Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Big Island, Hawaii

Lots of growers here. Scene is low key and laid back. Communes around. The hippies are all in the Puna District mainly in the Pahoa area from Kalapana to Pahoa and from Pahoa over to Volcano, although some hangout in the Kona district.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 16100
Language:

  


Posted by czydiamond on 2007-02-13 09:59:45
My Score:
Lived in upper Puna during late 80's and early 90's. I got there just after The mayor said that growers were some of his best friends and Pu'u O'o was spouting fire. Brought from the mainland little money and a big drinking habit. Drank too much to grow too much, drinking lots and hard work don't go together and successfully growing is LOTs of work. Ran into the racism but found that if you are willing to learn the customs, respect the people and give back a bit you can get along pretty well with most anyone. When I first got there you could buy land really cheap but by the time I had to leave the prices were rising fast with no end in sight. Crank was rearing its ugly head. I left in 1992 because my probation officer had violated me for smoking, he did not care too much about drinking, but I did not feel like going to jail for a year. I used to hitchhike at times, lived way back off the main roads but could always get a ride out and back in with my beer or vodka. Always had a number or two to share. or a beer. Once I got picked up by an 80 year old man and his wife. I just loved the place. Kind of wish I had just done my year and not left. Jesus has gotten me sober and I have kind of a real job but I still kind of miss Fern Acres. If anyone reading this can guess who I am you can email me at czydiamond@cableone.net. I knew lots of people and lots of people knew me, at least by sight. Never did get into the Pidgin, haoles who did just seemed like fakes to me. Hawai'i kind of seems like the only home I've ever known. Maybe I was getting to be Kamaaina. Probably the best years of my life in spite of all the booze. I'd love to come back but i'm still pretty poor and my health aint that good any more. I just wish I'd stayed in touch. Its not that I did'nt care but more old and present pains and not wishing to call someone and admit that things were not going all that well. Hawai'i is truly a special place full of special people. Evil exists there as it does anywhere in this place but God has also kissed this island. Mahalo

Posted by homunculus on 2007-02-01 23:42:21
My Score:
93! Hello I wanted to introduce myself because I have been mystified by the amazing energy and love you all have for everything on this beautiful earth. I currently live in California and I am doing lots of research on being a part of an intentional community or commune in Hawaii because I feel that it coming time for me to choose that path. I feel like I am surrounded by people who put too much emphasis on material things. I feel that the farther we get away from nature, the more chaos we create in our lives. I want to feel like I am a part of something that is in sync with the energy that comes from all things within the universe. I feel like the Hawaii community can assist me in Asana,Pranayama, Mantrayoga, Yama, Niyama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi studies and internal healing. I would very much like to be invited to your community for at least one year in order to develop my studies, clear my mind, be a part in contributing to building your community, and hopefully we can all learn from each other. If accepted into your community I would like to be there April of 2007. 93/93 Love and Light Homunculus wehauntyou@yahoo.com

Posted by Dandy Andi on 2006-12-30 22:22:34
My Score:
Hello to all the Beautiful People, Can anyone reccomend any of the universities in Hawaii, any that are surrounded by lots of nature and cool laid back people. I am coming from San Diego and the scene at San Diego State makes me sick??? THanks peace and love Dandy

Posted by happy kat on 2006-12-16 23:45:36
My Score:
hello. im ready to move to my dream land. im from chicago (originally from the P.I.) and ive had it with freezing weather. im sitting here in my house with 2 socks, long johns, coat, and a hat...cold as heck. my 5 year old son agrees that warm weather is for us. Can anyone recommend which island we should move to? Cheapest island to live on and to buy a small house on... if this still exist. any help is appreaciated. thank you.

Posted by iwearkilt@aol.com on 2006-12-07 17:12:15
My Score:
Hawaii......Wow man what a dream about to come true. I am a nomad wanderer from Richmond Virginia Soon to be On my one way trip to Kauai(hopefully)Or into Oahu and then puddle jumping into Lehua. Either way I am bound for paradise....at what price.....Who cares, its expensive to live anywhere nowadays. Anyways, I have been a carpenter for 8 years and hope to use my skills to my advantage while there...But I am open to anything, Maybe Mama's Fish House needs a dishwasher. The point is I am coming prepared But with Rock as my pillow and Sky as my cieling...Looking for any oppourtunity I am given for work or barter. If arms are open then I am open for constructive critisism. I am supposed to come with a friend but I have a feeling he is going to hold me back(our intentions are different thats all). Everybody feel free to email me at the above address, perhaps we can help each other! Kudos

Posted by ted on 2006-11-18 17:54:58
My Score:
I'm looking for a cheap way for my family of four to spend two weeks mostly in the kona area in Jan/07. Does anyone know someone who rents a camper van or ? We are coming from Winnipeg to visit some family who live in a very small apartment. wogberg@hotmail.com

Posted by HI on 2006-11-06 17:39:07
My Score:
i think hawai is really cool. but belgium rocks. stupid fuck drugs around there. haahaaa

Posted by William (Bill) Peterson on 2006-10-03 21:38:50
My Score:
I am looking for my son Anthony William Peterson aliasTony alias Ocean or Sea Mountain or something like that. He was last seen on Hawaii but moves around to the other islands in a blue van we have been told. We know that he had a girl friend Sarah and her children. We know that a car he owned was found on PAUA a few years ago and that he does not know how much he is missed. If you see him or know of him, our family could use a leg up. We do not know why he has not contacted us for 6 years but i am sure he should know that my father-in-law died, My father died, I became a minister, he has 3 nieces and 3 nephews, we wish him our love. contact us at 409-423-5414 Thank you!!!

Posted by Corey on 2006-08-27 00:24:20
My Score:
looking for work in the Area. does anyone know where l can get a job ... l dont like lables so l wont call myself a hippie ... Im am just a martial artist who travels and find hippies to be the best of people so if anyone knows where l can find a job on the Island it would help out greatly Thank you for your time I can be reached at CoreyE814@peoplepc.com... thanks agian

Posted by marc jubas on 2006-06-28 15:43:35
My Score:
seeking caretaking jobs on big island of hawaii call me marc at; 1-541-592-6198 i have references i presently live in cave junctuion oregan i need a payee for my ssi also, i,m a caretaker at present but am lookung for a caretakers job on big island if anyone can help me marc i,m age 58 single christian jew.

Posted by Siren on 2006-06-01 02:59:13
My Score:
I've lived in Hawaii for 15 years and I'm 23 now. I love hawaii, but it isn't a place for a free ride. I did lifeguarding for a while and there was a time where there was about 7 of us living in our cars (Finding a place to live in you car is getting harder). I've seen the island grow and all the million dollar homes going up over here. Right now I live in a nice shack with my husband and two year old in the back of someone's property for a decent amount of rent money. We are trying to save up for property to have a nice little farm on. We are hard workers and it will probably take us a while to reach our goal. It definitely helps to start out in Hawaii with some money. Just buying food can cost a lot and I grow a lot of my own fruits and veggies. So, if you want to come to Hawaii my advice is to check it out first and plan on making some money in some way. Everyone's experience can be different too.

Posted by jessica on 2006-03-31 05:39:11
My Score:
i like to live outside for months at a time. im getting used to it in small dosages so that in hopefully a couple years from now ill be able to do it permentatly. for the months of june-september id like to try out kauai. Im not familure with the area at all but i woke one morning knowing i wanted to go to the na pali coast with haveing no knowlege of kauai before. Im pretty in touch with who I am and the world i know through my own perspective, but i dont know how much of a "hippie" i really am. I'm me, no lables. and i would never try to be something im not to fit into a stereotype. But i was hoping any individuals who visit this site might have some insightful information to the island of kauia (back country expecially). i dont bring a tent...i sleep outside with me and the dirt and the stars in the sky with the exception of a blanket and a device to purify water in a small backpack. (i dislike the fact i need an exception but im talking smalls steps to where i want to be.) im rambling , my apoligies, im not very good at this internet thing. But to the point if anyone could give me some good information on where to go, hidden caves, tree canepies, ect. please post something for me or email me at pinkvelvet89@yahoo.com (and please mind the spelling, never quite got that skill down.)

Posted by nathan on 2006-03-30 22:31:54
My Score:
caretakers wanted up in sikiyou county, seeking single christian men who maybe retired, on fixed incomes, who own therre own rv,s anyone interested write to me about nmore info, map to the land, its in a pine covered valley on a private road about 15 miles northeast of yreka california about 15 miles southeast of ashland oregan send photos, personal profiles your interests to; brother nathan newcomb pobox 1755 san jacinto,ca 92581 i,m seeking vegan cooks, organic gardners, tradesmens, hippies welcome, no drigs or illegal substances allowed, preferr holy men of god who might like building something on my land like; www.yurts.com or www.pacificdomes.com or www.hubbellandhubbell.com free form futuristic houses or triplewide mobile modular homes wood exterior, with wood fired sauna, root cellar, mineral indoor spau, total gym, ab lounge and massage table, making liquid tinctures mixed in organic juices, home made organic breads etc. mechanics shop, telescope, lillie ponds and water fallsoriental bridges, fruit trees, bosen berries, black berries, nut trees, pomogranite trees, art studio, wood shop, and storage sheds

Posted by marc on 2006-03-30 22:18:31
My Score:
I,m seeking caretaking jobs in Hawaii if have references Marc I,m presently doing Caretaking in Cave junction Oregan. if anyone can help me call 1-951-654-8928 ask for nathan he,ll call me in oregan at www.phonecards99.com

Posted by marc on 2006-03-19 18:29:04
My Score:
seeking caretaking jobs in Hawaiian Islands ask for marc at 1-541-592-6199 presently live in Cave junction Oregan seeking Hippies who are Followers of Yeshua/Jesus Organic growers and enjoy Smoking weed

Posted by emjaywaunuhtoke on 2006-03-16 20:40:46
My Score:
Hey howzit everyone I just thought this was a neat site for contacting other cool people on the Hilo side. My buddy lives in pahoa (hawaiian beaches) sometimes I stay the night then we go go exploring the next day throughout the area. I was wondering if anyone knows of any real exotic places We may not know about.E-mail me please: sk8fsupunk@aol.com

Posted by miss m in los skandoulous on 2006-03-06 22:27:05
My Score:
Im cummin outa hawaii,i dont give a fuck what island i start on ,ill end up where ever you are like karma im everywhere!totally board with L.A. goin to meet up with some freinds that just left venice beach.i tattoo,blowglass,sew,grow,and so much more if anyone has a couch i can crash holla!!!my e-mail is inkcrazy666@yahoo.com or check out my freakin myspace http://www.myspace.com/midnightstudio oh ya if you didnt get it on in 1969 the summer of love your not a HIPPIE baby!I know my moms one!

Posted by DIANA on 2006-02-19 07:43:13
My Score:
I A M GOING TO THE BIG ISLAND FOR THE FIRST TIME...I AM LOOKING FOR CHILL PEOPLE TO GET TO KNOW SO MAYBER WE COULD HANG OUT AND HAVE THE NICEST TIME EVER... SO IF PEOPLE ARE DOWN TO SHOW A 21 YEAR OLD ADVENTURER THE FUN ANSWER ME.......I AM NERVOUES BUT OPRFULLY I WILL FIND A LOT OF CHILL PEOPLE....

Posted by TEXASPETERSON on 2006-01-17 17:16:27
My Score:
I need help. I have a brother who lived in Kuaii for several years and also on the big island. My family has not heard from in over 5 years. His name is Anthony William Peterson or Sea Mountian (SE Mantan or something like that.) Has anyone met him or know of him. I just want to know if he is still alive. Last time he called he was living with a women and her 4 children. I think Sara was her name her sons name is josh and her youngests name is Amarie. Please Help! Any info would be appreciated.

Posted by hippichicksrule on 2005-12-15 04:03:39
My Score:
Kynd friends, I lived on Kauila St. in Hilo town on the Big Island for 2 years. let me tell you everyhting in Hawaii brought in from somewhere else and very expensive. No cheap living there, no way. Now i have the real Paradise. No phony hula shyte. Greenfield, Mass. okay, you say joking, right? Not joking. Pleanty of cheap, cheap apartments in phunky old farmhouses. A growing community of kynd folks, hippies, musicians, artists, writers, crafts, herbs, shrooms. Easy to hook up. Mellow friendly place. Like Seattle or Puna 20 years ago. Skinny dipping and camping along the Green River, hang out at Greenfields Organic Market, Cafe Koko, Peoples Pint, my livingroom. Summer of Love 2006 - Greenfield Massachusetts

Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-12-06 20:20:33
My Score:
seriously on the jesus tip...even saying bless you after a sneeze can make you an outsider. but i digress. I LOVE HAWAII!!!! there is NOT a fine line between hippy and bum. a hippy is always skilled at something in some way. SKILLS SKILLS SKILLS skills can feed your need. otherwise youre just a bum.

Posted by nuh on 2005-12-02 21:16:39
My Score:
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-09-30 20:36:41 My Score: Comment: awww dawk, dont be so disenchanted. ...../If you cant find it on Big Island...you dont need it. /If a person needs bling bling fillings, doctors and jesus...visit a mainland mall :) \ big gurl!? why you got to throw the Big Man up in the mix?? some things, best to leave be :) lol group hug?! come on now, who couldn't us a hug, just 'cause. *bg* it's all good! ;)

Posted by Billie on 2005-11-16 20:46:50
My Score:
I'm Billie Spears, from Salt Lake and I was wondering how I find women's retreats or communes, or anything 2 year old friendly! I am a damn hard worker and just need to see whats out there for my son and I, please any advice would help...so much Thank you all

Posted by Cowgirl on 2005-11-13 22:24:46
My Score:
Wow, you guys are insane!! and hilarious!!! Really laughed at your various points of view, one thing is correct, Punatic, life can be good or lousy ANYWHERE. Being a bum as a profession is not socially popular ANYWHERE. I am not planning a trip to Hawaii anytime soon, but if I did, I would have a round trip ticket, and stay in a hotel (I can hear the booing and hissing already) Ha Ha Ha

Posted by A Happy Punatick on 2005-10-31 22:30:31
My Score:
I moved my family to Puna a couple of years ago to get away from the rat race of California. Apparantely I moved to a different place than Rose and many others that have posted here because we LOVE life here and wouldn't trade it for anywhere. Sure, things are not perfect here but then everywhere has it's issues. The hard drug and racism issues are certainly no more previlent here than what I have seen in other places. And as for the 'free services' and ability to live (mooch) off of others here: I don't think you can go anywhere and expect to be greeted warmly by the existing residents if you aren't willing to carry your own weight and pay for the things you need. So panhandlers and obvious bums aren't 'respected' here anymore than anywhere else. On the other hand, what we and most others love most about the Puna area is the diversity of the residents and the acceptance of alternative lifestyles. Being a hippy here is not an issue. No one is going to look at you funny if you walk through Pahoa with dreadlocks and bare feet. Being different and anti-establishment is okay here. But you need to take responsibility for yourself and not expect others to support you. If you want to live in a tent with no power and no car and no job - that's okay. Literally thousands do it and love their ability to live that kind of life here. But they grow their own food and herbs and aren't intrusive to others. So I guess life anywhere can be good or can be shitty depending on you perspective. But life is too short to be unhappy. Rose and the others that haven't found happiness here owe it to themselves to find happiness elsewhere. Just don't be so presumptious to think everyone shares your dismal outlook on this paradise.

Posted by A Happy Punatick on 2005-10-31 22:30:30
My Score:
I moved my family to Puna a couple of years ago to get away from the rat race of California. Apparantely I moved to a different place than Rose and many others that have posted here because we LOVE life here and wouldn't trade it for anywhere. Sure, things are not perfect here but then everywhere has it's issues. The hard drug and racism issues are certainly no more previlent here than what I have seen in other places. And as for the 'free services' and ability to live (mooch) off of others here: I don't think you can go anywhere and expect to be greeted warmly by the existing residents if you aren't willing to carry your own weight and pay for the things you need. So panhandlers and obvious bums aren't 'respected' here anymore than anywhere else. On the other hand, what we and most others love most about the Puna area is the diversity of the residents and the acceptance of alternative lifestyles. Being a hippy here is not an issue. No one is going to look at you funny if you walk through Pahoa with dreadlocks and bare feet. Being different and anti-establishment is okay here. But you need to take responsibility for yourself and not expect others to support you. If you want to live in a tent with no power and no car and no job - that's okay. Literally thousands do it and love their ability to live that kind of life here. But they grow their own food and herbs and aren't intrusive to others. So I guess life anywhere can be good or can be shitty depending on you perspective. But life is too short to be unhappy. Rose and the others that haven't found happiness here owe it to themselves to find happiness elsewhere. Just don't be so presumptious to think everyone shares your dismal outlook on this paradise.

Posted by BooHoo on 2005-10-25 16:42:00
My Score:
Hawaii is not America, is it? Does not sound like it to me, love that "us against them" attitude, must be all that good weed they are smoking, making them better people. Hey, I know where you can live for "free", in jail, dont have to pay for food, lodging what a deal. Everything costs money, if you are not willing to work, you do not deserve to have things, cars, smoke, whatever. The world does not owe you a living, not even in Hawaii. Racism is racism, even in Hawaii, it is ugly.

Posted by themovement on 2005-10-20 22:51:19
My Score:
Hawaiian locals shouldn't be so angry.

Posted by fuquay on 2005-10-11 01:39:00
My Score:
will pay cash

Posted by fuquay on 2005-10-11 01:38:15
My Score:
i need a guide in pahoa area

Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-09-30 20:36:41
My Score:
awww dawk, dont be so disenchanted. /A person could live happily on Big Island without being rich. In fact probably more happy with less cash. /Big Island is the only place Ive ever seen that a person could literally "live off land". /Pitch a tent, sit back and behold the power of cheese. /If you cant find it on Big Island...you dont need it. /If a person needs bling bling fillings, doctors and jesus...visit a mainland mall :)

Posted by DAWK on 2005-09-30 08:43:46
My Score:
This was just what I was looking-for; the key word-here was 'puna' and I found this site. read some local big island ,experienced -advice-givers,who really know the score.Thankx , I just saved a bundle on travle expenses, by not going there ! In the 60s, I lived-worked-cheaply in honolulu for several years,and it is amazing how much the islands have changed.Big Money can be bad news for paradise,and I had planned to make a "do i wanna live there?" kind of trip to the big island,but NO-THanks, since the 'hard-life' described by Da Whahennie-lady-local, from living there 17 years,was enough to say'adios' to any thought of trying to 'retire' there. looks like Panama will be my next trip,to see if it beats 'DA-KINE" and "mo-bettah" place to live.And I don't have to speak 'pidgen', just spanish! As an old hippie,will forget about hawaii,since it looks like the cheap land on the big island has dissapeared up the asses of the filthy-rich, and yes, the aloha spirit still remains with the hawaiians,but 'da-haole' Newcommer , with little money is screwed! "Hola,senior, could you direct me to the nearest hippie retreat for old-farts,since I am new to your country of panama? SI-senior, you can live better and cheaper than Hawaii, and we have big snakes that eat all the 'big pigs and rats'.The scorpions have less venom and the centipedes are a local dish, and you can grow your buds,nobody cares, no problemas."

Posted by chris olds on 2005-09-27 03:30:53
My Score:
Am wanting to move to hawaii here soon. Am looking for land that is not pocket breaking. Have cash for good land. Am, looking for space close to beach or even land to rent. If there is any good polaces for cheep rent please let me know. stormtrooper97223@hotmail.com

Posted by Haole Tom on 2005-09-24 21:19:34
My Score:
Puna is paradise. I stay Puna ten years and I nevah go back da mainland.

Posted by Sunman on 2005-09-24 05:42:34
My Score:
Puna is a hard area Rose is right, I was dere ten years ago before they put in electric lines down near keahena and the red road. There was a many a time Haloes wash up in the surf off rock crops..reasons? Puna butta was dah bomb when you could get it, but it was mainly shake. All I know is if you don't know don't go. Aloha

Posted by Wow on 2005-09-15 23:23:45
My Score:
As shocking and hateful as the post below is, I have heard about that sentiment before from friend who visited Hawaii. They were called Howlies (?sp), and intensely hated by the locals for the most part.

Posted by osun on 2005-09-12 05:43:28
My Score:
faggot hippies living off hawaii the locals hate you they probably jacked you leave or you will die in a lava toob mooch.

Posted by Linda on 2005-07-30 22:21:22
My Score:
Hi there, I would love to visit Hawaii and meet some local hippie people that might like to to hang out or show me around. I am from Portland, Oregon. I am 36 SWF. Any long hairs out there like to show me around ? ;o)

Posted by one who knows on 2005-07-19 23:28:10
My Score:
Christian Hippie??? A Christian is a Christian, no need for further affiliation. Looks like Nathan, the false prophet is looking for someone to mooch off of. Please, for the love of God, quit using my precious Lord Jesus Christ's name to avoid working for a living. Get off your lazy butt and support yourself!! Shame on you!!! Preying on seniors and/or disabled folks on fixed incomes. The so-called Christ Family has always used the earnings and income of the unsuspecting to feed their guts and drug habits. God sees you, Nathan, and Cotton (aka Lightning Amen), and you will surely reap your reward.

Posted by starfoxx on 2005-07-09 08:09:47
My Score:
am looking for anyone who was at ataraxia farms back in 81-82or83 please any info?

Posted by huh? on 2005-06-15 11:19:51
My Score:
quit bitching and go outside, rose.

Posted by Bigfoot Steve on 2005-04-15 23:43:44
My Score:
I cannot believe the level of whining by some people. You want what other have to offer, food banks, dental work, etc. and complain about the quality and availability. You complain about the availability of Docs that can perscribe but how would you pay? There is nowhere on the mainland that is so liberal...stop complaining and realize that you live in the true paradise.

Posted by Rose on 2005-02-20 14:12:50
My Score:
I have lived on the Big Isle for 14 years now and what is happening here lately just makes me sick. Land USED to be cheap here but those days are quickly going. Used to be you could get 3 acres for around $150 a month w/ no improvments but now even raw land will be a payment in the hundreds - unless you bring cash. Three acres cash used to be under 10 grand now more like around 25,000 and rising quickly. Building materials are very overpriced. There is a legal med-ijauana law but only two Dr.s on the island do the certification and they are swamped. The permit gives you the right to 7 plants and 3 ozs of dried material. Otherwise expect to pay upwards of $600 an oz for Puna Buddah.... What they call Shake is cheaper but often no more than just leaf for $30 an oz. Living is harsher then you would expect - everyone says 'But you live in paradise...' but paradise is expensive, there are few food banks, the 'free' dental & med service is run by the judgemental catholik church - they charge to fill teeth w/ black fillings etc. - sliding fee scale. It is a great place to come if you are young and strong and have money but a sucky place to spend your retirement years. The jungle is strong and you have to fight it back w/ brute strength and a machete, you have to catch water to use, there are very large wild boars everywhere,(just last week I saw a group of seven not even a mile from where I live!) centipedes that sting, scorpions, rats (that give you leptosrirosis) - it's a hard life. On the other hand you spend next to nothing on heating in the winter. There is a lot of hard drug use here too and the desperate people that brings - there have been home invasion robberies. But there is magic here too - a lot of energy connected to this place but you have to be ready to work your ass off for it.

Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-02-13 18:39:44
My Score:
Bumber sticker dude... try the Emporium...across from laquinns in pahoa. you could also try thast handmade gift shop by the new subway. both places do consignment. there are also a few record stores in hilo that sell stuff like that. christian hippy...is this an official oxymoron? freely living like a sheep following a heard and totally not being free at all.

Posted by jesus christ on 2005-02-01 07:18:23
My Score:
Wanted like minded Hippie artists to start artist colony on our secluded Debt free Land up in Siskiyou county anyone iinterested call me asap nathan 1-909-596-5804 in la verne california preferr christian hippies preferr singles only who enjoy free form architecture too

Posted by nathan on 2005-02-01 07:12:59
My Score:
seeking christian hippies possible primetimers on fixed incomes with there own bus or rv they live in as Caretakers who might be looking for back country place to live on a Private road up in siskiyou County, anyone interested, call ne at 1-909-596-5804 they must be liberal minded and enjoy organic gardening, growing herbs, sun bathing, building free form architectural buildings out of scrape with stain glass and mosaic tiles, wood butcher art etc, houses possibly like www.hubbellandhubbell.com and like www.yarts.com or like www.pacificdomes.com I am a Single Christian Hippy who belongs to the Christ Family in Hemet California, Riverside County, On March 1st I,ll be moving to; Marc a jubas c/o Nathan G. Newcomb 1044 West Florida Ave Space 68 Hemet,CA 92546 Anyone can send letters/self portraits and sases to us. were Followers of "Yeshua/Yahweh/Elohim/Jehovah" Marc does Biblical collages, I do Mosaic Tiles and Fine art Prints and free Form architectural design, at krceoa pobox29 Hornbrook,ca 96044 anyone can send $5.00 to them to recieve there website Photos and Maps and subdivision maps of kcreao ,were both Street Preachers to. Our Land is 5 miles northeast of yreka,California Marc belongs to the Rainbow Family he is Christian Jew

Posted by nathan on 2005-02-01 06:59:43
My Score:
seeking suitable living quarters with other christian hippies in and around Hemet/san jacinto/green acres/homeland anyone in need of a real friend who you can connect with call Naomi at anns place for her and her son Jesse 1-951-929-5779

Posted by Ule on 2005-01-26 17:47:07
My Score:
We are looking to find a great place on the big island to settle down on some land and build a home. We are looking for any freindly information on locations that are safe and affordible for a family. We are looking for 1 achre near a road and to build a 2 bedroom home. Please advise max@eservicese.com

Posted by Elf on 2004-12-26 03:55:34
My Score:
Antony, just offer to suck the dudes dick and he will tune you up to some weed.

Posted by Anthony on 2004-12-14 01:10:22
My Score:
Iam going to Kona in a fews days... I was wondering if there is a good place on the island were i buy so buds.. iam a regular smoker am and excited to taste what hawaii has to offer.. i heard the big island has the biggest production but no clue what parts its easy to find in..

Posted by sabrina on 2004-12-05 02:38:54
My Score:
i mest have forget to mention, i am pretty girl with brown skin and large how do you say chi chis? My dampness is equal to that of waielele mtn, the wettest place on earth. hi boys.

Posted by sabrina on 2004-12-04 10:35:00
My Score:
um hello, i just moved here from Brazil. im trying to find how do you say.... hung? man on big island. im staying in kona looking for place near by, maybe some man can show me fun here?

Posted by RED on 2004-12-03 08:48:48
My Score:
Youre right, it IS a bitch finding work on the west coast. You should get out of L>A bra, now. Dont go to hawaii and try to rent a studio, though. THe more money you give to the apartment people, the more they will make and pretty soon Hawaii is Van Nuys, know what I mean. Its tropical, all you need is a little shack. Or sleep on someones couch,, shit. you will find people in Hawaii who want to help you. You have to want to help them, though. And you have to want to help yourself. If you say you dont like LA and its not just cuz you are lazy and would be in that same predicament anywhere you go, then go. Dont swim in a fucking t shirt. Eat healthy and work hard. Your skin will get used to the sun. Oh and use the trees for their shade, thats what they are there for. As for Joey Aquarius, I think that he is telling you how to get a job at the Hyatt or the Sheridan rather than how to actually have a good time in Hawaii. You know the old saying, "god made dirt, so dirt dont hurt..." get dirty, brah. And lean on as many cars as you possibly can. Especially Joe Cool AquARIUS'S.

Posted by Chris on 2004-09-30 22:22:07
My Score:
Good pot cheap land!!! Lots of hard drug users alot of camper get held up with guns, hide your camp well. It is one of the poorest counties in the U.S so land is cheap and their is alot of hippies, but alot of speed freaks to. you can buy an acre of land for 1 or 2 thousand dollors so theirs lots of people in the jungle growing puna buds, but theirs also lots of people cooking speed, and all that wierd shit that comes with it. BRING a RAIN COAT in the winter on day i was their it rained 23 inces in 24hrs.

Posted by ben on 2004-09-23 23:29:55
My Score:
The Big Island is as amazing as you make it. Many comments on this page are circumstances. The Puna district is very relaxing, laid back, verses other parts of the island. I rather stay around Pahoa, there are fewer tourists that visit this area. It is a very earth friendly town with a wonderful natural food store, an amazing old school mexican joint. It is a very simple life compared to the other parts of the island. If your in the Puna district there are many hidden treasures.

Posted by schlarbogurl on 2004-09-17 19:56:52
My Score:
Just stay real and relaxed if visiting Pohoa. Everyone is friendly and the spirit of Aloha is abundant. Get a bite to eat at LaQuinns! Its practically a joke to suggest one should be "clean looking". This is the rainforest! Not to mention most people around here work in the Earth, or at least play in the Earth...we are ALL dirty looking! Baths are encouraged, those who dont bathe with regularity are typically called Heppys...As in Hep C. They are known to dookie on the beach of Kalapana FYI.

Posted by jaynez31 on 2004-07-22 12:55:44
My Score:
Pahoa has Kalani Honua and captain cook has dragon someting. Kau'u has woman runs commune or ranch. Honoka'a also has some sort of retreat center as well. this is more organized. I actually went to the woman's ranch or commune the owner who is from Canada's wealthy family. She plays drum. http://www.kalani.com/ http://www.penrose-press.com/IDD/edu/cards/E1945.html

Posted by jaynez31 on 2004-07-22 12:47:10
My Score:
Hilo sucks. I remember that I used to live in Hilo, Pepekeo(yea the section 8 apartment). There are old lsland life style(plantation slave life style) and new from mainland(hippy, drug run, etc). and New life style people either moving to Kona or Puna. Some hippy got decent job(real estate) and moving to Kona, or growing the Puna butter in Puna then finding expensive property in West Hawaii. Ohh well they once start getting large amount of money, and they are moving to Waimea and Kealakekua where millionea hippys runs communes(women's) or run bed and breakfast in captan cook area. I feel such hippys are little snob and Puna hippys are soo dork. http://www.hawaiiinformation.com/REsearch/IDX/mlsHawaii/searchResults.asp

Posted by GothicHippie on 2004-07-06 07:18:05
My Score:
Greetings! I am a hippie living in LA, trying to bug out of here and move to somewhere life can be had without a huge bankroll or bunch of degrees to impress the man. Can a hippie with such a humble dream of having a studio appartment, a good job, cable tv, and the right to have long hair and a ear ring without getting grief, find happiness in hawaii? Like, what kind of entry level idiot jobs could I land there? I cant even get job here in LA flipping burgers because I cant say it in spanish. I was thinking there has got to be some good jobs over there, that would gladly take a hippie whos best knowlege and skills are in underwater basketweaving... I.E. someone who needs a brake to start building a life, in such a cool environment.

Posted by joey aquarius on 2004-01-03 02:57:44
My Score:
Dear Hawaii traveller- I'll try to help you out here. DO NOT ariive here broke. The cost of food alone can wipe you out quick, and you CANNOT live on Bananas. BE CLEAN LOOKING. Your hair can be long (About 20% of Hawaiians have long hair) but if it looks BUGGY or RATTY you're gonna get called a 'LEPO' (think LEPROSY) and shunned. CLEANLINESS is EVERYTHING over here. DON'T lean on anyone's VEHICLE. It's an INSULT! If you're really FAT don't go naked at the nude beach. People can get awfully rude awfully fast. Don't beg and spare change as a lifestyle here. It's almost the Third World here and the sight of White Americans begging has a discombobulating effect on the locals. Don't think that because you play a little guitar that you're gonna get over with everyone. EVERYBODY in Hawaii plays and sings. It's like breathing, so you better be really GOOD or just put that thing back in the case. Hmmm-let's see.. ANY cut or scrape will become INFECTED with a mean type of STAPH if you don't IMMEDIATELY rub some TEATREE OIL on it. Bring some with you. It's at the health food store. STAY OUT OF THE SUN. This is really the deep TROPICS. You will burn SO FAST!!!! Wear a t-shirt in the ocean! Lather up with SPF a million! You'll get tan anyway, so don't worry about that. DO NOT BRING WEED into the state! They don't care if you puff a bit while you're there. It's not that big a deal anymore. Just don't bring any in or especially OUT. Ask around-it's about. And be sure to try and spend your dough with REAL HAWAAIANS as opposed to the usurpers that run the place. REAL Hawaiians are pretty poor and can really use the help. You can recognize them by their wonderful auras and sense of Aloha.

Posted by Ken Broadfoot on 2002-05-24 00:26:22
My Score:
The open market in Hilo on Wednesdays and Saturdays also features a good cross section of "hippies" I met a glassblower from California and a flute maker from Eugene that would definitely fit into the category.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds