Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Humboldt, California

"I Personally Don't Think You Emphasized how Many Hippies And How Much Ganja There really Is Out in Humboldt, Humboldt Is Like One Of The Main Places. We are the center of the "emerald triangle"... need I say more?"


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 11499
Language:

  


Posted by redwood on 2007-01-18 05:30:57
My Score:
econmy is bad. every thing is going outta busissness. Old navy closed. every thing in Old town eureka closed , The tiptop club closed. quiznos subs Closed on broadway. bolloon tracks is taking for ever to clean up to put a new shopping center in. Fortuna was ganna get walmart & they are doing a study to find out the impact but it been 9 monthes and I havent herd the study yet. very bad econmy. Humboldt has so many homelss, fortuna is getting icky. Fortuna is terible. fortuna need change. because the city is lagging behind scedulle. go rite ahead and staybehind but dont for get dont plan for the feature. I say lets build it because the city need the tax more revanue for Sidewalks, Transit funding,, Fortuna had a city council 2005 and asked all the people what they wanted & the people said... More shopping intertainment more restraunts, closer shopping. thats what the wanted & the citys council dosent listen to the people. more jobs & more economy will come. we are the leader in Green house. green house beautyness. fire fortuna city council, u voted them into office & they dont listen to noby.. the new shopping center will look good. more stuff to do. sounds good, look the shopping center isent even there yet, and fortuna has got the most thugs. fortuna dosent look good now.all the private buissneses closed. down town needs new lap poles , flowers a feature. driving all the way to eureka to go shopping is long ways. if u build what people need. then thats fine.I dont know what hippys think about this new plan

Posted by MO on 2006-12-19 18:54:09
My Score:
how much is rent in humbolt? say could an 19 year old girl make it there. even if she is a "little slow" sometimes?

Posted by Hippepost on 2006-11-16 14:04:22
My Score:
hello Humboldt, where are the people gone, its gon quiet for 8 monthes in here, well the new college year began for HSU, and CR, How many people from fortuna comutes Green transit route, I was reading not long ago Riding bikes is good if it get to cold out side take the bus, take your bike on the bus that way u get good exercise. if it gets to cold ride the bus, help save the bad polutions, I know know I like going to the beach and who dosent, if its to cold il ride my bike for 12 minutes u can get far in 12 minutes. lazy some can get, eny body ride the bus, well I moved to Rio dell because they have cheper rent, it only 15 minutes away. Im teaching people who live in humboldt county to ride the bus and ride bikes, to the good faiths, not to bug people, Im only trying to get more people to ride the bus, im sure more people could help get later bus, il tell u this , rio dell scotia are quiet.( dont know if people come and read what I write. Hippy heaven is great chat place to post college bord notes. keep writing hippies, the note down below, write about what ever u want, this is a place where the hippies can be at, dose humboldt have hippies eny more, is the hippies still close by because I kinda thot they all moved away, people arent the same as they use to be, Santa cruz as well

Posted by on 2006-01-20 10:23:44
My Score:
Hippie Peace u guys. Postive and kindness, Dear hippie Help each other, Earthy type people Ok

Posted by on 2006-01-20 10:22:04
My Score:
All my dear Hippys, Do some thing good for the Earth PLant a tree,Rite helpfull positve gerfeety on the wall like perhaps ,in a bathroom take a marker and rite postive things on the wall like maybee rite ((( If u cant say some thing nice then done say eny thing at )))) or another thing u can rite is ((( Help a person))) or (((( rite a poem on the wall))) ok ,Stars Burger resraunt in Arcata has it in the bathroom on the walls and its all positive note ,plant a tree do postive this Bye hippys ((( Hippys earthy type people ))) Love marks and No nagative talk.paint

Posted by Eli on 2006-01-12 00:01:46
My Score:
My chat subect , Post a Subject , Humboldt county Needs longer bus for Foruna,Trinidad,Scotia ,Rio dell, Bus is terrible for Humboldt county, Bus is only late times for Eureka & Arcata ,its Bad ,the people in Rio dell and fortuna are hanging in the dark,Collage county ,Humboldt state University ,& Collage Of the Redwoods Hippy Arcata rule Guys Hippy Humboldt Rules

Posted by collage guy on 2006-01-07 08:38:13
My Score:
Rio dell and fortuna need longer bus hours badly,heres the times deparing from Rio dell going as far as Trinadad ca. Humboldt county wide. Im in need of the longer bus, Im going to Humboldt state university and I live in Rio dell ,scotia, few minutes from fortuna, Rio dell city hall HTA bus (north times)& south times) 6:33 AM 7:27 AM 8:33 AM 10:33 AM 2:33 PM 4:36 PM 6:51 PM ------------------------------ SOUTHBOUND DEPARTURE TIMES 8:05 AM 10:12 AM 1:55 PM 4:13 PM 6:28 PM 7:31PM Bus ends early for all the south and I cant spend eny time in Eureka ,becacsue I have to catch my last bus home 6:32 and man its horible , Rio dell and scotia need late bus for the collage students and it bad for the late time, Well guys I think Trinadad need longer bus too but its ganna take some asking to get it rolling

Posted by Maureen on 2005-12-16 12:14:51
My Score:
My sister, Kristin, a single mom, just moved to Arcata. She does not know anyone and does not have furniture. She needs a small table and two chairs. She does not have a car so it would need to be dropped off. I will send you a check if you can help her out. The table and chairs do not need to be in prime condition. Thanks. MaureenPHood@aol.com

Posted by jordan on 2005-11-17 00:02:49
My Score:
havn't been to the "Triangle" since before it was- Medocino once in 87. Plan on visiting again in spring 06- I was a long haired east coast hippie when I was up there in 72-same person next year-just don't move as well . Can't wait to see the area-the people were nice then hope they still are-Jordan

Posted by Positive Love From the Ke on 2005-11-06 18:51:55
My Score:
Yes, I agree we should walk outside our homes and see what’s out there and move outside our comfort zone..It seems to me that it is more important to speak patiently to the individuals then to scream at the masses Changing conscious is about making conscious decisions…there for..knowing where your food comes from how it is grown and the intentions of the people handling is important. Eating organic is an Action.

Posted by Pigpen's ghost on 2005-11-06 05:56:16
My Score:
yo i was chillin in humboldt and just saw an old man on the side of the road, what a trip. BTW FU monsanto and abel... I gave him a ride and he smoked me up and taught me lesson, a true bodhisatva sp.? Abel and Monsanto you should just get a life. We realize the importance of our finite existence we're just trying to enjoy it without harming others. "Where have all the people gone this morning?"

Posted by Monsanto on 2005-11-06 05:39:01
My Score:
Hippies have taken ideals and manipulated them to be judgemental. It's a sense of self-importance that is cultivated instead of a culture. College is good only as far as it breeds thought.

Posted by Abel on 2005-11-06 05:28:39
My Score:
bob dylan would laugh at you.

Posted by tallgrass on 2005-10-19 15:44:38
My Score:
hey can people sleep in the arcata forest. I am travelling that way and any shit is good shit

Posted by curious karl on 2005-09-05 12:20:00
My Score:
Im looking into gaining some information on the culture and lifestyle in Humboldt County, and I'm also starting to plan a possible vist, just wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions or ideas of where to start, thanks

Posted by reller on 2005-08-17 03:59:55
My Score:
i'm sorry, has anyone just not happened to catch on that to preserve good things they do not need to be posted all over the internet. alas, to those of you complaining about "dirty dread-headed hippies" out-staying their welcome...well, you should only be so lucky to have anyone hang around you too long with your horrible attitude. no, i'm not a visually-expressed hippie, however, much prefer their asthetics to shaven-headed hammerhead-neonazi-skinheads- spreading their ridicuolous word of hate. grow up...please

Posted by jaynez31 on 2005-08-08 01:29:01
My Score:
Folks, that what reason many people go to the Humbldt county drug court, see you there.

Posted by jah on 2005-06-15 11:26:29
My Score:
suck dem nappy humboldt rude boy dreads, humboldt hun.

Posted by humboldt hun on 2005-04-13 22:01:12
My Score:
i have lived in humboldt my whole life, i have also travled aall over the U.S. and i'm proud to say we have the best ganja you wont find any better tasting stuff. But Hippies suck cut those nasty dreads and take a damn shower!!!! And if you come for reggea don'y stay around a few extra months you are not welcome on our streets go home hippies.

Posted by reggae rude boy on 2005-04-04 18:37:53
My Score:
San Diego Band Vegitation will be in arcata! june 24th for one show! six rivers brewery.....humboldt is sweet!!!!!!!

Posted by ivisible one on 2005-02-13 09:21:00
My Score:
whatz with all those faketafarians in arcata? cut ya dreads,you are a disgrace

Posted by Dev-Dev on 2005-01-19 23:56:56
My Score:
love the purp

Posted by Happy on 2005-01-19 23:55:16
My Score:
Humbolt county is the most open place I've seen Ilove the pot and other drugs

Posted by august on 2004-11-18 00:16:57
My Score:
humboldt, like any other "hippy haven", and much of the northwest, is a mixed bag. The county is very much divided between the south and the north, between hicks, hippies, environmentalists (an allied but different breed from the hippy pot-growers) from the back-country speed freaks, and people up there to make money growin' herb pure and simple. A quick history of humboldt: 1. before the hippies = long established cattle rancher families, timber folk and paper mills, fisheries (out of eureka), etc. 2. The scene in the haight becomes unbearable for the freedom folk and they move ever north into Marin, Sonoma, Mendocino, and Humboldt. 3. Someone figures out that Afghan varietals grow perfect in the north california sun and the scene begins. People, mostly hippies in the mid 70s start growing crops in rows, plantation (excuse the expression) style. 4. The region becomes flush with buds and cash, coke heads from the bay area start rippin' off crops, and hunters start to turn people in. Soon growers begin to booby-trap their gardens, place gaurds nearby, and innocent people, mainly hikers in national forests are killed. 5. Enter Regan's war on drugs. CAMP moves in, ganja moves underground and in, under, and on top of the trees, indoors, and in greenhouses. Humboldt gets international fame from High Times, etc. and people flock seeking gold. 6. Add in the environmental situation. Most of the so-called native residents can no longer make a living off timber, due to lack of adequate reserves, regulations, whatever. most mills have closed down. people are out of work. Salmon fishing, once a huge industry, has slowed significantly due to deforestation, and regulations to keep the salmon populations strong. Now people there before the hippies are up in arms against environmentalist trying to protect old growth forests, etc. It is truly a divided community. Nevertheless, because of the decline of industry, almost everyone grows pot, which serves as a social glue of sorts. many also cook meth, and whale gulch, just south of shelter cove, is one of the largest smuggling ports for herion on the west coast. Ok, geographic divisions, Southern Humboldt/Northern Mendocino is the main growing region. Good luck trying to get in there and make it rich now. The community is incredibly close knit and difficult to break into. CAMP (and COMET, now probably defunct, but the infared planes looking for indoor gardens) is so hot that it is truly a pain in the ass to grow anything beyond subsistance. You'd be better off in SF or Oakland. Go up aways, an hour north from Garberville and away from the forested coast areas like notorious Honeydew, and you get back into the hick infested areas of Rio Dell, Scotia, Fortuna, etc. Eureka is a mixed bag, a depressing place. Lots of old school humbodlt residents, fishers, herion addicts, and college kids who couldn't get into Humboldt State or can't afford Arcata. Arcata was cool in the early 90s but much has changed. Probably kind people still, but trendy as well. Look out for survellance at the Co-op and at the square in the center of town. Mc Kinleyville is swaggish, Trinidad is the shit, but incredibly expensive. My suggestion for anyone looking to move to Northern California, try West Sonoma, Mendocino (similar but not as much hype as humboldt), or the area east of Chico (undiscovered hippy haven).

Posted by oag on 2004-10-21 19:14:35
My Score:
I've lived in humboldt a while now, and there is a hell of a lot more to this magical place than "hippies" and drug use. Get out and get active whilst the redwood curtain still stands, and don't think for a second that you can't or won't get busted here! That is just stupid. Cops are cops.

Posted by JOEY MICHAELS on 2004-08-11 03:05:08
My Score:
HERE'S THE CORRECT URL FOR MY WEBSITE-SORRY! http://home.earthlink.net/~jmparlato_aquari/

Posted by JOEY MICHAELS on 2004-08-11 03:03:13
My Score:
Former local DJ & musician Joey Michaels of Albion and beyond has a new website-free music downloads & wild tales- http://home.earthlink.net/~jmparlato_aquari@earthhlink.net Humboldt & Mendocino counties still rule the Northern realm!

Posted by Luvpeace on 2004-01-27 00:19:21
My Score:
Hey! just moved to Fortuna and am looking for some people that want to introduce a newbe to the scene! I luv the outdoors,exploring, and jam bands. I'm going to CR and trying to find a job as a massage therapist! write me at luvpeace84@sbcglobal.net

Posted by amanda the young hippe on 2003-10-29 23:37:27
My Score:
humboldt here i come! i am going to college there, and i am anxious to go home. i have never been there, yet i feel as if i have! love and peace to all...........

Posted by Ben Weasel on 2003-10-07 03:03:48
My Score:
Granted Humboldt has a lax smoking policy. Your review, however, does the area an injustice. Humboldt is more than a haven for smoking "ganja". Please read up before making such comments.

Posted by Andi on 2003-08-10 21:21:41
My Score:
Hi I plan on moving to Humboldt when I graduate highschool. And I was wondering if anyone who lives there or who has lived there previously and maybe even gone to Humboldt state could email and tell me about. I had some questions. its ytlandimoa@yahoo.com Thank You so much..

Posted by zach on 2003-07-20 16:41:56
My Score:
i just moved to humbouldt county, ca, and where i used to live, if you did drugs, everyone just thot u were a loser. here in humbouldt, i drive down the road and see 2 hippies on the side of the road smokin a ganja! i was downtown, a homeless guy passed out from too much drugs, cop came and helped him up, then left. i used to see drug deals in my seventh grade classroom! my teachers would just be like, o dont bring that here. if youre a hippie, come to eureka california, the heart of humbouldt

Posted by sassafras on 2002-07-08 22:17:44
My Score:
I forgot to mention the Kinetic Sculpture Race from Arcata to Ferndale in June. Lots of self-propelled works of art that not only have to roll on the streets but float across a section of the Humboldt Bay. I nearly cracked a rib laughing when I was last there.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where Americas Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds