Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Atlanta, Georgia

"There is a certain area in Atlanta that is known as Midtown which houses an area known as Little Five Points. This is truly the hippie haven of the south - or at least Georgia. In this little portion of town there are many body art and vintage shops, including a favorite of the locals called Groovy Girls. Other odds and ends are sold around here such as African drums, futons, and crystals. .

Just like the goods that are sold here, the people are an assorted mixture as well. New age Flower Children, aging Flower Children, skateboarders, and Rastafarians line the streets daily. Drum circles are common practices here. Little Five Points and the nearby Piedmont Park also host the Pot Festival every year."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 11725
Language:

  


Posted by kathy in the country on 2007-02-07 16:25:40
My Score:
Yeah, Terry, I remember the old strip. My friend and I were saying yesterday we think the old Krystal is the only thing left. Is that the only landmark you can use to figure out where it used to be. It was right at Ponce and Peachtree, right? A past black panther told me about the night the strip died, that the cops threw someone into the road and they got hit by a car, a near-riot ensued and nobody had the heart for it anymore. Anyone confirm this? I agree about the L5P being yuppified. Looks like the Haight in cisco now.

Posted by Karen on 2006-01-04 14:37:52
My Score:
Little Five Points is not in Midtown, but Piedmont Park is. Little Five Points is due east of downtown, going toward Decatur. Find The Carter Center on the map and you are almost there -- the key intersections are Moreland, McLendon and Euclid. It may seem a minor point, but with traffic being what it is in Atlanta, you don't want to spend time driving around Midtown looking for L5P, cause it's not there!

Posted by Dave(tiresmoker@gmail.com on 2005-10-18 09:17:10
My Score:
I think someone was puttin you on, most everyone who hangs out at the landtrust drum circles smokes pot and trips acid and shrooms. Never really remember any drinkin though. Theres a nice stage for performances and such. Dont forget to checkout the bulletin board on the way out, its usually pretty interesting. I recently revisited the place and was very disheartened by all the construction and developement the residents have done. Especially all the fences closing off areas that in the past were free to roam. It was much better when it was an open, park like refuge. Now its just like everywhere else. In fact it looks now like just a bunch of backyards. The sense of community erodes when residents start fencing in their own private little areas. It used to be this wonderful open area, now its like this little trail in between the fences with a few animals fenced in here and there. From what I was told, there are very few of the hippie type folks still in the surounding houses. It now costs a fortune to live in that neighborhood, so I wouldnt be surprised if yuppies and such now live in some of them. I almost cried when I saw what has become of L5P. Seriously. Back in the early 90s it WAS the hippie counterculture mecca of the south, trust me. The RAINBOW FAMILY used to use L5P as a midpoint stop/gathering place on their mass migrations to and from major gatherings;mainly in FLA and Kentucky. And they were always welcome by all, There were even council sanctioned mini-gatherings at that park down euclid,what is it,peace park? The city of ATL knew very well what was going on and absolutely could not have people from all over the world see this side of their fine city. So it was systematically castrated along with a HUGE police crackdown campaign for the coming olympics. Now its a trendy shopping mecca for area women of all types, and a frat guy/yuppie party place at night at the new bar that used to be the coffehouse on the corner, and directly across the street at what used to be Good ol Days. Some things I remember: There was a great big dormant lumberyard right up from peace park on what I think was Highland ave? And the family that lived there used to let them (OK, I admit) I mean us, take showers in their shower on the side of the building. Just absolute HEAVEN for people who live (not camp, live) in the woods. Later on(right after WACO) that place was taken over by several locals and renamed 'The Compound'. On certain Wednesdays of the month, they had these HUGE partys that you could pay a couple bucks to attend and drink all the low-grade keg beer that you wanted. All the local area bands wanted to play there and if you lived in the area and had a pulse, you knew about these partys. Some of the people who lived in there were: Kenny (KB), Thor, Rick, Laddy, etc. Who remembers the big boycot/protest against the Texaco across from the square? Its not even a texaco anymore. How bout the little 5 points mafia? (undercovers) That L5p pizza you speak of was(is) the original first Fellinis pizza, Chris Robinson from the black crowes used to work there in the OLD days, before he was a rich star. How bout that guy who owned the wolf trading Indian jewlery store across the street who was ALWAYS snitching on people on the park! Rest in Peace Little Five Points You are gone but never forgotten

Posted by Benther Dondat on 2005-08-23 04:12:59
My Score:
For anyone on a journey of self discovery undaunted by the prejudice of expectations walk or run (don’t drive) to the exact center of the known universe affectionately known as the Lake Claire Community Land Trust. A magical garden arisen from a kudzu covered garbage dump and now a place and an opportunity for friends and neighbors to celebrate nature and community. One mile from the bohemian ghetto of Little Five Points amongst ancient trees that protect and embrace this wondrous garden oasis. Not for the pseudo hippy wanabes distracted by persistent search for conformity but for the spiritual seekers that have glimpsed the mind’s eye and are seeking to awaken to the heart of the spiritual I and to gaze unblinking at the nature of being…human. Not funded by government or corporate grants nor maintained or managed by executives or bureaucrats but lovingly tended by the gentle hearts of friends and neighbors. Spectacular drum circles every 1st and 3rd Saturday night. Strict NO drug or alcohol policy. You will be asked to leave if you are observed with either. Occasional music fests. Must like reptiles, very large birds and peace and love. All others are advised to avoid this hell whole.

Posted by terry on 2005-08-12 02:04:51
My Score:
little five points ?kinda commerical.old hippies that i know live in the country.where youdont have to pay to park.

Posted by terry on 2005-08-12 01:59:55
My Score:
anybody remember 14 and peachtree the strip inthe 70s.any old hippies ?richards. electric ballroom.

Posted by on 2005-08-01 03:23:08
My Score:
I was lucky enough to visit Little 5 points last year and I must say that it is the coolest little place Ive ever been, and thats a lot of places Ive been to. Anyway, there is a place there called the junk mans daughter, and there is a resturaunt by there called the "Vortex" ...i think. anyway the door is a skull, cant miss it. It was an all out great expierence. I hope to visit again.

Posted by tim on 2005-06-07 17:32:12
My Score:
been to atlanta several times - i just don't see the appeal in it, sorry. even with the areas folks have mentioned, it seems like a very dry city with very little personality. i'm sure it has plenty of places to hang out, but you pretty much have to drive to all of these. car culture is arguably even more prevalent in atl than in parts of so. cali, where i lived for a long time. even in parts of midtown or virginia highland, street life is virtually nonexistant most of the time. atlanta seems like the kind of city that grew because of a boom in jobs, so a lot of people moved there and subsequently an infrastructure was developed to accomodate these people - as a result there is a lot of new development but it's primarily soulless, yuppified, suburban, or a mix of all three. of course there are a couple of blocks of trendy/bohemian stores, but compared to any large city with a true alternative street life, areas like little five points are a joke.

Posted by Stoneswart on 2005-03-24 00:38:46
My Score:
In 1985/86 ish there was an awesome band that played L5P area and L5P festival called Jane Doe. I know they recorded with Mitch Easter and they were touted to be the "next big thing". Around the end of 1986, they disappeared. I figured they had went to the U.K. or New York or L.A. to expand their audience, but they simply vanished. Does anyone know what happened to them, or have a copy of their music?

Posted by seekingsmoke on 2005-02-25 22:38:21
My Score:
anyone know where I can get some pot in atlanta? I have heard that you can get it in L5P; is this true?

Posted by Susan Mesat on 2005-02-22 18:40:04
My Score:
I've been in Atlanta for about eight months, coming from upstate New York and Little Five points is where I hang out. There is this Duo that plays the local scene, that will put you in a funky hip-notic mood, their vibe is out of control. They are based in Atlanta, but they are all over the country. This is a group that turns every venue into a Hippie Haven. The group is, Jazzmatic. The website is jazzmatic.com This is one of those groups that if you haven't heard of them today, you will hear about them tomarrrow! Their contact info is on the site and they answer the phone and will talk to you as if your their best friend. I love these guys and you will too. Don't forget the website: www.jazzmatic.com and see for your self.

Posted by Joel on 2004-12-28 23:52:17
My Score:
L5P was a lot different in the early 90s. However, it was immature and largely ignored by those who like it today, namely intellectuals and liberals who have found the Decatur/Morland area an island in the sea of rampant conservatism in Atlanta. Emory University, while not the only liberal university in Atlanta, is by far the most influential. In fact, it is probably the most influential in Georgia. So L5P is located in a good spot for those who want to do a little shopping for interesting "tobacco" pipes and check out an anti-war demonstration that might get noticed.

Posted by SP on 2004-12-28 23:00:13
My Score:
Miami is the true capital of the south!

Posted by don on 2004-11-18 22:57:09
My Score:
all i have to say is that little five points is being really overated by a few folk from ohio and florida. it only has 5-6 bars/restaurants, 1 record store and a few tacky clothes shops that would be ridiculed in paris of NY!

Posted by Thomas just Thomas on 2004-11-16 01:17:15
My Score:
Well I have to say you folks are really not from the square as I remember it. I lived on the square for almost two years from 94 to early 96 and things were way cool then. I was sleeping in the cardboard recycling dumpster behind Seven Stages and pretty much eating pizza at Fellini's and at the white house over on Moreland (I don't remember but I think it was a food not bombs place). Anywho I remember people like Becky and Jeff and Promethius (asshole) Murdock (you came all the way to NC and saw me) Angel you precious thing and my honees Angie and Michelle. How about Sir Stairway High and Yee ol mayor Paul.And the big black guy with the fork rings.( Dude I am so sorry I forgot your name but I still make some of those rings in your honor). There were others and there will be more who pass this little quaint place on Earth but just remember this folks. It really doesn't matter the size of the place you are in, it doesn't matter the size of the crowd and it doesn't matter how many saw you there. What really matters is that YOU were there! Leave a little bit of yourself in enough places and someone is sure to remember you.Peace my brothers and sisters of L5P I'll always want to come back. THOMAS

Posted by leo on 2004-11-04 23:49:07
My Score:
everyone keeps reflecting that L5P is this cool hippy mecca! have you all never been outside of Atlanta! L5P is a couple of blocks in diameter, it has about 5 bars/restaurants, a couple of record shops and a couple of homeless drop outs. if you really think that this is the epicenter of cool then you'll have brain overload in NYC, SFC and london, paris, and any other western city outside of the deep deep boring south! listen, i'm a londoner and currently living in atlanta, and all i can say is that L5P is nothing special.

Posted by Gemini Osiris Dream on 2004-09-23 09:40:39
My Score:
I didn't go to Atlanta this year , but I have been to Little Five Points and I love it . This year , however, I came through Athens GA a fews miles NE of Atlanta and hung out . It's not exactly a " hippie haven " but it's a cool hip town with a great music scene . After all , Athens is the home of The B'52s, REM and Widespread Panic . I saw Urge Overkill one night and another , Ken Stringfellow is co-founder and one half of the great power pop band The Posies . Ken did a solo gig that night. Literally . He played only a Kurtzweil keyboard and one electric guitar and sang . His voice was so fucking good that at one point he moved away from the mic and sang without amplification and his voice was still beautiful . Let Mick Jagger attempt that , huh ? Anyway , I met , and got Ken's autograph. A down-to-earth real nice guy with no ego problems that most musicians seem to have . If you're hungry on Sundays and Tuesdays , the Food Not Bombs group serves vegan meals downtown . ( hi Geoff; hi Jessica , I still haven't got your email) Athens is not a bad little town .

Posted by leo on 2004-08-16 02:37:18
My Score:
If you want to see a real bohemian town, go to Camden town, London. L5P is just a pathethic little street, with a couple of bars and a few tacky clothes shops.

Posted by noah on 2004-06-11 06:22:46
My Score:
I lived in Atlanta most of my life. My Parents started the Land Trust which was mentioned above. I remember seeing this town when it was way more hippy. My parents bought one of the best houses in the city back when it was only $25,000 in 1978. They got 1.5 acres and a house near the hip intown area of little five points. They bought a neighboring 1 acre with neighbors for $27,000. Now doctors, lawyers, and other urban professionals are buying up the homes. Crappier homes are going for like $250,000 and mansions for $600,000 or more. The problem is of course housing costs. Drives the true artsists and urban homesteaders out. I think Atlanta lost much of its charm. Now folks are having to buy up cheap homes by going into the true ghetto. Where crack dealers are and murders all the time. Things are changing even in the ghetto though. They're building a death star sized shopping center right in the real ghetto. Intown atlanta never saw anything like it. Gonna be right next to Little Five Points. Very strange location if you ask me. "Progress" is okay though. The problem is that generally Atlanta is quite like L.A. in architecture: Car City. So in other words all the old walkable neighborhoods are becoming expensive because the suburbs suck. In some other cities the walkable areas are much bigger. Like Chicago,etc.. in Atlanta they drive more than almost anywhere in the world. Many places in the suburbs don't even have sidewalks. The climate is awesome though. And the job market is great too compared to cost of living which is reasonable. I just don't feel connected to people here. Nor do I feel connected to the outside world. People here can be ignorant of things going on elsewhere. I don't meet many travelers. There are almost no hostels in a city of 4 million because there is no particular reason for someone to visit. I feel it is a little bit of a money vacuum. Meaning people focus a lot on money even though there is plenty here. Very gay friendly. Lots of blacks and yuppies and gays. Okay with me but I am a young straight single white male age 25. I'm into community and sustainability and art and activism,etc.. This isn't great place for people my age. Better for career types in their 30's. There are artists for sure and hippies but this city just doesn't have that "mojo" that other places can have. This is a fine place to make money for awhile or it might fit for some people. It definitely has its strong points. But for that mojo feeling you get that makes you feel alive, that you can meet people and have a good time and that life has meaning - its hard to find here. And I've lived right in the "hippy" area for many years. The thing is that it is still the conservative south that surrounds Atlanta. Most of the suburbs are still boring backwards people. Given, they are an acceptable and better form of that type of person than would be found in say Alabama. That what Atlanta is: Boring. I think it is OK in other ways and people are pretty nice. But I think it really is just boring if you are really looking for true alternative culture. So, who knows, Atlanta may be right for you. This is just my opinion and the city is too big for me to be an "expert".

Posted by Shawn on 2004-01-30 06:40:27
My Score:
Anyone in Georgia, im me. My screen name on aol instant messenger is sexdrugsandrock1. :)

Posted by satori3 on 2003-12-19 21:25:15
My Score:
Athens Georgia is the next best thing.....even better than L5P if you ask me.

Posted by poppy on 2003-11-30 04:40:06
My Score:
i have lived in Atlanta all of my life and visited Little Five Points numerous times. I have met some wonderful, hip people there but it is more of a diverse crowd nowadays. If you're visiting it is a neat little place to browse (but expensive)>check out IFO- a cool dead shop. And always a good place to watch interesting charaters. Anyways i encourage all to visit! PEACE!

Posted by Natalie on 2003-10-19 21:57:17
My Score:
L5P is cool, it's become tredny but it still retains some of the charm that led it to be called a hippie haven. I love L5P, there is a health food/co-op there called Sevananda, very cool people :)

Posted by cookiehead johnson on 2003-09-13 04:20:42
My Score:
I think some of you folks have a little confusion on the difference between subculture and hippies. Little 5 does have some good shopping, but all the housing is rather expensive due to the fact it is now aimed at yuppies. It is complete with a futon store and a starfucks. Also it is a haven for those damned travelling gutter punks always asking for handouts. Besides some longtime stores such as wax n facts most of the cool folk have moved up the street to east village. Why does all the atlanta neighborhoods have newyork city names? I recommend against atlanta unless you like smoking crack and getting mugged and or a really big gay yuppie community. I am going back to austin myself.

Posted by Richard Lord on 2003-08-25 10:30:42
My Score:
Oh yeah, like I even forgot to rate the place.Five Points is like heaven with all the vices, (and a few paisley pigeons to boot!) anyone that disagrees, return fire to rdaniellord@yahoo.com , and no, you can't get $20.00 bags of columbian from that green house Elmira Pl., anymore

Posted by Richard Lord on 2003-08-25 10:11:05
My Score:
1257 Euclid Avenue... ...was a towering mansion (sort of) straight out of a Jack Flanders mystery. I lived there when I was 13, in 1972, and remember the maxi skirts, the Zig-Zag patches, and the smell of Patchouli flowing through the neighborhood. Little Five Points was a great influence on my life, even if I didn't get rich selling flowers there, well at least not monetarily. I live in Jacksonville,Florida now, and long for the days of Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks blaring over the old Zenith Hi-Fi, and the hippie girls rounding-up to go to the Health Dept. for thier VD shots.

Posted by Mushy on 2003-08-24 19:26:10
My Score:
I am moving to ATL in the fall. So far L5P is the only place I have found (on the internet) that looks interesting. Are there apartments for rent in the area? Can anyone give me some info on this?? Thanks! I am not sure I will be able to check this board, so place email me at Mitchy1127@aol.com

Posted by Deji on 2003-06-05 17:44:35
My Score:
I lived in Little 5 (Inman Hills apts.)for quite a few years during the early 90's, and I can only say that after moving away and coming back to Atlanta that I was greatly saddened by the changes. I wish that any younger Atlantians, or new visitors to the area, could have experienced it then; to call it a 'hippie haven' now is almost ridiculous, with the exception of the land trust---perhaps the last true hippie haven in the area. If you visit the area, visit the land trust, talk to one of the residents (they live in the surrounding houses and can often be found working in the gardens there)about the history of the area. Ask about even earlier history, no, not the Civil War, although there's plenty there, too. While it certainly changed a lot over the years, like any neighborhood, the most drastic (yuppified) changes occured around '95, with a write up in an Atlanta magazine and the passing of 'noise' ordinances that banned the drum circles that once took place almost nightly in the square. When I was a resident there was certainly those who did not respect the area, but in general the locals really looked out for each other. Many who would attempt a 'crime' ie, hurting someone or stealing hard earned possesions, were more afraid of the very vigilant locals and shopkeepres than they were of the police, with the exception of Officer McFarland--a sometimes pain in the ass, but a good guy, who seemed to care.This started to decline as many local began moving away. No doubt the yuppies feel much safer now; afterall, they have a Starbucks, a brew pub, The Point and Felini's are gone and those very dangerous trees in the square have all been put in cages.

Posted by melissa on 2003-03-31 15:22:32
My Score:
I think little 5 is an awesome place to find some hippies, but it's not just a hippie haven, it's a counter-culture center. There are a lot of different groups and the last time I visited I found it to be dominated by goths

Posted by Randy on 2003-02-20 02:43:04
My Score:
Little 5 Points is nice. Definitely a hip, diverse crowd. If you make your way to Little 5, make sure to stop in Little 5 Points Pizza. It's the best damn pizza on earth and it's a $1.40 for a 1-topping slice, which is big enough to fill me up. When you're broke as hell, L5P is heaven. There's also a lot of really good dining places here and there. Variety Playhouse is host to a lot of shows... recently they had Leftover Salmon, David Allan Coe, Keller Williams... it's a decent little spot. I go to Little 5 Points almost every weekend. I do outreach for some of the homeless out there, passing out condoms and drug information, refer people to the needle exchange, that sort of stuff. Most of the homeless in that area are drifters, but some of them stay year round, and all of them are really friendly.

Posted by thekid on 2003-01-18 12:23:53
My Score:
i live about 45 minutes south of atlanta......we are just a few like-minded souls who found one another despite the mess society has caused down here. we have good friends and good times and we love to share. dreadsistah@yahoo.com

Posted by noah on 2002-08-20 05:11:44
My Score:
I have lived in Atlanta my whole life. Little five Points neighborhood definitely has many progressive, cool people. Many health minded people and hippies. If you have time, you must visit the Lake Claire Land Trust at the end of Arizona Ave. This is the real hippie/alternative center of Atlanta. You will meet many excellent people here and you can relax in the organic gardens.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where Americas Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds