Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Paonia, Colorado

This is a Hippie Haven from way back. In fact all of the hippies in Boulder that didn't become wealthy yuppies (and some that did) are now in Paonia and have been for quite some time. Paonia is on the western slope of Colorado. It still is an affordable place to live for hippies, unlike Boulder. We even have a person in the next town over, Hotchkiss, who is named Hippy Lereaux (quite an infamous character, a real outlaw).


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 7176
Language:

  


Posted by hailey on 2007-01-05 08:03:23
My Score:
ive lived here all of my life. to me paonia is a shithole. if you like to keep your personal life to yourself dont move here because everyone will know everything about you., paonia is so dramatic. and i like the hippies because they smoke me the fuck out. have fun party hard. PEACE OUT!!!!

Posted by *shakeshead* on 2006-06-29 04:25:22
My Score:
Like most forums...more rudeness, little information, a great deal of bigotry (from both sides I might add). Though an unwillingness to accept change is understandable.......Boulder, though still alright, is being eaten by money, Paonia goes from a sleepy family town to something more of a fusion of left/ right cultures(some may say something derogatory here as well)......one thing that doesn't change......embracing hate as a response for those who are not like you by Christians and "hippies" that say they don't believe in hate.

Posted by Joe Bobb on 2006-01-13 23:46:30
My Score:
Peonia is a shitbox.

Posted by scarlet begonias on 2005-12-14 18:55:23
My Score:
Hey everyone you guys should respond to me and we can see how many people on here accualaly are from Paonia. WRITE ME

Posted by Scarlet begonia's on 2005-12-09 16:58:50
My Score:
I live in Paonia and I personally think that the hippies are a huge part of the community. Isnt this a hippy website why isnt anyone chill. Everyone is soo hostile and stiff, lets all smoke a bowl and suck on some shrooms and I ll pull out the bong and well all become friends. So please chill out I think that we can all get along and stop dissin on everyone, If you dont like hippies then dont live in paonia or come to hippyland unless your gin to be nice. PEACE OUT

Posted by Stymie on 2005-11-01 21:39:20
My Score:
You guys are really funny. All mad at each other and swearing about how preppy one side is or hippish(hey I made up a word!) the other is. Get a grip, your being more bitchy than a gaggle of high school girls.

Posted by seth on 2005-09-13 06:00:25
My Score:
i've never been to this town, but i live in loveland and have been considering camping in Paonia. It seems like a lot of angry people have posted here. Look I just want to get stoned and enjoy every day of my life. I work hard so I can play on the weekend. I just want to pitch a tent and be around people that can relax. I don't want to traffic pot or get anyone high against their will, but anyone is more then welcome to take a drag with me. any suggestions on where I can camp in Paonia. Where can I hear some chill music and enjoy these beaautiful mountains. Peace to all and God bless...

Posted by C on 2005-09-05 08:54:33
My Score:
Beautiful dobie area south of Paonia near refuse transfer station - perfect for hippies or squatters. Statistically, the residents of Boulder, CO are the most educated people in the nation, per capita, holding masters degrees and above. From my observation, the majority of the so called "hippies" residing or should one say squatting in the town of Paonia are definitely not bringing Paonia any closer to Boulder's statistics at all. Therefore my reccomendation to anyone with any formal education whatsoever who wishes to flaunt about in dreadlocks exibiting unsightly female underarm hair or wishes to just act as a tree hugging hypocritical nonconformist is to consider Boulder in lieu of Paonia. SAVE YOURSELF FROM BECOMING ANOTHER TRANSIENT TRYING TO FIT IN. I am aware of very few of these "hippies" who actually OWN any real property in Paonia at all. Please! Have mercy on this once predominantly Christian hard-working family town. Thank you for allowing me to quote a statistic and express my sincere opinion.

Posted by wb on 2005-06-15 11:48:36
My Score:
i think s stewart forgot that she was born naked

Posted by Leo on 2005-04-26 16:11:44
My Score:
Paonia is nice, if you like Paonia check out Crestone Co. amazing little town. Nestled up by the Great Sand Dunes...

Posted by burt the yellow kiwi on 2005-04-20 19:20:58
My Score:
wow, I just moved to Colorado Springs and can't believe the lack of places to meet easy going people who aren't into material things. any suggestions on good places feel free to tell.

Posted by Innocent bystander on 2005-03-22 16:51:23
My Score:
Holy Jesus, where is the moderator for this forum? I just "Googled" Paonia, stumbled upon this little "chat", and what do ya know but no one knows how to spell and everyone is mad at each other. Thank you, everyone for the laughs!

Posted by josh on 2004-12-27 04:03:30
My Score:
i take it back... i wouldnt want you even if you are a chik because i hate conceited broads.

Posted by professor griffin on 2004-12-27 04:02:19
My Score:
the problem with clothes and people is that sure, they are good for warmth... but when the weather changes people tend to forget that they dont need them all the time...it definitely shouldnt be illegal to go naked. i mean if clothes are there to serve a functional purpose and we are required to wear them even when its hot out...

Posted by joshhannum@hotmail.com on 2004-12-27 03:59:02
My Score:
Dear S stewart... You didnt say what the s stands for. If its sarah then maybe i do want a piece. if its steve or sean or stu i dont think so. if i "saw you?" man you redkneck coloradans are making less and less sense daily...

Posted by S Stewart on 2004-12-23 01:05:59
My Score:
Hey Josh! You don't even know me, if you saw me you'd want a peice of this so I would shut it untill you know what you're talking about!

Posted by Michaela Rivers on 2004-12-21 05:04:57
My Score:
Having the right to choose whether or not to wear shoes or clothes IS free, telling people they cant do one or the other is disgusting.

Posted by josh on 2004-12-21 05:03:38
My Score:
Dear S. stewart, its only disgusting when the peerson doing it is fat, smelly, or ugly. Like You.

Posted by S. Stewart on 2004-12-21 00:24:26
My Score:
Oh yeah, You can live free. I am liveing free, every one is. Running around naked and with out shoes isn't free, it's disgusting! Get over yourself!

Posted by S. Stewart on 2004-12-21 00:17:36
My Score:
Yes Dan!!! I completely agree!!! Dam hippies are making this town pretty shitty. They do spread like nasty fungis, literally. Your just telling it like it is, way to speak the truth! good for you.

Posted by ida on 2004-12-21 00:13:27
My Score:
Yes, paonia does have it's share off hippies but equally as many normal people. That must have slipped your mind. There is a great high school basketball team and great volleyball team. There are many non hippie events and non hippie people. Hippies and stoners are frowned apon here. Watch what you say about or precious town. People like you have made it the way you say it is. There are many people who work hard here and do alot to keep it a nice town. It isn't expensive because people would like to keep it nice and not a expensive, hard to live in town. Every one knows each other here, it's nice.

Posted by joshhannum@hotmail.com on 2004-12-05 02:30:17
My Score:
Dear Dan Labounty, you redneck, indian - envying peice of small dick shit. if you have a problem with people who want to live free you can lick my ass till dawn, but youll probably have to stop then so you can go push some buttons on the cow slaughtering machines. You fucking pussy ass cowboy. Youll never be a coloradan because you never touch colorados dirt, youre always hiding in that ford f150. stay at the rodeo, bitch. Oh and if you want to frilly frog go ahead and drop me a line. We'll meet up.

Posted by dan labounty on 2004-11-28 18:14:00
My Score:
i am a paonia local, and five years ago the hippies were just a few faget pieces of shit. now their like a fucking fungis that is going to fuck over the hole fucking country. Fuck you dick sucking pussy

Posted by Hannah on 2004-06-09 00:43:47
My Score:
I live in Paonia and have for most of my life, and I don't think that you were being fair to the town. Although there are quite a few hippies here, our town is not over run by them.

Posted by mike on 2002-09-07 14:17:43
My Score:
I would love to live in Paonia,what does one need to do to live here? Are there financial restrictions, can one make things and sell them there?

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds