Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Industry, Maine

"Plenty of old hippies, die hard hippies, new hippies and a bunch of drunk ones too you. Ever hear of Hempstock? That's in the town right next to us. Then Harvestfest isn't too far away either."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 3599
Language:

  


Posted by christine on 2006-12-11 03:31:43
My Score:
hello im a harvest fest veteran and i just have to say that it is the most incredible weekend you will ever spend in your life... talk about live love and freedom... that is all the people you will meet there are about..... well most of them... rock on harvest fest o and the band RESIN... BEST MUSIC EVER

Posted by hippiechicksrule on 2005-12-15 04:22:50
My Score:
You might find some hippies in Industry, if you grew up there and your family was there for 7 generations. Mostly hicks & rednecks, eeewwww! Greenfield, Massachusetts = lot's of super cheap apartments in phunky old farmhouses. Skinny dipping along the Green River. Free summer concerts at Industry Park. Plenty of young hippies, also a large community of older hip kynd folks from the 60's. Easy to hook up. Musicians, artists, writers, craftspeople, kynd folks in Greenfield, MA. We hang out at Cafe Koko, Greenfields Organic Market, the Peoples Pint, Casa Verde, Herms. Summer of Love 2006 - Greenfield, Mass. - odn't miss it!

Posted by on 2005-11-02 02:02:50
My Score:
i spent a week in industry last spring. cool place, but not much to do except snowmobiling on the frozen lake. we went into "town" a couple times, and there's a sweet store there called liquid sunshine with all kinds of hippie stuff.

Posted by nhgirl on 2005-10-11 04:36:19
My Score:
Went to Harvestfest, first 'fest ever but my brother has been to nine. Can't wait for the many fests to come...got rained out this year, but spring will be here soon! Starks is a nice secluded area, plenty of hicks..plenty of hippies around (not necessarily in Industry or Starks, or whatever, but around Maine in general) and in NH too. If you're ever in Starks, stop by the field for a fest, you won't be sorry.

Posted by Jesse Mitchell on 2005-10-06 18:33:05
My Score:
Anyone that goes to harvestfest com to the top of the hill by the tree and chill out with the stockton Crew ask for mitchell and Dud. Come up for the contest to.

Posted by ahart1986 on 2004-11-14 00:49:19
My Score:
There aren't many hippies in Industry, or even Farmington for that matter. But maybe that's not what a hippie haven is all about. Maybe all that means is that it's a place where a hippie can go and have a good time, you know? I love vacationing in Industry just because it's secluded, peaceful and beautiful. Some areas do seem home to more hillbillies than hippies, but I don't mind that at all. It's a simple place where the road stretches for miles and the hills are alive with the smell of cannabis (if you know the right spots).

Posted by Wirey on 2004-10-22 19:19:06
My Score:
I live in Farmington (next town over, the one with the wal-mart and movie theater and all the stores), and have to say that although there is some decent Purple Indica usually grown by folks in industry, and although there is a really relaxed attitude towards weed, Industry is not a hippy haven at all! People around here smoke a lot of dope, but that doesn't make them hippies. Industry is comprised of 90% goat-screwing hillbillies (at least two cases can be varified), and about 10% hippies. News Flash, Hippies don't live in trailers. Hillbillies do. I'm friends with some of those Industry hillbillies and they can be pretty cool, but you'll pay $40 per 1/8 for moderately decent weed with the occasional seed. I did better than that living in the ultra expensive suburbs of Boston. Although the relaxed attitude about weed could be cool, the people here are just backwoods republicans who are so isolated that they are just unaware of the fact that pot was ever made illegal. If Industry is a hippy haven, then so is every hillbilly hamlet up and down the Appalachian mountains.

Posted by ahart1986 on 2004-08-16 07:42:07
My Score:
Industry is actually a pretty nice place. I have a cottage up there on Clearwater Lake. It's like 10 minutes away from a huge Wal-Mart you can roam when you're baked. There's also a nice store that sells like tapestries and Grateful Dead stuff, Phish stuff, incense, hemp and things like that. There's a movie theatre and restaurants, and some really serene trails to hike. Chill City.

Posted by Tree huggin hippy from MN on 2004-07-27 03:33:31
My Score:
I have been told by a friend from Industry that Industry is a very very small comunity that is full of nothing but hicks. he said that they dont really have anything there either. I would like to go there anyways to see what new england is like....

Posted by JR on 2003-11-30 06:53:16
My Score:
Actually, I have been looking to buy some land in the Industry for a getaway from my home just north of Boston. Some place to build a humble log cabin, and kick back at occasionally. What sort of folks live there? Old hippies would be fine with me.

Posted by on 2003-05-25 17:42:55
My Score:
its up near starks, maine. ive been through the town, pretty cool. i would like to stop in on my way to one of the festivals sometime.

Posted by DesertRat on 2002-04-27 16:45:22
My Score:
Where is Industry? It ain't on the map! I know Portland, Kittery, on up to Rumford and Rangely Lakes.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds