Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Sedona, Arizona

A hippie haven since before the Harmonic Convergence, this little town grew way too big and unfortunately allowed Macdonald's and other chains to destroy the charm. They say the vortexes are still there, humming in the mountains and sacred secret places.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 4186
Language:

  


Posted by hariprem on 2007-02-15 22:48:00
My Score:
hawkeye is now closed. sedona has almost no soul left. be prepared to fight for every inch.. and forget camping or such. It about survival of the sneakyest

Posted by Bushman on 2005-03-22 20:04:30
My Score:
Hawkeye rv park, is the last vestage of the original Sedona, will be a sad day, when they boot everyone to the wind, and build a timeshare in it's place. On that day Sedona will be truly dead. Hail to the greenback, and $3.50 an hour to the aliens.

Posted by Robert Hedges on 2005-03-11 06:14:15
My Score:
I came to Sedona in July of 1991 and lived in and near Hawkeye most of my next 13+ years. I made more friends with Hawkeyeans than any other group in the Sedona area. At the time Bob Maddox (spelling?) owned the place. He treated me with respect in spite of my "status". When Kay left, the place felt even more like home. I hope my camp, just upstream at TRUTH, survived the December 2004 flood. Hello to all of Sedona and especially Hawkeye Park. Sincerely, Robert Hedges

Posted by morning son on 2004-11-10 10:12:21
My Score:
Charles manson was a good con artist...who grew his hair just to fit into the scene at the time. He spent most of his child hood in detentions and then prison. Jesus Christ was a Hippy....

Posted by nigel thistlewaityourturn on 2004-05-11 22:08:35
My Score:
charles manson was a hippy

Posted by rex everything on 2004-05-11 22:06:10
My Score:
hippies suck - the movement is over, it was somewhat cool in the 60's-70's. but lets face it - its over! cut your hair and take a fucking bath. but most of all - realize that you can't just live off everyone else in the world, and unfortunately the "mother" earth is so overpopulated that people can no longer live off it either. put the acid down and read a book if you want to pry open your third eye!

Posted by Bryan Ferguson on 2003-07-09 01:29:36
My Score:
I will give you one of my favorite reasons for visiting Sedona. As a golfer, Sedona, in my opinion has one of the prettiest golf courses in all of the United States. Called Oak Creek Canyon. The views of the lush green grass up against those beautiful red mountains, the sound of water running through the creeks and over small waterfalls near the club house almost make it hard to keep your mind on your game. It amazing that you can enjoy all that sceanery and still finish a round in about four hours. Sedona is and will always be my favorite place in the world.

Posted by greenwolf on 2003-06-27 11:41:23
My Score:
ok...I have visited Sedona several times and although there are some remote places in the area that have some cool people, good hiking and walking, and great energies I don't know if it is worth going to though since you got to put up with the "psychic goo" that has been created here! I felt like I needed a extensive aura bath just driving through the place! I can't imagine living here...yuck! Something seriously wrong happened to Sedona. What a magical place this used to be. It is a shame. So if you go, just be prepared...on all levels.

Posted by crazyquilt on 2003-02-20 17:45:03
My Score:
Sedona..... yes, the vortex still exists if you stay out of the downtown tourist trap which always seemed to me to be about 50 stores with different names and the same mass produced junk (with a few exceptions). there are a lot of neat shops around the courner off schnebly hill road though and the views are amazing.....the hiking a trip and a half. Go down a little farther to places like Jerome and you'll find even more wonderment, and kind hearted people.

Posted by Indaba on 2002-12-24 12:08:47
My Score:
I have lived in Sedona off and on for the past 4 years and everytime it is a little different. Despite it's growth there are a few remanents of peace scattered there. I live at an RV Park (Hawkeye RV Park) located at the north side of what's called Uptown. People come and go and all are welcome, it is an RV Park so it does cost money to stay, but in comparison to other parks it's not bad. We have drum circles, hangout by the campfire, swim in the creek, enjoy community meals and just plain be yourself among friends and family. If anyone ever comes through Sedona stop by Hawkeye and look me up...just ask for the guy that makes the drums.

Posted by Osagewoman on 2002-06-14 21:00:43
My Score:
I stumbled into Sedona back in the early 80's. Such a gorgeous place! I remember some kid stealing a poster off the wall in an ice cream parlor, and the t-shirts that said, 'Sedona My Face'! I'd like to go back, but if it's like the previous reviewer says...why?

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds