Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Orlando, Florida

"Gainesville is not all the bomb that you say it is. it is not the "hippy capital" of phlorida. there are kydz there cause there is a college. that's it. just a college. if there were no college, the town would be non-existent. there are some nice kydz there, but no family. they have some good shows maybe once a month. i live in Orlando. it is mofuckin awesome! i have lived in many places and for about 6 mos. in different places in phlorida.

The "hippy capital" is definitely St. Augustine. SUCH A fabulous family!! there's a beach, there's plenty of places to sell crafts on the street all year round. there's tons of cool shit like an old fort that you can trip around in and plenty of kynd folks. not much of a nightlife unfortunately. They never have big name bands. Orlando on the other hand is a mecca. we get awesome shows here pretty regularly. we've got the house of blues, we've got a university, we're an hour from the beach, an hour from Daytona Beach, not much further from Gainesville, a little less from St. Augustine. we've got the big ekon river. two drum circles every week. we've got the Orlando family. we've got the hippy hole."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 4590
Language:

  


Posted by Gypsy on 2007-02-18 02:52:34
My Score:
As a native floridian and a child of the 60's i can say this place sucks since the mouse moved in in '72. there may be some genuine people here, but we are far between, the gaps filled by immigrants, tourists, plastic yuppies; i don't even want to go on - - listing the sh*t makes me sick. Now that I've found this board, I'll return & list me email addy so any real/genuine peaceloving meditators (or aspirants) who want to eat healthy, take care of our bodies, minds, souls, the earth, etc etc, can contact me. I've managed to keep my Self through all the sick changes here; perhaps there is at least one other kindred spirit in the vicinity. Not the "dreamcather earrings & find your spirit guide" set, but a genuine, real, dare i say (at least pertially:>) enlightened being who remembers and endeavors to live the life we claimed as ours in those days. Here is a piece of my writing; a poem I made in response the the surge in nationalism after the 9-11 atack. It's dated 10.30.01 Where are all my brothers from the 60’s Where have all my sisters gone from those days, too The machine’s still makin’ war Just like in the days of yore I’m still marching ‘gainst the killing Where are you? Calling all my fam’ly from the 60’s Have you sold out to the system through the course? While the stripes now and the stars Are flyin’ from the cars My peace flag is still waving Where is yours? Are you driving home from corporate in your $40K SUV? Are you watching the bombs bursting on primetime news TV? Do you feel some sense of justice when you see the death and flames? Were you really never with us or have you forgotten somehow; changed? We spat upon the war pigs in the 60’s We protested the politics of fools Our voices clear, our stance then strong; unwavering What’s happened now? Is killing somehow cool? My brothers and my sisters from the 60’s Abandon not that which you then stood for It’s true it’s 40 years now since the 60’s But there’s still no glory EVER found in war . . . Sooooooooo, if anyone is still reading, and can fathom my point-of-view and might have some interest in finding out who I am and sharing your Self with someone who knows, post a comment in reply. I'll be happy to give you my email addy. Peace, gypsy

Posted by Beachmama on 2006-10-28 14:35:27
My Score:
I was born and raised in O-Town and it's no place for hippies like myself, that's why I'm lookin' for a place myself.

Posted by dutchrider on 2006-10-26 18:02:01
My Score:
it was great pre disneyworldjust there in may way to crowded

Posted by nagchampa on 2006-02-17 15:57:04
My Score:
i dont know who would ever consider borlando as hip. it sucks here.sarasota is much hipper. im stuck here in orlando and it is cold,and heartless. i hate this hole

Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-10-12 17:25:05
My Score:
orlando? this is no hippy haven. who says it is? there is nothing about orlando that is either hip or haven. id say more like yuppie haven. /the sickos

Posted by funknjam on 2005-08-05 18:20:46
My Score:
You lookin' for a kind community in central florida filled with music-heads? Come be a part of the ever-expanding central FL music family known as FunknJam. Add a dot com and you're there! Paz y musica (that's peace and music ya'll) Dale

Posted by Heidi on 2004-07-27 06:03:27
My Score:
I have lived in Orlando for 4 years. Some of the places here are pretty interesting. Mostly it is just families coming to Disney and people in Kissimmee selling drugs. If you don't speak Spanish, it can be difficult. I would rather live near the beach. I believe in the hippie lifestyle of speaking one's mind and appreciating nature. That maakes it hard to live here because every day there is a new 7 11 being built or a new suburb for the rich people from New Jersey who insult the south yet choose to call it their home.

Posted by isa on 2004-07-05 20:33:35
My Score:
hip thing to do in central florida -take a canoe around one of the springs. florida has such beautifully lush nature -beaches semi nearby. semi-accepted nude beach past new smyrna. no dogs or camping. -lots of ism -lots of music compared to some places, less compared to others. a lot of cool acts though, deliberately avoid florida. -some cool shops. not really old and funky, but, supplies are available. - weather. you won't freeze your ass off very often, but be prepared to sweat and burn. very humid. bad points -not a real nice vibe here. -the scene is very split and clicky -it is a tourist destination, bringing all that entails -not a lot of cool gatherings -the law. we had people at a dead show tear gassed here, farm broken up, rainbow roadblocks and cops walking around taking pictures of people, etc. all in all. if you are a "hippy" who wants a place to get strung out and blow your money, you'd fit right in. if you are looking for a place where people are getting together to make the world a better place, keep moving on friend.

Posted by KyndaKidz on 2004-03-02 05:14:23
My Score:
You gotta know where to go in O-town. Anywhere Kynda, Bluelegs, or Funkus is playing, is a good start. Many kynd folks down here. Just gotta poke around...

Posted by squeaks on 2004-03-01 09:32:39
My Score:
i live in orlando, and i would love to know where these drum circles are.

Posted by carmen on 2004-01-08 01:47:35
My Score:
i have lived in the cocoa beach area for about 3 years. I cant seem to find any culture at all. I am a musican and artist trying to find others that are in to the same. All i seem to find around here is punk rockers and nowhere to sell my art. any suggestions? email me at darkdarkstar78@aol.com

Posted by luna99 on 2003-09-02 21:17:23
My Score:
I lived in orlando for close to two years and as much as I was looking forward to moving there, I have to say, I hated it. The only people I met while living there were very "fake" people all about the music pop biz and tryin to tell me bout the next video they were making or band they were opening up for. The music scene is pretty cool, what with house of blues and other places, but it's not worth the type of people you have to put up with living there. Also, cause it's a tourist town, a lot of people come and go quickly, making it hard to make REAL friends. Most people I met would act like they were your friends if you were out somewhere, then the next day if they saw you out they would act as if they didn't know you. I'm so glad I moved. Orlando is a cool place to visit, but not to live. (at least for me)

Posted by GypsyFaith on 2003-06-04 15:30:30
My Score:
I live in Orlando and am in desperate need of a drum circle where and when can I find it? That is if it is still going on. I will remain hopefull. :-)

Posted by Daisy Ramirez on 2002-12-09 23:01:37
My Score:
just a heads up on the St. Augstine situation. i have lived here in st aug since 1984 and well, shit has changed honey, gone are the days of street preformers, and street vendors, you will get arrested for doing either one on st. george st. anyways, still a beautiful place fairly small and still undiscovered. lots of heads hidden out all over st. aug. goregous beaches, beautiful weather. a drum circle every thursday at the libary on san marco aenue. reggae sunday allways jams out in the summer time up on the beach too. my email is zionschild@meowmail.com kids feel free to email me for a place to kick it wile your here. no ned to sleep out in the cold &hungry. hugs&nugs -daisy

Posted by KarmaMama on 2002-05-31 18:43:53
My Score:
Hi, if anyone happens to know anyone who was part of any communes in the seventies that goes by the name of Jacqueline Hiebert-Beuregarde-Christensen (perhaps also add Allan) please let me know My friend David is looking for her. She married him in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada and he wishes to annul the marriage so he can marry someone else legally. Thanks

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where Americas Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds