Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Chicago, Illinois

The ground is so fertile here in Illinois that when you drop a nickel it turns into a quarter before you pick it up. You'd imagine there'd be plenty of hippys and longhairs crawling all over Illinois, right? Nope, not really. You'll find some transplants downstate at the universities but mostly you'll find 'em up in Chicago. With plenty of health food stores, hemp shops and tons of yoga centers, there's a nice underground network of hippie folk. The best hangout for hippies I've seen is a place called Healing Earth Resources up on the north side (Ashland & Belmont) that deals in your usual clothes & music as well as being a great central hub for a lot of hippie-minded communities.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 8690
Language:

  


Posted by rachel on 2007-03-18 02:42:58
My Score:
here in Crystal Lake there are alot of the "fashion hippies". It seems like all of the burb hippies are only for fashion, none who really want to make something of the world and learn more about things... Its nice now to know that I'm not the only one in the Chicago area!

Posted by Bluegreen on 2006-07-25 01:49:52
My Score:
Hey, ne body ever heard of Winfield, IL? Doubt it b/c it sucks. but I'm lookin 4 other like minds to hang with b/c I am fuckin alone out here. ya know?

Posted by coltishchick on 2006-02-26 20:10:19
My Score:
There are some hippies in Chicago,but not that many. In Illinois, there are few hippie havens. Just past DeKalb is a bit of a hippie area, 4 locals own vw buses. Also stay away from the Aurora-Oswego area, hippie total there is only about 15 (14 if you don't count me.) If anyone knows of more hippie havens, please comment.

Posted by Emillea on 2006-02-26 20:03:47
My Score:
I love Chicago merely for it's uniqueness, but the city's hippie folk and stores are declining. THere are still a few stores left, but mainstream has taken over many independent one of a kind stores.

Posted by Nikki Lou on 2006-01-11 06:03:50
My Score:
Living in suburban Chicago, I visit the city a lot. I would not call it a hippie haven. I mean, you see a lot of hippies at Ozzfest and Lollapallooza. And there's some great shops in boystown (Clark and Belmont). Check out The Alley at Clark and Belmont. There's also some bead and smoke shops. There's a kickass record store in Hoffman Estates called Record Breakers, and an awesome clothing store in Algonuin called Funky Munky. But, it's not like you see a ton of hippies all over the place. Only at festivals. Peace and Love, Nikki Lou

Posted by Know I'm A Stoner on 2005-12-26 09:09:40
My Score:
Most of u here are stoners not hippies.but, thats cool too. we love pot, were chill not angry, but were in life more for our selves.

Posted by umphreak on 2005-12-18 21:27:50
My Score:
I live in a southside area most may be familliar with MIDWAY, the hippiedom in this area is scarce, alot of kids are hard rockin fighting kids, alot smoke up but not an abundance we have 1 little hippie shop, it happens to be a candleshop and is really cool the owner is an extreme hippie to the max used to be in naturalism incorporated if anyone is familliar with the street name"LSD help" an old hippie crew from the 60's he's a real cool guy and is always happy its on 63rd and meade 6300 south you can always find me their chilin' my bro lives in rogers park and the place actually has a good amount of hippies wonderful area not many may dress like hippies all that much but definetly are if you get off the train stop loyola from the red line you'll happen to find many good loyola college kids around the blocks of that area, avoid the frats, and hit up sherdian and north shore 3rd apt witha cuba flag in the window 1st apartment real down place to hang lots of kid between 19-22 havin fun smokin up...............Umphrey's McGee lives in Chicago!

Posted by discotribe on 2005-10-15 10:38:47
My Score:
hmmm, im a guy. . im 22. . . i live in northcenter. . . a yuppie neighborhood nestled between lincoln park and lincoln square. .born and raised in the city . seems like im the only hippie in the 'hood. . although i have seen a couple cars parked around my house with phish and grateful dead stickers...... as for hippie hangouts----- like a few have said martyrs.it is a nice little bar with a pretty good stage that has pretty good sound and a good selection of "hippie beers" (i.e. sierra nevada, blue moon, newcastle, etc..) (and i live about 2 blocks from it---extra bonus).......clark/belmont area---def. hit up noveltiesandstuff and pipesandstuff (same owner)..... secrets is overpriced for low quality glass----- adam's apple is a good headshop but also overpriced (mostly show pieces but they do have nag champa soap for $5!)----- The Vic, Aragon, Subterranean, Park West, Riviera are all good places to catch a groovin' show (jam/bluegrass/funk/whatever etc...) umm, sunshine daydream is a pretty cool shop (pretty good selection of plush grateful dead bears and stickers of bands)....well.. i cant think of anything else, so i guess thats it for now.. peace, love and wisdom

Posted by Chicagoan on 2005-09-14 07:49:04
My Score:
As a 36-year-old, lifelong Chicagoan (born on the South Side, raised in the Devon/Western neighborhood), I have to say most of the neighborhoods people identified as "hippie-friendly" are really yuppie-friendly. Lakeview (Belmont) was gentrified more than 20 years ago, Wicker Park over the past 10, and Rogers Park is going through the process right now. In fact, the entire city is quickly being transformed from a vibrant, authentic, dynamic urban environment into a yuppie facsimile of one--there is barely a block left between Foster Avenue and 35th Street that has not been converted into part of a yuppie urban theme park. Sadly, Chicago hippiedom is on the wan.

Posted by Poetic Aeroplane on 2005-08-08 09:50:09
My Score:
I agree-- Belmont in general is quite possibly the coolest street ever. Belmont has an army navy store on it as well that is EXCELLENT, and some other fun stores including (but not limited to) a fetish shop, a poser hippie shop, a poster shop... lots of places that sell things I'm not supposed to know of yet... and ANN SATHER'S FANTASTIC RESTAURANT! Seriously, it is a fun place to hang out with friends and have pancakes. Not exactly the trippiest place ever (there are hookah bars elsewhere in the north, though-- you can try looking on Sheffield for some) but it's got good swedish pancakes, darnit! And, about the rest of IL: Yes. It is a complete hickville. Corn, corn, soybeans, corn... and some more corn. The "Midwestern Farmer's Daughter" stereotype didn't evolve itself. Though I really do think Ohio is more of that than IL... IL is still pretty hickish. M

Posted by stoned imaculate on 2005-07-15 02:45:38
My Score:
if you are looking for a good hippie store in crest hill area there is one on plainfield road called rocky mudds. You should totaly check it out.

Posted by Jenny on 2005-06-17 03:56:27
My Score:
I'm surprised and a little sadenned that no one has mentioned Beverly, a little neighborhood on the southern tip of the city. There aren't very many good places to hang out but the hippy types are abundant. Unfortunately, you see alot of kids wearing the tie-dye eating acid and mushrooms like candy and calling themselves hippies. Despite these kind, it's a place full of great people.

Posted by MODERATOR on 2005-06-16 03:01:40
My Score:
Hippies = examples of the wasted

Posted by MODERATOR on 2005-06-16 02:59:59
My Score:
PLEASE !!!! DO NOT post words like: "Cunt, twat, fuck, dick, prick, slut or anal junky" Thankyou kindly.

Posted by Balthazar on 2005-06-16 02:57:41
My Score:
Why does anyone post on this board? Silly twats!

Posted by Ma'BalzR Hairy on 2005-06-16 02:45:33
My Score:
I will throw my deformed hippy feces at you MIKA you filthy hippy fuck!!!

Posted by mika the hippie on 2005-06-16 02:41:43
My Score:
i am a dirty hippy bastard myself. things i like: String Cheese Incident Soundtribe by the way, don't eat fish too they have sools and feelings too don't eat plants either! i wish i didn't eat so much azid, my stupid hipie brain is fried

Posted by Kyle the Vegetarian on 2005-06-08 06:49:13
My Score:
Another thing I forgot to mention is that besides Chicago which still is predominately Liberal, most of Illinois is VERY Conservative, because everything else is very rural. As a matter of fact during elections Chicago and Cook County the county that includes Chicago is the only county in Illinois that wins democratic. There are a lot of country music listenting rednecks here in Illinois.

Posted by Kyle the Vegetarian on 2005-06-08 06:44:16
My Score:
I agree with hippyhead and the comment they made about the wannabe hippies. Some of these people, and there is a lot of them here in the Chicago area, throw on a Grateful Dead t-shirt and consider themselves hippies. These kids just like the hippy lifestyle because of the pot. Also they make fun of vegetarians like you said too. I too am a vegetarian and hate Chicago's pollution, so I know exactly what you mean. What kind of hippies are they?

Posted by Sivan on 2005-04-19 19:19:23
My Score:
Chicago is a great place, I think. I mean, as of late, it's been brewing with Republicans, but that's most of America, right? I live in the south suburbs (boring as the get-go) but I hang out mostly around Belmont and Clark and go to the Heartland. Belmont and Clark is mainly for the punk-goth set, but Ragstock is great, not to mention the awesome headshop there as well. I love it!

Posted by Hippiehead on 2005-04-09 05:22:14
My Score:
I live in a suburb of Chicago, Plainfield, there are alot of wannabe hippies around here, and the shops that are supposed to be "hippie" are way expensive which is I think, completely opposite of what hippies are all about, and many people around here are about the hippie "fashion" and not the lifestyle, and I've even met a few so-called hippies around here that make fun of me for being a vegetarian, and talking about how the pollution around here sickens me, but there are a few totally far-out people around here, so it isn't completely wannabe territory!

Posted by Derek Dude on 2005-04-03 22:10:06
My Score:
Yo wasabi peeps! I uesed to live next to the Heartland Cafe in far north Chicago, Rogers park on Lunt. two blocks from the lake. Total hippy haven, get a crib around there and hit some coffee shops and before you know it you'll find the Rainbow house and more groviness. Also check out the Bucktown/Wicker park area. A lot of young crazy people, including hippys. The burbs are thinner, more spread out. Generally the richer areas have more of a hippy scene. I heard string cheese has been playing a lot of shows in Illinois lately, that would be a good place to meet some like minded, kind folks. peace and puppy dogs.

Posted by Danny on 2005-04-01 02:43:09
My Score:
While waiting on a friend to get out of a concert at Metro in Wrigleyville, I went to Uncommon Ground, a local coffeehouse. Very cool place. Highly recommended for a great random dessert or enormous cup of fantastic hot chocolate.

Posted by hippiegirl on 2005-03-12 20:28:15
My Score:
Lots of people are looking for hippies in the suburbs- can't tell you where to go, but I recommend staying away from Northbrook, Highland Park, Deerfield area. The people there are too materialistic and the teens are rich hippie wannabes.

Posted by milla on 2005-03-07 05:27:26
My Score:
Cool shop on Chicago ave called Guess Hookah cool hippy stuff, they have a hookah lounge and their flavors are delicious!

Posted by phil on 2005-03-05 06:14:19
My Score:
A Live One is a bar on Halstead and is actually across the street from Griffins. The name is taken from Phish's first live release. They have a great jukebox with mostly live concerts.

Posted by Muahh on 2005-02-12 01:42:33
My Score:
Please help me find a Hippie store in Highland Park or Waukegan...Please.

Posted by KawaiiBlue on 2005-01-19 17:04:00
My Score:
I live in the northern burbs and the herb is absolutly fantastic but although nearly everyone smokes there's aren't that many cool down-to-earth people. You just have to keep looking.

Posted by 420mike on 2005-01-13 21:37:12
My Score:
Theres a pretty cool little hippie shop in the burbs called sunshine daydream. they have a website www.sunshinedaydream.biz and a store in mt. prospect which is by des plaines near the airport. they have all kinds of cool clothes and they have a much better selection of cd's than best buy or fye. the only drawback is that they don't sell pipes. they call themselves a hippie headshop but no pipes. even stranger is that they sell all kinds of rolling papers and blunts but no pipes. oh well, its still a cool store.

Posted by phunky_bear on 2004-11-30 01:18:42
My Score:
barrington probably has the biggest hippie population in illinois. its a northwest burb of chicago. we have a number of jam bands and blue grass bands, a trillion hippie kids. everywhere you look theres a hippie. we have our own overnight festivals, its the chillest place around. barrington high school ranked 3rd in the nation for the most marijuana use. its fabulous here, you should allll check it out.

Posted by the luv generation on 2004-11-14 20:56:34
My Score:
are there any hippie stores in chicago /oak park? i cant seem to find any.

Posted by IAMSAM on 2004-11-12 18:06:41
My Score:
I live about twenty minutes from the city and If your looking for places to buy fatass glass then heres a solid list. Just walk around Belmont and Clark for a while and your bound to find them all: Pipesandstuff, Noveltiesandstuff, Secrets, and Adams Apple. Personally, I recommend the first two cause theyre less expensive. All of them are within a mile of Wrigley field. Go inside the shops and your bound to find some peace-lovin hippies

Posted by on 2004-11-08 13:52:16
My Score:
Forgot to add...i saw a lot of people asking where to hang out other than shows. Griffins Pub, 2800 N. Halsted. Martyrs, 3800 N. Lincoln, Wise Fools Pub, 2300 N Lincoln, ---- Blues bars---Kingston Mines 2600 N. Halsted, BLUES, 2500 N Halsted, etc...post if you have questions...i live right in the middle of this area.

Posted by danny on 2004-11-08 13:48:04
My Score:
I live in Lincoln Park. There are plenty of places in the city that are cool, liberal, diverse, and safe. There may be more kids with hemp necklaces in the burbs but I have to say that the people who tend to vote for Bush are in the burbs not on the northside. There are a lot of great neighborhoods in the city too. Nice hangouts also, Griffins on Halsted, Martyrs on Lincoln, etc

Posted by x on 2004-10-18 09:41:59
My Score:
I have no idea where Chicago hippies "hang out", but you can find a lot of like-minded people at any of the million and one anti-war groups, vigils, and protests that are scheduled. Do a google for Chicago anti war consortium and you'll find a bunch of websites and calendars. The Heartland Cafe in the far north Rogers Park neighborhood of Chicago is heavy on the patchouli, and has a good selection of veggie fare, etc. Also--suburbs good for raising open-minded kids (first you need to get open-minded parents, ha ha) are Evanston or Oak Park. Evanston is on the north border of Chicago, Oak Park to the west. Both are the most diverse suburbs in the area, class and race-wise, and the city public transportation (the El line) runs out through both suburbs--easy to commute in for work if you need to. Evanston also is home to Northwestern University, if that's important to you...

Posted by Pixie on 2004-10-01 00:24:45
My Score:
I grew up in the northwest burbs of Chicago, then moved away after high school. I've lived quite happily in the hippiedom of Berkeley, CA for several years, but I plan to move back to the Chicago area to be closer to my family. I know the Chicago burbs have changed a lot in the 10 years since I left--more diverse and more politically liberal--but does anyone have any suggestions of a specific town within 2 hours drive of Chicago that might be a good haven to raise open-minded, non-materialistic, loving kids?

Posted by dmitriy on 2004-09-27 17:33:15
My Score:
yeah, i live in the northwest burbs, i have lived in skokie for over four years, and now i am moving to vernon hills (heard a lot of great things about that place). there certainly are not a lot of "hippie-looking" people out here, certainly not anyone older than 19 (i am 16 years of age, by the way), but there are plenty of true-to-themselves hippies, you just have to know how to start up a conversation right.

Posted by dmm1673 on 2004-08-11 15:57:43
My Score:
I see the hippies in chicago pop up when there is a show in town, but where do they hang out otherwise is what I would like to know. Peace and Light D

Posted by lily on 2004-07-16 00:32:26
My Score:
i am looking for chelsea ferleger can anyone help??? she lives in chicago.. this is all i know.

Posted by viosurge on 2004-07-06 17:41:17
My Score:
Chicago kicks ass along with the "burbs" . I am located out in the burbs and there is a handfull of hippies out here that love chillin...

Posted by ABBY on 2004-06-01 02:38:50
My Score:
I live in the burbs and am trying to find out more about the hippie culture, is there anyplace were i can go with out being judged and instead be fed information about the hippie culture.

Posted by WoodstockLinda on 2004-02-09 23:22:55
My Score:
I live in a suburb of Chicago......Where are the Hippies?

Posted by Courtney on 2003-09-01 21:26:20
My Score:
You got the part of the burbs right. I've lived outside chicago all my life and they are handfulls of kids and old heads around the area. Ranging from school teachers to parents. As an added bonus to the chill folk, the northwest burbs have grate herb. Nothing left to do but smile smile smile!

Posted by Vanessa on 2003-07-18 16:16:12
My Score:
I live around Chicago. There are more hippie "looking" people out in the burbs. Yea crazy. Must be the yuppy thing. But every once in awhile you find some that rock! You might want to check out the burbs more often. Peace Love & Happines, V

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds