighbors. Granted I have the redneck neighbor who has 20 differnet cars in his yard and looks at me funny because I walk down the street barefoot and braided, but I am looking for other barefooted and braided neighbors. People in Alabama are not as accepting as I'd liek them to be and that's fine, but the few like-minded people there are around the B'ham area I'd LOVE to get to know. "Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity."

Posted by aronhienas on 2004-11-24 17:01:15
My Score:
I grew up in Birmingham (the "Heart of Dixie) in the late 50's and 60's. When I was about 6 years old I saw a bumper sticker that said "IF YOUR HEART'S NOT IN DIXIE GET YOUR ASS OUT!" They didn't have to tell me twice. I've been up north (New York State) for 25 years and I can't imagine ever wanting to live amongst those Bible-thumping rednecks in AL again. My whole family lives there and it's all I can do to visit them for a few days every 3-4 years. I lived in Southside for a few years in the '70s but the neighborhood ain't what it once was. Bama is Bushland.

Posted by tom on 2004-09-28 23:22:41
My Score:
hey guys im wondering if theres any hippies here in southern ontario area..cambridge

Posted by chris on 2004-09-23 23:30:38
My Score:
lets toke it up. csbruhne@yahoo.com

Posted by chris on 2004-09-23 23:24:54
My Score:
moving to mobile october 1st. 22/m. looking to meet some "far out" people to hang out with. from oklahoma. just coming for a change of pace and to experience some negative ions. e-mail me. csbruhne@yahoo.com

Posted by Berkeley Bama on 2004-09-22 02:28:17
My Score:
I moved back to my home state this summer, and it's as 'straight' as it ever was! I haven't seen any of my fellow hipsters, but then, I haven't been looking! As far as the Rainbow clan cruising Mt. Cheaha, I've asked around and it seems the locals believe them to be family, but I never knew any of us to come to Alabama year after year. So I will be checking this out and will let you know! What cha gotta remember here is to low-profile yourself; 'specially if ur doing something not quite legal, 'k? I mean, John Law has nothing better to do but look for someone who's too damn obvious, catch my drift? Alabama is a pretty clean state with lots of waterways and forests, camping acreage and hiking paths and I would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to see the outdoors around October; it's beautiful then!!! But if ya come to be rowdy...expect the worst!!!

Posted by shawn on 2004-09-09 18:40:33
My Score:
alabama mostly sucks but it is beautiful and it really just depends on where you live. Tuscaloosa is pretty cool just go to the strip or downtown your bound to meet some alright folks.i wouldny recommend staying to long it will drive you crazy

Posted by candy0987 on 2004-08-30 05:06:40
My Score:
Hey, I just moved to the B-ham area from Montgomery and I'm trying to find out what there is to do in this city. I was wondering if there are any younger hippies like me here. E-mail me at candy0987@hotmail.com

Posted by ashlei on 2004-08-28 18:06:23
My Score:
hey my name is ashlei and i live in DeKalb county in alabama...there are a few hippies here but not many..my boyfriend and i would love to hang out with some hippies that are around our area..sometimes we feel like fish out of water with so few hippies..we live in a very small town. so if there are any hippies out there around north east alabama that would like to hang out please e mail me ashlei2100@yahoo.com

Posted by nonretard on 2004-08-15 14:05:21
My Score:
fucking and smoking pot does not make you a hippie. As for these so-called Rainbow Gatherings in North Alabama, they are just a bunch of people who don't work or take baths and try to live off people who are too stupid to understand what a mooch is. but label yourselves as much as you want. it only reinforces my decision to stay away from people.

Posted by alabamasux on 2004-08-14 03:12:47
My Score:
I dont know what you people call hippies now but I have never seen one in the 5 years Ive lived in mobile or the 10 that Ive lived in alabama. When I think hippy I think of making your own clothes, soap, taking baths outside and dopers. All of these things sound really nice and all if thats what your going for but I know that a fuckin 16 year old kid going to narc-infested phish concerts is definately NOT A HIPPY!! I mean come on man, how did you pay for that ticket? workin the fields?!? If richy-riches living in the very to-do town of Fairhope or mommas boys going to expensive ass cow college in auburn smokin nugs is what all of you are calling hippies then hell, ah-come-on-down-hur because we gots plenty of those!! Every one else is like fuk bama Im moving as soon as I dont have to worry about in-state tuition. Police are harsh, baptists are harsher, and if you have long hair your a doper. If you like stereotypes then alabama is the place for you.

Posted by barefootin on on 2004-08-12 05:07:35
My Score:
Dude, it's not that bad. go to the north and then try and email me back about how much it sucks. Maine is full of a lot more hostile people. shann

Posted by allyson on 2004-07-30 23:37:26
My Score:
alright, i live in alabama, and yes very true, it's a tad on the slow side. there are lots of bible thumpers and closeminded people. however, i live in florence (a university town), it's very small but actually pretty accepting to everyone. as of now there is a large hardcore emo scene but there is also a very large group of i would call semi-hippies. it's a slow small town but a large array of different types of people. peace

Posted by mollymolly on 2004-07-29 06:31:58
My Score:
sweet home alabama......great song but too bad i wont be coming home to you what can i say...alabama isnt the worst place but why anyone would choose to live here blows my mind. the people are mostly either redneck closeminded fucks or "thuggish ruggish" with the exception of a limited hip crowd but everyone i know feels the same as i do...get the hell out as soon as possible. i know a lot of really great people in alabama but i would deffinately not consider it a hippy haven.

Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-28 00:33:59
My Score:
hello there you fairy. do you want to befriend jonny-o. jonny-o needs a special friend. do you fairy girl want a special friend. hahahahhahahhah. i love you ilove youiloveyou. jail sucks. make sure you know how to break out before you get in.

Posted by peacefairy on 2004-07-24 04:36:08
My Score:
jonny-o...you are not a loser man. im sorry that you feel like only "freaks" are attracted to you but i am deffinately one sane moma whoo would love to bust you outa that joint so if you are interested email me at hippiesister5@yahoo.com

Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-20 02:17:05
My Score:
sometimes i really feel like a fucking loser.... you know when i only get e-mail from freaks. how would this make you feel? ok well i am crazy and i have to go back to my cubicle. somebody wanna bust me out of the asylum.

Posted by Dead@20 on 2004-07-14 17:04:57
My Score:
Whoever is reading this and is considering to go to Alabama because they beleive this "great" state is friendly to hippys DONT GO MAN!!!!!this state hates you they're a bunch of bible thumpin closed minded 9-5 "dont take my american dream" bitches. Its just Rednecks and they HATE people like us. I grew up in Alabama (Bawldwin Co) and it was truly the worst expirience of my life, Alabama in my opinion is one of the least hippy friendly places you can live. And heaven forbid you even get busted with a little bit of pot................CUZ YOU'RE GOING STRAIT TO JAIL FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by jonny-o on 2004-07-06 01:08:42
My Score:
hola bitches, it is me again and i am fucking pissed cause none of you fuckers e-mailed me. so pretty please e-mail me. notatruesmoker@hotmail.com

Posted by Kaya on 2004-07-02 22:33:04
My Score:
'Lo I'm a hippy from B'ham and there are some hippies here. B'ham has lots of trees and a few "organic based" communities near here. There's a Waldorf elementary school that all the hippy kids go to. (Used to go to. Now it's more wealthy people and the true hippies can't really afford it.) Some really cool people in Southside but if you go farther out the people are more hostile to difference. Kaya

Posted by hannah on 2004-07-01 02:05:20
My Score:
oh yeah... i live in Auburn so thats kinda close to B'ham. i know some cool people up there. But yeah... i am also a young hippie, 18. Is anyone going to Coventry????? I hope so.

Posted by hannah on 2004-07-01 02:01:28
My Score:
uh... i am living in north carolina right now but will be going back to alabama after the summer so if anyone needs a friend you can contact me at jollyjugler00@yahoo.com

Posted by Hippie on 2004-06-10 20:53:16
My Score:
Lol...yes, I know, but that is my nickname. Anyhow I just wanted to say hey yo all my borthers and sisters out there, and let you all know that i will be back to good ol alabama soon enough, but for the past few years have been kind of screwing around, been out to Kent OH, and all over Cali, and several other places. Anyways, the point is, anybody feel free to write to me @ fellondarkness@yahoo.com or contact me on myspace.com (my name is anthony, or just look for me on eff you see kay s friends list). Well, hope to hear from ya'll!!!

Posted by Sarah on 2004-06-02 00:12:54
My Score:
I love being a young hippie! I'ts the best thing in the world. I've grown up in Alabama and Florida my whole life. I'm looking for some young hippies to help me find a place to stay once I get outta school, if you have anywhere in Alabama contact me at boycrazy_2589@hotmail.com

Posted by JadeRainbow on 2004-02-18 06:32:33
My Score:
I am a younger hippy in Alabama. I actually live in B'ham area yeah its hard to find any but once you do they come out really strong. I don't know about any other areas. I lived in jacksonville, fl for 3 years and pretty much yeah that sucked! But, if any of ya'll are goin to Bonnaroo this year hope I see some of ya'll bama hippies up there. Hope it will be fun. Laters. Rain. (that's muh nick not muh real name above). giggles.

Posted by kate on 2004-02-10 18:45:18
My Score:
hey kate, and i live in england, im here right now. never been to america. v kool hippy page. there aint many hippies in southampton.i have to do a gcse project on hippies in america and thought hippyland was a good place to start researching. i cant think of anything else to say. love kate x x x x

Posted by Joshua Rickly on 2003-11-25 17:10:45
My Score:
hi everybody, I just found this page with my mother's post on it. I did take off for a while, I was actually on the road for a while. 2 weeks turned into months and months. I'm in contact with my Mom, and have been home a few times since I left. I just wanted to post this because I felt like there should be some sort of closure here. Take it easy, Kids. Lovin' you! Josh

Posted by naturalistic1 on 2003-09-08 23:23:23
My Score:
pensacola florida over here,not far from south alabama.the scene here is really starting to grow.if yall come to the glass show this friday(sept 9th),you will meet alot of good people.olde town tavern on the corner of palafox and cervantes underneath the days inn downtown pensacola.i run an open jam there too every sunday night from 10pm till 2am.late night jams.if anyone is coming to pensacola and needs someone to show them around/make some connections,let me know.ive lived here all my life,and i know alot of people.peace love and respect yall

Posted by tripps on 2003-09-01 16:55:56
My Score:
anyone lookin to do a cross country on foot kinda thing post and let me know...

Posted by tripps on 2003-09-01 16:54:11
My Score:
ok, i noticed someone looking for hippies in mobile... fairhope and mobile are huge... widespread panic came and the hippies came out of the woodwork... i am a sixteen yr old hippie in mobile and it is awesome but i'm thinkin bout goin to haight in francisco

Posted by Ashley on 2003-08-31 16:04:00
My Score:
I'm from Gulfport, MS and want to hang out with more people like me. I didn't know Fairhope had it's share of hippies. Sounds cool, though. Anyone willing to show me around, e-mail me at ginchychik@yahoo.com. Peace.

Posted by David Hinkle on 2003-06-23 22:54:14
My Score:
Any "Homewood Park Hippies" who hung out at Homewood Park in the 1970's please e-mail me at Davidh2136@hotmail.com. Thanks!

Posted by vera on 2003-06-06 19:51:30
My Score:
im a hippy chic.. and i live in the suburbs of birmingham. I dont see alot of hippies around here... but id like to meet some.

Posted by samiam on 2003-05-26 04:58:35
My Score:
Im in alabama, there are lots of hippies around, just kinda hidden from the local normal folk! The Auburn and Montgomery scenes are okay, and Mobile is really cool. Tuscaloosa is getting worked over right now, the arent enjoying their party-school status like they were. Huntsville used to have a great free hippie music fest, but its been lame the past few yrs. The locals are getting used to having hippies live among them, there are worse places! Plus we got lots o trees!

Posted by Jessica on 2003-04-07 22:18:03
My Score:
I am in Foley, near Fairhope and Robertsdale. Anyone around here interested in hanging out or something, email me @ sweetincy@hipplanet.com TY! Peace, Love, Light

Posted by HaschischFixer on 2003-03-20 10:57:59
My Score:
he, I'm a german guy. I want to be a real hippie. I try everything to reach that but it's impossible where I live. I travelled a lot in Asia and so I got contact to real comunities. It was wonderfull. But i had to leave soon to get back in the daily boring live at home. When I finished school I want to take action and leave the country to live together with people of my attitude. Can anybody give some advice? Perhaps there are some interesting people in Germany or Europe? If not, I guess I will try to find the real luck on earth in asia forever...!

Posted by jason on 2003-02-23 22:41:54
My Score:
im from mississippi, i would love for you to send me information and directions to all of the communes in north alabama. i have always wanted to live on commune with fellow "true" hippies. i would love to come this summer and stay and possibly relocate. please email me at acidrain@hipplanet.com

Posted by on 2003-02-20 02:51:59
My Score:
Quote: "the people in alabama don''t care what u look like? maybe not where u go, but where i go, if ur different in any way shape or form, they don''t want u there." Amen, that's why I left the state. I used to live within walking distance of Huntingdon College tho Momma

Posted by MammaShaggy on 2003-01-23 19:56:33
My Score:
Peace and love to all of my fellow hippies!! I live in Montgomery, AL and we are loaded with many people who enjoy the herb and love to love one another! Come for a visit and visit Huntingdon College while you are here. You'll definately feel the love here!! May Peace be in your path!

Posted by Haley on 2003-01-19 22:26:33
My Score:
Ok not sure what thing is for didn't read "the instructions". I just wanted to talk to some cool ppl from here. Didn't know AL had any real hippis. Anyone wanna talk to me it'd be awesome...later!

Posted by stacy on 2002-10-20 05:17:54
My Score:
peggy did you find Joshua?

Posted by dreamer on 2002-10-13 02:24:33
My Score:
hey i go to college in B'ham and i would love to meet people...e-mail me at cbkeen@samford.edu

Posted by on 2002-09-09 17:25:17
My Score:
I live about 20 miles East of Birmingham. I do not get out alot because I have two kids. 10 and 8 years old. But I would like to meet new people and make new friends. Anyone hang out in Birmingham? Southside maybe? tray_c72@hotmail.com

Posted by david on 2002-08-29 22:02:29
My Score:
hello all im in bham, just curious to know where all the like minded people are? especially the cute hippy chicks.

Posted by ambersunshine on 2002-08-27 14:01:55
My Score:
Also one more thing,could y'all give me a rough idea where about that most of the hippies are?Id highly appreciate it.Email me please angel_of_fate85@yahoo.com.I would really like live with/around people like myself and me best friend.Thanks. Peace & love!

Posted by ambersunshine on 2002-08-27 13:49:58
My Score:
From what Ive already heard alabama is a great place and my best friend and i wanted to move there.Now we have more of a reason.Thanks!Peace,love,and happiness!;)

Posted by Clay on 2002-07-22 22:35:55
My Score:
Im just looking for any young hippies in the Mobile area.

Posted by christy on 2002-06-29 18:13:43
My Score:
i live in auburn, Al and i wanted to know where the hippies were in Al. i would love to move where my fellow hippes are. my e-mail address is christyt9@juno.com peace & love, christy

Posted by DesertRat on 2002-04-27 16:14:39
My Score:
Any place for ole hippies into green living? Don't have the looks still have the attitude.

Posted by peggy rickly on 2002-04-18 09:00:31
My Score:
my joshua is still gone no infro yet he was last seen headed to mount cheaha in alabama and we miss him so much please contact us if you meet him or see him anyhwhere we just need to know he is ok thanks again red hair blue eyes 5 10" about 150 lbs please call if you have seen him 904-797-6557 or 1904-540-0437

Posted by Rayne on 2002-04-14 17:18:24
My Score:
Hello, I live in Robertsdale, Alabama, it's alright, I wish I could find more people who share my views and things, but maybe one day when I get out of this place, I will!

Posted by PEGGY RICKLY on 2002-04-10 21:53:39
My Score:
MY SON IS MISSING WE LAST SPOKE ON MARCH 20TH AND HE SAID HE WOULD BE HOME IN 2 WEEKS AND HAVEN'T HEARD A WORD FROM IT IS NOT LIKE HIM NOT TO CALL AND I JUST WANT TO KNOW HE IS OK HIS NAME IS JOSHUA DAVID RICKLY AND RED HAIR A BIG TATOO ON BOTH ARMS AND A LION ON HIS BACK. PLEASE CALL IF YOU HAVE SEEN HIM HE WEARS GLASSES AND LOVES TO PLAY GITARS MY NUMBER IS (904)797 6557 CALL COLLECT ANYTIME

Posted by dakotaphish on 2002-03-06 21:36:48
My Score:
the people in alabama don't care what u look like? maybe not where u go, but where i go, if ur different in any way shape or form, they don't want u there.

Posted by liz on 2002-02-23 19:38:03
My Score:
you can expect a new member in a little while!! My friend and i fell like were the only ones...and were 15!! i guess were young but i love ya man!!lol

Posted by old_hippie on 2002-02-10 16:48:54
My Score:
I moved to north east Al. from Pa. in 1972 and all my friends asked what the hell are you moving there with all the redneck. Let me tell you it was one of the best places that i ever lived. There were about 4 to 6 couples and we all lived with out running water and power.we all had our own pleaces. Only 1 couple was from al. the rest of us came from different parts of the country. The best thing about the place were the local people, the older people 60 and over taught us alot about the way we were living, because that the way they lived growing up. Like how to bake bread by the fire place and there nothing like a turkey baked in an old wood cook stove.

Posted by Tom on 2002-01-29 21:50:07
My Score:
I live in Fairhope!! It really does have a culture of its own. Yes happy to say MTV can get ahold of every town!!! Fairhope is a hippy paradise

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-12-31 01:47:56
My Score:
Not in Opelika, Auburn (alothough I havent' been ot Auburn in a while), Layfette and close places! I visit there soemtimes, and there are soem, btu not many hippy people!

Posted by Anonymous on 2001-12-22 16:44:45
My Score:
down a little further south, in fairhope, alabama, the scene is exploding. i remember when there was only a few of us, and new friends keep popping up out of the woodwork. it's wonderful. if anyone's ever in town come check us out. the view of the sunset over the bluff looking out onto the bay is amazing. come share with me!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds