Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Berkeley, California

If there is anywhere in California where hippies hang out, it is definitely in Berkeley. This is where a lot (if not most) of the hippy movement began. It is famous for it's protests in the 60's and 70's and even today. I have never been to a place where there are more liberal people in one area in my life, or more marijuana. Students and locals alike share the hippy mentality, just take a walk down Telegraph Ave.!


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 10267
Language:

  


Posted by Katie on 2009-02-19 04:25:12
My Score:
Hey...So my name is Katie, and my roommate, Melissa, and I are headed for California this summer...We want to just be able to settle down in Berkley for a little while. We need a break from classes and just need to slow down, relax and chill out for a while. If anyone can get back to me about places out there to stay...just email me at Khastings004@yahoo.com...Thanks

Posted by ryvre on 2006-03-24 14:42:01
My Score:
i most definitely agree..but i wish i was born in a time when all of that was there, i would give anything to live back there, but then again i believe in making my own history and path in life and trying to bring things to be more peaceful and live in harmony once again. love, music, peace, happiness, equality, nature :)

Posted by Vicki on 2006-03-21 23:53:05
My Score:
People today just don't have the passion that we used to have back then. Peace/Love

Posted by monstre sacre on 2006-02-04 04:54:28
My Score:
Berkeley has been the dream spot for many a California teenager through the years, and if you're young it's a great place to check out. Living there is another story. The more time one spends there the more one realizes how narrow minded and parochial the people are - in their own way they're just as narrow as the ultraconservatives in Orange County. Ultimately - nice place to visit but not to live - especially if you're over 25

Posted by hello on 2006-01-27 11:21:02
My Score:
I have voice as a hippy good for you for suporting them gays, because I suport them too and its Important ok, Gay live in harmony ok, natral, Dress good of it makes your souls feel good Praise the Souls if the tree Hippes we are

Posted by amber duquette on 2005-11-09 16:36:32
My Score:
hi, im just wondering about some more information on berkeley, for I am heading out on a road trip after high school and looking to just set free over there, and get away for awhile, back to somewhere more relaxed than barrie, ontario -- where I from....if you can help me out with this a little more, please email me at broshen_plur@hipplanet.com...thanks:) peace

Posted by asia on 2005-06-22 22:38:30
My Score:
Where are the best head shops in Berkeley?

Posted by day tripper1567 on 2005-06-16 07:42:01
My Score:
Berkley is pretty much the ultimate hippy haven in the bay area. theres TONS of great music a lot of awesome bands to see (a few months ago i saw paul mccartney and man he still rocks!) and talk about the head shops and all the cool pipes and bongs. if you go to the right places some of them will let minors in the back if u wana buy something. if youre a hippy or not id definatley go and visit berkley if your in the bay area.

Posted by Bill on 2005-06-16 07:40:46
My Score:
Berkeley, oh how I miss you. The hippies, the gutterpunks, the legalized marijuana. I'm just a 19 y/o polit-punk, but Berkeley took the best years of my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. Believe me, I've traveled around a bit, and whether it's punks, or hippies, or college students, NO PLACE ON EARTH is as politically aware (and pleasingly liberal) as the Bay Area.

Posted by Shawn on 2005-05-25 19:26:54
My Score:
I currently live outside Baltimore, MD and am looking to move to the outer San Fran area (Berekely, or near Santa Cruz maybe) at the end of this summer but can''t find the right area for the right price on the internet. Studio or 1 bedroom apartment for under $625/mn. I''m the hippie/New Age/Energy Worker sort. Please email me if you know of any sources or good areas to check out! I want to visit CA for a few days in mid-June! Thanks! ShawnMRill@yahoo.com Shawn.

Posted by linda on 2005-03-11 23:35:03
My Score:
HEY, JAMES IN THE RAIN, WHERE ARE YOU STILL IN BERKLEY. I AM STILL IN BALTIMORE, AND WANT TO COME OUT THERE, I MISS THE FAMILY, AND HAVEN'T BEEN TO THE NATIONAL IN 3 YEARS. LOVE TO ALL MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS OUT THERE lindasafley@hotmail.com

Posted by Berkeley_Life on 2004-10-05 06:42:10
My Score:
One of the hippest places on Earth! Look, everyone here gives it a bum rap, but c'mon people! There are so few places that could possibly be any hipper! I grew up here and am still living here, and I've been to alot of places, including quite a bit of America, and it still rocks like theres no tomorrow. San Fran across the bay, Oakland just south, concerts and shows everyday, more green and leafy then you can shake a stick at, and some of the hippest people you'll ever hope to meet. Whatever your desire, you can have it within 30 minutes. I can only think of two places any hipper, and those are Boston and New York. History was made and is being made all over Berkeley. Look around. There's the square where the free speech movement started, thats people's park, and theres a massive head shop! Amoeba is arguably one of the best record stores in exsistence, the Fillmore in S.F. is one of the most famous venues in the world, and the Greek Theater has seen its share of action. If you come to Berkeley, and have a bad time, you just are'nt meeting the right people. The Beautiful People are all over Berkeley, you just gotta know where to look. Subway Guitars, the Berkeley Community Theater, Sather Gate, Telegraph Avenue, People's Park, these are all Berkeley monuments of sorts. So, until you know, don't shite all over it.

Posted by aquarius joey on 2004-01-03 02:27:54
My Score:
Don't go for any of these so-called 'reviews' below. Geez! You're dissin' the one place that actually CARES about preserving what's left of the 'counterculture'. "Hip" as a concept begins and ends in Berkeley. It's the Alpha and Omega of ALTERNATIVE on every possible level. You can't judge it by hanging around Telegraph Avenue! From Musicians to Filmakers, NASA designers to Videogame wizards, Berkeley throbs with unlimited creative energy and the outlets to express them. Poseurs? It's a college town for chrissake! They're ALL posing! Nobody's been teargassed there in YEARS! Think about this: Best record stores on earth. Tons of concerts and movies. Real Head Shops. Cheap and nearly-legal Herbs. Lots of Reggae. World's hippest swap-meet. World Class University. People's Park. KALX (pioneered alternative college radio).San Francisco 20 minutes away. Endless cheap eateries. Free Clinics. And here's the good part: You CAN find JOBS! And if you want to stand on Telegraph wrapped in a blanket jangling a tin cup you can do that too. Berkeley has a way of winnowing out those who don't really fit. Do you enjoy fuming over the morning paper aloud to one and all in noisy coffeehouses? You may be a Berkeleyite! Do you get uptight around people of different races and cultures? Are you only at ease around middle-class working stiff types? You're NOT going to do well here. Dislike Gays? Blacks? Hippies? Punks? You'll really wish you'd kept your ignorant mouth shut after a couple of Lesbian Cops lock your sorry ass up for a hate crime.That's if they even CALL the cops. Actually they may just flatten you on their own. Berkeley denizens (especially street people) can be notoriously contentious when rudely provoked. Remember that Bob Dylan line "The old folk's home at the college"? Well Berkeley will NEVER be that! You will always grow as a person hangin' out in Bezerkeley.

Posted by Rama Starfish on 2003-10-24 11:10:48
My Score:
I frequent Berkeley visiting friends. I don't think it is as cool as everyone wants it to be. Between the crusties and the indie rickers, its fairly difficult to walk through the city w/o being called a poser of some sort. They are just as snobby as the Orange County crowd. However they think its ok for them to act that way because "they have a higher moral value" (as they spit in the street and give every-one dirty looks). I prefer Oakland where nobody cares... At least there, they are real.. Rama Starfish

Posted by danathehippie on 2003-08-07 18:17:51
My Score:
i am looking for the experiences of my parents i know it exists. i am 17 and a hippie chick. i am going on a trip around america to find the real people san fran and berkeley are on the agenda. interested? e-mail me at anarchica04@hotmail.com

Posted by sunweptrose on 2002-11-16 22:23:00
My Score:
I know what it's like to be stuck inside of stockton with those berkeley blues again. Nothin seems to go over very well where the Keystone used to be. I think some of those witches and warlocks cast a spell. Anyway eat at Smart Alecs on Telegraph if you're in the neighborhood. Get the 1/2 salad. you can''t eat a whole one by your self.

Posted by Lil Toad on 2002-11-11 15:59:08
My Score:
Well, i dont have anything to say about berkeley, but. On the coffee beans, im not informed on this protest, but im pretty sure it was concerning Fair Trades.. Im not trying to flood this with my own personal protest but... Coffee is the second largest US import after oil, and the US consumes one-fifth of all the world's coffee, making it the largest consumer in the world. But few Americans realize that agriculture workers in the coffee industry often toil in what can be described as "sweatshops in the fields." Many small coffee farmers receive prices for their coffee that are less than the costs of production, forcing them into a cycle of poverty and debt. Fair Trade for coffee farmers means community development, health, education, and environmental stewardship and enviromental sustainability. People die over coffee everyday. Im just gonna say.. Do some research of your own before you think it was just over coffee.. its the concepts behind the industry.

Posted by sd on 2002-04-23 00:27:05
My Score:
people's park is a great plavce to be. it's on telegraph.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds