Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Omaha, Nebraska

"Omaha is a pretty phun li'l town. Pretty good family. There are NO CLUBS there, so those annoying clubkids are not even present (woo-hoo!). They'll introduce you to a real rave, which everyone should experience. Omaha also has the oldmarket which is downtown and a fun place to hang out day and night with a park to the east, the Big Slides (extreme amounts of child-like fun) on the north, the abandoned warehouses are also right near where the parties rage at night. Lots of grassroots organizations are sprouting up. Definitely worth checking out if you're traveling through to Boulder or somewhere."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 2900
Language:

  


Posted by stepdaddy on 2006-08-25 15:39:12
My Score:
I came for the zoo but loved the cobble stone... The Omaha zoo is amazing huge and has a cool walk through jungle. Just make sure u time your peak right. The downtown/ cobbled stone area is way cool, walk from bar to bar, there was some place up stairs with a ton of dead on the juke box... memories.. fading... Omaha rocks

Posted by Autumn Saffron on 2005-12-30 23:44:18
My Score:
I live about an hour away from Omaha in a tiny, intolerant, pro-Bush town. Escaping to Omaha every once in a while is sanity-saving. Visit the Old Market and the retro store on Leavenworth. Tons of cool thrift stores. Lots of hippies, artsy people, and kynd folks. Love it! Although, I wouldn't mind a few hippies flocking toward my area...I'm all for a commune! Psychedelia, Love, and Peace

Posted by supa fly on 2005-10-06 06:38:28
My Score:
The hip place to shop for all your clothing and Accesories is Cool Stuff at 35 and Jackson. You can also find out whats goin on in town there. Also try our Mcfosters for kind vegan grub.

Posted by Jonny on 2005-06-20 05:44:33
My Score:
Oh, yeah, Omaha. I live here. No wonder I remember the name. It's a hodge-podge. The Florence area, a little while away from the river (and a ways uptown from downtown), has a lot of blacks (it wouldn't be so bad, except that almost all are happily into the MTV gansta-rap culture), including tons riding old Caddys down the street blaring bass and rattling windows. Many, many great old houses, though, relatively cheap compared to other cities'. But, again, a hodgepodge -- the Metro Community College campus shines next to the bleak, moldering houses (some closed off) across the street, and the south side of Miller Park doesn't look too pretty, though the park is good all around. The Salvation Army thrift shop on 30th Street doesn't have many 8-tracks (I collect 'em! :P), but the "American Outlet" thrift store is great for most of your needs, from furniture and clothes to the odd handheld radio. As for the hippie population, I haven't exactly been looking, but I haven't seen many around this part of town, either...where are you guys? And, again, check out Memorial Park, starting with the Gene Leahy Mall (remember when that used to mean a large, green space?), which is partially sunken below street level for a feeling of peace within the bustling downtown. Oh, and it's right by the W. Dale Clark main library -- great place to while away the hours. The waterfront's starting to look somewhat good, too, though the approach to the new convention center downtown's marred by the bleak concrete road all around. But I guess that can't be helped...yet. For great food and a cozy atmosphere, check out Romona's, a small Mexican (and American) restaurant on the corner of 30th and Redick Avenue -- I live around there a ways, and the food is great. Doesn't take too much bread, either. (No, not the food kind of bread!) The top of 30th Street, near the Florence Library branch, might be a good spot for a free store. I've a mind to start one myself someday, so long as our vibes can keep away the types who just want to rip things off. A hippie haven waiting to happen, if the right people come in. Here's to peace, hope, and love!

Posted by Toecutter on 2005-05-31 19:47:20
My Score:
Omaha easy women free beer all you can eat come visit ask around for the Toecutter

Posted by MyGuy420 on 2005-01-01 15:32:59
My Score:
The best place for all. too many prep kids are spoiling the fun though. Omaha Central!!!! want some good shit, go see memorial park

Posted by Uncle Cid on 2004-11-14 08:35:32
My Score:
Omaha's a great place in general, Memorial park is the place for our types, a little sketch, but the place non the same. Crazy prices, but heads if you have the golden ticket, Heh Heh....

Posted by SYK on 2004-09-21 19:58:53
My Score:
I have been living in Omaha for 2 years going to school learning Horticulture I can grow just about anything. I am interested in opening a commune in Western Nebraska self sustainablility type and wondering if anyone knows where to get grants for this kind of on taking. Would also like to know how the Ammish and other groups go about not paying taxes.

Posted by second generation hippy on 2004-08-25 22:25:01
My Score:
Check out the Old Market. There are tons of stores and activities, man.

Posted by Pearll on 2003-04-23 10:22:12
My Score:
Hey kids, where are all you hippies hiding in Omaha, man? I've maybe seen a handful in my 22 years while out on the town. Not enough long haired folks. and where's all the phatty hippie gear? Who wants to help me out? @}->--

Posted by smokin' hippy on 2002-05-29 15:22:09
My Score:
omaha is the shit there are tons of places to buy weed almost like a convience store of weed!! very cool place.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds