Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Silver City, New Mexico

Silver City is a small hippy mecca. They have loads of herbal stores in the city with "classes" on locating and identifying local herbs. Their co-op bulletin board is loaded with new age info. The annual Blues Festival brings out the most hippies. They have drum circles and a number of communes within 25 miles of the city, some better than others. Don't forget to ask about the hot springs.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 3795
Language:

  


Posted by J Samuelson on 2006-12-13 23:17:34
My Score:
I came to Silver City for a job. There is work here, mostly at the mine, for those who have the skills and willingness. Beautiful country side. Vistas from cheap apartment windows that NYers would pay $400,000 a house to have. Kind of cute downtown, artsy and all, but not very big - but if you want a downtown, why in the world would you come here - for town life stay in NY. Again, there are jobs here, unless you are a complete slug - and slugs will have trouble getting work anywhere.

Posted by Who? on 2005-07-11 04:49:31
My Score:
Poverty,crime,drugs,drunks,you will love Silver City.

Posted by jake on 2005-02-10 06:03:46
My Score:
I go to silver city every summer to visit my grand parents, there cool burnt out hippies, but i get so bored when i'm up there. But it has the some of the most beautiful country side. and it's fun to "cruise" the country roads

Posted by Kari on 2004-10-14 21:59:27
My Score:
Silver City, NM This is the Place!? Well if you live here for anytime at all then you know that Silver doesn't have much to offer. Single? Then you surely don't wnat to come to Silver. All you have to pick from is 0. But if you can find a job here (Good Luck) then Silver can be alright. The town has a very close click community. Only place to even gather is the Buffalo Bar or the Big Ditch (pretty scary).

Posted by gabriel on 2004-02-26 17:53:02
My Score:
im so glad dave didnt stay in silver city. he sounds pretty lame. all i got to say about silver city is "dont tell me this town aint got no heart. You just got to poke around". Silver is just a nexus. i would look north of there.

Posted by Dave on 2004-01-28 21:24:10
My Score:
This town has an identity crisis! Cheapest fleabag motels anywhere, NO WORK... period! Interesting thing though is that the downtown neighborhood runs right into a shear cliff wall! Very unique, I will never forget that part of town. A lady also spent her life savings and bought a bank building to start a coffeehouse. TYPICAL BORED FEMALE! There is NOBODY in the place, I sat there for a half hour petting her dog! Overall, BORING! Just nobody hanging out! If you wanna see folks hanging out, you gotta go to the Walmart. Note: I was in town just prior to the Iraq kickoff in March, I went to Las Cruces immediately after.

Posted by jeff morris on 2003-08-22 15:39:56
My Score:
im stuck in fl.lost house in silver city. want to go back.but no work. anyone with ideas ? jeffmorris52@yahoo.cm

Posted by WoodstockEra on 2003-07-27 23:00:59
My Score:
I was born and raised in Silver City. It has a historic downtown and some of the prettiest country surrounding it.Located at the bottom of the Rockies, it has river valley(Gila) semi-desert, and tall pine country(Black Range, Gila Forest,etc.). But it is a poor area as far as jobs, etc. I'M HOMESICK just thinking about there, as I'm stuck in Wisconsin for now. PEACE!!!

Posted by dblakeart on 2002-09-02 19:27:40
My Score:
just moved to town 8 mo. ago . This is NOT A HIPPY TOWN ! It acts like it wants to be but theres just not much going on . There is NO work , mostly locails and more and more retires .very small downtown no gathering places to speak of , expecaily at night . not much hand out $ so don't even come here with that in mind . a long strange trip to the middle of nowhere . Very high crime rate , oh , and those "loads " of herb shops , are 2 . Nice weather and cheep rents though. I'm planning my next journy . See Ashville NC.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds