Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Nederland, Colorado

17 miles west, up the canyon from Boulder. This town has old to young hippies from all over the country. Very awesome music scene for a little mountain town (Leftover Salmon, etc...). "Majical place." "Very kind in many ways."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 7740
Language:

  


Posted by val on 2006-10-28 07:33:16
My Score:
l was a runaway l3 year old when l happened upon the STP family in the mountains....l was enlighted that STP was NOT motor oil....lm 49 now and l still remember my times there....val

Posted by Roadawg on 2006-06-07 23:55:24
My Score:
Man, if you are from California, don't even think about letting it be known when you are in Colorado. They hate us! I wish I had a dollar for every time I got flipped off for having California plates. It would have paid for my gas to get out of there. Folks in Nederland were cool to me though.........Peace.

Posted by Bob on 2006-05-18 22:27:38
My Score:
Don't like Colorado? Don't come! Rednecks, shitty people, stupid people, etc, etc? Stay the fuck out. Rocky Mountain Flats (try Rocky Flats)? You're too stupid to even know what cause your campaigning for. Post something useful or shut the fuck up.

Posted by Stean on 2006-02-04 07:12:12
My Score:
Fuck, Colorado in general. Loads of selfish shitty drivers, proud native propaganda. Judgemental hicks..stupid airforce academy dummys..people get married here @19 have bad relationships yadda yadda yadda. I'm moving ...anywhere but here.

Posted by wolfdog on 2006-01-12 17:35:59
My Score:
Cops don't like hippies - very expensive place to live, houses are 300 k and up - locals will drive you out if you camp - may get your ass kicked in local bars - nice views - not hippie friendly.

Posted by star on 2005-12-20 04:31:03
My Score:
town is changing, more conservative, aggressive cops

Posted by Wordsmith on 2005-11-22 21:19:30
My Score:
Ned's a great place to camp. The best places are behind the high school. There's a foot path leading up the mountain, and one doesn't have to hike too far to get to the good sites. Just be carefull not to camp on someone's land...unless you have permission! W : ) PS And please don't litter!!!

Posted by scootertrampphoto on 2005-08-14 20:25:24
My Score:
I lived in Nederlands in the 60s & early 70s. I had the best times of my life there. Now I am trying to get reconnected with any of the STP Family that may read this.

Posted by shell on 2005-07-28 00:17:26
My Score:
I just wanted to tell everyone what a wonderful place Nederland, Colo. is to visit. Campsites in Colorado are in large abundance, People that have problems are generally those that do not wish to pay a couple of bucks. They are usually the ones that leave their trash, sort-of marking their territory. I cannot blame the local people that do not care for squatters on their private property. Nederland has a great little lake to fish, neet little downtown, a wonderful italian restaurant...and a museum quality rock shop for all those rock hounds out there...wish you well, shell

Posted by TXDUMBO on 2005-07-24 01:15:24
My Score:
RE: Nederland - Go there, but be careful about camping! Just because land is remote and unoccupied does not mean it's OK to camp there. It may be privately owned or forest service land: posters who have griped about being run off have to understand that (especially during times of heat and drought) the locals are VERY concerned about forest fires! I doubt there are many rednecks left there: they have been replaced by mountain suburbanites. There are park system camping areas nearby. I think there are also legal campng spots near Ward (a town of old but not necessarily friendly hippies.)

Posted by Hater! on 2005-05-27 20:08:27
My Score:
Wow! I cannot believe the people that have posted comments to this site. Talk about hasty generalization! First, who likes stinky, smelly bums that ask for change all the time? Second, your fricken everywhere, like a virus you keep spreading. Third, get a life...Half of you are millionares that want to be something your not! Damn trustafarians!

Posted by funkypattersonmama on 2005-04-11 22:24:14
My Score:
I camped outside of Nederland in National Forest with my man and our dog for several days last summer. We had a great time. We walked around Nederland every day. They have a awesome rock shop, some of the best prices we have seen. We got smiles everywhere we went, no bad energy, no rednecks, no GHOSTS! , just beautiful mountains and beautiful people.

Posted by cassidylaugh on 2005-01-30 01:04:35
My Score:
Ned's a great town, but don't be stupid and camp on someone's land. be sure it's true national forest before settin' up. The music scene is amazing, and there's nothing but *kind* abound. The high prices of land and homes pretty much got rid of the damn rednecks since 2001-2002 and pushed them south into Gilpin County. The only beer-soaked folks I see day to day are hippies enjoying the music scene. This is probably the most wonderful town I've ever encountered through many years of travel. peace.

Posted by LINDA SAFLEY on 2005-01-23 21:52:48
My Score:
I AM PLANNING TO VISIT THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN PEACE & JUSTICE COALITION, IN THE SPRING, IS THERE ANY PLACE TO STAY NEAR BOULDER, CO. THERE ARE DEFINITLY ISSUES THAT NEED TO BE ADDRESS IN CO. ONE THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN FLATS, WHAT IS BEING DONE ABOUT CLEAN-UP OF NUCLEAR SITE. I AM SURELY GOING TO VISIT RAINBOW FAMILY, WHEN I COME OUT THERE. CONTACT ME. 410-243-6535. I AM GOING TO GO TO THE OCALA GATHERING IN FEBUARY 14TH. I NEED TO GET BACK TO THE FAMILY. LOVE YA'S ALL. LOVE LINDA!

Posted by colorado born on 2004-12-29 07:05:36
My Score:
colorado is good land and ignorant people.

Posted by Chris on 2004-09-30 22:36:06
My Score:
Ned has red flaged the homeland task force meters and they have steped up police nazi force massavely. their is good camping to the north lots of hippies and always kitchens in the summer. Be careful of camping in Magnolia it is haunted their is usally fights and bad energy. Their is still good hippy hang outs to the north at 40.

Posted by Gary on 2004-09-14 16:47:24
My Score:
Nederland ? Hippy Haven ? Do your home work. This is the town that is well known for the Sheriff who drove a hippie out of town in his car, took him to a remote area, shot him and dumped him down a mine shaft. He got away with it for 25 yrs. until a week before he died when he confessed to the murder. It is well documented. This town should not even be on the list! What about the beer soaked local rednecks who strung a logging chain between two pick-ups and took out a hippie camp in the middle of the night?

Posted by Zig-Zag on 2004-09-14 06:20:11
My Score:
I visited Nederland this summer and tried to camp near town. The cops showed up busted me and took my dog and my stash. I got flipped off twice while hitchhiking down to Boulder to get my dog back and someone yell'ed f - you hippie! I got back to my camp and some ATV's had patched out on top of my tent and crushed it and scatterd my stuff. The cops in Nederland will bust you just for having dreads and your thumb out. I headed north to Ward. It was a lot more peacefull and loving man. If you go there don't go to Nederland, go to Ward. That's my advice. Peace

Posted by bryan on 2004-07-21 17:24:57
My Score:
very pot friendly atmosphere,told there are a plethera of marijuana growers in this area,lots of hi quality bud is avalible,police are on to the plan but are hick types so investigations are few and farbetween,nasty bluegrass music,ick.......and lots of great foods,tons of recreation ,.....dont speed thru or ull get a ticket 4 sure..

Posted by BleuMountainMama on 2003-02-01 18:16:47
My Score:
I love Ned, it's so beautiful there. You can see the Continental Divide and breathe in fresh mountain air, good music, and good food. I absolutely fell in love with it when I first moved out here. Which was just last year. The only thing is that I find it hard to get in with your kin. I don't understand that. We are all here for the mountains and the beauty and for Colorado's great music scene and the people right?? So why is it that you have seen this person for a year and they have never said a word? Not everyone is like that of course, but there is a core group that is. It's not a huge town but everyone seems to know everyone. I only feel there may be a little snobiness or something along those lines there. That is my own experience. But I still love the town, and visit often.

Posted by jimrthy on 2002-11-10 18:19:33
My Score:
I lived there until early this year, and I loved it. I've heard there's been a regime change. The cops have (reportedly) started cracking down on things like "vagrancy" and hitching. So maybe not as good as it was a year ago (though still probably a lot better than, say, Boulder).

Posted by leslie on 2002-05-24 00:50:18
My Score:
amazing nepalese restaurant in nederland with buffet style serving until the afternoon, the best chai i have ever had. inexpensive, great people, and this town has some norweigan guy's grandfather stored on ice in a tuff shed somewhere...northern exposure atmosphere without the actors. the town does seem to eventually harass if you linger too long. but the waterfalls in nearby mountains almost make up for the acts of insular townfolk.

Posted by Chris on 2002-05-23 11:31:09
My Score:
The town is fine...cool people but man did we get messed with camping! We moved twice in one weekend and both times people harrassed us at night. We were even in national forest off Magnolia and then North of Ned on 72. People were throwing rocks at our tent and even shooting through the woods. It was a bad scene. We finally packed up and left around 2 in the morning. Watch out!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds