Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Boone, North Carolina

Nestled in the blue ridge parkway, it is a quiet mountain town full of peace, love and hemp. A wonderful place for hippies to go.not only do they have great nugs there but they also get some off the wall trip.its also very peaceful and u dont have to worry bout the police. :)


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 12484
Language:

  


Posted by Heather Ramey on 2006-11-30 00:41:26
My Score:
I live in Cheraw SC is there any hippies here? please I just moved here and everyone here seems to be haters. ch104sp@yahoo.com or the same on myspace

Posted by mary the crazy frog on 2006-06-30 21:21:07
My Score:
hey fellow hippie friends......i live in spring lake north carolina and wondering if theres amy hipppies around here...other than me and my husband.......if anyone knows anything please keep me informed

Posted by Chris on 2006-01-31 16:22:41
My Score:
I have been threw Boone once and I loved it. I am thinking about moving there. I am a graduate of Southern Illinois University in Carbondale. I was hoping that someone one out there could give me some good leads on jobs in education, or resturants, and what the housing market is like in Boone. Thanks everyone out there for effort

Posted by hannah rose on 2006-01-15 03:42:23
My Score:
i'm psyched - i'll be going to app state in the fall, and i couldn't wish for a better place for me to be. i fell in love with boone instantly (i live further east in NC...way more bible belt. way more close minded) and boone was just pure heaven. EVERYONE NEEDS TO VISIT!

Posted by jdthlearjet on 2005-11-12 23:14:58
My Score:
Boone , like anywhere else has changed .... and has gotten more expensive ... . I have lived there several times in the past twenty five years ... . It will always be one of my favorite places ... in the United States .... .

Posted by the cops on 2005-11-12 20:39:44
My Score:
hippies suck. my brother's a cop- thanks for the info. see you soon... love~ the cops

Posted by sarah on 2005-10-28 02:29:14
My Score:
I don't really have a comment. I have a question. Are there affordable small farmhouses/ cottages around for a single (real) hippie lady who wants a garden and animals etc.???? I would appreciate some input. Perhaps a publication or a landlord or company. By the way I just want to rent. thanks

Posted by Rheagirl on 2005-08-18 12:16:44
My Score:
I lived in Boone for 24 years I love it there its a mix of hippy redneck and everything else its also not a dry county the town of boone is a dry town but they have an abc store the other towns in the county are not dry towns. there are a few problems with boone one is the traffic to many cars not enough roads then they keep bulldozing mountians to put up ugly apartments and parking then you have the pollution that haze you see on the moutians and howards knob isnt fog its smog and its getting worse when I was little there was no smog there in the fall the trees were so pretty but now they sorta just turn a dull colour the winters arent as long or as cold the creeks and rivers are all nasty and the mall sucks but other then that its a great place and downtown boone has some nice shops for hippies and non hippies alike

Posted by Michelle on 2005-06-26 14:08:10
My Score:
I live in Vegas now but am originally from Elkin,NC which isn't that far from Boone. I wasn't really into the hippy scene when I lived there I guess but I started becoming interested in Wicca and there are some similarities between Wiccans{Pagans} and hippies,so. Anyway,I went to College in Wilkesboro and have been to Boone a few times at least but it's been a long time. It's cute though I think from what I remember.

Posted by kaz on 2005-02-05 18:03:18
My Score:
I am a dedicated hippy . I am only 10 but i think u r awesome . i m going to become a hippy like u. your admirer .kaz

Posted by Matsu on 2005-01-26 20:54:34
My Score:
I have lived in Boone NC my entire life, I am 21 years old and work as an administrative assistant for a local restaurant. Frankly I am disgusted and ashamed of what Boone has become. It use to be a beautiful little town, but now you can't even look at the skyline without seeing bulldozers tearing down trees to build apartment buildings and parking decks for the overwhelming population of college students. They come to our town for 4 years and leave it a mess for the rest of us to clean up. The crime rate has increased severely the past 10 years. Kids are dying because of drugs. Students in this town are glued to the bar sceen. Leaving them drunk as skunks in the middle of the night and killing members of families or their own friends in car accidents because the HAD to get drunk that night, every night it seems. The places we use to go swimming when we were kids are now polluted with broken beer bottles and garbage from people having a good time then being so inconciterate for the enviornment that they can't even pick up after themselves. Its sad what this town has become. Its beauty and history has been turned into just another dumpy college town.

Posted by elixialongworth@yahoo.com on 2005-01-08 00:14:29
My Score:
i lived in boone for two years and before that i always went for two weeks out of the year it is a great place to live the bars are great! the people are great my only regret is leaving ascension tattoo kicks ass chris v., i am sorry i let another artist touch me!!!!

Posted by about Boone... on 2004-12-05 17:36:43
My Score:
Hmmm.... where to begin. I got to Boone in '97. Kidz kept telling me about the good old days (which for them was 6 or 7 years prior) and how much cooler it used to be; how "the scene" used to be sooooo much kinder; etc. Tweetsie University was certainly growing. (for those of you who aren't familiar with this term, there used to be a railroad between Boone and Johnson City, TN. The train is long gone, but now there is a little kiddie amusement park called Tweetsieland. It draws a shitload of tourists, which is one of the major downsides to living and driving in town. My folks used to take me and my sister there so I guess I've got a soft spot so it doesn't really bother me.) A lot of these posts talk about the hippies and nugs and whatnot. And most of it is true. But a lot of people get an image of Boone kidz as upperclass white kids in Landrovers who don't bath and read Marx because they're all spending their parent's monthly allowance on drugs. And there are certainly some of those kidz in town. But I'd still rather be around kids trying to be kidz than kids trying to be gangstas or cowboys or members of satan's army. And lets face it.... we're on hippy dot fucking com for christ's sake... how much do we fit into that description. My point was that by and large, the entire town is pretty kind. Especially downtown. Folks are laidback. Boone people are unlike people off the mountain, and if you live there very long, you'll be a changed person. People's biggest complaint when they move to Boone is that there is "nothing to do." But this is misleading. Obviously there are the mountains, which provide a year-round playground: hiking, skiing, kayaking, climbing, mountainbiking. There are a few little bars in town, but most of them are little dives under hotels or at uppity restaraunts. Not exactly the hangout spots. The town forbids liquor by the drink, and a restaraunt has to draw 51% of their profit from food. Because of this, there are only a couple of "spots". Klondike cafe is the greek/bootypants crowd. Macadoo's is for the spillover from Klondike. Geno's Sports Lounge is what it says it is. Boone Saloon is the older heady crowd, mostly people who can afford good beer. Cafe Portifino is for the rest of us who pound the $2 PBRs all night long. Murphy's is for folks who need a bathroom that locks- local meth-heads and shady cokeheads. What ends up happening is that all of these crowds sort of mix together. They have to, its a small town. Another big plus is Taboot Clothing. It's a printshop owned by an infamous kid named Trip. This kid makes the scene really thrive for those who live in Boone. When he isn't making a living on tour, he promotes bands, throws raging barn parties, and is just an all-around great guy. His little shop is just down the street from the Boone Bagelry (which you must eat at if you visit) and serves as a between-class hangout spot/outfitter. This post has gotten out of hand. I'm sorry. But hopefully it will post as a rough guide for those thinking about checking it out. My advise: go there and talk to kidz and hang out for a weekend. If you're just going for a nug run, good luck. One of these posts was correct. A lot of the local growers keep to themselves and their inner circles. There is a lot of demand in town where everybody knows each other, so it's hard to get a foot in the door sometimes. Plus there are known finks in town so kidz are generally pretty cautious about slinging to unknowns. It's not like the good old days. be kind.... M.W.

Posted by jew/japanfreak/hippy on 2004-12-05 01:18:02
My Score:
hmmm.. I've been to Boone about 16 times, never really realizing it was a good place for hippies. But now that I think about it... It really does seem a good place for hippies, I've got lotsa family up there so I go there every now and then, and it's great. The people are nice, There are great outdoor market places selling artwork and things, and the trees and mountains are beautiful. It's a good place overall, and the college is actually pretty cool.

Posted by MIRANDA * 4 RAYRAY AND.. on 2004-11-16 09:15:31
My Score:
4 THE PEOPLE (ER "HIPPIES") IN ASHEVILLE , I WOULD KEEP AWAY FROM THIS RAYRAY CHARACTER WHO POSTED A MESSAGE ABOUT HIS SPIRITUAL ARRIVAL. YUCK YIKES OUCH!!!! WATCH OUT!!! HE SOUNDS LIKE A CHARLES MANSON JESUS MESSIAH FREAK!!!! PEOPLE LIKE THAT SCARE THE SHIT OUT OF ME!!!! NO. YOU KNOW WHAT - YOU DON'T SCARE ME - BUT YOUR BULLSHIT IS PATHETIC AND I HOPE YOUNG DUMMY GIRLS DON'T FOLLOW YOU. THAT FLUFF SOUNDS SO STUPID, CONTRIVED AND SILLY. I THOUGHT IT WAS A JOKE. PEOPLE ARE REALLY SKETCHY!!!! I GET OFFENDED BY THAT KIND OF DUBIOUS FAKE SPIRITUALITY. IT'S ALMOST CONDESCENDING!!!!! I'D LIKE 2 KICK YOU IN THE BALLS AND SEE HOW JESUS LIKE YOU ARE THEN RAYRAY!!!!

Posted by Markm on 2004-11-05 07:52:18
My Score:
I do not really live by Boone, I'm a college student in Raleigh, NC, but Boone is definitely one of the better known places in the area to get some good herb. People at school go on day trips to the other side of the state just to get this stuff. Me and 2 buddies smoked a joint from Boone last night and I was incredibly stoned. The mountains of NC are beautiful but I am not sure if I would like to live there because I'm not into the colder temperatures.

Posted by Mark on 2004-10-30 20:41:06
My Score:
its an ok....i didnt say great, one day road trip any more effort than that would be a waste of time.

Posted by RayRay on 2004-09-24 21:07:56
My Score:
Im comming to Asheville soon....oct/nov. I am excited to meet all the people. I am love. I share in peace. My way will be different from my brothers way... as we are all individuals... on different paths for different reasons... Let us remember why we are here. The industrial revolution has sprouted from us and continues to be sustained by us, and we are all feeling the effects of that. Shall we also argue over the ravaged body of our mother, the earth? Focus my people. Focus. There will be order in the hearts of men. Let us shine forth what we truly desire to be, let it shine forth from our being, and let it carry us in our doings, our commings and goings...let it Inspire. Let us do this in each of our lives for but one week..let us shine forth what it is we truly are and watch what events are made manifest for us. So be it. For those of you residing in Asheville, I am comming to you and will see the light in your eyes, And it will move mountains in us all. starchildlovesyou@yahoo.com

Posted by Mangus on 2004-08-27 18:54:20
My Score:
I've lived in Boone for about 5 years. It can be really expensive or really cheap, depending on how particular you are. They have small holes in the wall all along downtown and they also have really nice complexes, too. Traffic is hell with college in, but it seems to always remain interesting due to the large amount of people stuck in a very small area. As for the police, if you get in trouble once, you are marked. If you lay low, you shouldn't have to worry. I personally think it is a bit redneck up in here though.

Posted by notatruesmoker? on 2004-07-29 05:59:20
My Score:
almost famous...

Posted by cracker jack on 2004-07-16 00:22:01
My Score:
im on drugs..... what movie??? notatruesmoker@hotmail.com

Posted by Brandi on 2004-07-14 20:51:38
My Score:
hey, im moving to north carolina soon and i dont know where yet, but i am going there....and i was thinking about boone, but with what ive read about other places in NC im a bit nervous about the cost of living. I would REALLY appreciate it if someone who knows information on that could let me know, i'll be checking back on the website for posts. Thank you...so much.....i'll be working on the epic poem of thanks in the meantime..... love, brandi

Posted by bluberry on 2004-05-29 05:36:12
My Score:
boone is not a dry town...you just cant buy liquor by the drink. You can buy liquor at the ABC store or beer in the bars. While Im at it, its not quite the small lil hippy town it once was. The town and school are growing fast, and its getting an edgier vibe every year. The times are changin...but its still the most beautiful area on the east coast, IMHO

Posted by aulika on 2004-01-30 07:09:58
My Score:
I am a college student here in Boone, and I have to disagree. While there are nugs to be found in Boone, quite a few of the people who actually sell good stuff buy it elsewhere (not all, just a lot, most of the growers here keep it personal or among friends or take it out of town.) While I don't know what it is like for the older residents, if you are young, then you do have to worry about the police. Being young in Boone makes you a target.

Posted by st8blazzen on 2003-12-07 16:40:28
My Score:
I live 15 miles south of boone, nc and it is one of the coolest places I have ever been. They have great ski slopes......and some of the best nugs on the east coast. College students from the local university throw big huge street partys, filled with nothing but fun loving hippies! Its a great place to hidaway!

Posted by yuzuzmi on 2003-11-15 02:30:56
My Score:
just wondering what type of a journey it would be from conway sc, to this boone sc?!?!

Posted by wicked on 2003-10-15 19:53:22
My Score:
Boone.....what a lovely town. Right in the mountains of NC, you'll definately find some nugs. Plently of people to talk to downtown afternoons. I used to go there every day, an I met a lot of cool people. I'm safe in a small town, but I always felt safe in Boone. No big city problems here, just hippies and nugs. Peace.

Posted by fairydancer on 2003-09-10 08:37:16
My Score:
I live in wilkes an hour away and will soon transfer to AP.its a great hippie haven it may be a dry county but you can have beer deliverd to your door or any kind of take out . perfect for any hippie that feels like being lazy any some of the best head shops.

Posted by Kaydee on 2003-08-08 01:31:51
My Score:
I'm in Rockingham NC. Drop dead boring. No one here does anything interesting anymore. Wondering where I should move. Peace Now!

Posted by blondeemomma on 2003-06-23 21:19:50
My Score:
the only bad thing about Boone is its a "dry" county, meaning its illegal to sell or serve liquor there.

Posted by Lyn on 2002-11-13 16:32:25
My Score:
Boone is totally a rockin' groovy place...just as was said above is all true. A definate add-on if you're in our area! Peace and Prosperity

Posted by maryjane on 2002-07-30 21:35:58
My Score:
Where can i get some mushrooms in boone?

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds