Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Mt. Shasta, California

"One of the most sacred places on earth. Everyone is so totally kind. The mountain pours out its love and watches over all its inhabitants. It snows for days in the winter, but in the summer I go live in the woods and draw off the healing energies. Another kind thing is that the cops realize that hippies are really laid back and we do a lot for the community and keep it beautiful, therefore we all do well living in harmony."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 5828
Language:

  


Posted by kristin on 2005-12-18 09:12:20
My Score:
hello iam here in arcata ca i have hempy site come check it out www.humboldthempgoods.net

Posted by james dure on 2005-09-16 23:46:24
My Score:
i am interested in free things buffalo_cricket@hotmail.com

Posted by The Snake guy in Colorado on 2005-08-01 03:59:04
My Score:
Hey guitar mike, we miss you, comming to see you soon though.

Posted by Maril Lynne on 2005-05-16 21:59:10
My Score:
Hello Nathan........ After living in Mt Shasta for ten years it would give me pleasure to see a real hippy community. Mostly we have wanna bees who wash their feet in the fountain and beg for money. We still have a strong population of 50's men who love their guns and the right to use them. I am curious did you ever get the Christian hippy comunity going on your property? There is a lot of single women in Shasta that would luv to visit those artists and gardners on their days off. Blessings..........Maril Lynne

Posted by nathan newcomb on 2005-02-02 22:15:34
My Score:
Wanted christian hippie Caretakers to live Free on my debt free land up in siskiyou county near California/Oregan border, seeking artists/Organic Gardners, Single Men who love Nature and desire to retire in a pine covered valley on a Private road, we own 2.6 acres north of Montague,Ca 96064 find the Property at Blue Gill drive Lot 551, know close neighbors, Two Houses are allowed to be built on it, I,m 64 Years old Christian hippy moving to Hemet california in March 1st 2005 I want to find a Christ Brother who,s a Single Christian hippy own is submissive slendar bisexual or Gay Mascline male who likes Building things, has talents in construction, carpentar, art.Music. astronomy, Organic Gardening he maybe Caucasian, no Smoker, non drinker, love living with another guy or alone building Free form Architectural structures like www.yarts.com, www.pacificdomes.com, or like www.hubbellandhubbell.com he is Aids free, on a possible fixed Income, owns his own bus or Rv, I,m Sagittarius Male connect well with "Aries/Sagittarius/Leos/Scorpio/Aquarius/Libras" Build Scrap homes or whatever we can find call me at 1-909-596-5804 in La verne california After March 1st I,ll be moving to Hemet California the Land in Siskiyou county was given to me by a relative Taxes Presently run $90.00 a Year it ncludes Membership in a RV Park, Clubhouse and swimming Pool on The Klamath River in Gold Country you can even have someone live with you when I,m not there or when I come in summers to work on this place write me and give me your mailing address to exchange photos, sases and personal letters

Posted by nathan newcomb on 2005-02-02 22:12:34
My Score:
Wanted christian hippie Caretakers to live Free on my debt free land up in siskiyou county near California/Oregan border, seeking artists/Organic Gardners, Single Men who love Nature and desire to retire in a pine covered valley on a Private road, we own 2.6 acres north of Montague,Ca 96064 find the Property at Blue Gill drive Lot 551, know close neighbors, Two Houses are allowed to be built on it, I,m 64 Years old Christian hippy moving to Hemet california in March 1st 2005 I want to find a Christ Brother who,s a Single Christian hippy own is submissive slendar bisexual or Gay Mascline male who likes Building things, has talents in construction, carpentar, art.Music. astronomy, Organic Gardening he maybe Caucasian, no Smoker, non drinker, love living with another guy or alone building Free form Architectural structures like www.yarts.com, www.pacificdomes.com, or like www.hubbellandhubbell.com he is Aids free, on a possible fixed Income, owns his own bus or Rv, I,m Sagittarius Male connect well with "Aries/Sagittarius/Leos/Scorpio/Aquarius/Libras" Build Scrap homes or whatever we can find call me at 1-909-596-5804 in La verne california After March 1st I,ll be moving to Hemet California the Land in Siskiyou county was given to me by a relative Taxes Presently run $90.00 a Year it ncludes Membership in a RV Park, Clubhouse and swimming Pool on The Klamath River in Gold Country

Posted by irish on 2004-06-20 19:24:30
My Score:
We had a hippy/commune/artist thing going on in the 60's in Mt. Shasta. There were people burning crosses even. Pretty hostile to longhairs in them days. Maybe because we were interracial? Shit, who knows. There were signs in windows of local Mt. Shasta stores: NO HIPPY PATRONAGE. We sorta finally got the hint and left town. Shake the dust off your feet and all that. Funny thing that on the very day we left, there was a film crew up from the Bay Area from a TV station investigating the 'controversy'. Wierd. We didn't know the word was out like that. Of course a town with that much bad vibs is bound to get a rep. Finally, the real paradox about that time/place was it's physical, beauty and that it was a sort of mecca for mystics and such. They were the element that were nice and friendly to us, like for instance the St. Germaine Society.

Posted by irrelevant on 2004-01-29 05:46:12
My Score:
I live in Ashland, Oregon, about 40 minutes away from Mt. Shasta... Not once have i seen a hippy there, although it is a beautiful place in the summer

Posted by Ben on 2002-04-06 22:52:50
My Score:
I have lived in towns even bigger than Mount Shasta, and never had I seen any town its size with so many crystal stores as I had with Mount Shasta. As I was driving in on the old Historic Hwy. 99 in to the town, I totally freaked out when I saw an old, pre-1967 split-window VW Microbus parked, I had not seen any on the road for over 20 years! The only split window VW I seen recently prior to my trip to Mount Shasta was rusting in someone's yard in my hometown, very liberal- and hippie-unfriendly Lakeview, Oregon (located east of the Cascades, which isn't such a cool place to live, because of the rednecks), and that VW was eventually hauled away by the year 2000. My only complaint I have of Mount Shasta (I arrived there on a Saturday) is the seeming lack of old-time hippies who were there back in the 1960s, I seen mostly people under the age of 25, many high school kids, fine if you're of that age range, not so fine if you're looking for someone to discuss the 1960s with, but then I probably arrived at the wrong time. Mount Shasta is also one of the few places I know where their real estate paper advertises homes with alternative energy, like solar and water power energy, many off the power-gridlock. My opion of Mt. Shasta is a bit pre-mature right at the moment, but warning: be sure to have plenty of money if you intend to visit their shops. The crystal stores sell SERIOUS crystals, not these little less-than-one inch quartz crystals either, but up to seven inch long, two inch wide crystals!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds