Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Manitou Springs, Colorado

Located in the mountains at the foot of Pikes Peak. Lots of hippies live here, mainly older ones along with many artists and other cool folks too. Musicians playing on the street is encouraged by the town and every February Manitou Springs host one true hippie Mari Gars called "Carnivale". Do stop by and check out this neat town!


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 4111
Language:

  


Posted by ZRTrooper420 on 2007-06-20 19:24:40
My Score:
I've lived in Manitou for more than two years now and have watched it slowly moving toward becoming an airport gift shop. Manitou is still one of the most beautifull towns in America and most of the locals are great! But, more and more richies are moving in along with condos & new stucco buisnesses. I strongly advise visiting soon before the takeover is complete, this would be a really profitable place to exploit or flip a house as property values will soon increase. Manitou has been such a magical town for so many years it's sad to see all these out-of-towners trying to alter it to thier likeing. Plenty of great resturants, lodgeing & good times left though...

Posted by Jo on 2007-03-09 17:22:01
My Score:
I LOVE Manitou!!! it's such a chill place specially during the summer, you can just walk around to different shops. I live in Monument so its not too far to go and spend a day in Manitou!

Posted by Cheryl on 2006-06-28 21:11:32
My Score:
Hi everybody, I am from Colorado Springs now living in Texas. I have not been in the area for 20 years or so and we are planning a trip in september of this year to come to Manitou Springs because that is one of my favorite places. Would you folks happen to know a great motel, b&b, cabin or any place cozy to hang out, and of course has a decent price tag also? Also places to eat, get a massage, or anything fun going on is our thing. Email Witchy@wildblue.net Thanks, Cheryl

Posted by Raven on 2005-11-19 21:46:37
My Score:
Hey beautiful people. I must say that I have done my share of wandering and Manitou Springs is very high on my places to return. The towns people are so friendly and there is always a welcoming smile coming your way. The spark that comes from this place is amazing. And the natural beauty is breathtaking. There is always a place to hang out whether it is up a trail on Ruxton or at a nearby cafe. The local businesses are hugely community supported when tourists are gone so I recommend keeping them alive. This is a great place... health and wellness abound, artists and musicians lend they're creative talents. Definately a blessing.

Posted by Cherrybomb on 2005-09-15 06:51:26
My Score:
Wow, what a town, cool, quiet, and so beautiful, Yes I want to live here. You have the Garden of the Gods, Oh my, breath taking. Colorado Springs is right down the street. Work there, small town, big break!!!

Posted by Scott on 2005-07-15 08:59:04
My Score:
This place is so awesome. It has a store called the Poppyseed, people should definately check it out it has everything hippie all over it. The town is awesome, hidden, and awesome, its just cool, I live in Monument which is pretty close too it I visit it alot its awesome.

Posted by chelle on 2005-06-27 22:39:10
My Score:
i'm intending on moving to manitou this august...i'd love to be able to start networking (or in my case manifesting) some job and apartment info... my preference is energy work,gems and minerals, aromatherapy and things of that nature... working with children is a very real passion but i'll scrub toilets if necessary to get this ball rolling... any info is very much appreciated... chelle

Posted by runningrock on 2005-01-03 21:34:21
My Score:
hey you guys, I am really looking for somewhere to run to and milk goats and rap with my fern in the old westfalia and i was wondering if Manitou would be right for me. are there any communes around or even a boarding house kinda place. or a barn were i can park the bus. much love my brothers and sisters i hope to hear back. about manitou or anywere else that i can get to by road. love and peace

Posted by Guy on 2004-06-25 20:14:02
My Score:
Manitou is more than just a neat, laid back town. There is something spiritual coming from the deep spring water that you can drink free at the fountain in town to the creek washing through the center of town. Manitou has no corporate chains (I know of). There are a few restaurants there (e.g., Adams Mtn Cafe and Organic Earth Cafe). You do have your traditional tourist trap shops, but there are some excellent local craftsmen worked in as well. Take an evening stroll up Ruxton, and take a deep breath--saves time rolling your own. If there is a down side its that there appears to be the "yuppie" element grabbing up the old houses (and for good reason) on the hills over the town. Still, some of those old houses are great just to walk around.

Posted by Mountain Mama on 2003-01-28 13:28:44
My Score:
WoW! Manitou is a very beautifully cultured town nestled in the foot hills. It is mostly a slowed paced town, but if your willing to adventure into the woods there are lots of great things to see. My only complaint is not of Manitou but of Colorado Springs (which is VERY close to Manitou). Focus On The Family and a score of military bases reside in CS. But dont let that scare you away... there are many spiritually beautiful folks here and lots of awesome drum circles!!! You just have to soak into the scene and then you will feel right at home!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds