Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Ithaca, New York

"Ithaca has one of the largest hippie populations in New York State. It has natural beauty and is crawling with old and new hippies. It's home to many communes, head shops, natural groceries, drum circles, and kind bud. Ithaca has a sizeable college population."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 8429
Language:

  


Posted by KioNY on 2005-07-24 06:44:40
My Score:
Was mis-informed about Ithaca gathering, my apologies. I received the info also from someone online, but was informed the info is old......

Posted by dee on 2005-07-19 20:23:42
My Score:
Seriously, once the 70s were halfway gone, people who called themselves hippies were actually considered "hippie wannabees" or, more politely, "neo-hippies." Hippies really don't exist anymore, unless they're aged hippies who were actually there and living the hippie lifestyle in the 60s and early 70s. I remember the weed back then, it was so much better. Same goes for punks - they had a narrower window. It's just crazy that people want to put a label on themselves from decades ago, and act as if growing up and living in the present is a bad thing. I was just in Ithaca this past weekend, and found the hippies there totally unattractive. What is the appeal of sitting around begging for money to eat, just surviving life with no direction or ambition, walking around unwashed, tattoed, pierced, and in rags obviously to get attention -- and then getting pissy if people stare? You people calling yourselves hippies now have such chips on your shoulders, looking for a fight, rallying against being something you tell yourself is uncool but yet you covet, faking your convictions which truly stand for nothing. That's not what being a hippie was really about. Grow up, take part in your community, work hard, support yourself and your local economy, take a bath and have pride in your appearance, and pursue something of value, become part of the larger world outside your defiance. leave hippiedom back in the 60s where it belongs.

Posted by cowboy on 2005-07-14 22:23:07
My Score:
i was just up there and things are being set up now...we could use all the help we can get. this is going to be the biggest ithica gathering ever...for serious

Posted by kioNY on 2005-04-10 02:48:40
My Score:
Actually here ya go........Jul 28 - Aug 6 Click here for the Howdy Folks Northeast Gathering Ithaca, NY BRING PLENTY OF DRINKING WATER Finger Lakes National Forest From the Southeast: I-87 to Exit 8, 18 miles North of Binghamton, West on 79 thru Ithaca then 11 miles to 228 North 2.6 miles, straight on 227 East 3.3 miles, left on Searsburg Rd.,at water tower, turns to County Rd. #1, left at Wardner Corners Rd. From the West and Northeast: I-90 to exit 42, south on 96 to Ovid, then 414 south 13 miles to Valois, left on Searsburg Rd., Right on Wardners Corner Rd.

Posted by KioNY on 2005-04-10 02:47:08
My Score:
If you need Ithaca info email me kio76@stny.rr.com, Im going to the NE gathering in Ithaca

Posted by Rachel on 2005-03-29 21:48:11
My Score:
I have a friend who is from ithaca. Last summer, he took me to a gathering of a bunch of people from the rainbow family. They told me that they hoped i could join them for the regional that's coming up this summer somewhere near ithaca. maybe you could help me.

Posted by coil20 on 2005-02-10 01:53:23
My Score:
I've just posted some really nice wraps in my ebay store if anyone wants to check it out. The webpage is http://stores.ebay.com/They-CrystalNetwork. Theirs a really nice one with 2 opals, an azurite, apatite, and green tourmaline. I've also got one that I just made with a piece of holly blue agate, moldavite, multi-colored tourmaline, apatite, and azurite. I really love this one I just haven't had time to post it. I do accept crystal trades. Also, make me an offer. It's just like being on lot. All prices are negotiable. I will take custom orders if thiers something specific your looking for. Hope all is well. Be Well, Eric

Posted by coil20 on 2005-01-14 03:49:19
My Score:
I live close to Ithaca but not close enough to get their routinely. Just started selling wire wraps. Anyone interested please contact me at coil20@yahoo.com Hope all is well. Be Well, Eric

Posted by savagebeast on 2004-12-10 02:32:19
My Score:
Yes dude, go into the woods and create your own hippy haven and give your hippy comrades guns so that when the humperdink poindexter coppers come to end your fun you can blow their fucking piggy heads off, and then dont bury them instead eat them but be careful they eat lots of fast foods and you are what you eat. I have personally killed and eaten over 17 police officers in 10 different countries. They taste better in South America, Im going to eat Dr Phil's meaty ass too if I can just get a clean shot....

Posted by Mike on 2004-11-26 04:07:34
My Score:
I'm 18 and interested in finding out where more hippie havens are. I am on a search for myself and over the last 2-3 years I have been wanting to leave my home and start living life to the fullest. I need some direction as to where to go. Communes and hangouts would be a start. I am looking to meet with many new and interesting hippies and share some of my expereinces and stories with them. Please if you have any information that would help me out it would be greatly appreciated. Peace and Love Mike

Posted by Rattle on 2004-11-04 05:34:54
My Score:
This once mecca of hippy hopes and dreams in the beautiful southern Finger Lakes bioregion has slipped steadily into yupdom decline during the past few years. Massive big-box development, skyrocketing rent, car culture air poisoning, and strong-arm tactics by a minor Ivy League university trying to shape I-town into its own image has this place slipping into the tar pits. Sorry newbies, sad but true.

Posted by Bobtaxedtoleave on 2004-11-04 01:42:58
My Score:
Ithaca is lovely to look at and there are wonderful people here, however, property and school taxes are crazy-high. NY state has the highest taxes in the US and there's an 8.25% sales tax here on practically everything we buy! Ahhhhh!

Posted by jade on 2004-07-20 02:06:42
My Score:
i'm from ithaca and it rocks! people are friendly and you can make a lot of money selling hemp or wire wraps. there is a free food place called loaves and fishes that has vegan, vegitarian, and meat.

Posted by Paul Glover on 2004-07-03 15:35:41
My Score:
For more information about hip Ithaca: Ithaca News

Posted by Baruch on 2004-06-05 00:54:17
My Score:
Drum circles at Stewart Park, Sundays, 5pm or soon after, no need to have your own drum, plenty of extras, go to the northwest corner of the park, listen for the drumming (near the boathouse and in sight of the bridge). Look forward to seeing you there...Baruch, herbal student at Northeast School Botanical Medicine

Posted by miss Sarah on 2004-06-04 05:58:34
My Score:
Hello. I am moving within the year. The problem is I don't know where to. I am considering Ithica because I heard it's a vegetarian community and I'm vegan. I really don't like cold weather though. I have a toddler and I want somewhere with a great school. It will be hard because I don't really know anyone. I would like to hear more about your town.

Posted by cinamon on 2004-06-02 04:53:55
My Score:
HI ALL, LIVING HERE IN ITHACA...GREAT LITTLE CITY...GREAT PEOPLE, BUT STILL TRYING TO PHIND A LOCAL WEEKLY DRUM CIRCLE...ANYONE KNOW OF ONE? ANYONE INTERESTED IN STARTING ONE? WHITENIGHTOWL13@YAHOO

Posted by Baruch on 2004-05-30 21:16:09
My Score:
Free meals at Loaves & Fishes MWF 12-1,T&Th 6-7, at the big white church on Cayuga St., a very good place to meet local Ithaca folx.

Posted by trippingearth on 2004-01-16 16:22:00
My Score:
Ithica is one of the coolest places i've ever been! if you';ve ever picked up a moosewood cookbook from a bookstore, the restaurant is in ithica in the commons and i ate some amaaaazingly tastey food there. if you're in ithica be sure to check out the farmers market on the weekends as well as the Greenstar grocery coop (across the street from the bus stop). luna cafe is another great place. the scenery is filled with waterfalls and gorges...a most beautiful place!

Posted by Louis on 2004-01-08 01:04:34
My Score:
Any girl who wants to share life with nice artist? please, contact: lorangely@yahoo.com

Posted by MYSTIC81 on 2003-11-30 05:49:51
My Score:
i AM A YOGI LOOKING FOR A MORE SIMPLE LIFE. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF I COULD CONTACT SOMEONE FROM A COMMUNE IN ITHACA,NEW YORK. MY EMAIL ADDRESS IS: SHITHALAHOLLOW007@EARTHLINK.NET NAMASTE,

Posted by MichaelByrd1967 on 2003-09-14 23:42:21
My Score:
Ithaca Sounds Like The Perfect Hippie Haven! I'm a junior in high school, so I'll be looking for college's soon, and I read about one in Ithaca, NY. So I should try that one out.

Posted by hippie8x9 on 2002-10-27 18:45:22
My Score:
19 year old male. Getting kicked out in a month. (Not because of anything I did wrong. My mother's getting remarried and she's not taking me with her) Searching for nearby commune. Live in rochester currently. Email me: ranma1o2@rochester.rr.com

Posted by homeless_hippie couple on 2002-09-07 08:01:11
My Score:
we jus got kicked out by white trash, so we are currently homeless, we are looking for any communes with available space, floorspace is kewl, we dont care, just want a roof over outr heads, e-mail me at alias_in_wunderland@yahoo.com

Posted by ambersunshine on 2002-08-27 14:15:16
My Score:
Ill have to rem that.Thanks for the info on Ithica.my best friend and I'll have to visit thoughs hippies ole and new.Not to mention im sure we'll find excellent things in the head shops.Thanks!peace & love.

Posted by Jen on 2002-05-14 14:17:08
My Score:
I really need some help with a school project My email address is Jen_Lynn5@hotmail.com and I would GREATLY appreciate it if anyone who was a hippy in the 60's would PLEASE send me an e-mail so I might interview them. Thanks a bunch! ~~* Jen *~~

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds