Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Moscow, Idaho

"You will find some of the most absolutely wonderful people there! Besides the people, Moscow is the Mecca of outdoor activities and being one with nature and life."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 3145
Language:

  


Posted by Gary on 2006-02-05 11:55:25
My Score:
Moscow, sounds interesting and I might check it out when I go back out west. For the person who wrote that "its the only place in Idaho where people are intelligent", its the kind of pompus, self rightous (we are always right and everyone else is stupid) attitude that which draws a lot of hate from people who might otherwise be more tollerent.

Posted by seeker? on 2005-12-08 06:35:29
My Score:
I dont know if I am lost yet but I have wandered into this place called Moscow. Im here for a while so I wish I could find some way to redefine reality. Ive been meeting people. They all seem to define themselves as a 'something' which I suppose is common everywhere. I had hoped it would be different here. why do people complicate their lives so?

Posted by Seymour on 2005-10-15 21:09:20
My Score:
It's interesting how the "conservative" posts here are the only ones full of hate, bias and and prejudice. Seems that you anti-liberals live up to your stereotype...people who are intolerant, greedy and stupid. Beware free-thinkers, as these are the same folks who will make you "squeal like a pig".

Posted by Kat on 2005-08-04 23:52:29
My Score:
I too reccommend Sun Valley, Idaho over any other spot in the state. Probably the country. This place touches my heart. I holler from Elk Horn. Its been a good 15 years of life up there. Not all the time. Just the resort house we go up to all the time. Baldy is a beautiful place to ski. I love that mountain's boarding wheather more then any place else I've been. The culture is wonderful and the people are friendly and chill. The biking, hiking, swimming, running is wonderful. Nature exposure. I love you Sun Valley. :)

Posted by Roostur on 2005-06-08 04:45:31
My Score:
Doesnt take any brains at all to be liberal. All you love children go to an island and make love to all the trees you want. But stay out of Idaho. Yours truly Roostur

Posted by Raz on 2005-04-21 08:14:24
My Score:
Although Idaho is a very conservative state, it is getting a lot better. Boise is getting way more culturally diverse and most people are very friendly. You still get an ignorant prick here and there but that's the same everywhere. Plus it's only about a 20 minute drive to Lucky Peak...which always brings on a good time. And oh dont forget the monthly drumcircles out in Nampa at Farmer Brown's ;) good times man. Peace,Love,and Unity

Posted by Sun Valley Ski Bum on 2005-03-10 04:45:34
My Score:
Moscow may be a cool spot, but like the majority of Idaho it is a in a strictly conservative county so if you want tohave your liberal voice heard then it may not be the place for you. On the other hand, just south of Stanley in South-Central Idaho is a wonderful haven for the rest of us freaks. Blaine county, more specifically the Wood River Valley, is the only Liberal county in all of Idaho (the only group of intelligent people in Idaho). Not only is this place politically diverse, but also culturally diverse as we have many eastern europeans and south american peoples living in our valley. So, if you are looking for epic skiing, kayaking, mountain biking, hiking, or anything in the outdoors come on over to Sun Valley Idaho.

Posted by Sun Valley Ski Bum on 2005-03-10 04:36:00
My Score:
Moscow may be a cool spot, but like the majority of Idaho it is a in a strictly conservative county so if you want tohave your liberal voice heard then it may not be the place for you. On the other hand, just south of Stanley in South-Central Idaho is a wonderful haven for the rest of us freaks. Blaine county, more specifically the Wood River Valley, is the only Liberal county in all of Idaho (the only group of intelligent people in Idaho). Not only is this place politically diverse, but also culturally diverse as we have many eastern europeans and south american peoples living in our valley. So, if you are looking for epic skiing, kayaking, mountain biking, hiking, or anything in the outdoors come on over to Sun Valley Idaho.

Posted by IDaho is for real men on 2005-02-11 11:23:27
My Score:
Not dredlock wearing jobless scabs like you fucks. Yeah, come here and hunt why don't you. See you in the woods hippie!

Posted by The Mighty Mighty on 2004-12-28 21:37:52
My Score:
I love this town! I have lived here for about six years now, and it has never done me wrong. It's Idaho's "Heart of the Arts" and is very laid-back and cool. Major hippie scene, several good bars, and culturally diverse (more than the rest of the state anyway). The influx of college students during the school year doesn't really do much for me, but that makes the winter and summer breaks that much better. The beautiful Idaho wilderness is almost right outside your back door, swimming, skiing, camping, fishing, hunting, whatever you like. Conversely, however, it is in Idaho, so there are rednecks, hicks, close-minded assholes (just like anywhere else, I suppose) but I've never had much of a problem. I'm a freak, my friends are freaks, and there are a lot more where we came from. And speaking of Aryan Nations, those jackasses are long gone, except for isolated pockets here and there. I've never personally seen or heard anyone seriously make a racial comment here, but in the few instances I've heard of from other people, the person making the offense was swiftly taken care of, in one way or another. We are intolerant of intolerance. :-) The Moscow Food Co-op is cool, there are two absolutely awesome tattoo and piercing shops, Tye-Dye Everything, several little coffee shops and bakeries (I recommend Mikey's Gyros), art galleries, restaurants, etc., etc., etc. Apartments are a little on the steep side compared to what they were when I first moved here, mainly because of the university, but still not too bad. It can be a little tough to find a place in the middle of a semester, the best times to look are in December and May-August. Jobs are a little hard to come by, but still not too bad either. Basically, this is just a really chill relatively-small town (population about 21,000) that I would recommend to anyone. Now having said that, as much as I love this place, I'm growing tired of the northern Idaho winters, and am looking for somewhere, much like this place, in the Southwest area, where the air is warm and the people are cool. Does anyone have any suggestions?? You can email me at thatweirdchick@hotmail.com :-) Thanks.

Posted by Ben on 2002-08-31 22:27:58
My Score:
I'd like to check out Moscow. I hear a lot of bad stuff about Idaho: Helen Chenoweth, the Aryan Nations, right wing militia activity, Ruby Ridge, and the fact it's one of the most conservative states in the nation, so I'd like to check out this liberal bastion in a conservative sea to see what its like, see if it's what people say it is.

Posted by desert mama on 2002-07-29 03:49:49
My Score:
Moscow is a surprisingly cool town. It has a wonderful atmosphere, friendly people, a great food co-op, and it is super close to the best skiing ever! I especially recommend going to college here.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds