Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Very cool riverfront nights, locals are kind, small communes everywhere very green year round, local music scene is huge.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 4461
Language:

  


Posted by pot smoker on 2007-02-24 23:50:17
My Score:
i'm reply to the person who said if your an older hippie you should live in jackson.you damn near got to be million to live there the house are so damn high.and they said she wants to move out of cape fuck that cape is fucking awsum.i was born there and live there.i lived in alot of places in this country and i was come back.I GOT CAPE PRIDE RATHER I'M HERE ARE RATHER I'M NOT.CAPE IS THE BEST TOWN IN THIS COUNTRY

Posted by hippieraver on 2006-02-07 15:37:52
My Score:
Ive lived in Cape for 4 years and the one thing about it, is its love to drink, party, and dance. Yet i have only seen a 1/4 be very spirtual, And it is not green all year round (Some tmes it snows):< True love comes within not from a poser

Posted by delight on 2006-01-29 04:00:17
My Score:
Never been to this town in Missouri, but what about hippies in Iowa? Maybe Ames or Iowa City....both college towns with some tie-dye shops, vegetarian restaurants. Am I right?

Posted by Laura on 2005-11-11 23:44:01
My Score:
up at the top it says "Very cool riverfront nights, locals are kind, small communes everywhere very green year round, local music scene is huge" HOLY CRAP Since when did this all happen?!?!?

Posted by schwaggerz on 2005-09-22 20:23:44
My Score:
We are looking for Schwag like get aways.

Posted by Flame and Flicker on 2005-09-04 07:03:55
My Score:
I grew up in cape and am in the process of moving completely out of Missouri. Cape is full of Babylons and there isn't much there but a headshop called hempies and the trail of tears. The country hicks would hang you rather than understand you, don't get me wrong my whole family lives there but most of them don't even understand me. I refuse to let my son be brought up in this state, let alone Cape. If you are an older hippy though Jackson is quiet nice and only about thirty miles away. The older population is a sweet as can be and even if you are a little out of the box they will smile and wave. Cost of living in Jackson is realitively cheat and the parks are beautiful. So my final opinion is stay away from Cape as much as possible and enjoy Jackson. Love'n you.

Posted by Smoke & Ash on 2005-04-22 16:39:17
My Score:
Fuckin Cape is awesome. I love this place, anyone who says different is a stupid-head!!! I love pot!!

Posted by Jenny in Australia on 2004-08-19 16:22:11
My Score:
Hi I am trying to locate LAURA SPIES. I have tried sending something to her address in Cape Girardeau, MO 63701, USA, but the letter was returned to my address here in Australia. If anyone possibly knows her, could you please ask her to contact me: ynnej@graffiti.net

Posted by nogreen4me on 2004-07-08 00:06:45
My Score:
Cape sucks!! It used to be a cool place but not anymore. I have been here since 90 and have a small business here. The poster is sure right about getting caught with any amount of drugs. Recently, a customer of mine was busted for drugs and apparently he told them I was a customer of his and a dealer, so the pigs raided my shop the next day, handcuffed me and searched my store. THEY FOUND NOTHING!! (there was nothing) The main cop told me if they were wrong he would be the first to apologize, but guess what, that MF uncuffed me and practically vanished while the others were leaving. The bar scene is packed with undercover cops and snitches too, so be careful! A friend of mine was busted awhile back and all they found was some stems and seeds but that was enough to get him a $700 fine and two years supervised probation. (first conviction) What a great town, if it wasn't for my friends and family I would blow out of here!

Posted by Earl Roper on 2004-01-20 02:57:50
My Score:
This post is a lie, and only stupid hippies would believe it. The music scene is almost nonexistant (1 bar has original music a couple nights a week and is a gay bar the rest of the week). The only decent bands in the area are Squadcar (rock/punk) and Steerjockey (punk/rock). There was once a good music and nightlife scene here but is now long gone. Oh and BTW, if you get caught with ANY amount of weed or any other illegal drugs you WILL go to jail, directly to jail and unless you tell on about 6-7 other people you will be there for some time.

Posted by Lindsay on 2003-12-09 14:08:55
My Score:
I had an idea.. to embark on a solitary journey of the mind and spirit.. the idea was to find a shelter where no one would be able to contact me.. no phone, no computer, nothing but my music, books, art supplies, and food. I would stay in this space for no less than two months, during which time I would experiment, and hopefully master, various spiritual and mental practices.. however, this is no longer merely an idea.. this has become imperative for my growth, I can feel it.. so I was wondering if any of you have done this before.. and if so, if anyone could offer some suggestions as to where to look to find such a place to hide away for awhile.. OR, if anyone has a guest house perhaps.. or some place that I could rent out for a couple months, I would be more than happy to discuss some sort of payment for your help and cooperation. If anyone can help, please email me at Etherealiss@hotmail.com. I look forward to hearing from someone. Peace and Love.

Posted by acidrain@hipplanet.com on 2003-02-23 22:28:18
My Score:
I need directions to the communes near the cape. I would love to live in a commune with fellow hippies.

Posted by nary adime@netscape.com on 2002-10-27 13:31:11
My Score:
how do i get to the hippy comune near the cape

Posted by Sapphire on 2002-03-01 12:43:15
My Score:
Hey Cape is awesome....metal bands are the scene there....like Polyduster and Tribaldust....come see them at the metalfest in May

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds